Stats: 3,150,748 members, 7,809,866 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 04:15 PM

8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) - Properties (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Properties / 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) (88213 Views)

Many Trapped As 5-Storey Building Collapses In Onitsha, Anambra / Photos As 3-Storey Building Collapses In Ibadan / Many Pupils Dead, Over 100 Trapped As School Building Collapses In Lagos (2) (3) (4)

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by SamOyovwi: 9:43pm On Apr 30, 2020
This looks like a controlled demolition. It's not a structural defect
BUSINESSARENAA:
Who possibly approved the plan for eight story building?

Was pilling done on the foundation?

Which government agency was monitoring such a massive project while it was ongoing?

Who was checking the columns, the reinforcements and the concrete mixture to ensure it confirm with standards?

When we have answer to the above questions, we will understand where the problem started.
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Obatarhe1(m): 9:43pm On Apr 30, 2020
SLAP44:

RIP to the dead.

The house must have been started when Imo was on auto pilot as Rochas didn't care about anything. APC is a disaster in this state.

Don't quote me, I am going to bed.
good night
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by clemmonce(m): 9:44pm On Apr 30, 2020
SLAP44:

RIP to the dead.

The house must have been started when Imo was on auto pilot as Rochas didn't care about anything. APC is a disaster in this state.

So it is the governor that will go around inspecting building. Baba think well .

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by sirp85(m): 9:44pm On Apr 30, 2020
This is really sad cry
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by doggedfighter(f): 9:44pm On Apr 30, 2020
Lastanza:

Check ur environment. Almost all construction work around my area ar working. Don't know if they have special waver.
I'm so surprised. Where are they getting material?
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by afecgivers: 9:44pm On Apr 30, 2020
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by tonididdy(m): 9:46pm On Apr 30, 2020
embarassed
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by AmuDimpka: 9:46pm On Apr 30, 2020
Eastern cities from Onitsha to Aba , from Enugu to Awka everyone is building high rises....in the next 20 yrs east would be like Singapore....high rises flats everywhere
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by tonididdy(m): 9:47pm On Apr 30, 2020
SamOyovwi:
This looks like a controlled demolition. It's not a structural defect
Controlled demolition with people trapped in the building?

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Anambralstson: 9:48pm On Apr 30, 2020
See the building that collapsed in Owerri.

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by tonididdy(m): 9:49pm On Apr 30, 2020
AmuDimpka:
Eastern cities from Onitsha to Aba , from Enugu to Awka everyone is building high rises....in the next 20 yrs east would be like Singapore....high rises flats everywhere
High rise flats... Now see the result.
You think Singapore was built on poor soil and by quack engineers.
Lives are lost and you are here blabbing about nonsense high rise house.

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Currentgistarena(m): 9:49pm On Apr 30, 2020
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Millenniumlady(f): 9:50pm On Apr 30, 2020
SLAP44:

RIP to the dead.

You haven't fulfill your 100k promise on that thread how about that
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by tonididdy(m): 9:50pm On Apr 30, 2020
promotervickky:
Maybe the sand was more than the cement!!!
ABA this is a multimillion project... Money isn't an issue.
Something else occurred
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by AmuDimpka: 9:51pm On Apr 30, 2020
tonididdy:

High rise flats... Now see the result.
You think Singapore was built on poor soil and by quack engineers.
Lives are lost and you are here blabbing about nonsense high rise house.

Don't worry they would make corrections and learn from their mistakes the way Singapore did

Can you shift ejoor ...emabinu
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Remaboy(m): 9:51pm On Apr 30, 2020
Millenniumlady:
You haven't fulfill your 100k promise on that thread how about that
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Nobody: 9:52pm On Apr 30, 2020
Kobojunkie:
What is this? shocked
WELCOME to 2020
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by gbanga(m): 9:52pm On Apr 30, 2020
[color=#006600][/color]God will save oooo why is it now when every were is lockdown ehn God will save oooo why is it now when every were is lockdown ehn
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by gbanga(m): 9:52pm On Apr 30, 2020
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by jamesversion: 9:53pm On Apr 30, 2020
AmuDimpka:

Person go build ordinary 5storey building and call it highrise. Is it dat you don't know the meaning of High or Rise??... Abeg highrise is from 20storey upwards.

Rip to the dead.. We will know if Owerri people has the capacity to clear the demolition completely in hours, days, weeks or months. Or na only to Lodge women for hotel and fuqk them Sabi..

Nothing Personal, it's only my opinion.

Let no one quote me. I'm also going to bed.
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by YorubaNinja: 9:53pm On Apr 30, 2020
Awon Developers! angry Everything Igbo na so so fake. grin

R.I.P to the dead anyway. cry
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Adewale1603(m): 9:53pm On Apr 30, 2020
It's one hell of year. Vision 2020, More still coming
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by etibaba(m): 9:54pm On Apr 30, 2020
Menance:
Hope no lives lost
Logically if you had taken 5minutes of your time reading the write up you wouldn't be asking this question.
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by mimimile93: 9:54pm On Apr 30, 2020
This is what happens when you give Igbos contracts. Always trying to maximized profit. They'd rather buy substandard things and sell to gain more profits

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by tonididdy(m): 9:55pm On Apr 30, 2020
AmuDimpka:

Don't worry they would make corrections and learn from their mistakes the way Singapore did

Can you shift ejoor ...emabinu
Whatever rocks your boat
gN
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by AmuDimpka: 9:56pm On Apr 30, 2020
tonididdy:

Whatever rocks your boat
gN
bye
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by surveynow: 9:57pm On Apr 30, 2020
all this happening in 2020. this is just not cool
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by nnakelechi1(m): 9:57pm On Apr 30, 2020
So bad that the Govt doesn’t care anymore about the welfare of its citizens anymore
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Anambralstson: 9:57pm On Apr 30, 2020
jamesversion:

Person go build ordinary 5storey building and call it highrise. Is it dat you don't know the meaning of High or Rise??... Abeg highrise is from 20storey upwards.

Rip to the dead.. We will know if Owerri people has the capacity to clear the demolition completely in hours, days, weeks or months. Or na only to Lodge women for hotel and fuqk them Sabi..

Nothing Personal, it's only my opinion.

Let no one quote me. I'm also going to bed.
You are calling 5 storey ordinary, but to pay common house rent they hard you.
Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by ChimaAdeoye: 9:58pm On Apr 30, 2020
Abagworo:

https://www.vanguardngr.com/2020/04/breaking-40-trapped-in-collapsed-8-storey-building-in-imo/amp/

With the cheap/fake cement in Nigeria today, and the complicity of the Federal Government in refusing to investigate poor quality DANGOTE cement, nobody should be allowed to build more than 4 floors anywhere in Nigeria!

RIP to the dead. Those that still buy the sandbagged DANGOTE cement should continue to risk the human sacrifice! All the federal government agencies need to do is randomly select these DANGOTE cement bags and do quality tests on them. But they will never do it!

Nigeria is a human wasteland and the government doesn't care as long as the corrupt cement maker settles them well !

Re: 8 Storey Building Collapses In Owerri: 40 People Trapped (Graphic Pics) by Michealky: 9:58pm On Apr 30, 2020
Yea i know life matters most but com'mon, this is someone's hardship and the contractor had to wreck it

New Houses I Saw In Villages In Imo State Today - Photos / Do I Mold Blocks Or Buy It? Please Advice. / Man Who Built Home On Inlaws Land Uproots & Moves The Home After Divorce (video)