Stats: 3,158,533 members, 7,837,039 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 04:04 PM

Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy - Travel (22) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Travel / Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy (46079 Views)

Nigerians In The UK Are Asked To Bring £30 For BVN / Will My Coming To America Or Uk Make Me Stingy? / Nigerians In The Desert Trying To Travel To Europe (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (27) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ikorodu(m): 9:38pm On Dec 26, 2007
not stingy, more like hard up
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Elgaxton(m): 5:19pm On Dec 27, 2007
darfur:

elgie my maaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaan cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

elgie merry xmas from stingy darfur in stingy UK cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy
elgie i de fall in naija on the 28th cheesy cheesy cheesy heading striaght to villa.

i would have come before xmas but i recalled that it will be more expensive for me, so i plan to come just after the xmas when the hype is dying out. that way i'll spend little and before anyone notices my presence i'll be back in the UK spending only 6 days. . . . .and spending less money [color=#770077][/color]grin grin grin grin

who say stingyness de expire grin grin grin grin

oga siena, elgie, omoge(elgie's nemesis grin grin), omogenaija, everyone that met this thread. . . . my Ist thread in nairaland. i wish you all merry xmas and happy new yr.

elgie e go better next yr you hear? my friend is still waiting for ya application cheesy

O'l boy i dey o!

i don apply sef, I suppose spend the xmas for that una stingy uk but dem sey na next year dem go answer my application, I no see winterbunton o.

Omoge no be my nemesis again o, na my babe she be na o, she call me one day like into surprise call grin grin

Carry pounds come o cheesy grin oh oops i forget sey, grin tongue wink

Hope sey una jollificate for yonder sha abi na cold mama una plenty grin
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ikorodu(m): 5:20pm On Dec 27, 2007
what ??
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by awonboiz: 6:17pm On Dec 27, 2007
abeg make dat FCT guy go polish im pidgin english undecided
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by tj4ever(m): 5:13pm On Dec 28, 2007
@jezgirl.

I feel the pressures homeboys put on family abroad. But the sting in your rep was just too much. How far now?

I was in the Uk lately and you would just not believe the kind of gifts everybody wanted. No wonder our politicos steal us blind.

Will be in the UK early jan to see what it would be like there. Just got my HSMP thru and would like to dip a toe in the pool.

I have a great job here but feel the urge to improve myself. Will be at Cranfield (if I'm taken).

Would like to get in touch for a few tips.

And I have not seen your face. This is serious.

get back soon
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by bisimonijo: 11:51pm On Dec 28, 2007
when you go there and work then you will know why they are stingy. you cant give what you dont have, they dont have so they cant give
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ceasyc(f): 4:49am On Dec 29, 2007
hi y'all,dis is an interesting topic
some funny answers, some accurate replies n some ppl who r really pissed
and so on

i used to visit d UK since 98 but decided 2 stay after a few visits
I've lived in the UK for a short while now n i must say it has NOT been easy
WHO NO GO NO KNOW

modified
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ceasyc(f): 4:58am On Dec 29, 2007
some corrections made,
hi y'all,this is an interesting topic
some funny answers, some accurate replies n some people who r really pissed
and so on

i used to visit d UK since 98 but decided 2 stay after a few visits
I've lived in the UK for a short while now n i must say it has NOT been easy
WHO NO GO NO KNOW

modified
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Nobody: 5:05am On Dec 29, 2007
ceasyc didnt you plan your trip at all?
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ceasyc(f): 5:26am On Dec 29, 2007
to davidylan n CONTINUED,

