Stats: 3,161,518 members, 7,847,127 topics. Date: Saturday, 01 June 2024 at 11:32 AM

Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) - Politics (24) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) (43485 Views)

‘One Elephant Is Out Of The Road’ – Fubara Celebrates Victory, Hails Wike As Oga / I Will Consult My Wife, Others If Tinubu Offers Me Appointment – Wike (Video) / 'Godfatherism Must End’ — Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Speaks On Edo Election (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Balogunodua(m): 11:09am On Aug 01, 2020
Wtf77:

Don't mind the fool, oyo was never an empire by the way. Oyo was a very weak country which got fvcked up by Fulani. The guy is lying on purpose.
See painment grin

So you don't own lagos again? Now its Oyo is not an empire cheesy mr goal changer grin

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 7:58pm On Aug 02, 2020
Wtf77:

The actual translation of the text in full:

"Captain Horseley called it Eco, and that is how the yebous refer to it; but it is not their land: it belongs to Benin, whom have named it Korame, you can recognise the Curamo from older Portuguese reports, just like Eko represents the Ichoo from Holland Hydrographs. Long ago Korame was linked to its metropolis by a very narrow piece of land contained between the great Laguna and the sea; but it has been a while since the Yebous have seazed that very narrow piece of land of which the eastern extremity was invaded by ouyo pirates; and Karamé remained isolated at the extremity of the great Laguna, while it continues to receive from Benin it's governor or political chief."

@ Areafada, Gregyboy, Samuk, Davidnazee.

Very obviously the metropolis being talked about is Benin !
Macof why are you such a liar ?
For your info, "langue de terre" means : "very narrow piece of land". You don't speak French and your Google translation won't translate that, because it is an expression.
While discussing history with you guys yoruba, it always comes down to this: you must lie ! But why ? It is history, it has already happened, why try to create your alternate reality ?

For readers who only want the truth, the text is here for you, don't be lazy, translate it.

Also, when you see expressions like "langue de terre" you have to first look at its meaning in a French dictionary ( just type the expression on Google, it should give you the meaning in french), then you translate the meaning (which would be words in french) into English.
Don't believe me, just do the work and don't be lazy.
https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k62093119/f11.image.r=Yebou

Also, as can be seen in the third caption, "ouyo" doesn't mean "oyo". Ouyo refers to a bunch of pirates whom were also called Jos. The ouyo pirates are most likely ijo people ! Gbam !

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvaiC_djW8o

precolonial maps of Benin Kingdom:

Some of the maps:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b77595185.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b7759521n.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

An other map of Benin made in the 17th century once again:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b530530714.r=Benin?rk=214593;2

An other map of Benin from the 17th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b8595583b.r=Benin?rk=193134;0

This one date to the 19th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b846939

This following map was made between 1603 and 1612:
https://www.raremaps.com/gallery/detail/64869/africae-tabula-nova-ortelius

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO11(f): 5:45am On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:
[s]By this comment alone, I don't feel that responding you is even worth it. It is very clear by your own comments that you are delusional, ethnocentric and a psychopath.

Also it is clear you are a pathological liar. Everybody reading this your comment can see this. So you can only comfort your other ethnocentric and pathological lying Yoruba and play to the gallery for them ! Everybody else can completely see through you.[/s]
Like I always say, there is no point refuting an ocean of tears and sorrow. By the very name, it is self-refuting.

I see in you next comment that you are pretending to quote books which of course you did not post links to.

I guess you have perfected your art of telling lies, by quoting imaginary documents.
My comment which you refer to here is found at the following link:

https://www.nairaland.com/6016047/ewuare-oba-benin-hails-wike/20#92244701

First of all, you are a BALD, UGLY, and compulsively lying schizophrenic who must be saved ASAP before his persistent thoughts of suicide overcome him. smiley

Contrary to your deluded lie, I cited the relevant statements, and I also gave the respective references including page numbers.

It is clearly obvious that you lack the basic grasp of onus probandi. Now listen: My burden of proof, for any claim I make, begins and ends with the citation and referencing of the relevant statements.

Provision of screenshots, links, etc. has absolutely nothing to do with burden of proof. It simply relates to the generosity of investing my time, effort, and sometimes money in helping you fetch the materials.

Even though I may choose to help you fetch the materials, I don’t have to, because my burden of proof was met at the very instant I cited and referenced the relevant statements.

And as my strategy here has just shown, you have been exposed as an ignoramus who is yet to be acquainted with some of the most basic materials in this area of discussion.

At this point in time you now have the following choices:

(1) Get the materials I referenced, and then prove that they do not say what I have attributed to them; or

(2) Get the materials I referenced, confirm that they do say what I have attributed to them, keep shut, delete your account as usual, and then run away; or

(3) Choose not to crosscheck the materials, keep shut, delete your account as usual, and then run away.

cc: 900winer

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO11(f): 5:46am On Aug 03, 2020
Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO11(f): 6:10am On Aug 03, 2020
Etinosa1234:
... Even ur historians never claimed that Benin paid tributes
In specific response to your remark: "Even your historians never claimed that Benin paid tributes [to Oyo]"

S. Crowther noted that the Yoruba “at one time ... were all tributaries to one Sovereign, the King of Yoruba [“i.e. Oyo”], including Benin on the East, and Dahomey on the West”.

