Stats: 3,151,989 members, 7,814,375 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 11:54 AM

Which Glass Has More Water? - Forum Games (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Forum Games / Which Glass Has More Water? (42048 Views)

Brain Teaser: Which Glass Will Be Filled First And Why? (2) (3) (4)

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by Salesbay: 1:32pm On Apr 22, 2023
CaptainFM1:

Don't mind him. He doesn't know. A whole lot of people shouting Archimedes Principle here don't understand how it works in practice.

Infact, the whole essence of Archimedes principle is hinged on conversion of volumes to mass.
Some people are just arguing blindly.

Objects with different weights but the same volume (maybe size and shape) will displace the same volume of water provided they're both submerged in water.

Objects with different volumes but the same weight will not displace the same amount of water when submerged in water.

It is the volume that matters! I hate when people don't like taking to corrections.

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by mrvitalis(m): 1:36pm On Apr 22, 2023
Salesbay:

Objects with different weights but the same volume (maybe size and shape) will displace the same volume of water provided they're both submerged in water.

Objects with different volumes but the same weight will not displace the same amount of water when submerged in water.

It is the volume that matters! I hate when people don't like taking to corrections.
Lol bro science doesn't care about emotions ...

A 10kg ball would displace same weight of water as a 10kg foam

Volume is not important ...it only comes in in floatation ...reason boats are designed the way they are
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by HonestJOE: 1:37pm On Apr 22, 2023
Kingpin1000:
Following archimedes principle, it should be B.

It has nothing to do with Achimedes principle which is the principle of floatation.
Just the weight and volume of the object is considered
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by DrayZee: 1:44pm On Apr 22, 2023
mrvitalis:

Yes ...if the weight of the water can't displace water enough it would float
And if they both sink?
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by akpascomartino: 1:45pm On Apr 22, 2023
PROPEACE:

No he isn't! It's volume not weight.
Thanks bro
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by BidenDTrounced: 1:53pm On Apr 22, 2023
BidenDTrounced:
"The sponsorship of Nazism in Ukraine (at an immense cost of lives and property of the westerners and Ukrainians) only delayed but did not stop the inevitable.
If the west was really concerned with preventing a Russian invasion of surrounding countries, then they should have drafted a millitary agreement with those countries (an agreement that states that should Russia invade that country, then they'll collectively invade Russia). Where does Russia want to invade next? South Africa? Lagos? South America?
The narrative of the West keeps falling apart."

Mighty America, Britain and France can draft a millitary agreement with surrounding countries that if Russia should invade that country, they'll jointly invade Russia.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by OllyArt(m): 1:53pm On Apr 22, 2023
BABAawoo47:
volume

OK thanks
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by OllyArt(m): 1:54pm On Apr 22, 2023
Sofistcatdmoron:

Olodo,
Not weight, but volume

Thank you
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by OllyArt(m): 1:54pm On Apr 22, 2023
OkodiDenzel:

It's a question of displaced volume not weight.

My physics brethren, recall Archimedes principle!

Thank you so much
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by Salesbay: 1:58pm On Apr 22, 2023
mrvitalis:

Lol bro science doesn't care about emotions ...

A 10kg ball would displace same weight of water as a 10kg foam

Volume is not important ...it only comes in in floatation ...reason boats are designed the way they are

This is common sense now. Nobody is talking about floating, we are talking about objects that are fully submerged in water.

The mass of water that will be displaced is equivalent to the volume of the object that is now taking the "previous water space" of the water.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by mrvitalis(m): 2:03pm On Apr 22, 2023
Salesbay:

This is common sense now. Nobody is talking about floating, we are talking about objects that are fully submerged in water.

The mass of water that will be displaced is equivalent to the volume of the object that is now taking the "previous water space" of the water.
Oga if there is a 10kg with large volume it would displace it's weight then stop sinking was it has displaced it's weight i.e floatation

To sink it you need extra weight

Oga this is a scientific principles that ship ,plans are built on I don't just get why u want to argue with established science
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by Ramon92: 2:05pm On Apr 22, 2023
Which glass has more water?

Looking at just the pictures with little information provided, they all hold the same amount of water because there should be a spill over (maybe of A) or at least different water levels.
Another option is all the objects and water have the same volume..
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by sureteeboy(m): 2:11pm On Apr 22, 2023
Salesbay:

God bless you. The question itself has absolutely nothing to do with weight. There are so many ignorant people on this forum. One guy posted an erroneous view like that on the first page of this thread and he has over 180 likes already. I wonder what people learn in science classes these days.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by shevy45(m): 2:23pm On Apr 22, 2023
B with Archimedes' principle which states that when an object is wholly or partially immersed in water, it experiences an up thrust force which equals to the weight of the object.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by BlueBlackPackag(m): 2:27pm On Apr 22, 2023
PatrickOkunima:

What you wrote there is not Archimedes principle. According to Archimede's principles, when an object is immersed in a fluid (liquid or gas), it experiences a loss in weight equal to the mass of the liquid displaced.

