Stats: 3,150,996 members, 7,810,771 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 03:06 PM

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 - Travel (295) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 (677912 Views)

General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 13 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 12 / General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 11 (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (292) (293) (294) (295) (296) (297) (298) ... (402) (Go Down)

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by aydebbie: 1:13pm On Jul 17, 2016
drelicx:
hello, i sent you an e-mail request pls reply, am working on my application to ferris state uni which i want to learn from your experience. tnx

I replied your mail dear.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by dickoflife(m): 1:20pm On Jul 17, 2016
aydebbie:

I replied your mail dear.
so u just dey use dear foreverybody. Kontinue
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by imperiouxx(m): 1:40pm On Jul 17, 2016
@ heylie, Cambells, Juls1603, Mma800, LCHR, Basquiatttt, Dimejishittu, Bethlehem08 and ormorteey,

Cheers!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by imperiouxx(m): 1:41pm On Jul 17, 2016
YoungPablo91:
Hey house,

Why don't ppl talk about California on here? Is anything wrong with Cali?

Nothing wrong with CA. I guess you're rich and you're from Abuja or Lagos.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by imperiouxx(m): 1:41pm On Jul 17, 2016
gentledoj:

General Microbiology...

Any comments and ideas please!

Micro is part of the foundation of nursing.

Be ready to state that you love caring for people.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by imperiouxx(m): 1:43pm On Jul 17, 2016
gentledoj:

Ok sir

Can I tell the VO that NCCU is a black America university ( which is tru)... Can I use this statement?

You want to come and start your own revolution abi?

I think you don't like to get the visa.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by imperiouxx(m): 1:56pm On Jul 17, 2016
borie4u:
After countless messages to profs in my field I finally got a not to promising reply. My people edakun, do Allah na night school I go ooo. My English teacher for Igbo elerin no teach us well, please what does he imply by dis reply
"Thank you for your interest to work in my group. My limitation is that the large number of current students and low level of funding from the industry, hence I won't be able to provide financial support (RA). There may be opportunity for TA, but the competition is keen."

My questions are:
1.is tuition gonna be taken care of?
2. What is d cost difference between ta and ra?
Cc walspring
Imperiouxx
GboyegaD
Dot1
Msnas
Slimmy
Gunter
Lagosismyhouse
Mekurexx
In fact na everybody I call

In most schools, GA = TA or RA. Therefore, you get the same benefits if it's official i.e comes from the grad school (Check the school to see what's offer e.g tuition waiver or instate tuition and stipend). Both cover only four semesters (2 years), inasmuch you register for at least 9 credit hours/semester. Nothing special about anyone of them. One of the major difference is that for RA you, can start fully immediately depending on the skills you're bring into the position but for TA, you might have restrictions because of your accent.

Unofficial is when a prof promises you a RA position in his lab/office, such that he's the one paying you directly from his grant. Certainly, this won't be applied towards your tuition. Officially, they switched me between RA and TA when I was doing my ms but I remained RA throughout (i.e during the semester and breaks) because I was working on my research and publications.

So, from his email, there may be TA (usually official) from the grad school and it's competitive...... this is the norms.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by LCHR: 2:17pm On Jul 17, 2016
LagosismyHome:

This has been explained in a previous post....and i am too lazy to retype grin

The only thing i can add, inlight of the recent happening with Indian students been refused entry back after a holiday . Make sure the "another uni " is an accredited and not under the table School. .....i would even recommend starting the change after you cross POE so u dont hear story. Just go early at least within 30 days , cross and then initiate the change

Joking apart, I have a terrible critical reading skill which made my GRE verbal score suffer. That explains why I couldn't fathom the gists of brightify's message and yours, or maybe the messages were actually intended for an informed person. I really need this help.
Again, the issue is I got Visa to go to GSU Atlanta, but I wanna enroll at CSU Ohio for the same Fall entry. How do I proceed? Please, in a simple language. I am a johny-come-lately on the amazing thread.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by LCHR: 2:24pm On Jul 17, 2016
imperiouxx:
@ heylie, Cambells, Juls1603, Mma800, LCHR, Basquiatttt, Dimejishittu, Bethlehem08 and ormorteey,

Cheers!

