Stats: 3,153,029 members, 7,818,037 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 05:46 AM

Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? - Car Talk (5) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Car Talk / Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? (36177 Views)

Does Catalytic Converter Truly Reduces Fuel Consumption? Let's Discuss . . / Car Guzzling Fuel? You Might Need Replacing Your Car Catalytic Converter / Signs Of A Bad Catalytic Converter (2) (3) (4)

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by voltront: 8:25am On May 28, 2022
ikevictor:

I love this. My mechanic made me believe that once my catalyst is gone, i go use my entire monthly income for fuel alone.

Chai! Why me!
Don't love it... removal of the catalytic converter will GREATLY AFFECT FUEL CONSUMPTION. I have personal experiences on this subject
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by franchasofficia: 8:30am On May 28, 2022
adanny01:

There are 2 cases with a bad oxygen sensor.

With a failed O2 sensor , the ECU goes to open loop and an error code is set which will bring on the check engine light. This is easy to diagnose.

A slow response O2 sensor is more difficult to know because it may not set an error code or check engine light and the ECU can remain on closed loop but the sensor is aged and not making fuel trim adjustment as required. It could lead to fuel consumption. Only a live scan and experience will be able to diagnose this.
Do you have a diagnosis center where this can be done?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by franchasofficia: 8:30am On May 28, 2022
clinician2x:

Remove their bulbs.
cheesy cheesy

Doesn't solve the problem grin
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Agwotulumbe(f): 8:32am On May 28, 2022
Clonelord:
You need to find the street name of that catalytic converter else men no go know wetin you dey talk About
indomie
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by adanny01(m): 8:32am On May 28, 2022
franchasofficia:
Do you have a diagnosis center where this can be done?

No
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by PROPEACE: 8:34am On May 28, 2022
HazzanTazzan:

You don’t know what you’re saying ... have the one in your car removed and come give testimony here
Mine has been removed and my fuel consumption hasn't changed. The catalytic converter only filters air on its way to the exhaust, it does not reduce fuel consumption in any way.
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by franchasofficia: 8:36am On May 28, 2022
adanny01:

No
Okay. You sounded so experienced and thought you have one. All the same, thanks
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by clinician2x: 8:45am On May 28, 2022
franchasofficia:
cheesy cheesy

Doesn't solve the problem grin
You need competent tools to diagnose it if you actually want solve the issue but if you wan off the light, just remove the bulb
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Innobee99(m): 8:46am On May 28, 2022
Benz4pimp:
I once bought an Honda EOD,very clean and cheap,it was sounding like a sport car.would buy 4k fuel and it would finish within 2 days and I didn’t go far….they told me they had eaten the akara of the car.akara is the street name for catalyst…I bought another around 35k and it fuel consumption went back to normal…..panelbeater plenty for police station accused of stealing that stuff
Indomie is the common street name not Akara
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Nobody: 8:47am On May 28, 2022
Dynamicboss:
Catalytic Converter reduces harmful emission such as hydrocarbons, nitrogen oxide and carbon monoxide through redox reaction but DOESN'T reduce fuel consumption.

What reduces fuel consumption are; OEM standard for tyre air pressure, apply brake carefully, good 02 sensors, quality oil for engine maintenance, quality fuel, don't idle too long, don't throttle carelessly, When vehicle is on top speed, use AC, don't keep too much loads on your boot, don't drive too slow or too fast(with windows down) Etc...

Lalasticlala, mynd44, give this topic more views for discussion.

Finally, all this nonsense doesn't count when you have money.

Which one is don't drive too slow, don't drive too fast? So I go dey drive motor dey watch speedometer just to conserve fuel?
When vehicle is on top speed, use AC? So when I'm not speeding make heat kill me?

Gehdifvck outta here with all this nansense joh!
Just hustle to make comfortable money and forget all these irrelevant precautions over ordinary fuel consumption abeg!

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Nonexisting: 8:57am On May 28, 2022
Dynamicboss:
Catalytic Converter reduces harmful emission such as hydrocarbons, nitrogen oxide and carbon monoxide through redox reaction but DOESN'T reduce fuel consumption.

What reduces fuel consumption are; OEM standard for tyre air pressure, apply brake carefully, good 02 sensors, quality oil for engine maintenance, quality fuel, don't idle too long, don't throttle carelessly, When vehicle is on top speed, use AC, don't keep too much loads on your boot, don't drive too slow or too fast(with windows down) Etc...

