Stats: 3,152,130 members, 7,814,948 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 01:24 AM

Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. - Travel (15) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. (628331 Views)

23-year-old Zambian Pilot Fulfills Dream Of Flying Parents / Opportunity For Nurses And Midwives To Work In Dubai / Working Abroad Illegally (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) ... (220) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 8:40am On Mar 12, 2017
mamajaz:

Sooo, it means that OMNI makes sense abi?
I love them
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Akzobel: 1:07pm On Mar 12, 2017
barbiee:
not yet, I'm scared of spending a lot of money on the ielts test but if i do decide to risk it then i would apply to alberta. Better pay, less tax, beautiful state. I would also consider going through Omni college if the dollars is made available.
Do you want to start your canadian registration now?

Hi barbiee, sorry for my delayed reply.

I'm looking to start in September. Express Entry as well. I hope things wouldn't change for the worse by then. Alberta is topping the list for me too.

Do you know anyone who trained in Nigeria that has applied to NNAS and received a report back?
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by mamajaz(f): 2:01pm On Mar 12, 2017
barbiee:
I love them
Please expatiate on this my sister.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 9:20am On Mar 13, 2017
Akzobel:

Hi barbiee, sorry for my delayed reply.

I'm looking to start in September. Express Entry as well. I hope things wouldn't change for the worse by then. Alberta is topping the list for me too.

Do you know anyone who trained in Nigeria that has applied to NNAS and received a report back?
I don't know any Nigerian nurse personally that has gone through NNAS and got a favourable result, But i know someone that went through Omni college, she is practising there now.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 9:30am On Mar 13, 2017
mamajaz:

Please expatiate on this my sister.
Omni college is a school that specializes in helping foreign trained nurses become successfully registered as nurses in Canada. It's a 1 year program and after graduation, they help you with your registration and immigration and they also assist you with getting a job. The courses they teach cover our deficiencies so that we can get a favourable report from nnas during the credential evaluation. It's kind of expensive though but if you have the money then Omni college is your flight ticket to successfully been registered in Canada.
Ps.. I'm not one of their consultants oo. I just love the school and what they stand for.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by mamajaz(f): 10:02am On Mar 13, 2017
@barbiee, you're the bomb, your simple explanation is more convincing than what I've read on their page. Thanks a million.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 10:10am On Mar 13, 2017
mamajaz:
@barbiee, you're the bomb, your simple explanation is more convincing than what I've read on their page. Thanks a million.
aww thanks
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by melicent: 10:36am On Mar 14, 2017
Hello everyone, it's been a while, pls i have a question, what's your view on practicing nursing In Dubai? I heared they give free accommodation and some incentives is also attached to it. Since people don't talk about it here. Please anyone practicing there should give their experience Thanks.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Olumike7: 11:59am On Mar 15, 2017
Hello folks, i will like to sincerely appreciate the effort of Barbie and the likes in getting people informed here. My wife is a Registered Nurse with 15 years of experience in FMCA. We have a plan of getting her registered in Canada. I am familiar with d process but my challenge is wether she should pursue an LPN Registration or she should go for RN Registration. She graduated from a Nigerian School of Nursing and Midwifery. She doesnt have a Bsc Nursing. Your kind and sincere analysis will be appreciated. Thanks.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 10:06pm On Mar 15, 2017
@olumike17 let her register for both LPN and RN, she has a higher chance of getting a favourable report for LPN unlike RN and it would be a waste of time for her to choose just RN and discover later that she didn't meet the requirements then have to start all over again for LPN, if she decides to choose both now it will be killing 2 birds with 1 stone.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 10:10pm On Mar 15, 2017
@melicent, Dubai is a great option especially now that it's hard to leave the country if you are not financially buoyant, at least Dubai will give you a running start. I would definitely recommend that route. Plus it's easier and faster to get registered there and gain international experience. You can decide to work there for 2 years, save money and relocate to your dream country.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Olumike7: 12:31am On Mar 16, 2017
barbiee:
@olumike17 let her register for both LPN and RN, she has a higher chance of getting a favourable report for LPN unlike RN and it would be a waste of time for her to choose just RN and discover later that she didn't meet the requirements then have to start all over again for LPN, if she decides to choose both now it will be killing 2 birds with 1 stone.