— S. Crowther to T. J. Hutchinson, 10 Sept. 1856 (C.M.S. Archives, CA2/031a) quoted in R.C.C. Law (1973), p.216.

However, S.A. Akintoye (2010), among others, have asserted that “The claim that the Oyo Empire INCLUDED BENIN is certainly an exaggeration, but [that] it did have its northern boundary on the River Niger and its southern boundary on the Atlantic Ocean”. — p.249.

Having said that, this is not to say that Oyo and Benin were equally as powerful at every period throughout the centuries of their respective reigns.

Rather, they each had their respective highs and lows at different periods in the course of the centuries of their respective reigns.

Oyo’s power and influence, however, did eclipse that of Benin at various times especially during the period of Benin’s history when Benin kingdom was grounded & ravaged as its capital was sacked and reduced to a mere village.

In their joint publication, Ben-Amos and Thornton cited the relevant eyewitness accounts which corroborate this historical fact. They noted that:

“Towards the end of the seventeenth century,* a number of European observers noted that the Edo Kingdom of Benin* had been racked for some years by civil war. One of the longest accounts, that of David van Nyendael, reported that as a result of this civil war, Benin City had been sacked and in his day (1699-1701) was reduced to a ‘mere village’*.”

— Paula Ben-Amos Girshick & John Thornton: “Civil War in the Kingdom of Benin, 1689-1721: Continuity or Political Change?”, Journal of African History, 42 (2001), p.353.

In sum, the above account of S. Crowther to the effect that Benin paid tributes to Oyo appears to be in relation to such a difficult time for Benin kingdom as described by the European observers.

Such tribute payments, in this context, would thus have been to prevent its already ravaged self from additional troubles in the form of external incursions from an ever-expanding power in the west.

However, as has already been shown, the issue of its paying tributes to Oyo — in this context — is certainly not a sufficient condition to lead one to conclude that it was part the Oyo Empire.

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00, Emilokoiyawon, Keraxes

5 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 7:19am On Aug 03, 2020
To Wtf77:

Regarding your above comment in relation to the YouTube video of Oba Akiolu's interview with Channels TV, as well as your links to Benin maps; refer to the attached comment which I'm disallowed from typing in here.

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00

5 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 7:50am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 1 of 7 to Wtf77:

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00, macof, RuggedSniper, MetaPhysical.

The following shows a clear and faithful translation of your French screenshot (page 26).

I have also included its preceding page (page 25) for a wider context:

Page 25
The Yebou [Ijebu]* country is, generally speaking, located between Dahome [Dahomey] on the west, Bénin [Benin] on the east, the Gulf of Guinea [a bay of the Atlantic Ocean] in the south, and the Eyo [Oyo]* country in the north. These limits can be identified along the shore.

The city of Lagos is its western border. Lagos is the common name given by Europeans; according to Robertson, Awani is the local name. It was spelt Onis by Denys Bonnaventure and several early navigators, Aunis by Palissot de Beauvois and Landolph, and Ahony by De Flotte; a few others spelt it as Honis*; Captain Horseley

Page 26
referred to it as Eco [Eko], and that is how it was designated by the Yebous [Ijebus]; but it is not their domain: it is the Benin’s, who refer to it by the name Korame [which is] recognizably the Curamo of the old Portuguese’s accounts, just as Eko represents the Dutch hydrographers’ Ichoo.

Korame and its mainland were linked, in the past, by the spit between the great lagoon and the sea. The Yebou people have, however, for a long time seized that spit of land which has also been infiltrated by Ouyo [? Ijaw] pirates in the east.

Korame thus remained isolated at the end of the great lagoon, and continued to be dependent on Benin for its choice of governor or political leader. The name “Awanee” of Robertson describes the neighboring lands to the west — rendered Agouani by Ochi Fekoue.

[These lands to the west, i.e. “Ahony”] included with Arada [Ardra], Agbadaghi (the Badagry of English maps), Vida [Whydah] (Whidda for English traders, and Juida for French traders) and other more distant places, are in the hands of the Igou [Egun] nation — including Mahi and Dagome (the local name for the Dahomey country).

The eastern border of Yebou [Ijebu], on the ocean, is the city of Omaha whose position is marked but without

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 8:03am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 2 of 7 to Wtf77:

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00, macof, RuggedSniper.

Regarding your gRoUnDbReAkInG 1846 French book cheesy , the key statements of the author which you’ve clung to in order to make your point are those specific statements which he obviously received from oral sources, rather than from any referenced earlier written work.

In other words, your author relied on an oral account which supposedly informed him that the area of ‘Lagos’ which — in his day — was occupied by the Ijebus used to belong, in the distant past, to the Binis prior to when it was dispossessed from them by the Ijebus.

Given this observation, I now wonder if you will honor your oft-repeated mindless eYeWiTnEsS gibberish by discarding your French book as trash, since its specific statements with which you seem to be supporting your propaganda are those which obviously relate to an event from many, many years prior to the author’s own 1846 work.