You mean it's better to use AC on top speed than not? Like it saves fuel to use AC on top speed?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Abuventure: 8:57am On May 28, 2022
I saw "use AC " does AC reduce fuel consumption?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by samvega: 9:03am On May 28, 2022
Phoenix cops find 1,200 catalytic converters as thefts soar
An Arizona man is facing multiple theft charges after detectives found a huge stash of stolen catalytic converters packed into a storage unit in Phoenix

ByBob Christie Associated Press
May 27, 2022, 7:53 PM

https://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/phoenix-cops-find-1200-catalytic-converters-thefts-soar-85031527#:~:text=Police%20say%20thieves%20can%20get,more%20than%2052%2C000%20last%20year.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by venus4cupid: 9:04am On May 28, 2022
I am here to learn some chemistry practical
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Dynamicboss: 9:06am On May 28, 2022
Nonexisting:
You mean it's better to use AC on top speed than not? Like it saves fuel to use AC on top speed?

Yes sir
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by killfear(m): 9:15am On May 28, 2022
A question like this should be more of practical experience than theory.

From experience, the presence of catalyst converter all other things being equal allow for optimum engine performance and as such, the car will stay within the designed fuel mpg.

The absence of the CC lead to poor fuel combustion, else excess fuel will be burnt and sent out as smoke, if that happens, certainly more fuel is used than it is required or even designed to be used.

Therefore, the presence of CC saves fuel.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Perfectbeing(m): 9:17am On May 28, 2022
breezeng:

I don't see any difference. Catalyst or no Catalyst. Its just fuel price has gone up drastically. So, everyone is feeling d effects.
Actually a clogged catalytic converter can actually cause more fuel consumption
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Nonexisting: 9:17am On May 28, 2022
Dynamicboss:

Yes sir
Do you care to explain how. Like when the car is on top speed, it takes less fuel?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Jakumo(m): 9:22am On May 28, 2022
samvega:

Phoenix cops find 1,200 catalytic converters as thefts soar
An Arizona man is facing multiple theft charges after detectives found a huge stash of stolen catalytic converters packed into a storage unit in Phoenix

ByBob Christie Associated Press
May 27, 2022, 7:53 PM

https://abcnews.go.com/US/wireStory/phoenix-cops-find-1200-catalytic-converters-thefts-soar-85031527#:~:text=Police%20say%20thieves%20can%20get,more%20than%2052%2C000%20last%20year.

The irony is that the precious metals that are contained in those cats are highly carcinogenic, meaning that thieves who have made a career out of ruining peoples' cars by removing cats, will all probably suffer horrible cancers that will claim their lives in slow and agonizing fashion. No matter how careful the thieves are to cut out the cats, they will always inhale some of the toxic dust from the cat contents.

I wonder how difficult it would be to rig up a vehicle's exhaust system with a deafeningly loud alarm, or a 5,000-volt electrocution trap that is triggered when any attempt is made to tamper with the cats.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by treatise: 9:23am On May 28, 2022
Dynamicboss:

This submission isn't true. Before my catalytic converter was stolen I was able to cover 479 kilometers with 50 litres of PMS but since the theft, that same quantity of fuel can't cover 192 kilometers.
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by treatise: 9:28am On May 28, 2022
Nonexisting:
A minimum of 80km/h is same level of consumption with when you're not using AC if windows are down.
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by HazzanTazzan(m): 9:36am On May 28, 2022
clinician2x:

I'm not surprised you did not understand what I wrote there. ASUU is on indefinite strike.

Lol... you haven’t been matriculated when I convocated ...
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Dynamicboss: 9:40am On May 28, 2022
Nonexisting:
Do you care to explain how. Like when the car is on top speed, it takes less fuel?

The more aerodynamics the vehicle, the more drag open windows will create. Fuel consumption reduce by 20% when windows are up and AC is on.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Buje1987(m): 9:40am On May 28, 2022
[quote author=Unrated900 post=113240544]As part of a car's exhaust system, the catalytic converter helps to reduce air pollution. You will not harm your engine or your car in any way by driving without a catalytic converter. It's not always a good idea to drive around without one

It will not reduce fuel consumption
But would make your engine works perfectly okay
And keep away carbon monoxide as well.
Check the cars I posted for more update.

