Stats: 3,151,616 members, 7,813,025 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 04:49 AM

A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures - Travel - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures (42696 Views)

"Smoke Covers Aero Flight From Port-Harcourt To Lagos"- Female Twitter User Says / Amaechi Travels By Train From Abuja To Kaduna International Airport (Photos) / A Nairalander On A First Class Train From Lagos To Minna (2) (3) (4)

A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:07am On Apr 20, 2016
Thanks to the Goodluck Jonathan's admnistration, the railway service that was rehabilitated is fully working and is meant for all to enjoy. Yesterday, I boarded a train enroute Portharcourt to Kano and dropped at Enugu and these were my experiences. It was actually my first time of ever using the train and all I could say is that it is purely fun and full of adventures.

First, I observed that the train was faster than many people think. We left Portharcourt by 7am and reached Enugu around 3pm, something I never thought would be possible with the Nigerian train. Well, you should know that there is no traffic jam associated with the train. Secondly, I observed that the train have many advantages over the buses like space, enough natural air, table to place your things and even read your books if you want to, and the convenience to move about as you like and with that, you will never get bored throughout the journey no matter the length of distance. Also, the train is very cost effective especially in this kind of time that fuel determines almost every move we make. In fact, the fare from Ph to Enugu is just 650 ( I mean sixty hundred and fifty naira ) and from Ph to Kaduna; 2,100.

However, there are some hitches that happened on the way before we could reach our destination and which in my thinking should warrant some improvement on the rail system. I am going to explain these hitches as I give brief details of my experiences on the way.

We set off from Portharcourt by exactly 7 am and reached at Elelenwa station before 8. But we waited there for almost one hour because another train was coming from Aba and there was only one rail for their passage. So, we had to wait until it reached the station and cleared to the side before we could pass and continue our journey. I hope the minister for transport should take note of this. Next place to stop was Imo river. Imo river was folllowed by Aba which I think looks equipped to an extent. Aba was followed by Umuoba. At umuoba shortly after the station, we exprienced another hitch;the train started crawling like a snail; the reason being that that there were grasses on the rail which needed to be gotten rid of for effective moment. This took about 20 minutes . From Umuoba, we got to Mbaosu, then Umuahia Ibeku (Nnamdi Kanu’s place- I guess), then to Uzuakoli and then to Ovim to Ozara to Afikpo to Uduma to Nomeh to Ugbawka to Agbani, then to Enugu. I think that this documentation can help some authors and statisticians.

The journey was doubly that of an experience and an eye opener. Expreientially, we came across so many trees I had never seen before. In some of the thick forests, we also saw some exotic animals but not the harmful ones though. As an eye-opener, I noticed that there were still some communities in this our country that needed more attention than others and I should use this medium to implore those involved to, please do the needful. For instance, in some of the thick forests, precisely between Afikpo and Ishiagu both of Ebonyi State, I noticed something that dazed me. I saw a very old building inside the thick forest and I was yet wondering whether it was where people used to live before the war when suddenly, we sighted children who turned out to be schoolchildren waving at us from the building. Oh my God, that was a school! And looks like a government school too. I wondered, is the government still aware that they exist?
Apart from these few hitches, the rest of the journey was smooth and enjoyable and like I noted before about free movement in the vehicle, I kept jumping from coach to coach and even coming to the door to wave at the onlookers that happily waved at us. One more thing before I forget, Enugu Railway Station is the most equipped and the most beautiful one I have seen from Ph to Enugu. Pls, let’s clap for Enugu.
Below are the pictures of the railway stations we came across on our way.

Now, let me encourage anyone that wish to travel a long distance and don't have the money that the train is a good alternative and is safer than you think. I also made few inquiries and discovered that the train moves from Portharcourt on Tuesdays by 7am and arrives Kano by Thursday Morning. It also leaves Kano that same Thursday and arrives Portharcourt by Saturday Morning. That means the movement is once in a week; this is apart from the one that shuttles between towns like Aba and Ph on daily basis though. So, if you are travelling from Enugu to Ph, just come to Enugu railway station by 3pm on Saturday and from Enugu to Kano or Lafia or Kaduna should come to Enugu railway station by 3pm on Tuesdays. Any other information about other locations would be duly communicated

57 Likes 9 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:15am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of ph station

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:17am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of elelenwa station

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:20am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of aba and umuahia stations

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:28am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of nomeh and ovim stations

2 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:34am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of ozara, Afikpo, Ugbawka and Agbani stations

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by chizidgreat(m): 11:38am On Apr 20, 2016
pictures of Enugu stations

9 Likes 2 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Dinocarex(m): 11:50am On Apr 20, 2016
Nice one OP
I have traveled by all means of transportation apart from Rail (Train)
Wish to experience it soon in Nigeria.