Moreover, how do you even keep a straight face while — on one hand — accepting this orally transmitted account which your author was not an eyewitness to, and yet — on another hand — rejecting other extant oral accounts because they are too obvious as being against your propaganda?? Lol.

How convenient is it for you to believe your own insinuation that the Ijebus forced the Binis to give up their supposedly ancestral and aboriginal piece of land?? Lol.

Having unveiled your grand stu.pi.di.ty, your ignorance, and your world of contradiction; I will now proceed to demonstrate — piece-by-piece — how all of the author’s statements here (whether those he referenced to earlier writings, or those he obviously received from oral accounts) have absolutely nothing to do with your false, baseless, and weird idea that the Binis (and not the Aworis themselves) are the rightful owner of Lagos.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 8:14am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 3 of 7 to Wtf77:

Just like historians will concede, history goes far beyond European or written accounts, even though this obvious fact may baffle a naïve and feeble mind like yours -- and despite your world of contradictions. Lol.

In fact, history encompasses inputs from relevant extant oral accounts, linguistics, archaeology, etc. In other words, those statements of your author which obviously comes from extant oral accounts are yet valid as is.

My contention at this point, however, is that those statements of the author do not even in the least way support your false propaganda that the Binis (and not the Aworis themselves) are the rightful owner of Lagos.

Before proceeding with my examination of the authors’ statements here, it is vital that I state clearly that the name “Lagos” have referred to different geographical delineations throughout the course of its history.

For example, when describing what is known today as the state, the name “Lagos” would refer to all of the area within the map perimeter traced out in purple ink as shown below.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12050947_9adc7e2daab841ca9bf2ee2e721e74c7_png180a2b9f34e7596948f3957e0d1afeda

Furthermore, when describing what is known today as the metropolitan area, the name “Lagos” would refer only to the area within the map perimeter traced out in purple ink below. In other words, excluding: Badagry LGA, Epe LGA, Ibeju-Lekki LGA, Ikorodu LGA, and Eti-Osa East LCDA.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12050948_f42d30c8e8db492a8e53aaaa21e18287_png5ddb2995a0b1f4c35967fb437efbfde6

Moreover, when describing the city known historically and traditionally to the Yoruba people as Èkó, the name “Lagos” would refer quite exclusively to one of the islands now known as Lagos Island. See the annotation "Lagos Island” on each of the two maps below for the delineation.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12050975_c2310eb2b5d244298c887c1743eaeb26_jpeg_jpegc6697de82c3d2f532bb31dc49629ecaa

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12050976_98201bd2e3bd4ea5a4c3d397a0b1cdda_png4a7febb890c7af3ea742042f204e7b5c

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 8:25am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 4 of 7 to Wtf77:

Having discussed the nuances of the name “Lagos”, I will proceed now with examining the author’s statements in order to expose you for the de.lu.ded ignora.mus and myt.homa.niac that you are.

Firstly, the author showed on page 25 (citing Robertson, Denys Bonnaventure, Palissot de Beauvois, Landolph, et al.) that the earliest known indigenous name of this “Lagos” settlement (later called “Eko”) was — in the Europeans’ renditions — ”Awani” or ”Ahony” amongst other foreign renderings.

While this name (as it appear in European rendition) clearly has nothing to do with the name “Edo” or the name “Benin”; it obviously has everything to do with the indigenous name “Awori” — the name of a Yoruba sub-group.

In fact, this indigenous name (i.e. Awori) is firmly established in "the early traditions of Lagos” to be the name of the aboriginal owners of Lagos.

— See: Sir Alan Burns, “History of Nigeria”, (1929), pp.33-34; based on J.B. Losi, "History of Lagos”, (1914); Rev. J.B. Wood, “Historical Notes of Lagos”, (1878); all cited in Robert S. Smith, “Kingdoms of the Yoruba”, (1988 Edition), p.73.

In sum: even according to your French author, the aboriginal ownership of “Lagos” (Eko) has nothing to do with the name “Benin” nor with the name “Edo”.

Neither does it also have anything to do with the names “Ijebu”, “Ijaw”, or “Egun” among others. Eko is clearly Awori land aboriginally.

In that case, the later presence of the Ijebus and the Binis et al. in Eko in the course of its history must therefore be understood in the proper historical light which, as has been shown, is obviously other than autochthonous ownership.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 8:43am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 5 of 7 to Wtf77:

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00, macof, RuggedSniper

The first three paragraphs (of the translated page 26 ) of your author’s statements mention that “Eko” was named as such by the Ijebus, and that they settled there by seizing the area from the Binis whose domain it was -- thus pushing the Binis to an end.

Furthermore, the third and fourth paragraphs (of the same translated page) of your author’s statements indicate that the “Awani”/“Ahoni” [Awori] land is not limited to "Eko".

It shows that all the lands to the west of "Eko" is Awori land as well, and that these western Awani/Ahoni [Awori] lands are in the hands of the Egun people.

It appears then from all of these that Eko and the other Awori lands to its west were at some point occupied by different non-aboriginal peoples such as: the Binis, the Ijebus, the Ijaws, the Eguns, et al.