Thanks a lot Barbiee, i will definitely follow your advice. Av been following ur post, what happened to ur BON registration? Did u just prefer to drop it. Just being curious. I think Canada will b better to try out.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by melicent: 4:13am On Mar 16, 2017
barbiee:
@melicent, Dubai is a great option especially now that it's hard to leave the country if you are not financially buoyant, at least Dubai will give you a running start. I would definitely recommend that route. Plus it's easier and faster to get registered there and gain international experience. You can decide to work there for 2 years, save money and relocate to your dream country.
wow Barbie, you just cleared my doubts thank you very much, though my sis want to practice in Canada but you know things are not really what it is right now, we have been thinking of giving Dubai a trial. Then, if it's work out she can save money over there and come to the western countries to further her studies. you are really doing a great work Barbie, I pray God will grant you your wishes.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 11:23am On Mar 16, 2017
melicent:
wow Barbie, you just cleared my doubts thank you very much, though my sis want to practice in Canada but you know things are not really what it is right now, we have been thinking of giving Dubai a trial. Then, if it's work out she can save money over there and come to the western countries to further her studies. you are really doing a great work Barbie, I pray God will grant you your wishes.
Amen and thanks. I wish her the best too.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 11:26am On Mar 16, 2017
Olumike7:

Thanks a lot Barbiee, i will definitely follow your advice. Av been following ur post, what happened to ur BON registration? Did u just prefer to drop it. Just being curious. I think Canada will b better to try out.
I decided to let my application expire and start all over again since Nursing council has refused to cooperate with me.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Olumike7: 11:48am On Mar 16, 2017
barbiee:
I decided to let my application expire and start all over again since Nursing council has refused to cooperate with me.

Yesterday, I was able to read through the posts on this thread, from the initial page down to the last page, and I am thinking of pursuing the Texas BON regigistration for her, since there is no requirement for Test of English. Moreover, I have a sister there who is working as a
Registered Nurse, precisely in Galveston. I'm planning to talk to her. But from your experience, is it worth pursuing? If not, we should just face the registration with CLPNA.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by mamajaz(f): 11:49am On Mar 16, 2017
barbiee:
Arrrrhhhh.. sorry about that.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 8:08am On Mar 17, 2017
@olumike7 it is worth it., There are many nurses who graduated from our school of nursing and midwifery that are working as nurses in usa but in canada unless we go back to school to upgrade to a bsn the highest we can work as is an lpn. So usa is worth it, she can work as a nurse and upgrade her education at the same time.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 8:13am On Mar 17, 2017
mamajaz:

Arrrrhhhh.. sorry about that.
it's ok
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by finfol007(m): 11:35am On Mar 17, 2017
barbiee:

Barbie...you mean NMCN dint submit your documents to cgfns for evaluation? ??
I just filled the form at the council yesterday to that effect....
Now im being prayerful
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by barbiee: 2:01pm On Mar 17, 2017
finfol007:

Barbie...you mean NMCN dint submit your documents to cgfns for evaluation? ??
I just filled the form at the council yesterday to that effect....
Now im being prayerful
They submitted the form all right but there was a mistake on my part. Council doesn't want to correct the mistake because it didn't come from them and cgfns won't process my application unless they get the correct data directly from council so you see the problem? I just have to start all over and avoid the same mistake, I would have said it here but it's a personal thing.

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Olumike7: 6:13am On Mar 18, 2017
barbiee:
They submitted the form all right but there was a mistake on my part. Council doesn't want to correct the mistake because it didn't come from them and cgfns won't process my application unless they get the correct data directly from council so you see the problem? I just have to start all over and avoid the same mistake, I would have said it here but it's a personal thing.

It is my prayer that God will crown your efforts with good success. Remain strong Barbiee

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Olumike7: 6:17am On Mar 18, 2017
barbiee:
Do you guys know anyone who passed through the school of Nursing /school of Midwifery route and has done cgfns Credentials evaluation? I was told that our qualifications dont even meet up to an american diploma degree in nursing. Just want to confirm the information.

