Stats: 3,156,737 members, 7,831,345 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 05:24 PM

Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts - Investment (3123) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts (10953754 Views)

Nigerian Stocks To Buy - 2024 Best Performing Stocks / Free Stock Market Pick Alert For All Investors Globally!!! / Dangote Resumes As President Of Nigerian Stock Exchange (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (3120) (3121) (3122) (3123) (3124) (3125) (3126) ... (7778) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Agbalowomeri: 2:31pm On Feb 11, 2018
Coolcash1:
What do you people think about SEC bringing back shorting of stocks since there are more downs than ups in NSE... grin

....coz a lot of people go hammer even with this 1k rule

For newbies, short sale or shorting stocks is when you borrrow shares from the broker for return at a later date. The borrower sells the stock at certain price and then wait for the price to fall so that it can buy back the borrowed units at lower price to repay the broker.

Bros where you hear that one?

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 2:50pm On Feb 11, 2018
Coolcash1:
What do you people think about SEC bringing back shorting of stocks since there are more downs than ups in NSE... grin

....coz a lot of people go hammer even with this 1k rule

For newbies, short sale or shorting stocks is when you borrrow shares from the broker for return at a later date. The borrower sells the stock at certain price and then wait for the price to fall so that it can buy back the borrowed units at lower price to repay the broker.

What does the broker gain? The commission from selling and buying? Also, what if the price skyrockets after selling, broker will still collect the share borrowed? grin

I like this stockbroking business, little wonder there are lots of them, your ogo ta or ko ta their owo alaaru must pe.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Coolcash1: 3:01pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:

Bros where you hear that one?

I am just thinking aloud...I just wanna know people's thoughts on it whether or not SEC should take such step... grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Agbalowomeri: 3:07pm On Feb 11, 2018
Coolcash1:

I am just thinking aloud...I just wanna know people's thoughts on it whether or not SEC should take such step... grin

It would come along someday. More gambling and more opportunities for people to get broke; imagine people trading VIX, please what is the product behind this? just pure casino
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Coolcash1: 3:09pm On Feb 11, 2018
rationalmind:

What does the broker gain? The commission from selling and buying? Also, what if the price skyrockets after selling, broker will still collect the share borrowed? grin

I like this stockbroking business, little wonder there are lots of them, your ogo ta or ko ta their owo alaaru must pe.

The broker charges commission on borrow, buying and selling.

If the price goes up, that is the borrower's loss because he will have to buy it back at an expensive price to repay the loan. As a matter of fact, this is the major risk the borrower faces as the loss is limitless if the price should go up... grin However, considering the condition and nature of our market, more money will be made than loss.

On the bold part, you are spot on. But the problem is that it is a business of volume. The higher the transaction the more money the broker makes and vice versa
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Coolcash1: 3:10pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:

It would come along someday. More gambling and more opportunities for people to get broke; imagine people trading VIX, please what is the product behind this? just pure casino

grin..... Short sale na disguised professional gambling.... grin Frankly Bros, the thing go make sense die....I swear cheesy
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Agbalowomeri: 3:19pm On Feb 11, 2018
Coolcash1:

The broker charges commission on borrow, buying and selling.

If the price goes up, that is the borrower's loss because he will have to buy it back at an expensive price to repay the loan. As a matter of fact, this is the major risk the borrower faces as the loss is limitless if the price should go up... grin However, considering the condition and nature of our market, more money will be made than loss.