Having clarified this, it is noteworthy to mention the circumstances which led the different immigrant groups (i.e. the Binis, the Ijebus, the Ijaws, the Eguns, et al.) to be attracted to settling in Lagos at some point in the course of Lagos’ history.

The history of the coming of the Europeans to the coasts of West Africa in the late-1400s is the key factor in this regards. From the opening years of the 1500s, European coastal traders established more and more trading locations along the Atlantic coasts of West Africa.

These European coastal trading activities, particularly those of Lagos, grew considerably in the course the 1500s, and it thus attracted the key participants of the coastal trade to establish resident trade settlements in Lagos.

According to Professor S.A. Akintoye, the following are all the non-Awori participants of the Lagos coastal trade who, by the late 1500s, had established sizeable resident trading communities in Lagos: “Ijebu, Benin, Ilaje, Ikale, Owo, Egba, Egbado, Aja [Egun], and Ijaw”. — S.A. Akintoye, (2010), p.221.

A quite corroborative early account to the above information is provided by a German named Andreas Joshua Ulsheimer who visited “Lagos” in the year 1603. He has the following to say about the nature of the Lagos economy, as well as the diversity of the trade participants:

Many people come to the aforesaid town Lago, by water and by land, with their wares, which consist of beautiful cotton cloths woven in all kinds of colours and patterns.”

— See: Andreas Ulsheimer, "Voyage of 1603-4", Translation by Adam Jones in German Sources for West African History, 1599-1699 (1983), p.41.

Moreover, the same Ulsheimer’s account shows that as at the year 1603, the Binis living in Lagos had already secured a domain (”surrounded by a strong fence”) to themselves “on an island“ ~ p.40.

Again, this quite clearly corroborates the above information that the Binis had settled in Lagos (for trading) prior to the 1600s.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 9:14am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 6 of 7 to Wtf77:

In the light of the above background (i.e.: the history of European coastal trading activities, as well as the 1603 eyewitness account of Ulsheimer), the actual meaning of your author’s statement about the domination of different parts of Lagos by different immigrant groups (such as Benin, Ijebu, Ijaw, Egun, et al.) should at this point have sank deep into your cra.nium. Hopefully. cheesy

Moreover, the third paragraph (of the translated page 26) of your author's statements mentions that the isolated piece of land that was left to the Binis, after the Ijebu had seized their earlier domain, continued to be dependent on Benin for its choice of ”governor or political leader”.

As is expected, you de.lu.ded.ly twisted this specific statement of your author to say something else — that is: to say that the Oba of Benin chooses the incoming kings of Lagos.

On the contrary, your author clearly chose his words carefully by writing “governor or political leader”, rather than writing “king” or "monarch".

The word for “king” or “monarch” of course exists in the French language if that was what the author meant or intended.

In fact, your author could never have used “roi” (French for ‘king’) or “monarque” (French for ‘monarch’), etc. here as that would be anachronistic and counter-historical.

This is due to the simple fact that your author is here describing a period of time in Lagos when the present dynasty of Lagos Island Kings (The Eleko dynasty) hadn't yet begun.

For corroboration of your authors description here, Ulsheimer’s 1603 Lagos visit did witness the Binis in Lagos being led and coordinated by their leaders who were appointed on them, from Benin, by their Oba.

Asheru was one of such leaders of the Binis whose name have managed to come down to posterity. The Eleko kingship dynasty, on the other hand, wasn't established by Ashipa until many years later — towards the end of the 1600s.

These leaders of the Binis are known, from Benin accounts, by the title Olotu-Ado, or Olotu-Ekiran, or Balekale; and they were also found in other parts of Yorubaland wherever the Binis settled to establish resident trading communities.

Lastly, you lied very blatantly and and unashamedly when you remarked that “Benin” was the Lagos' metropolis or Lagos' mainland that your author referred to when he noted that “Korame [i.e. Eko (or Lagos Island)] and its mainland were linked, in the past, by the spit of land between the great lagoon and the sea”.

Can you please demonstrate to everyone (from the map below or any Lagos map of your choice) how “Lagos Island” (i.e. Eko or ‘Korame’) could have possibly been connected by any such spit of land to "Benin"?? grin Liar!

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12050975_c2310eb2b5d244298c887c1743eaeb26_jpeg_jpegc6697de82c3d2f532bb31dc49629ecaa

Rather, it is obvious — from the foregoing map — to every sane person that, the said erstwhile land link/connection is clearly that which would have existed between “Lagos Island” (i.e. ‘Eko’ or ‘Korame’) and its metropolis/mainlands to its left.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 9:30am On Aug 03, 2020
Reply 7 of 7 to Wtf77:

Appendix:

The Lagos traditional account (which was first documented more than fifty years before Chief Egharevba’s contrary Benin account) states clearly that:

(1) The settling down of the Binis into Lagos was — like the settling of other immigrant groups — via peaceful infiltration.

(2) Ashipa (the founder of the present Eleko dynasty) was an Awori chief, of Ife royal descent, from Isheri.

(3) Ashipa sought the support of the Benin government in the course of the kingship tussle, in Lagos Island, among the eligible Awori princes.