Enjoy yourself, but when are you gonna exhaust the beer? It appears you are gonna drink it untill Nigeria becomes America
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by LagosismyHome(f): 2:28pm On Jul 17, 2016
LCHR:

Joking apart, I have a terrible critical reading skill which made my GRE verbal score suffer. That explains why I couldn't fathom the gists of brightify's message and yours, or maybe the messages were actually intended for an informed person. I really need this help.
Again, the issue is I got Visa to go to GSU Atlanta, but I wanna enroll at CSU Ohio for the same Fall entry. How do I proceed? Please, in a simple language. I am a johny-come-lately on the amazing thread.

Wahala dey oooo..... how u go con cope for Grad school tongue . tongue tongue grin
Send me a pm . This kind Simple language back and forth go clog this thread .
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by gentledoj(m): 3:02pm On Jul 17, 2016
Happy Sunday

If am ask why USA? What should be my answer

Please help

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by nellyalph: 4:01pm On Jul 17, 2016
debris:

will be 25 by deceember does that have limit for bachelors?

What I meant was those that have long years apart after waec and still want go for bsc.
IMO 25 yrs is an OK age too..
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by nellyalph: 4:06pm On Jul 17, 2016
dicapino:
Hello I escorted my mum to the airport 3weeks ago as JJC travellers we parted with like 4k to arrange luggages so as not exceed the flight weight minimum. I really didn't understand what they actually did....but I know they did a fast one.

Boss, I don't want to go down that lane. I am using Qatar and I will only be travelling with a box and my hand luggage(won't be carrying any food or extra load).

Is there a minimum weight?

How can I check before it's weighed by the airline staff.

Bro which date?? I'm using Qatar too
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by worry359(m): 4:12pm On Jul 17, 2016
gentledoj:
Happy Sunday
Please help

Are you going to attend your interview with these answers written on pieces of paper?
If you are so uncertain the trained VO will see straight through and suspect your motivation.

Unless you get things clear in your head to give simple and honest answers you will be rejected.

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by OluDare01(m): 4:28pm On Jul 17, 2016
This news I am hearing about Baton Rouge not good undecided undecided
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 4:30pm On Jul 17, 2016
gentledoj:
Happy Sunday

Please help
What makes the US unique but please be careful not to over-emphasize it otherwise you end up getting 214(b).

Read previous interview scripts.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by LagosismyHome(f): 4:41pm On Jul 17, 2016
OluDare01:
This news I am hearing about Baton Rouge not good undecided undecided

So much unrest everywhere cry cry.....must be end time soon

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by ayingodmercy: 4:45pm On Jul 17, 2016
Bethlehem08:
My visa was approved on tuesday.I'm really very sorry for posting this late transcript. While i was celebrating the victory i broke my phone screen.I had to fix it first so i could be able to access nairaland as i didnt even remember my p/w.
The grace of the almighty God was at work in my life that fateful day. I have been following nairaland since february. I started reading from thread6 and when it was time to start my application,there was no need to start asking any questions as i have gained alot.

Fastforward to the day of my interview. I did all the necessary stuffs,biometrics and all. I was on the queue and i heard STEP FORWARD PLS. There was this particular VO that was on a denying streak that day. He didnt waste any time at all and was very quick to say sorry your visa has been denied.He denied the young girl before me even as her mum talked and talked to convince the VO. He beckoned and i stepped forward.

V.O Good Morning

Me Good afternoon sir

V.O Oh! that's true. Good afternoon

V.O Ok now. Just tell me your name,when u finished high school,your plans,where you're going,your course and evrything i need to know
just keep talking.

Me *at this point my confidence level dropped drastically cos i wasnt expecting all those questions at a stretch* My name is bleep.I finished my high school in 2003. I did a year diploma program in computer studies at the computer science dept of OAU. Between 2006-2008 i went to the maritime academy of nigeria for a two year diploma program in nautical science. I embarked on an Industrial training for a year at a shipping company. After the IT i started working with them as a full staff. I Will be going for a Bsc program in computer science at the university of minessota *Mind u, my voice was shaking all thru and i was stuttering. I lost my composure and had already given up*

V.O How long have u been working.

Me Five years as an assistant database administrator *he shook his head and gave me a stern look*

V.O Who's going to pay for your education.

Me My dad. i come tell am wetin my papa dey do.

V.O Congrats. your visa has been approved *at this point i became deaf* i grabbed the white paper and dashed out.

I didnt believe it.it was like a dream.while i was on the BRT i kept checking my bag if it was the blue paper cos i knew there was nothing i said or did that impressed the VO. God just favored me. He didnt ask about the school,course or if i wrote any standardized test(i wrote only TOEFL tho). I thought my age would be a red flag as i'm 29yrs old.

