Stats: 3,165,995 members, 7,863,580 topics. Date: Monday, 17 June 2024 at 08:36 PM

Adexway's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Adexway's Profile / Adexway's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Politics / Jonathan To Campaign In Borno Today by adexway(m): 5:14am On Jan 24, 2015
Two weeks after visiting the Boko Haram insurgency-ridden Maiduguri, Borno State, President Goodluck Jonathan will again visit the state to campaign for next month’s election.

His previous visit was to the soldiers serving in the state in commemoration with the Armed Forces Remembrance Day.

The President had severely been criticised in recent times for not visiting the crisis-torn North-East.

Saturday PUNCH learnt that the President would unfold plans to tackle the Boko Haram militant sect during his campaign in the state.

Meanwhile, the governor of Borno State, Kashim Shettima, on Friday appealed to his supporters and all citizens of the state not to show any form of disrespect to the President and his entourage during the campaign visit.

Shettima made the call in a statement by his media aide, Mallam Isa Gusau.

The governor said the call became necessary because of recent attacks carried out on the President in Bauchi and Katsina States during which irate youths reportedly went wild against the President’s convoy.

He described the acts as disrespectful, show of intolerance and extremely bad politics.

He said, “From what I have read or heard in the media so far, there has not been any issue of such in any APC-controlled states visited by the President and Borno should not be an exception.

“We have political differences and our differences are legitimate and based on the principles of our political parties and what we stand for.

“But we must remember that His Excellency, Dr. Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, GCFR, is the President of the Federal Republic of Nigeria and as citizens of this country, we have an obligation to respect his office and his person.

“Our millions of citizens who support the APC in Borno State and our Presidential candidate, Gen. Muhammadu Buhari and anyone that supports me or any of our National and State Assembly candidates in the state should shun any act of violence, intolerance and unlawful political behaviour before, during and after the President’s visit and should remain law-abiding citizens of Borno State as our laws, norms and values demand.”

Also, in a related development, the Minister of State for Power, Hon. Mohammed Wakil, has described the attack on the convoy on the present during his campaign trips to parts of the North as misguided and misconceived.
Source: punching.com
Politics / Re: Drama As Northern Group Seeks ICC Prosecution Of Buhari by adexway(m): 11:02am On Jan 23, 2015
KAYNINI:

WHAT IF WE DECIDE TO STRIKE , PROTEST OR SOMETHING - how are we going to be treated or heard?
I may not be able to say for Buhari but I don't remember reading anywhere that those he jailed were commoners or protesters. Those jailed were indicted for one corrupt practice or the other, regardless of how minute the offence may look.
Politics / Re: Drama As Northern Group Seeks ICC Prosecution Of Buhari by adexway(m): 10:40am On Jan 23, 2015
KAYNINI:
Buhari is not intelligent enough to rule a complicated Nigeria.
To compensate for that he will be dictatorial.If a man is not effectively expressive he usually is aggressive and desperate!
Buhari is an epitome of a forgotten era- the military.
We need a total break away from that old mafia - OBJ, Banbagida and Buhari. They were part of our political quagmire!
APC should have shown us a better candidate. Not compensate "semiliteracy" with a professor who will be as docile as a dock in the Government.
Nigerians are supposedly intelligent people!
When other countries are talking about their presidents with rich profiles and credentials, we are here insisting that we should vote mediocrity.
I am startled.
And intelligent youths who were not even born when Buhari ruled are asking for a reign they know nothing about.......?
While Buhari may be dictatorial going by his antecedents, I think I will be one of those to praise him if he decides to be the Rawlings of Nigeria. I don't think poor Nigerians will be the victim of Buhari's sledgehammer. The likes of Jonathan, Obasanjo, IBB, and many more deserve massive national purging.
Politics / Re: Drama As Northern Group Seeks ICC Prosecution Of Buhari by adexway(m): 10:33am On Jan 23, 2015
We do have a problem in this country and while Buhari and Janathan in my view are part of the troubles of this country, the sychophants Nigerians, especially the youths, are the biggest problem. Many people died in the 2011 post election violence blamed on Buhari, more in the Immigration Recruitment Scam under the watchful supervision of Jonathan, and much more in the insurgency fanned by Buhari and sustained by Jonathan's ineptitude and inability to show that he is the true Commander in Chief of our armed forces. I don't know any responsible leader that will remain unfaced by the troubles of Nigeria and the plight of Nigerians.
Health / Nigeria Records 100,000 New Cancer Cases Yearly —ajekigbe by adexway(m): 10:04am On Jan 23, 2015
A professor of radiotherapy and oncology with the College of Medicine, University of Lagos, Akoka, Aderemi Ajekigbe, has said that Nigeria records 100,000 new cases of cancer every year.