(4) He emerged triumphant as the choice candidate with the support of the Benin government. He thus became the progenitor of the present Eleko dynasty.

(5) His son, Ado who succeeded him, was born to him by his Bini wife. Ado lived in Benin until it was his time to become king in Lagos.

(6) As a reenactment of the original support enjoyed by Ashipa from the Benin government, subsequent heir apparent to the throne were confirmed by the Benin king.

(7) The custom of tributes to Benin kingdom from the Lagos dynasty is therefore understood in the light of the support enjoyed by Ashipa from the Benin government, which in effect gave his descendants the exclusive right to the throne.

(8 ) Actual Benin-‘conquered’ territories (regardless of their ethnic and linguistic origin) always have one of the following as the title of their kings: Ogie, Ogiame, Enogie, Onojie, Ovie, Orodje, et al. This was never the case with Lagos.

(9) The custom which developed of taking the bodies of late Elekos to Benin for burial, while retaining their severed heads in Lagos emphasizes two things, namely:

— (I) Political and maternal connection of the Elekos with Benin (considering the resting place of their bodies), and

— (II) The land of the Elekos’ paternal origin being Lagos (considering the resting place of their heads).

(10) This foregoing point compares nicely with the burial custom of taking the severed heads of late Benin kings to Ife (emphasizing paternal origin); while their bodies is retained in Benin (emphasizing maternal/political connection).

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 11:34am On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:

The actual translation of the text in full:

"Captain Horseley called it Eco, and that is how the yebous refer to it; but it is not their land: it belongs to Benin, whom have named it Korame, you can recognise the Curamo from older Portuguese reports, just like Eko represents the Ichoo from Holland Hydrographs. Long ago Korame was linked to its metropolis by a very narrow piece of land contained between the great Laguna and the sea; but it has been a while since the Yebous have seazed that very narrow piece of land of which the eastern extremity was invaded by ouyo pirates; and Karamé remained isolated at the extremity of the great Laguna, while it continues to receive from Benin it's governor or political chief."

@ Areafada, Gregyboy, Samuk, Davidnazee.

Very obviously the metropolis being talked about is Benin !
Macof why are you such a liar ?
For your info, "langue de terre" means : "very narrow piece of land". You don't speak French and your Google translation won't translate that, because it is an expression.
While discussing history with you guys yoruba, it always comes down to this: you must lie ! But why ? It is history, it has already happened, why try to create your alternate reality ?

For readers who only want the truth, the text is here for you, don't be lazy, translate it.

Also, when you see expressions like "langue de terre" you have to first look at its meaning in a French dictionary ( just type the expression on Google, it should give you the meaning in french), then you translate the meaning (which would be words in french) into English.
Don't believe me, just do the work and don't be lazy.
https://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/bpt6k62093119/f11.image.r=Yebou

Also, as can be seen in the third caption, "ouyo" doesn't mean "oyo". Ouyo refers to a bunch of pirates whom were also called Jos. The ouyo pirates are most likely ijo people ! Gbam !

precolonial maps of Benin Kingdom:

Some of the maps:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b77595185.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b7759521n.r=Benin?rk=21459;2

An other map of Benin made in the 17th century once again:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b530530714.r=Benin?rk=214593;2

An other map of Benin from the 17th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b8595583b.r=Benin?rk=193134;0

This one date to the 19th century:
http://gallica.bnf.fr/ark:/12148/btv1b846939

This following map was made between 1603 and 1612:
https://www.raremaps.com/gallery/detail/64869/africae-tabula-nova-ortelius

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TvaiC_djW8o

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 11:54am On Aug 03, 2020
For the last time. I have provided proof of everything I claimed:

1) Lagos belongs to Benin.
2) Oba is a Benin word which means king of kings.

Once a thing is proven, it can no longer be debated.

Also, I see that tao11 is basically just trolling. Insulting me because he actually doesn't want an intelligent discussion he would much rather have a discussion on sentiments and have me lose focus. He doesn't want me to expose his lies. Also notice he took about 4 days to come up with his new set of lies.

Needless to say he doesn't speak French and the document which I shared is in french. So everybody should disregard his new fake translations and his comments about the book. None of it is true.

And of course notice as tao11 continues to quote imaginary books with no link towards them nor any caption. Both are needed to prove he is not doing his usual business of telling lies and they are also needed in order to scrutinize the documents if the documents do exist.

I and others have caught him several times in the passed saying a lot of ignorant rubbish and we have corrected him several times.
All he specialises in is making long comments full with fake logics, fake statements and unsubstantiated claims. Wasting the time of whomever is talking to him. This can be seen with the quoting of books of which he doesn't provide a link and caption. The aim is to avoid the scrutini of whomever he sees as his opponent and also to make that person waste time and effort. Also the book might just be the fruit of his imagination.

So people, here it is:

1) I provided a link to the books which I quoted.
2) I provided captions to the parts of the books which I quoted.
3) I gave a dispassionate translation of the quotes instead of trying to push any agenda into it (contrary to the yoruba who all gave false translations and tried to push in their agenda)

I am 100% transparent. Nothing to hide.