On the bold part, you are spot on. But the problem is that it is a business of volume. The higher the transaction the more money the broker makes and vice versa

What if you borrow and you no fit sell? For example, all these insurance companies on offer? grin grin grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Jeez2(f): 3:31pm On Feb 11, 2018
leo1234:

It is yayira and not yariya. grin

Happy Val to yayira and jeez2 kiss
thank you sir leo
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Jeez2(f): 3:31pm On Feb 11, 2018
leo1234:

thank you sir leo, same here.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Coolcash1: 3:48pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:

What if you borrow and you no fit sell? For example, all these insurance companies on offer? grin grin grin

Na to avoid such stocks like plague.... grin but say the thing happen and person no fit sell, Bros person don play penalty go throwing be that.... grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by 9free(m): 3:50pm On Feb 11, 2018
leo1234:

Bros, wetin nah? We get right to "Nigerize" the name so that e go sweet to call and pleasant to the ears of men.
Yariya, abeg enter Nigeria for Valentine celebrations. We go station our able Oga Agba, Pa Ewumi and FX at MMIA to welcome and take adequate care of you for two days.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Agbalowomeri: 3:58pm On Feb 11, 2018
9free:

Bros, wetin nah? We get right to "Nigerize" the name so that e go sweet to call and pleasant to the ears of men.
Yariya, abeg enter Nigeria for Valentine celebrations. We go station our able Oga Agba, Pa Ewumi and FX at MMIA to welcome and take adequate care of you for two days.

By the time you go back to Ghana, your life will not remain the same again
Hallelujah

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 4:33pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:

By the time you go back to Ghana, your life will not remain the same again Hallelujah
ahh,agba!I fear you pass the bear self.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by leo1234(m): 5:11pm On Feb 11, 2018
Jeez2:
thank you sir leo, same here.

Welcome my dearest.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 5:20pm On Feb 11, 2018
leo1234:

grin grin Thank you my oga
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 5:24pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:

By the time you go back to Ghana, your life will not remain the same again
Hallelujah

So true... my life will never remain the same.. I'll be leaving with a Ghana-must-go full of wisdom..

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by leo1234(m): 5:27pm On Feb 11, 2018
Yayira:

grin grin Thank you my oga

Welcome.
Na you be our madam for here.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 5:36pm On Feb 11, 2018
9free:

Chai I'll be sooo blessed but you forget Prof and Oracle na.. Please I want all of them cause I want to be taken care of well

#Running
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 6:06pm On Feb 11, 2018
Coolcash1:

With people like you, loco and tritri, volume is not a problem grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 6:31pm On Feb 11, 2018
Yayira:

Chai I'll be sooo blessed but you forget Prof and Oracle na.. Please I want all of them cause I want to be taken care of well

#Running
LOBATAN!
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by kolaish(m): 6:37pm On Feb 11, 2018
Toluway:
@Kolaish
Sir, Please on what parameter did you arrive at your conclusion regarding the present prices of Nigerian stocks ? Did you also consider their P.E.s? I'm asking because, considering Nigerian stocks Price Per Earnings, I believe they are still cheap. That is the bases for which I chose the present stocks that I'm in.

I'm still learning, though.
How many of those equities do you think can pay dividend commensurate to their current price, based on their dividend payment history?

On the bolded, simply consider the level of confidence of investor/traders on the stocks you bought, that will make you to decide if you still need to hold on or not. Not all stocks will go down, some that have good potential will resist downward movement until the FY results will propel them upward. Good luck though.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by chunkuli: 7:30pm On Feb 11, 2018
no mind them rabbi and his pepper them gang grin
Toluway:
Welldon fxuser, and may God bless your efforts and wisdom. Your chat is heroic doubly timely.

Aside: It takes a hell of courage to express your opinion in the midst of a very powerful oligarchy, who will cough and attract 12 likes grin

42likes grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by chunkuli: 7:40pm On Feb 11, 2018
and it will be before dec 2018.. cheesy
RabbiDoracle:

Saudi Aramco's valuations is in trillion USD. How are they gonna list that. Who is gonna buy? That will be the first multi-trillion dollar listing in the world.

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Chibuking81(m): 8:00pm On Feb 11, 2018
leo1234:

I dey one side dey look una. grin
As oracle don invite bear with bear bear. cheesy

Those who wishes to see bear because they have their cash at hand should prepare for Nigeria election grand papa of bear towards the end of this year.