Did you eventually get an answer to the question asked here?
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by gratefulme40: 12:22pm On Mar 18, 2017
Simple16....it appears we broke the rules. The posts have been hidden. Don't know how else to contact you as I don't have access to my NL email
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Simple16(f): 12:33pm On Mar 18, 2017
gratefulme40:
Simple16....it appears we broke the rules. The posts have been hidden. Don't know how else to contact you as I don't have access to my NL email

Oh, oh, I don't know about the rules. What a pity!
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by gratefulme40: 12:38pm On Mar 18, 2017
Simple16:

Oh, oh, I don't know about the rules. What a pity!
Got it: t
gotten.
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Simple16(f): 12:40pm On Mar 18, 2017
gratefulme40:
gotten.

OK, thank you
Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by ogwashiukwu: 5:24pm On Mar 18, 2017
I've taken my time to read through what must people have put so far, and I must say they're commendable. Permit me to say a little I know about Nurse's transition to the US, Canada, and Australia. Of the three countries, the US has the least requirement for English language proficiency.

The US requirement for IELTS exam is Speaking 7.0, and overall average score of 6.5, while Canada and Australia, you must have 7 in speaking, reading, writing and listening. There's no short cut for that.
To the best of my knowledge,passing the IELTS/TOEFL exam is the most excruciating and challenging hurdles that most Nigerian Nurses fear to face, and lest I forget, you MUST pass either of these exams in order to obtain a Visascreen after sitting for either nclex-RN exam or the CGFNS exam.

Never mind, let me go straight to the point. If you a Nigerian Nurse that intends or has an intent to migrate to the US to practice, this is what you need to do before contacting any recruitment agency.

1. Have an international passport for yourself and family members who are less than 21 years of age (i.e if you are married).
2. Have your nursing diploma/degree evaluated by the CGFNS.( this can take up to one year or less)
3. Sit and pass either IELTS or TOEFL exams.
4. Contact a recruitment agency.

Someone would ask, how did you know all these? Ok, let me tell how, my wife is a registered nurse, she has her RN from one of the nursing schools in Enugu state, had her RM and BSN from University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Yes, she did her CGFNS CES report and choose Florida board as h the state she would like to practice, and the report says her basic RN is comparable to the completion of a first -level general (Registered) nurse diploma program in the United States while, her BSC/BSN from UNN is comparable to the completion of a Bachelor of Science in Nursing program in the United States. She started the process in October 2015 and the report was issued on September 2016. You see, it took almost 1 year to achieve that. Mind you, her transcripts were sent from both the basic nursing school and also from UNN. This project requires both time, calls and finances.

IELTS, the nightmare exam. I called it nightmare because my wife never like the exam. You know what? She had to sit for this exam 3 times, yes you heard me right, 3 times. The first time was on the 19 June, 2016 and her scores were Listening 7.5, reading 7.5, writing 7.5 and speaking 6.5. The second time was in November 19, 2016 and her scores were, listening 7, reading 6, writing 7.5 and speaking 6.5. In fact, on the second time she cried when she went for her result because she thought she did well. Now the third time was on the 11 February, 2017 and she made Listening 6.5, reading 6.0, writing 6.0 and speaking 7.0. Whao at last she made it, and met the US IELTS english requirement of Speaking 7.0 and overall band score of 6.5.

Recruitment agency, as it stands now, the agency that accepts Nigerian nurses in the USA that I know are Passport USA, Avant healthcare professional and O'grady Peyton international. As for Passport USA, they can only assist if you've written and passed either CGFNS exam or Nclex-rn exam, while Avant and O'grady peyton will not only accept you but would also help you to prepare for the Nclex-rn exam on one condition.
What's the condition? You will be tested/given a pre-screening exam for both english language proficiency(when you applied without english result) and basic nursing questions. When you pass the tests, a skype interview will be set up to ascertain your clinical experience and skills. If you are successful, a contract will be sent to you to sign and other things follow.
In the contract, Avant says you will work for them for 3 years while O'grady peyton says 2 years. Of course, the class of visa that will be issued to you and your immediate family if you are married is EB3 visa which is a green card.

My wife is presently with O'grady Peyton international after passing their 50 questions test in 1 hour 15 minutes and subsequent skype interview. Trust me these guys are professionals.Their response to mails are exceptional and always willing to help.

Please let me know if you have questions as I will be ever willing to assist.