There was a time someone here said nigerians always attribute their success to an invisible being. No vex brother, but some of us here dont trust in our own power. GOD IS REAL.
i surrendered everything to him and i was not put to shame.
WHY NOT TRY GOD

congrats bro...more grace of God to speak for you in Jesus name.. Am encourage
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Nobody: 4:56pm On Jul 17, 2016
gunther6:

Tried it on my expired, new passport and the visa's in there it worked. Download ID scanner powered by blink OCR ... It might take later with old passports like 2-3 mins of scanning and I think it also depends on the sharpness of your camera.

Aight man. About that CMB stuff, I will get back to you by CoB tomorrow.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Walspring: 4:56pm On Jul 17, 2016
gunther6:

Walspring I did not get your reply on that stuff o

Done
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by OluDare01(m): 5:06pm On Jul 17, 2016
LagosismyHome:

So much unrest everywhere cry cry.....must be end time soon
Honestly, not good at all.
May God protect us

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by fizzile(m): 5:51pm On Jul 17, 2016
lonelyhrt:

A friend of mine had Cgpa 1.95 bachelor's in Nigeria she's going to UK for masters does that chances happen in USA?
lonelyhrt, Its slightly possible. Thats only if she evaluates her transcript. Well UK is not bad. Which school in the UK?
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by dickoflife(m): 6:31pm On Jul 17, 2016
Dollar is 365 o 369 in sime places. However i bought for 362 this morn for 100 dollar bills. For 10 and 20 its like 355 naira. Ibadan at sabo was the transaction point. Goodluck on the dollar hunt.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by akin3102(m): 7:05pm On Jul 17, 2016
Sorry..it wont fly..Thanks
Mekurexx:
I have three payments to make online (2 flight bookings). If you can do at a firm rate of 300, send me a PM. If you still insist on mallam rate best to use the available intl money transfer services in the US smiley
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by akin3102(m): 7:09pm On Jul 17, 2016
I will need your help soonest.. A friend is going to Nigeria, will be using his help this time..Have a good one, thanks.
zeezahbee:
PM me if you nend help with it
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by pennstate(m): 7:15pm On Jul 17, 2016
gentledoj:
Happy Sunday

Please help
Tell them that when it comes to education, the US is the MEASURING STICK!

Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Square65: 7:41pm On Jul 17, 2016
Imperiouxx!!!

Here's to all you veterans who still come here to be as helpful as possible to those in need. Kudos to you all!!!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by gentledoj(m): 8:04pm On Jul 17, 2016
pennstate:
Tell them that when it comes to education, the US is the MEASURING STICK!

MEASURING STICK..... Explain more!
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Mekurexx: 8:04pm On Jul 17, 2016
Happy new week guys wink
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by Mekurexx: 8:04pm On Jul 17, 2016
Imperioux has answered you succinctly. RA,GA<TA all come with full tuition waiver from most schools plus a nice stipend. If you are going for PhD it will be better to search for funding in the department you are applying for. I really dont know how it works but the main thing is if you have set your sights on funding, you should keep applying and also seek God's face for favor! wink
borie4u:
After countless messages to profs in my field I finally got a not to promising reply. My people edakun, do Allah na night school I go ooo. My English teacher for Igbo elerin no teach us well, please what does he imply by dis reply
"Thank you for your interest to work in my group. My limitation is that the large number of current students and low level of funding from the industry, hence I won't be able to provide financial support (RA). There may be opportunity for TA, but the competition is keen.
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by gunther6(m): 8:12pm On Jul 17, 2016
innovativeame you are needed o. Ilstu date draws nearer I don't want to pay for hotel or airbnb o... cry
Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by borie4u(m): 8:16pm On Jul 17, 2016
Mekurexx:
Imperioux has answered you succinctly. RA,GA<TA all come with full tuition waiver from most schools plus a nice stipend. If you are going for PhD it will be better to search for funding in the department you are applying for. I really dont know how it works but the main thing is if you have set your sights on funding, you should keep applying and also seek God's face for favor! wink
Do u mean ra and ga is less than ta or its just a mistake that it was supposed to be a coma. Most school said they have no funding for spring . I think I all keep trying .
Thanks imperiouxx, mekurexx, lagos
ismyhouse

(1) (2) (3) ... (292) (293) (294) (295) (296) (297) (298) ... (402)

Yankee: through the eyes of a village boy. / Giving Birth In Canada / Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 19

Viewing this topic: 5 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 65