Ajekigbe, who delivered the 21st inaugural lecture of UNILAG on Thursday, said that Nigeria at the moment had about two million recorded cases of cancer.

The lecture was titled, “Cancer: The Unwanted Guest That May Visit.”

According to the professor, the incidence of cancer is increasing at an alarming rate in developing countries like Nigeria due to the poor state of health facilities, poor funding of cancer care, late diagnosis and detection of the deadly disease.

Ajekigbe called on the Federal Government to address the increasing number of Nigerians dying from cancer due to poor access to treatment and funds needed to manage the disease.

He said, “The global incidence of cancer is soaring but cancer cases are worse and death rates are higher in Nigeria because cancer patients are usually poor and they have little access to treatment in the country.

“ At every time, there are only four functioning radiotherapy machines in the country, others may have broken down due to the high patient load on it.

“ Patients who can afford it will travel out when they can no longer wait for the machines to start working while the poor patients suffer in silence.

“Even most of the patients who can afford to treat their cancer abroad come back in body bags. That is why we need to have our own facilities that will enable us screen, detect and treat cancer cases early.

“We cannot afford to lose more Nigerians to cancer. Government should dedicate the proceeds from an oil block to the provision of cancer equipment and treatment. It is a need.” The oncologist, who defined cancer as an abnormal and uncontrolled growth that persists in the body, said women had a higher risk of being diagnosed with cancer when compared to men.

“More than 40 per cent of cancer occurs in women. Breast and cervical cancer are the commonest forms of cancer and they occur in women. That is why every woman should examine her breast regularly. Cancer can happen to anyone but it does not have to be a death sentence if it is detected early.”
Source: punchng.com
Politics / Nigeria, Biggest Spender On Image Making -report by adexway(m): 9:48pm On Jan 20, 2015
Nigeria is Africa’s biggest spender on image making, just ahead of Egypt and Morocco, according to a new report by Corporate Europe Observatory.

The report, which was released on Tuesday, said the administration of the President Goodluck Jonathan, who is seeking re-election in February, had recruited PR firms in the US and Europe to save his reputation at home and abroad.

CEO, in the report, noted that the Nigerian Government faced a barrage of domestic and international criticism over its reaction to the April 2014 kidnapping of more than 219 schoolgirls by Boko Haram.

The report entitled ‘Spin doctors to the autocrats: how European PR firms whitewash repressive regimes’, said the PR help was focused internationally on maintaining investment and trade relationships in the face of perceptions of instability; and locally on the upcoming 2015 election.

“The President of Nigeria hires a London PR firm to run his election campaign and distract from his catastrophic handling of Boko Haram. The Nigerian Government hired Levick, a prominent Washington PR firm, for lobbying in the US in a $1.2m contract to ‘change the international and local media narrative surrounding Nigeria’s efforts to find and safely return the girls abducted by the terrorist organisation Boko Haram.’,’’ according to the report.
Source: http://www.punchng.com/news/nigeria-biggest-spender-on-image-making-report/
Politics / Hoodlums Stone Jonathan’s Convoy In Katsina by adexway(m): 9:40pm On Jan 20, 2015
Unidentified political thugs on Tuesday attacked the convoy of President Goodluck Jonathan in Katsina State during the continuation of his re-election campaign.

The presidential candidate of the All Progressives Congress, Maj. Gen. Muhammadu Buhari (retd.), is from the state.

Trouble started when Jonathan, accompanied by Vice President Namadi Sambo; National Chairman of the PDP, Alhaji Adamu Muazu; and Governor Ibrahim Shema of Katsina State among others, decided to pay a courtesy visit to the late President Umoru Yar’Adua’s mother, Hajiya Dada.

As the President and members of his entourage made their way into the Yar’Adua Quarters, the brooms-wielding youths, who were suspected to be members of the APC, chanting “Sai Buhari,” surged forward.

Security agents had a hectic time dispersing the crowd.

The youths regrouped and again moved to attack the President’s convoy as he was ready to leave the residence after the visit.

Security agents fired tear gas canisters to disperse the youths to allow vehicles in the convoy speed off.

As the presidential delegation made their way towards the Katsina Airport, the youths hurled stones at the convoy.

No case of injury was however reported.

While addressing a rally earlier at the National Youth Service Corps Orientation Camp in the state capital, Jonathan had attributed his Presidency to the late President, who, he said, chose him as the Vice President in 2007.