Olodo. "Experiences loss in weight" kiii you there.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by NamelessOGBENI(m): 2:28pm On Apr 22, 2023
AchrafHakimi:
E
Sabi man!
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by RepoMan007: 2:29pm On Apr 22, 2023
Donmobi:
that's a law in physics friend.
lol...you are mistaken pal.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by AssCraver: 2:45pm On Apr 22, 2023
PatrickOkunima:

What you wrote there is not Archimedes principle. According to Archimede's principles, when an object is immersed in a fluid (liquid or gas), it experiences a loss in weight equal to the mass of the liquid displaced.

Both of u are correct. But his own definition is more logical.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by Dharnchuks(m): 2:52pm On Apr 22, 2023
The VOLUMEs of the immersed objects are the most critical thing here not their weights. The pin has the least volume so it will need more water to bring it to the same level in a cup compared to the other items.

For example, if I bring a glass cup, put a very small stone inside, then fill it to the brim with water.
And in the same glass cup I put a much bigger stone, then fill it to the brim with water.

The glass cup will need more water to fill it to the brim when it has the smaller stone inside.

So to answer the question, Cup B has more water inside
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by WorkerBoy: 2:54pm On Apr 22, 2023
CivilianJTF:
B

Archimedes principle: Weight of object immersed equals weight of liquid displaced.

B has negligible weight, occupying negligible space in the cup, hence more water in the cup.

#Secondary school physics#

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by tfelicityk(m): 2:56pm On Apr 22, 2023
In Physics
According to Archimedes principle, it should be B.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by falcon01: 3:17pm On Apr 22, 2023
Wizman423:

You are one of the problem we have in Nigeria grin grin
😅 wetin i do na
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by MasterTeeUSA: 3:51pm On Apr 22, 2023
It's B. Has nothing to do with weight but volume. The water rises based on the volume submerged. The pin occupies more space even if C is holllow, so B has more water....Gham

chibestjerry:
60% of people will fail this!
Which of the Glass has more water?
A?
B?
C?
D?
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by CaptainFM1: 4:05pm On Apr 22, 2023
Salesbay:

You should read my posting regarding, weight, volume and density for a better understanding

Every object has volume and weight.

Both weights and volume displaced are the same values and equal in magnitude when the relative density of the water is 1.000 (i.e Fresh water). And changes when it's salt water, dock water or brackish water.

A factor of 1 remains constant. This is why weight and volume displaced will always be the same in Fresh water.

If the density of the water is known for a known weight, the volume displaced is only valid for that density and that density alone.

If the same object is dropped in a jar of mercury, the volume displaced will be different from that of water.

If you drop a stone and a balloon of equal weight in the same fluid(same density), both will displace equal volume of that fluid. The physical difference would be that the stone sinks while the balloon floats on its weight.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by Amumaigwe: 4:54pm On Apr 22, 2023
falcon01:
Is C a Hollow object?

Hollow objects don't submerge
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by viodemus: 5:34pm On Apr 22, 2023
displacement principles and logic. Many people applied wisdom in their answers.

from my observation
quota people are no where to be found here.

there is nothing about kor@n and jihad here. So, nothing is familiar to them here.
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by OvertheTop(m): 5:35pm On Apr 22, 2023
PatrickOkunima:

What you wrote there is not Archimedes' principle. According to Archimede's principles, when an object is immersed in a fluid (liquid or gas), it experiences a loss in weight equal to the mass of the liquid displaced.

Of Course, he was right, its Archimedes' principle:
The the mass of the liquid displaced = to the FINAL Water Height - initial Water Height

(The water does not necessarily have to spill out of the cup for it to become 'Liquid Displaced' )

cc: CivilianJTF

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by CivilianJTF(m): 5:45pm On Apr 22, 2023
OvertheTop:

Of Course, he was right, its Archimedes' principle:
The the mass of the liquid displaced = to the FINAL Water Height - initial Water Height

(The water does not necessarily have to spill out of the cup for it to become 'Liquid Displaced' )

cc: CivilianJTF

God bless you

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by CivilianJTF(m): 5:46pm On Apr 22, 2023
Adekaka12345:

He just de cram theory. Loooooooooool. Well-done bro.
God bless you
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by CivilianJTF(m): 5:46pm On Apr 22, 2023
Eriokanmi:
Marked correctly
Bless you boss

Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by AroOkigbo(m): 7:00pm On Apr 22, 2023
SouthSouth1914:
Don’t know the weight of each of the objects so can’t say. It is evident from the content of the water level through all the samples! It is possible all the objects have the same Weight as well as Mass!
Volume nko?
Re: Which Glass Has More Water? by ebuclassic18(m): 7:43pm On Apr 22, 2023
The ans is B l wen u remove the pin from the cup the water level will still remain the same cos it has no weight

How Many Hands Formed This Beautiful Shape Of Love? / Bet9ja Blocked My Account After I Won More Than 1.1million Naira / Picture: Which Button Would You Press?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 42