This is just Trump bear, a punishment to most countries that kick against his decision, when he declared and recoganized Jerusalem as Israel capital. The Bear came as a result of massive sell off due to massive rig adding by the USA.

The sell off might not last long, the world oil market may start witnessing green flag by midnight of today, and this will extend to the world stocks market.

But don't forget upcoming election bear. grin grin grin

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Cadillac15(m): 8:02pm On Feb 11, 2018
rationalmind:

I hope that feb candle will not turn out like the one that started in June/July 2016 cos their starting sizes are somehow similar grin

Wish one can trade these indexes themselves, looks safer and less volatile.

Continue hoping for the worst. It will surely happen to your portfolio soon.
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Cadillac15(m): 8:09pm On Feb 11, 2018
Agbalowomeri:
I like correlations alot
This February candle had better turn green else it's not good
Observe every long-bodied green bar followed by a red bar points to something thereafter.
Ideally, should be followed by at least another short green bar

Oga na so you dey fear? So you didn't have any fundamental research backing up your earlier claims of NSE breaking 65,000.

I'm really learning fast in this NSEMPA. shocked

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Cadillac15(m): 8:14pm On Feb 11, 2018
Toluway:
Welldon fxuser, and may God bless your efforts and wisdom. Your chat is heroic doubly timely.

Aside: It takes a hell of courage to express your opinion in the midst of a very powerful oligarchy, who will cough and attract 12 likes grin

42likes grin

Rabbidoracle, Agbalowomeri, Currentprice, mendes.

Una stone don show grin
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 8:16pm On Feb 11, 2018
Cadillac15:

Continue hoping for the worst. It will surely happen to your portfolio soon.

No be fight na bros grin , the direction of the market is independent of my hope grin

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Cadillac15(m): 8:48pm On Feb 11, 2018
Tom DiChristopher | @tdichristopher
Published 12:14 PM ET Tue, 23 Jan 2018 Updated 5:50 AM ET Wed, 24 Jan 2018 CNBC.com
Saudi Aramco CEO: Company is ready for IPO in second half of 2018

Saudi oil giant Aramco is ready for 2018 IPO, but waiting for OK from government, CEO says

Saudi Aramco is ready for its hotly anticipated public share offering in the second half of 2018, Aramco President and CEO Amin Nasser tells CNBC.
Nasser says the timing of the IPO is in the hands of Aramco's sole shareholder, the Saudi government.
The government has yet to determine where shares of Aramco will be listed.

Saudi Aramco, the world's largest energy company, is fully prepared for a hotly anticipated public share offering in the second half of 2018, says Aramco president and CEO Amin Nasser.

It is just waiting for one thing, says Nasser. The green light from its sole shareholder: the Saudi government.

"In terms of readiness, we are ready. As we always said, the company by the second half of 2018 will be ready," Nasser told CNBC in an interview with Andrew Ross Sorkin from the World Economic Forum in Davos, Switzerland.

The sale of roughly 5 percent of Aramco is expected to value the company at $1 to $2 trillion, making it the largest initial public offering ever. The IPO is the cornerstone of Crown Prince Mohammed bin Salman's plan to create the world's largest sovereign wealth fund and diversify Saudi Arabia's oil-dependent economy.

But rumors about delays to the share sale have long swirled, fueled by the slow drip of information on key aspects of the IPO, including where the shares will be listed.

"It is all depending on the shareholder's decisions where to list because we need to coordinate with the other markets when the decision is made," Nasser said.

"So from our side as a company, we are ready by the second half of this year, and the rest is on the shareholder's hands," he said.

Asked whether that means the Saudi government is not ready for the IPO, Nasser said it's not about being ready.

"It's about evaluating all the information that is being passed to the government in terms of different markets that we have in terms of listed venues, whether it is in the UK, or New York or Hong Kong or other markets," he said.

"They are taking their time, rightfully so, to decide which market to list on, and when the decision is made, the company is ready to march."