For this reason, the President promised to always meet the needs of the people of the state before they ask.

“But for you, I would not have been here today. It was your own son that brought me as his deputy. Anything that you want from me, we will do it without you asking for it.” he said.

He listed some of the achievements of his administration to include the establishment of a federal university and establishment of Almajiri schools among others.

On security situation in parts of the country, Jonathan said, “We have challenges like many other countries in the world but we are still managing because of our focus. We will get through our challenges because we are working hard and you know it.”

Jonathan asked them to vote for him and Sambo to enable them to continue to work for the peace and progress of the state.

Earlier, while on a courtesy call on the Emir of Katsina, Alhaji Abdulmumuni Usman, Jonathan recalled that his political odyssey at the centre started in Katsina when he became vice president to the late Yar’Adua.
Source: http://punching.com/news
Politics / Re: Mbu Deployed As AIG In charge Of Lagos, Ogun States by adexway(m): 7:15pm On Jan 20, 2015
This is definitely a political tactic. We all know Mbu as a trouble maker. It will be more trouble with Lagos agboros wink
Politics / Re: Jonathan Campaign Team Disowns Fayose's Death Advert by adexway(m): 7:10pm On Jan 20, 2015
It is only Political rascality that allows a governor to sponsor incitive advertorials on national dailies. His foolishness doesn't surprise me. Howbeit, the media houses deserve to be sanctioned for violating NBC code as regards elections. They should know better even if Fayose insists on being foolish.

Politics / Re: 2014 In Review: Top 10 Government Policies In Nigeria In 2014 by adexway(m): 11:55am On Dec 31, 2014
Policies? Why are we so quick to laud government policies without reevaluating the effects they have had on the people and importantly there successes. We have often said the problem of this country isn't the lack of laid down rules and regulations neither is it that of existing policies. The problem is how apt, timely, important, necessary, and effective those policies are. Most of these policies are just paper projects, I stand to be corrected. Mr President and his economic team need to become proactive not reactive.

Politics / Re: Nigerians Will Praise Me After Leaving Office - Jonathan by adexway(m): 11:33am On Dec 31, 2014
While Bihari may noy be a perfect answer to the many troubles plaquing this country of ours, it's clear that President Goodluck Jonathan's administration hasn't been it. Though he may not be the total cause of our woes, but history will not forget a king that rules when the people live in abject poverty.
Politics / Re: Obasanjo, Buhari Planning Interim Govt —FG by adexway(m): 7:01am On Dec 30, 2014
GEJ and his papa ajasco crew, they know we are tired of their purposeless government. A change will do.

Nairaland / General / Re: Life-changing Inventions That Were Created By Mistake by adexway(m): 2:58pm On Dec 06, 2013
Adams oshiomhole and the go and die widow was a gr8 life changing mistake worth the pain and gain.
Politics / Re: Deplorable Road Condition Linking Nekede-ihiagwa-futo In Imo (PIXS) by adexway(m): 7:46pm On Jul 30, 2013
kingbang: Its a lie. That road is not in Imo state, its in Anambra State. Rochas is working. He is the next best thing after ruff ryder condoms! grin grin grin grin grin
Foreign Affairs / Re: Bananas Thrown At Black Italian Minister During Speech. by adexway(m): 3:21pm On Jul 27, 2013
Not suprised a bit. The italians have shown over and over again that their tolerance for anything outside that frail whitish colour is zero. Football as a sport has witnessed many episode in this regard. The earlier we develop our home and make it a save haven for ourselves, the better for us.Banana sweet sha!