Most of us do not prepare or no how hard it is b4 we embark on our journey 2 d UK or abroad
i realised dat visiting wit my hubby then who had a hse here n staying (now divorced) were 2 diff things
it becomes a case of making it anyway u no how, most ppl 1st job na early morning cleaning.
Everybody 4 9ja no say we don jand
na shame to go back wit nutin n no achievement [/font] e.g. house, bungalow, who u don
carry com jand (especially if u are d oldest in your family like moi), etc
Some ppl dont care, dey go back home shortly after dey arrive because dey can’t stand d struggle

modified
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ceasyc(f): 6:39am On Dec 29, 2007
CONT,
just 2 let u no, this na partly my story n some close friends of mine

when i 1st came,I did 40 hrs a wk and got less than 700 pounds a mth after tax.
Subtract rent n the long list of bills people
mentioned earlier. Most of us stay in single or double room
least amt is 260 pounds per month, we got feeding, t-fare, etc. By d time am done

I might have 300 pounds free from d 700 because I have really tried my best not to
go overboard at the time, Meaning don’t buy a TV, install cable, landline, call home often, etc.
we NO GO dare rent a whole hse (studio flat is at least 400 pounds bills exclusive,
1 bed flat starts from 550 pounds excluding bills a mth depending on d area).

I used 2 convert everything I want to buy to naira before I decide to pay for it in pounds
or ask myself loudly I dey cress? before storming out of d shop without buying. this
continued for at least 2 years not because am stingy
but I needed to save for a rainy day, send something home to my immediate family
when needed (thank God for me n them because dey did not need me for basic
necessities) and my bank acct back home

people need time to adapt to everything e.g. bills,weather,small room,being home
sick,rent,foreign land,etc. i don change that mentallity small because i can't do
without my sky, internet, phone n family, etc now

most people start wit a cleaning or carer jobs, dey r both dirty jobs but it pays d
bills, d best starters job u can
get is working in a clothes shop, supermarket or security job (this one don spoil
now,lots of Nigeria bros lost their jobs because of SIA license for security officers
wahala, your papers must be genuine). I hear say CRB for carers wan start to check
people papers too but am not sure

i visited paris, italy n Nigeria after i managed do my paper (no b small moni oh).
coming back from Nigeria for 1  to tell me 4 uk airport say my paper was cancelled
6 mths ago. my solicitor n i were not informed prior to that and na d same paper i take
fly go europe 2x without probs and na during d period wey them claim say them cancel
am.i had to pay solicitor (thief) over 1,500 pounds to release me from them immiga
people, sOME COUNTRIES SHARE PAPERS FOR MANY AND when them GIVE U PAPER DEY LET U BE BUT NOT UK
CONTD
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by ceasyc(f): 7:09am On Dec 29, 2007
CONTD,

i don dey tire 4 london small small. it's not been all bad,
no nepa failure, theres good roads,water,hospital,clean air,freedom of speech,no
babangidas n abachas (coruption),no degrading or ill treating of women/girlfriend/wives,
armed robbery,etc but for me personally,e don too much (good times don't last long).
no bro no sis 4 here oh U ARE ON your OWN, especially when your sick or no job and u no
get genuine paper,na suffer but if u get no wahala,govt go take care of u

i brought my parents to visit and 6 of my siblings (got them genuine uk visas but e
no easy oh,one of them was refused 6x before granted d visa) to stay or visit
which is their choice unless dey are in uni back home but i have to sit them down
and not just say e no easy, i break it down for them and i told them if u
spoil your visa without securing your stay because of 1 flimsy excuse like u overstayed
or got ursef into trouble,u have me to answer to

my sister stayed but she's turned into a total disrespectful,stingy and i don't care b**ch
(am 6 years older than she is), she hardly calls her immediate family here or back home let alone friends

i always tell my siblbings not to ask/call people abroad 4 money for any reason because
if it were me i'd b pissed too,  E NO EASY NA. i also tell them say if dey ask for money
or anything from them people abroad,don't put your hopes high, if them send wetin u ask
fine if dey don't do not blame them        

some people say london dey change people but i personally believe that it depends on
each individual, JUST TELL IT LIKE IT IS(please DO NOT GIVE people FALSE HOPE SO that
DEY CAN FIND AN ALTERNATIVE ON TIME IF NEEDED). no long explaination (SAY NO OR SORRY I CAN'T)
to people who are not your immediate family or very close friends because dey might think that
your making it up or dey may be happy your going through a rough patch.

am not d best,i've got my flaws and i don't have friends who disturbs me
with phone calls,
flashing or moni issues, etc we call each other once in a while to say hello

"Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy" my arse!hissesssssssssssssssssssssssssss

wish y'all all d best and remember

GOD DEY
GOD NO DEY SLEEP
NO ONE IS GREATER THAN GOD!

Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Don1DeMaco: 1:01pm On Dec 29, 2007
instead of the insults and plenty story i would have thought the answer is life is tougher in UK than all the others places chikena no plenty story meanwhile ceasyc abeg continue i dey enjoy ur gist jare
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by omoge(f): 10:28pm On Dec 29, 2007
Elgastin abi na Elgaxton, you dey dream world?? abi the rice and goat meat too much?? did you soak anything like sapele water at all?

who called you? abeg ooo na ghost voice you hear no be me. 

i have told you my cell phone fell inside the bathtub and since then i have been trying to dry the thing.
hope to buy a new phone this year. till then, keep ya hope alive and hang in there.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by blueband(m): 10:41pm On Dec 29, 2007
Lazy Nigerians will always call hard working Nigerians stingy.When I lived in Nigeria,people always asked me for money using one excuse or the other.When I relocated to the U.K these same people expected that they should be receiving more from me because I am in the U.K.There lives have still not changed,mine has!

I dont go about asking people for money,I try and work hard to earn a living.So if anybody is angry that I am stingy he should try working hard!
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by stick2clem(m): 3:52am On Dec 30, 2007
Ha no blame Naija way they Uk ooooo, There sources of getting money there no easy at all ooooooooooo.them go wash white man ass,then pay tax for it again, if you earn iya shally money, na iya shally go come knock ur door collect the money back, like thief, He they paint me when i dey hear wetin naija they face for there, and some idiot go they call them for money again.even if u no work for 9ja u fit eat self, u fit dooo fine bara, tax people for money like say u be blind grin grin (easy money), na who no know no know oooo, for lagos way we they, Internet scamming .Ogba,ikeja, them boys they make am past people way they UK self, ride way them they use, person way done go Uk for 27years never send that kind car come house, God go help you anyway, but no dull ur self, I no blame them if them no call oh, I get brother for London, we no hear if he still they alive, may be he no even get common phone, becos i heard this hard for there like fish eye, if any body get iya shally email address anyway, We get people here way fit do they job, we go 419 the woman, as she they use our people there no good, May God help all of u ooooo.na all of u go come build house for here oooooo, me self go come there one day come witness all this trash, bt i no go wash white man ass , na white woman go they lick my PRICK grin

Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by sandykoko(f): 3:33pm On Jan 23, 2008
na wa o!!!! i don comot for nairaland for almost 5 months and then still dey hammer demself for this thread, things dey happen for here o
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by dejato: 12:32am On Jan 26, 2008
Very interesting.I have been opportuned to visit the UK a copule of times.I will like to say Nigerians in the Uk are very stingy but honestly i dont blame them.The life they live over there is harder than the one we live here.I normally stay with my cousin anytime i travel.He is a university student over there but he works more than 20hrs/wk.I can say i pity him so much when i see him wake up in the morning going to work instead of skool and come back at night very hungry all in the name of paying bills.His bills in a month is about 700 pounds out of 1000 pound he earns.When i see Nigerians abroad sometime,tears flow volountarily from my eyes becos of the life they are living.WE ARE ENJOYING IN NIGERIA O.Please if they dont pick up your calls,forgive them.Even my parents complain that i dont call regularly when i travel.Its just how the place is.I dont pray to live that kind of life o.The last time i travelled i was even the peron that bought chinese food for my cousins in London.I will like to say here that i dont belong to the rich in Nigeria.My parents are civil servants and i am a student.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by sandykoko(f): 9:02am On Jan 28, 2008
some nigerians that stay there are really stingy, the can almost calculate every air they breathe cos it cost money too, but that is too much, they re not stingy for themselves but stingy to others. how can they expect to get extraordinary breakthroughs if they cant give, we are not saying they should spend foolishly but be a little bit generous,
I remember a cousin of mine who went to the UK for hols for like 2wks, he had to stay with a friend, the first two days was glorious, nice! everything went well, but the truth about it was that after 2 days, things started changing, he had to share the bills with his friend, light bills, water, and so on
i mean! it is understandable that he could atleast assist with feeding but must he impose the other bills on his friend, i mean, he is a guest, he wasnt planning on staying for life, he should have allowed my cousin use his discretion to assist with the bills not imposing it on him, When he told me this, i wasnt impressed at all, i tot it was just his friend that has a problem but i have heard similar attitudes by some nigerians that live in the UK,
Its either them or the society they live in
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by amsky(m): 11:41am On Jan 28, 2008
Siena that is soooooo true.i have experienced it too.they overstay their welcome,and you'll feel so irritated.
someone i had not seen for a while called me one bright sunny day to say her sister was coming to london that same day and was going to stay in my house!!!!!! it took the love of GOD not to abandon her at heathrow.Only for the woman to get here and i saw she was 7mth preggy. She is older than my husband and i. so we were both trying to be respectful.She always tell me-i want bread and cheese in the morning.I was pregnant myself,and i already had one child. She announced that she would have her baby here since her doctor in nigeria said it woild not be advisable to fly. My husband had to tell her to go. I was pregnant myself and she came to throw herself at me and my family? i only know her sister for crying out loud.

anyway,we had to get her a b&b till her baby was old enough to travel. Since that nightmare, i have been stingy to the teeth. Would anyone blame me.Imagine paying for a b&b for almost 6wks unplanned. angry
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Elgaxton(m): 1:50pm On Jan 28, 2008
Una still dey fight? Make una continue o jare.

Omoge happy new year o, as e be sey u come back to this thread dey yan sey me I shack Ogogoro no wahala.

I been dey try be ya friend but u sey make I go hang ok o.

happy new year to u all and I hope The UK pips get Stingier than ever lol.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by omoge(f): 4:04pm On Jan 28, 2008
awwwwwwwwww cheesy man, hang on okay. will get back to ya real quick wink

by the way, that drum wey dey near you, na for wetin? if no be ogogoro grin

Elgaxton:

Una still dey fight? Make una continue o jare.

Omoge happy new year o, as e be sey u come back to this thread dey yan sey me I shack Ogogoro no wahala.

I been dey try be ya friend but u sey make I go hang ok o.

happy new year to u all and I hope The UK pips get Stingier than ever lol.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by typhoo: 6:13pm On Jan 28, 2008
@ sandykoko

why should your cousin not contribute to the bills.
Do you not know that when more people stay in the house, you use more heating, + electricity, + more gas and if council hear say na 2 people dey property, council tax go climb by 25%.
i am a nigerian living in the uk, i have gone into debt 3 times to please lazy relatives at home , but no matter what you do, even if you buy ferrari they will never appreciate and they will keep looking for me.
Me never again. i have settled and have my own mouth to feed so everyone can go to hell. if i have i will give. if not well too bad. No More gbese on my head.
so check your facts before you say people are stingy.
That is why many naija people no matter how hard they work can never buy any decent thing. because they are feeding millions back in naija.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Elgaxton(m): 6:33pm On Jan 28, 2008
omoge:

awwwwwwwwww cheesy man, hang on okay. will get back to ya real quick wink

by the way, that drum wey dey near you, na for wetin? if no be ogogoro grin

Hi Omoge,

I thot u would say happy new year too, howz where be dat place wey u dey again sef?

u never buy ya phone eh? ok o cool i no dey hang in again o.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by londoner: 12:24am On Jan 29, 2008
The average Nigerian at home has absolutely no clue about what life abroad is like. I just got back from Nigeria a few weeks ago, let me tell you I was absolutely disgusted by their attitude towards those who live abroad, all they think about is how much money you supposedly have, and how much they can get you to spend.