Nasser said Aramco still plans to list shares on at least one foreign stock exchange, despite reports that it may only trade on Saudi Arabia's Tadawul exchange.

The IPO is complicated because Aramco underwrites the finances of the kingdom. Investors have wondered how much light the Saudi government will shed on its oil reserves and the future viability of its fossil fuels business.

There are also questions about how Saudi Arabia will balance the national priorities and social welfare spending, funded by oil revenues, with Aramco's duty to shareholders as a public company.

Nasser told CNBC in an interview last year he believes the priorities of the Saudi government and Aramco's future shareholders will be in alignment.

Programming note: More of Andrew Ross Sorkin's interview with Amin Nasser will air Wednesday morning on "Squawk Box."

https://www.cnbc.com/2018/01/23/saudi-aramco-is-ready-to-ipo-but-waiting-for-government-ok-says-ceo.html

Saudi Govt already valued this company at 2trillion USD based on January prices and someone here thinks Saudi Arabia won't endure some months of cuts to ensure this deal is successful.

What do I know sef

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Nobody: 9:07pm On Feb 11, 2018
Chibuking81:

Those who wishes to see bear because they have their cash at hand should prepare for Nigeria election grand papa of bear towards the end of this year.

This is just Trump bear, a punishment to most countries that kick against his decision, when he declared and recoganized Jerusalem as Israel capital. The Bear came as a result of massive sell off due to massive rig adding by the USA.

The sell off might not last long, the world oil market may start witnessing green flag by midnight of today, and this will extend to the world stocks market.

But don't forget upcoming election bear. grin grin grin

People for Nigeria say na mmassive drilling as punishment to countries wey vote against US, people for france dey say the fall is related to the US tax reform that could weigh on the bond market and the stock markets.

Which way forward ?
Is there any index US got nothing on ? I'll like to relocate there

Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Bianco1: 9:16pm On Feb 11, 2018
As the new week begins and going forward no matter what we say here the market will always do what it wants. Remember lots of people all over the world with their diverse plans all focused on one thing - profit from the Exchange!
Good luck to all of us as we all need it - Happy investing or trading whichever one you doing.

Divergent outlook for stock market as investors lose N542bn
Read more at: https://www.vanguardngr.com/2018/02/divergent-outlook-stock-market-investors-lose-n542bn/
Re: Nigerian Stock Exchange Market Pick Alerts by Cadillac15(m): 9:53pm On Feb 11, 2018
US Debt is US$ 20.5 Trillion. This does not include obligations to Fannie Mae and Freddie Mac, Guaranteed obligations, Unfunded obligations like Medicare, Medicaid and Social Security. The year to year additional debt is close to US$ 1.00 Trillion. The new 20% tax cut, to cost the US $1.5 Trillion. So, to fund all this interest rates will have to go up & interest on the Us debt will be the fastest growing part of the federal budget...by far. And as the economic recovery gets into top gear people who were earlier hesitant to spend will gain confidence and start to spend more resulting in inflation…. So….

So the Fed is going to have to raise interest rates.

We all know what happens to the stock market when we have higher interest rates.

Of course my entire hypothesis may be wrong in the short to medium to term, and if market drops alarmingly the Fed may not increase interest rates and simply prime the pump even more to artificially suppress interest rates and hope that inflation will go away, which of course, is only going to postpone the inevitable for a few years.

What do you think...?

This is coming from an investment analyst in the US and I think he is right.

The alarm caused by these few weeks of volatility has already cancelled any interest rate hike. So even if inflation rate goes up on Wednesday, which I doubt will happen, there will be no rate hike this year.

I just pity people panic selling low because of the doomsday prophesies in this forum. Other forums are encouraging their members to buy up all the cheap shares but the reverse is the case on nsempa.

(1) (2) (3) ... (3120) (3121) (3122) (3123) (3124) (3125) (3126) ... (7778) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: nnadengram(m), me3000(m), emmasoft(m), xezoid(m), ogoo4real, chimex38, Excellent7(m) and 7 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 88