Politics / Re: I Mistakenly Fired 7 Shots, Policeman Accused Of Killing 3 by adexway(m): 10:41am On Jul 09, 2013
Na that mistake go kill am. Seven shots? Mistake? God punish devil
NYSC / Re: Five Suspects Nabbed For Abducting Corpers by adexway(m): 10:36am On Jul 09, 2013
Na wa o. Wetin dem dey kidnap corps members for, 19,800, allowance?
Sports / Re: Do You Think Nigeria Needs A Foreign Coach? by adexway(m): 5:45am On Jun 24, 2013
Foreign coach kwa. Mba o. All we need is foreign crops of players. All those strikers are a waste of time and energy. Them no just good
Travel / Re: Airbus's A350 Successfully Completes Its Maiden Flight by adexway(m): 9:54am On Jun 15, 2013
Story story, story. That one no affect the ban on keke and okada in lagos and benin. Gbam!
Politics / Re: Ministry Of Finance Freezes MDAs Accounts. by adexway(m): 9:49am On Jun 15, 2013
Politics / Re: Lagos Plans Hi-Tech Traffic Management System by adexway(m): 9:45am On Jun 15, 2013
We need MORE ACTIONS, LESS TALK.
Politics / Re: Nigerians Protest In London Over Jonathan's Dictatorial Tendencies by adexway(m): 5:44pm On Jun 05, 2013
Only a fool does the same thing the same way at all times and expect different result. It's time to change our leadership. We need a new experience. No one on my mind though but the taste of PDP has gone sour on my mouth.
Politics / Re: APC Leaders Angry With Buhari Over State Of Emergency Comments by adexway(m): 10:19am On Jun 05, 2013
speeder: Now tell me, between GEJ and APC, who's the retardeen and the clueless?
Bunch of extrimist.
APC is not the problem here. Buhari is the biggest r.e.t.a.r.d. The APC did right to distance itself from such individual especially at a time when the acceptance of the party by Nigerians is still shaky.
Politics / Re: Nigeria To Generate 7,000 Megawatts Of Electricity By 2014 - NERC Chairman by adexway(m): 10:09am On Jun 05, 2013
Na today. Abeg make dem go hug transformer.
Politics / Re: Nigeria To Borrow N47billion From ADB (African Development Bank) by adexway(m): 10:06am On Jun 05, 2013
taharqa2: SHUT ya Hypocritic mouth tha, @OP. The State with by far d highest burden of Loans in d country is Lagos, and it is still borrowing. When the FG tried discouraging the Lagos state from borrowing $600m last yr, you and yr fellow Hypocritical clowns were shouting blue murder, asking d FG to approve it. So shut that trap you call yr mouth, and stop seeing everytin as an opportunity to do Propaganda- like you really cared about the Economy..... By d way, I dont think this loan is a 'new' one per say; it apparently is part of those approved in d Middle-term Borrowing Plan documentd already passed by d NA..
Entertainment / Lagos Life by adexway(m): 6:12pm On May 31, 2013
Lagos is scary. You open your door to let out a fly, and in comes 6 mosquitoes, 2 cockroaches, 1 rat and 2 Jehovah Witnesses.
Politics / Re: Predict GEJ/PDP Slogan In 2015 by adexway(m): 7:11am On May 29, 2013
GEJ 2015, WE CONTEST, WE LOSE, WE RIG, WE WIN.

Politics / Re: Okorocha - NGF Election Was Credible, Amaechi Won by adexway(m): 7:05am On May 29, 2013
payless: Good man called Rochas. This man deserves to be our President. Rochas is man of the people. He is not an ethnic or religious bigot.
Ok. So because Rochas is being honest with the result of the governor's forum, he deserves a shot at presidency. You're joking, abi? Rochas is another schemist, go and ask if you dont know. He deserves nothing but a vacation in orlu.
Politics / Re: Boko-Haram Claims Victories Over Military by adexway(m): 6:55am On May 29, 2013
Bros Boko still dey do video msg on net. Him na correct fool o. Make he go fight d fight and leave d commentaries to nairalanders.

Politics / Re: NFF Vice-President Arrested For Money Laundering by adexway(m): 6:47am On May 29, 2013
This development wont come as a surprise to any ardent follower of the round leather game in nija. Afterall, we still remember the fifa stolen money in the glass house ($200,000), of which not even the EVER FRAUDULENT CORRUPT COMMISSION has an answer to. And to think that among the life lines available to these crooks is PLEA BARGAINING, you'll know as much as i do that it's another chasing after a ghost by the EFCC.
Politics / Re: Amaechi - My Suspension Is Political Witch-hunt by adexway(m): 6:57pm On May 27, 2013
My believe is that ameachi has every right to be interested in the presidency. Whether it's deemed a confrontation to the present president and also a betrayer of their brotherhood isn't the point. For all i care, goodluck is as good as bad luck. Every possible opposition, constitutionally allowed, should be muscled to wrestle power from ebele. Until then this country will drag on like a hunch back.
Politics / Re: Security Operative Killed In Maiduguri by adexway(m): 10:52pm On May 25, 2013
samm_miey: Boko haram can never be eradicated in Nigeria,d earlier GEJ admits dt bitter truth d better,deploying battalion of troops 2borno et al is not d best solution,I visualize it as a way of squandering public funds.May God help Nigeria.
at this point in time, it's obvious this northern insurgents aren't relenting and as such, the resolve of our military operatives will be to fish out through conscious interaction with the people. While it will be difficult to achieve a wipe out, we can curtail this menace.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57