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by homeboy205: 12:06pm On Apr 20, 2016
Cool

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Nobody: 12:24pm On Apr 20, 2016
But where is lalasticlala sef?
Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by YelloweWest: 1:20pm On Apr 20, 2016
The land is green. .. for all the wrong reasons though

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Uchehot: 1:21pm On Apr 20, 2016
amaechi why

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Funjosh(m): 1:21pm On Apr 20, 2016
I have travelled by road from West to East, West to North, West to South by road. But the first time I travelled by Train From Lagos to Offa and Offa back to Lagos was the the best journey I ever embarked on. Space to charge my laptop and phone, enjoyed the air condition system, went to the Bar to take some chilled drinks though the canteen was an error. But I saw some beautiful and old town in western Nigeria, love the aroma of the green forest and enjoyed the way it bounces as it moves on it tracks also met some cool people on the train. Still planning to go on another journey through railway again smiley cool

42 Likes 2 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by goodlifehyd1: 1:22pm On Apr 20, 2016
This same feeling is what those thieves called senator want to deny the south south and some blocked heads are standing behind them just because of the hatred they got for PMB

19 Likes 1 Share

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Mediapace: 1:22pm On Apr 20, 2016
Op Thank God say no be local village you dey,if na my city/town/hamlet/farmstead i am managing here,them go look person like somebody high on weed when taking selfie/photo angry

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by nairalandbuzz(m): 1:22pm On Apr 20, 2016
And someone said Oga Jona did railway + locomotive.

This kinda train? It is pure scam!

Lets see what will come out of Duara... we are waiting...

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by omobs(m): 1:22pm On Apr 20, 2016
goodluck nah boss...

19 Likes

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Onyenna(m): 1:22pm On Apr 20, 2016
Nice....

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by truthspeaks: 1:23pm On Apr 20, 2016
Wow. A year after and wat we r still enjoyin are the legacies of d last administration regarded as corrupt yet d current govt of saints hv nt started layin any foundation for its own legacies or.....maybe we ll hv 2 wait till 2018. Yeye govt

20 Likes 2 Shares

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by joystickextend1(m): 1:23pm On Apr 20, 2016
Nice
Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Nobody: 1:23pm On Apr 20, 2016
So people spend two whole days in a train from ph to kano. I think road is faster by the way, I didn't see any fine girl in the train to keep company. That's why I love chisco luxurious buses. Fine girls everywhere including the ones that board attachment and are ready to sit on your laps grin

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by johnshagb(m): 1:23pm On Apr 20, 2016
Stations overgrown with weeds undecided

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by fpeter(f): 1:24pm On Apr 20, 2016
U get mind o...where are the pictures?
Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Godswillnwaoma(m): 1:24pm On Apr 20, 2016
May God bless Jonathan.

17 Likes

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by Luckygurl(f): 1:26pm On Apr 20, 2016
Awwww!!
Will be shuttling between Enugu and Port Harcourt frequently from now till end of the year, I could try this out and have a feeling of what it's like smiley

@Op, you've got a smooth way with words. Oh!! Least I forget, you look cute wink

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by stano2(m): 1:26pm On Apr 20, 2016
Thanks for this wonderful thread, I do wonder sometimes if the rail transport system was left to fate after Buhari took over.

I am happy to note that it's still active, pls minister of TP put eye there for maintenance and development. How train go wait make another go park before one continues the journey, No Na!! for this 21st century!! Giant of Africa please this country should more..

Obj tried wella for not improving our railway transport system, upon 8years we give am

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by michaelwilli(m): 1:26pm On Apr 20, 2016
Perfect thread for a hot afternoon
Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by acadollar(m): 1:27pm On Apr 20, 2016
Nigeria improving
Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by krak101(m): 1:27pm On Apr 20, 2016
Dinocarex:
Nice one OP
I have traveled by all means of transportation apart from Rail (Train)
Wish to experience it soon in Nigeria.
How was Edo airways

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by dustydee: 1:27pm On Apr 20, 2016
chizidgreat:

First, I observed that the train was faster than many people think. We left Portharcourt by 7am and reached Enugu around 3pm , something I never thought would be possible with the Nigerian train. Well, you should know that there is no traffic jam associated with the train.
8 hrs?

Re: A Nairalander's Experiences On The Train From Port-Harcourt To Kano In Pictures by dominique(f): 1:27pm On Apr 20, 2016
You spent 8 hours from Port Harcourt to Enugu and you call that fast? How many days did it take you to reach Kano?

14 Likes

Passengers Burnt Beyond Recognition In Obollo Afor, Enugu Road (Graphic Photos) / British Family Detained For "Accidentally" Driving Into US / Lagos Light Rail - Pictures Show Advanced Progress