16 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Nigerian Nurses And Midwives With The Dream Of Working Abroad Let's Meet Here. by Inkredible(m): 6:17pm On Mar 18, 2017
ogwashiukwu:
I've taken my time to read through what must people have put so far, and I must say they're commendable. Permit me to say a little I know about Nurse's transition to the US, Canada, and Australia. Of the three countries, the US has the least requirement for English language proficiency.

The US requirement for IELTS exam is Speaking 7.0, and overall average score of 6.5, while Canada and Australia, you must have 7 in speaking, reading, writing and listening. There's no short cut for that.
To the best of my knowledge,passing the IELTS/TOEFL exam is the most excruciating and challenging hurdles that most Nigerian Nurses fear to face, and lest I forget, you MUST pass either of these exams in order to obtain a Visascreen after sitting for either nclex-RN exam or the CGFNS exam.

Never mind, let me go straight to the point. If you a Nigerian Nurse that intends or has an intent to migrate to the US to practice, this is what you need to do before contacting any recruitment agency.

1. Have an international passport for yourself and family members who are less than 21 years of age (i.e if you are married).
2. Have your nursing diploma/degree evaluated by the CGFNS.( this can take up to one year or less)
3. Sit and pass either IELTS or TOEFL exams.
4. Contact a recruitment agency.

Someone would ask, how did you know all these? Ok, let me tell how, my wife is a registered nurse, she has her RN from one of the nursing schools in Enugu state, had her RM and BSN from University of Nigeria, Nsukka. Yes, she did her CGFNS CES report and choose Florida board as h the state she would like to practice, and the report says her basic RN is comparable to the completion of a first -level general (Registered) nurse diploma program in the United States while, her BSC/BSN from UNN is comparable to the completion of a Bachelor of Science in Nursing program in the United States. She started the process in October 2015 and the report was issued on September 2016. You see, it took almost 1 year to achieve that. Mind you, her transcripts were sent from both the basic nursing school and also from UNN. This project requires both time, calls and finances.

IELTS, the nightmare exam. I called it nightmare because my wife never like the exam. You know what? She had to sit for this exam 3 times, yes you heard me right, 3 times. The first time was on the 19 June, 2016 and her scores were Listening 7.5, reading 7.5, writing 7.5 and speaking 6.5. The second time was in November 19, 2016 and her scores were, listening 7, reading 6, writing 7.5 and speaking 6.5. In fact, on the second time she cried when she went for her result because she thought she did well. Now the third time was on the 11 February, 2017 and she made Listening 6.5, reading 6.0, writing 6.0 and speaking 7.0. Whao at last she made it, and met the US IELTS english requirement of Speaking 7.0 and overall band score of 6.5.

Recruitment agency, as it stands now, the agency that accepts Nigerian nurses in the USA that I know are Passport USA, Avant healthcare professional and O'grady Peyton international. As for Passport USA, they can only assist if you've written and passed either CGFNS exam or Nclex-rn exam, while Avant and O'grady peyton will not only accept you but would also help you to prepare for the Nclex-rn exam on one condition.
What's the condition? You will be tested/given a pre-screening exam for both english language proficiency(when you applied without english result) and basic nursing questions. When you pass the tests, a skype interview will be set up to ascertain your clinical experience and skills. If you are successful, a contract will be sent to you to sign and other things follow.
In the contract, Avant says you will work for them for 3 years while O'grady peyton says 2 years. Of course, the class of visa that will be issued to you and your immediate family if you are married is EB3 visa which is a green card.

My wife is presently with O'grady Peyton international after passing their 50 questions test in 1 hour 15 minutes and subsequent skype interview. Trust me these guys are professionals.Their response to mails are exceptional and always willing to help.

Please let me know if you have questions as I will be ever willing to assist.

This is wonderful.. It's like God sent you to post this here.

Last month, I applied with O Grady Peyton and they said I should get back to them when I write the IELTS exam, which I am already preparing for.

I never knew about the CGFNS evaluation stuffs. If you don't mind, kindly state what the cost implications were like in each sections and probably how to go about it.

Finances is the major setback for me. With your information, I can plan myself.

Thanks once again.

(1) (2) (3) ... (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) ... (220) (Reply)

QATAR And UAE General Visa Enquiries / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 10 / U.S. Immigration Questions: Ask A U.S. Consular Officer

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 64