Shey your cars � dey get catalyst?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Nonexisting: 9:46am On May 28, 2022
Dynamicboss:

The more aerodynamics the vehicle, the more drag open windows will create. Fuel consumption reduce by 20% when windows are up and AC is on.
What if windows are closed on top speed but the AC is not on, like in cold weather? Will it take more fuel than when AC is on? Sorry I'm asking too many questions, I just want to understand properly.
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by mu2sa2: 9:48am On May 28, 2022
drlateef:

Good ones. To add to that, don’t open your windows when on top speed unless necessary, don’t accelerate very harshly, do it smoothly, most cars use more fuel in low speeds and less fuel in high speed, service your car regularly, ensure tyres are well inflated, manual gears use less fuel as compared to automatic, if you have cruise control, avoid using it, it consumes more fuel, avoid driving in windy conditions unless you drive along the direction of wind.
Are you sure that "most cars use more fuel in low speeds and less fuel in high speed"? It's the opposite i know.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Nonexisting: 9:48am On May 28, 2022
treatise:

A minimum of 80km/h is same level of consumption with when you're not using AC if windows are down.
So what if the windows are up on top speed but the AC is not on, like during cold weather, will it take more fuel than when AC is on?
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by HighWITCH: 9:48am On May 28, 2022
hoyeyel:
Landlord places Magun Charm on wife and catches Akwa Ibom Man Caught having sex with his second Wife. Watch Video

https://www.nairaland.com/landlord-places-magun-charm-on-second-wife-watch-video
You are complete illiterate for posting obscene content for your young kids to watch.
When you are grown, your kids will point this your slowpoke post to you.

Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by Buje1987(m): 9:53am On May 28, 2022
[quote author=DaddyFreeze2020 post=113240660]

GO AND CHECK YOUR CAR INDOMIE.

This will save you ✌️

A lot of car owners don’t have an idea what this is . The car catalyst popularly known as Indomie found in the exhaust is one of the stuffs mechanics and panel beaters remove from people’s car within the slightest blink , which makes your car consume a lot of fuel and have terrible sound and unfavorable emission discharge . They are stolen because they Contain precious metals such as platinum and Rhodium .

I recently gave this panel beater a direct Belgium car to fix the exhaust at arrival which i felt was leaking maybe due to the potholes from Lagos down to Abuja, after about 3 hours of waiting, the guy told me he was going to a nearby electric welding machine to fix it , since this were people I had known for awhile , I felt comfortable.

I kept calling , Panel beater said he was trying to ensure the work was done perfectly. Finally he came Back , I still realized the sound of my car was not as smooth as it should be , I complained , “ ah oga , naso the sound Dey be for this kind car “ he replied . I was still sure the sound was not good enough .

2 days latter , one of his colleagues who I was nice to stopped me as he entered my car and asked , OGA , you know say those boys comot your Indomie? They chock nets inside so that u no go know . with an assurance I said yes ,

they sold it 100k � I promised him I would keep his identity confidential but I must get to the root of my property. Guess what ? Once this Indomie is removed , it can’t be used anymore .

I swung into action and reported the case to the law enforcement agency that took this matter seriously and arrested the culprits , at this point , for me it was heart breaking to see young men handcuffed and embarrassed due to their greed ,but all I needed was a direct Belgium Indomie as replacement.

in less than 48hrs , I was called , the entire fellow mechanics ran up and down to raise 180,000 which is the cost of another one �� I got my Indomie back . Guess what ? This was the second time this guys were removing my indomie , they did it December on a different car , but I was not sure at what point it was stolen .

As a Good Samaritan , I pleaded the release of ogas as they might have learnt their lesson the hard way . Thank you to Inspector Sanusi, Inspector Joesph and the DPO for doing well.

Pls go and check you car Indomie now.
Shine your eyes !

Shine your eyes

Boss you are right I just dey read comments since dey laugh even people wey no get car dey talk say catalyst doesn’t have effect on fuel ⛽️ consumption. I use Muscle 2007 model with catalyst intact bro I dey use 2k fuel fuel Oshogbo to Ado and 7k fuel ⛽️ with AC from Lagos to Ado with 4hrs journey. If I don’t use AC Na like 5k to 6k fuel while my friend without catalyst dey buy fuel of 11k or 11500 depends on car � tank
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by clinician2x: 9:57am On May 28, 2022
HazzanTazzan:

Lol... you haven’t been matriculated when I convocated ...

Then it is a shame. You paid all that money and spent all that years for nothing. Basic comprehension skills u did not achieve. Just the basic.
Re: Does Catalytic Converter Actually Reduces Fuel Consumption? by drlateef: 10:03am On May 28, 2022
mu2sa2:
Are you sure that "most cars use more fuel in low speeds and less fuel in high speed"? Is the opposite i know.

Yes indeed. You consume more fuel in urban built up areas like intra-city driving. The amount of fuel you consume is about twice the amount for the same distance on the highway travelling at high speed. For example, if consume 10 litres to cover 20 kilometres intra city, you will spend about 6 litres to cover same distance of 20 kilometres on highway travelling at higher speed.

Vehicles Particulars Renewal Grace Period / Toyota Hiace ("hummer Bus") Or Ford/chevrolet Buses: Which Is Better. / Man Who Got Burnt On 3rd Mainland Bridge Is Dead - PHOTO

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 72