I wish everybody could say the same.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:12pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:

Debunked with evidence. Even Oba Akiolu of Lagos debunked this falsehood in the full video as I have demonstrated.

False! “Oba” has no meaning in any Edo language as it is a loan term from Yoruba. I have established this repeatedly.

Otherwise, tell us what part of the supposed Benin word “Oba” represent “King” and what other part represents “Kings”.

Moreover, explain how your fraudulent meaning of “Oba” would fit into the phrase “Omo N’Oba”. grin grin

Yes, except that it is I who have been debunking your delusions and causing you to delete all your numerous accounts. I am able to do that only because I stand firmly on the side on truth, evidence, proof, and reason.

[s]Also, I see that tao11 is basically just trolling. Insulting me because he actually doesn't want an intelligent discussion he would much rather have a discussion on sentiments and have me lose focus. He doesn't want me to expose his lies. Also notice he took about 4 days to come up with his new set of lies.

Needless to say he doesn't speak French and the document which I shared is in french. So everybody should disregard his new fake translations and his comments about the book. None of it is true.

And of course notice as tao11 continues to quote imaginary books with no link towards them nor any caption. Both are needed to prove he is not doing his usual business of telling lies and they are also needed in order to scrutinize the documents if the documents do exist.

I and others have caught him several times in the passed saying a lot of ignorant rubbish and we have corrected him several times.
All he specialises in is making long comments full with fake logics, fake statements and unsubstantiated claims. Wasting the time of whomever is talking to him. This can be seen with the quoting of books of which he doesn't provide a link and caption. The aim is to avoid the scrutini of whomever he sees as his opponent and also to make that person waste time and effort. Also the book might just be the fruit of his imagination.[/s]
Like I use to say. ocean of tears and sorrows do not need to be refuted. It is by it self self-refuting.

So people, here it is:
3) I gave a dispassionate translation of the quotes instead of trying to push any agenda into it (contrary to the yoruba who all gave false translations and tried to push in their agenda)

I obviously would never have asked you to buy me any book, or fetch me any link. grin All you had to do to meet your burden of proof is to substantiate whatever claims you make with relevant statements which are duly referenced to relevant materials.

Most importantly, all the materials you provided turned out to contain statements which are opposites to your insecure propaganda.

I have provided a translation from two independent persons whose first language is French. I am inclined to thinking that Edo/Benin is your own first language, Isn’t it? grin

Moreover, for the sake of context, my translation included the prior page (page 25) which you are dead-scared of because you understood that it was the beginning of the end for your delusions.

As always, you are finished. I am however waiting on you to do the needful — that is, the very thing you always do whenever you have no hiding place no more. Delete your account and run away.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 1:14pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:

Also, I see that tao11 is basically just trolling. Insulting me because he actually doesn't want an intelligent discussion he would much rather have a discussion on sentiments and have me lose focus. He doesn't want me to expose his lies. Also notice he took about 4 days to come up with his new set of lies.

All he specialises in is making long comments full with fake logics, fake statements and unsubstantiated claims. Wasting the time of whomever is talking to him. This can be seen with the quoting of books of which he doesn't provide a link and caption. The aim is to avoid the scrutini of whomever he sees as his opponent and also to make that person waste time and effort. Also the book might just be the fruit of his imagination.

So people, here it is:

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:14pm On Aug 03, 2020

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:19pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:
Debunked with evidence. Even Oba Akiolu of Lagos debunked this falsehood in the full video as I have demonstrated.

False! “Oba” has no meaning in any Edo language as it is a loan term from Yoruba. I have established this repeatedly.

Otherwise, tell us what part of the supposed Benin word “Oba” represent “King” and what other part represents “Kings”.

Moreover, explain how your fraudulent meaning of “Oba” would fit into the phrase “Omo N’Oba”. grin grin

Yes, except that it is I who have been debunking your delusions and causing you to delete all your numerous accounts. I am able to do that only because I stand on the side on truth, evidence, proof, and reason.

[s]Also, I see that tao11 is basically just trolling. Insulting me because he actually doesn't want an intelligent discussion he would much rather have a discussion on sentiments and have me lose focus. He doesn't want me to expose his lies. Also notice he took about 4 days to come up with his new set of lies.

All he specialises in is making long comments full with fake logics, fake statements and unsubstantiated claims. Wasting the time of whomever is talking to him. This can be seen with the quoting of books of which he doesn't provide a link and caption. The aim is to avoid the scrutini of whomever he sees as his opponent and also to make that person waste time and effort. Also the book might just be the fruit of his imagination.[/s]
Like I use to say, ocean of tears and sorrows does not need to be refuted. It is by it self self-refuting.

So people, here it is:

I obviously would never have asked you to buy me any book, or fetch me any link. grin All you had to do to meet your burden of proof is to substantiate whatever claims you make with relevant statements which are duly referenced to relevant materials.

Most importantly, all the materials you provided turned out to contain statements which are opposites to your insecure propaganda.

I have provided a translation from two independent persons whose first language is French. I am inclined to thinking that Edo/Benin is your own first language, Isn’t it? grin

Moreover, for the sake of context, my translation included the prior page (page 25) which you are dead-scared of because you understood that it was the beginning of the end for your delusions.