I wish they would let me know where my own  money tree is, it seemed to have been lost in the post.

Nigerians at home  are too money minded!!!

Come and see what they call "work", turning up at the office and watching nollywood movies with their feet on the table. The hardest working people I saw were the children selling things in the street and the street cleaners.

It was so bad that on the way out through the airport security, one of the staff actually had the cheek to be watching a Naija movie on a portable dvd player, when she is sacked she will blame the devil or some auntie in the village doing "juju" for her, lol
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Elgaxton(m): 8:47am On Jan 29, 2008
when she is sacked she will blame the devil or some auntie in the village doing "juju" for her, lol

Hahhahahaha Very funnny!
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by omoge(f): 3:44pm On Jan 29, 2008
londoner and typhoo, right to the point. their constant demand is something else. even if you are student, same story. money for this money for that.

yes, if you have family member come stay with you sure ask them to pay after 1month of staying ojare. Nothing is Free oversea cheesy

El, grin
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by lexyflexy(m): 3:54pm On Jan 29, 2008
Its not their fault - l don't blame them in the first place, l blame those who granted them VISA cool
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by owenjay(m): 10:58am On Jan 30, 2008
This is my perspective on this. I believe we in Nigeria are better off than Nigerians in the UK.
The reasons are:

The real value of the disposable income of an average person resident in Nigeria is more than those resident in UK. In Nigeria, People can afford to avoid tax through Tax Management or evade tax altogether without consequence; We can afford, without penalty, to evade the payment of Utilities like Electricity and Water; Accomodation is relatively cheaper except you leave in Lagos, where rent is way up the sky.

These are luxuries they dont have in the UK

We are our brothers' keepers. We can afford, without qualms, to bail one another out of financial need.

And after paying for our monthly expenditure which includes money for the upkeep of your parents and sibblings, which we disburse on monthly basis, we can still save up a minimum of 20% of our Net pay.

So do not begrudge our brothers and sisters in the diaspora. I am sure if the Governments of their countries of residence cut them the kind of slacks our Government cuts us in Nigeria, they will be able to do more.

And for you "Flashers" a word or two of esperance to them can be soothing.
Call them, not flash them. A minute call to UK is =N=48 on Glo Networks.

A Two minute chat with your loved ones abroad is not too much.

And always bear it in mind that they work harder than you with little or no leisure.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by Pepeye(f): 11:25am On Jan 30, 2008
Funniest trend in naira land …I had a good laugh last year when I read most of the post…. I most applaud Stingy Darfur and Elgaxton …,
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by londoner: 11:37am On Jan 30, 2008
Owenjay, why wouldn't those in Nigeria be better off? How many of them pay tax ? How many pay for their light bill? ("Dashing" the Nepa engineer when he comes to cut the line is not paying a light bill). How many of them pay council tax? How about road tax, MOT, water rates OR EVEN RENT?? The individual gets to keep more of their money, but you know what? Nigerians abroad live in countries where their government is funded to provide good education, clean water, electricity etc, because the average Nigerian doesn't behave like a citizen of the country, Nigeria does not behave like a country.

Nigerians in the UK are "stingy" because they are busy contributing to the governance of the society they live in. Give me stingy UK anyday, at least I can drink the water and have access to good healthcare anytime. I'd rather spend towards that over "matching shoe and bag" anyday.
Re: Nigerians In The UK Are So Stingy by squirrel20(f): 2:53pm On Jan 30, 2008
It is very easy to say but do you know how the money is made. the answer is no. Well, i always try my best to keep intouch with friends and family.

(1) (2) (3) ... (19) (20) (21) (22) (23) (24) (25) ... (27) (Reply)

Fajuyi Park Ado-Ekiti Beautiful night View / Photos: Ocean Of Travellers Today At Murtala Mohammed Int'l Airport / How A Taxi Driver Made A Lady Depress Brake So He Can Step Out To Fight (pix)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 92