Stats: 3,159,124 members, 7,838,858 topics. Date: Friday, 24 May 2024 at 10:28 AM

BigBenoski's Posts

Nairaland Forum / BigBenoski's Profile / BigBenoski's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Romance / Re: Help! My Relationship Of 7 Years Is About To Sink by BigBenoski(m): 9:58pm On Mar 08, 2018
It is very possible you guys are not really meant for each other ...you (you both) have come to see other people that posses 'better' qualities but you think 6-7 years is too much to throw away, hence the frustration. Both of you may be trapped. You feel you are both entitled to each other...a case of 'he/she has invested too much in this relationship, so I feel sorry for him/her' hence the frustration is taken out the partner. If the scenario I am trying to paint sounds familiar, I have been there before...hanging on because I felt her heart was going to be turn in beats if I let her go. You should not feel sorry for him, If you don't see yourself very happy as his wife. It's better so save yourselves a lifelong pain now. It hurts but you will be fine in the end.

OR it could be that one of you is distracted, there's a side chick/boo somewhere. If na you get side boo, abeg let am go..these guys are masters at plugging girls off their destined husbands, and leaving them in the cold.
my 1 cent.

Politics / Re: Black Soot In Rivers State: RSGV Issues Press Release. by BigBenoski(m): 3:07pm On Dec 09, 2016
That's Proly photochemical smog ...No need to start looking for the 'source' when you have hundreds of of thousands of environmentally unfriendly cars allover plus the oil flares. The air pollutants..nitrogenous gases, carbon monoxide etc are reacting and forming secondary pollutants
Travel / Re: The Content Of The Snack Pack Arik Air Gives Passengers In Economy Class by BigBenoski(m): 8:15pm On Nov 27, 2016
Gido:
I paid N32k for a seat in economy class of Arik Air from

Lagos to Jos and was expecting to be served with at

least a nigerian standard plate of plain jollof rice. Lo and

behold, Arik gave me a snack pack worth N150!!!!!! Haba

Arik una big pass happy hour and starlight biscuit naa.

You need to improve on what you serve your customers

in domestic routes as obtainable in other climes.

Arik na restaurant? Were you expecting nkwobi on 45mins flight ? United and American Airlines will give you one ugly tasting thing wey be like emaciated chinchin. And that's on a $420 flight. Oga, arik dey try joor

Sports / Re: Nigeria Vs Algeria 2018 FIFA World Cup Qualifiers 3 - 1 (Full Time) by BigBenoski(m): 5:41pm On Nov 12, 2016
Travel / Re: Why You Need To Make Bonny Island Your Next Travel Location by BigBenoski(m): 3:24pm On Nov 12, 2016
@op, are there still good primary forests in Bonny?
Politics / Re: Ezekwesili Sitting On The Floor In Aso Rock As Police Stop #BringBackOurGirls by BigBenoski(m): 2:06pm On Aug 30, 2016
I think Obiageli is trying to save face... A belated response to the avalanche of criticisms of partisanship. In any case, well done ma'm. Any form of protest against a tyrannical government is welcomed

Romance / Re: .. by BigBenoski(m): 7:45am On Aug 14, 2016
jackpiperr:
Yanni is Ambient and New Age Instrumental,not Smooth Jazz. Yanni and Enya are in the same category.

I got the genre wrong then. Whatever genre yanni does, me likey! I like Dave koz as well
Romance / Re: .. by BigBenoski(m): 6:42am On Aug 14, 2016
It was surprising and sad not to find Yanni on your list
Politics / Re: Restructuring Will Spell Doom For Nigeria - Wakili by BigBenoski(m): 1:58pm On Aug 09, 2016
MasterofNL:

Even Professor Bala Usman said that the word Yoruba does not connote anything in Yoruba language as it is a name given by an Islamic scholar that coined the word Yoruba

Really? I never knew

Food / Re: Animal We Killed During Night Hunting by BigBenoski(m): 12:11am On Aug 08, 2016
manlawal:
This animal was killed yesternight during night hunting.