As always, you are finished. I am however waiting on you to do the needful — that is, the very thing you always do whenever you have no hiding place no more. Delete your account and run away.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 1:19pm On Aug 03, 2020
1) French is my first language
2) I have studied in France from primary school to masters degree.
3) I write books in french
4) I teach high school students in France

Look, this is just an other proof of the fact you tao11 are a liar and an ignorant full of assumption person.
Talking to you is useless.

You are never accountable for anything you say, the responsibility is always upon the shoulders of other people. You are just like a photocopier coupled with a liar.
You make a claim and when asked to prove, you direct your fingers at someone whom doesn't exist or is unavailable.

You are clearly a kid playing adult.
And this is my last reply to you and your lack of common sense and logics.
You are trolling and deserve to be ignored.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:26pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:
3) I write books in french

Look, this is just an other proof of the fact you tao11 are a liar and an ignorant always assuming person.

Oh good that French is your first language and not Edo. grin

Perhaps that is why you wouldn’t pinpoint even a single inaccuracy in my translation which I got from two independent sources whose first language is French, and who are students in one of the world’s finest English-speaking university.

The most you did about my translation was to throw tantrum as usual, and then childishly request others to ignore the translation. LMAO.

That’s very laughable. cheesy I wish such childish request will appeal to the sane readers as a refutation of the translation. I so wish. cheesy

Anyways, I don’t buy any of your ‘France-insecurities’. France seems to be the beginning and end of your “achievements“ and “success”. grin

In any case, Benin kingdom is what I’m asking you to defend, not France. grin grin cheesy

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Nobody: 1:28pm On Aug 03, 2020
For anybody reading this: I won't be replying tao12 whom is a time consuming troll.
I have no time for this nonesense.
Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:35pm On Aug 03, 2020
Oh, I just noticed now that you (Wtf77) chipped in the following parts into your above comment after I had responded grin
(1) Talking to you is useless.

(2) You are never accountable for anything you say, the responsibility is always upon the shoulders of other people. You are just like a photocopier coupled with a liar.

(3) You make a claim and when asked to prove, you direct your finger at someone whom doesn't exist or is unavailable.

(4)You are clearly a kid playing adult. And this is my last reply to you and your lack of common sense and logics

(1) Why does this sound like you’re about to do the needful. In other words, delete your account and run away as usual after being terribly flogged.

(2) Yes, whenever you make a claim (especially an historical claim), you don’t stick out your chest and present yourself as the evidence or authority. grin

No, you have to cite your source; or cite an academic work wherein the source was cited, etc.

You are by yourself a nobody in this field. Okay? Good boy. cheesy

(3) I am yet to see you provide any evidence to demonstrate that I have ever cited a non-existent source. I am gladly and patiently waiting on this.

(4) Like I always say, ocean of tears and sorrow do not deserve my refutation. It is by itself self-refuting.

Now do the needful as expected. In other words, delete your account as always, and run away for being exposed as a de.lu.ded insecure my.tho.ma.niac. grin

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 1:41pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:
[s]For anybody reading this: I won't be replying tao12 whom is a time consuming troll. I have no time for this nonesense[/s]
ROTFLMAO! grin grin grin grin

I knew you would run away as soon as I show up. cheesy

We’ve been through this cycle severally.

Your modus operandi is always as follows:

(1) Create a disguised account using a weird moniker.

(2) Maraud around with lies using the weird moniker just to conceal your regular identity in case you get busted.

(3) Continue doing step (2) for days, weeks, months, etc. until you’re identified to be the same person as Prolog or Ghostwon.

(4) Tao gets to know about the thread, and then fishes you out for disgrace using facts, evidence, proof and reason.

(5) Delete your account and runaway.

(6) Repeat the whole process from step (1).

Cheers! grin

cc: 900winer, Christistruth00, macof, Balogunodua, RuggedSniper

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by RuggedSniper: 1:53pm On Aug 03, 2020
IkwerrePikin:
Oba of Benin has once again affirm the ancestral relationship between the Ikwerre people and Benin Kingdom.

Watch video:

God bless Ikwerre!
God bless Benin kingdom.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wNR0LmlC9l8
Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by RuggedSniper: 4:09pm On Aug 03, 2020
macof:

Small boy, go and rest.
Posting something in a language the people you are expecting to reach out to don't understand thinking you won't receive a worthy response.

www.nairaland.com/attachments/12010252_screenshot20200727183806_jpeg7e8ba116274a198806b36682563c2b7c
That text deals a heavy blow to the usual claims of you Bini miscreants
"nous l'a appelee Eco, et c'est ainsi que la designent les Yebous... Benin, qui lui applique le nom Korame"
"Eco(Èkó) is the name given to it by the Yebous (Ijebu)... The Benin call it Korame"

If you are to post this text as authoritative then you must know that you cannot claim "Èkó" is a Bini word. The Bini called Lagos "Korame" after the Portuguese "Curamo". So Bini didn't even know about the area until the Portuguese
Your own source testifies to it being named Eko by the Ijebu

Futhermore, the text says
".. Korame etait unie a sa metropole par la langue de terre resserree entre la grande lagune et la mer; mais des longtemps les Yebous se sont empares..."
"Korame (Lagos) was formerly larger, included a metropolis between the Great lagoon and the sea but for a long time the Yebous (Ijebu) seized this area"

Futher the text says
"dont l'extremite orientale a ete envahie par les pirates Ouyo; et Korame est restee isolee au bout de la grande lagune, continuant a recevoir du Benin"
"the Eastern part of this area was invaded by pirates from Ouyo(Oyo) and what is left of Korame is the isolated end towards the great lagoon, this is all that is controlled by Benin"

Do you see how you are not smart enough?
Reason you cannot post anything in English anymore grin
You don't know even in French you cannot escape with lying on texts.

As someone who is familiar with Lagos tradition, I can confirm this text is right. In Lagos nobody will testify to "Èkó" being named by Bini people. And the only area that has significance to the Benin presence is where we call Enuwa... A tiny space less than the size of a football field at the extreme end of the land towards the lagoon

WORD!

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by Christistruth00: 8:48pm On Aug 03, 2020
TAO12:
Reply 2 of 7 to Wtf77:

Regarding your gRoUnDbReAkInG 1846 French book cheesy , the key statements of the author which you’ve clung to in order to make your point are those specific statements which he obviously received from oral sources, rather than from any referenced earlier written work.

In other words, your author relied on an oral account which supposedly informed him that the area of ‘Lagos’ which -- in his days -- was occupied by the Ijebus used to belong, in the distant past, to the Binis prior to when it was dispossessed from them by the Ijebus.

Given this observation, I now wonder if you will honor your oft-repeated mindless eYeWiTnEsS-gibberish by discarding your French book as trash, since its specific statements with which you seem to be supporting your propaganda are those which obviously relate to an event from many, many years prior to the author’s own 1846 work.

Moreover, how do you even keep a straight face while -- on one hand -- accepting this orally transmitted account which your author was not an eyewitness to, and yet -- on another hand -- reject other non-eyewitness extant oral accounts?? Lol.

How convenient is it for you to believe your own insinuation that the Ijebus forced the Binis to give up their supposedly ancestral and aboriginal piece of land?? Lol.

Having unveiled your grand stu.pi.di.ty, your ignorance, and your world of contradiction; I will now proceed to demonstrate -- piece-by-piece -- how all of the author’s statements here (whether those he referenced to earlier writings, or those he obviously received from oral accounts) have absolutely nothing to do with your false, baseless, and weird idea that the Binis (and not the Aworis themselves) -- are the rightful owner of Lagos.
Well done!!

Do you know that till today the Ijebu Remo people which also includes Ikorodu still insist that they defeated the Benins in Lagos and drove them out.

Your documented evidence confirms that it is the truth.

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by TAO12: 11:49pm On Aug 03, 2020
Wtf77:
[s]Don't mind the fool, oyo was never an empire by the way. Oyo was a very weak country which got fvcked up by Fulani. The guy is lying on purpose[/s].

Balogunodua:
See painment grin

So you don't own lagos again? Now its Oyo is not an empire cheesy mr goal changer grin

The ba.ld ug.ly fo.ol whom you replied here has already been cancelled on all his latest lies. grin

I hope he comes up with fresh lies cheesy perhaps under a new disguised moniker. grin

I promise to fish him out, as usual, for disgrace though.

Moreover, the driest joke anyone could come up with is to imagine that Oyo was not an Empire. sad cheesy

The following link shows my shattering refutation of one of such jokes imagined by a certain @Yujin.

https://www.nairaland.com/5846195/benins-owners-ogboni-confraternity-olokun/24#91606482

I’m certain that he is still battling PTSD following my devastating rebuttal of his joke. /s smiley But I know for sure that he ultimately learnt a thing or two.

Cheers!
cc: 900winer

Re: Ewuare, Oba Of Benin Hails Wike (Video) by macof(m): 1:41am On Aug 04, 2020
Wtf77:
3) I write books in French

Look, this is just an other proof of the fact you tao11 are a liar and an ignorant full of assumption person.
Talking to you is useless.

You are never accountable for anything you say, the responsibility is always upon the shoulders of other people. You are just like a photocopier coupled with a liar.
You make a claim and when asked to prove, you direct your fingers at someone whom doesn't exist or is unavailable.

You are clearly a kid playing adult.
And this is my last reply to you and your lack of common sense and logics.
You are trolling and deserve to be ignored.

Will you keep the hell quiet about being in france
Nobody ask you
Many people here are abroad and nobody is bragging or looking for some kind of ass licking for that. It's apparent that being in France is the only "achievement" you have so you keep trying to chip it in grin fvcking gtfoh

I told you that you are a fake edo without any upbringing in the culture and hence you have no knowledge of its history
You are exposing it yourself

(1) (2) (3) ... (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) (Reply)

Oshiomhole Makes 'Sign Of Cross' Before Casting Vote During Edo Election / Sit At Home Early Morning Update From My City Obosi Anambra State / Goodluck Jonathan, Fayose As Wike Commissions New Ekiti Governor's Office (Pics)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 152