Shame on you guys for killing a lactating civet cat!!
Politics / Re: Welcoming President Buhari At The Airport - (video) by BigBenoski(m): 7:40am On Jun 20, 2016
All I can say is that I see no difference between these people and PDP. may we not be forced to bring back pdp
Education / Re: Uniben To Conduct Post-UTME Exercise by BigBenoski(m): 7:29am On Jun 16, 2016
Didn't they say government banned post-ume? When people start doing exactly the opposite of what their government wants, that's a failed state. The other day, it was the people of Osun state wearing all manner of gowns and masquerade attire to school just to spite their government. Chai! Things have indeed fallen apart in this country, and the center can no longer hold

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 3:49pm On Jun 01, 2016
Mekurexx:
BigBenoski Congrats!. But I have never heard of Bla Bla University. It must be some Ivy league school in Jupiter right cheesy Is this the new cool of posting transcript with ''I did'', ''bla bla'', ***** (monsieur2016)?? I mean guys cmon, honestly its disheartening reading transcripts like that mehn. This mentality of hiding info after having interview is really ridiculous.

I'm sorry if posting my university would have made a difference... I didn't think I was withholding anything of importance, I was just trying to save myself about 4 words typing time. I could still modify, right?

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 8:57am On Jun 01, 2016
jatsay001:
Congrats

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 8:39am On Jun 01, 2016
AshBammy:
@ BigBenoski
Congratulations
That's a good one
Best of luck

Thank you, this thread was helpful.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 8:35am On Jun 01, 2016
Holudarey01:
BigBenoski congrats.
You'd be a good lecturer grin grin

Haha thanks. I don't know about being a good lecturer but I taught once (NYSC ) ,and I think I had fun. That said, I love field work... Being in the field is the best part of my career.
Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 8:09am On Jun 01, 2016
fizzile:
Nice one. Congrats.

Travel / Re: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 9 by BigBenoski(m): 12:34am On Jun 01, 2016
I thank God almighty for my visa approval today. I'm also grateful to all posters on here for their contributions, and to rhemmie91 who took out time to always respond to my emails.

Appointment time: 9.00am
Time of arrival : 8:58 am
visa approval: 11......something (checking my watch was my least concern at that point)

Interview transcript
Me: Hi goodmorning (hands him my passport)
VO: Hi goodmorning, how are you?
Me: good
VO:Please hand me your 1-20 and sevis receipt
Me: hands him the requested documents
VO: tell me about your plans
me: I'm going to bla d bla university to study for a PhD in biology. I will be working on bat ecology.
VO: looks at me as if he's expecting me to continue
Me:Returns the look with my mouth shut
VO: biotechnology you say?
Me: nope! Bat ecology
VO: ok are there many bats in nigeria?
me: yeah. At the last IUCN count, abt 80+ but from our recent research, we've been able to discover about 10 new records. so we are currently updating the list.
VO: What genus are bats under?
Me: (hesitates) Did you mean order? because there are lots of genus under bats. (Gave him a basic lecture on binomial nomenclature). You understand?
vo: uhmmm yeah, I just wanted you to correct me
Me: Oh okay
VO: is there a name people studying bats are called?
Me: Nah! we just call ourselves bat biologist
VOsadgives me lecture about the right time to enter the US)

PS: sometimes applicants run into problems when they talk too much. I think its better to just keep your answers short, drive the discussion by subtly introducing a catchy word that would steer the interview to the path you feel comfortable talking about. In my case, I could have just stopped at 'I'm going to bla d bla university to study for a PhD in biology' but that'll blow the interview wide open. He could then ask you anything under the sun. To forestall that, I gently introduced him to bats (which I love talking about) and he took the bait.

When you talk too much, you unknowingly dish out too many "catchy" words, and may God help you if he/she chooses the one you are not comfortable talking about. A good example was this guy before me. Dude was reeling out words, and mentioned that he was going to the US to learn some innovative technologies in medical science. VO jumped at that part and asked him what kind of innovative technology. Dude was thrown off-balance. He stuttered and said 'autoclave'. that was when I knew he'd be denied. VO said, 'but autoclave has been around for decades'.... the rest is history.

Final shot: don't forget to pray before you go for your interview. All the best to everyone to to the white house soon.

15 Likes

Family / Re: See What I Killed In My Room(pictured) by BigBenoski(m): 9:09am On Nov 16, 2015
naijaking1:
@poster,
Please there is no magic here. This is a fruit bat.
Simply look up the life and biology of bats, you will be impressed by what you will learn. Despite the primitive superstition with which we look at these animals, they're simply obeying the laws of biology: looking for food, shelter, and an opportunity to reproduce.

If you're constantly finding bats in your room, I can tell you now that your room is dirty and it harbor foods for them(insects, rats, etc), your room is also likely dark with a lot of hiding places for the animal and it's mate.

Before you go spending your time and money hiring a babalawo or a prayer warrior, simply clean, remove all trash, and kill all vermin in your so-called room or dungeon. Open up the windows in your room, and illuminate the place f or once!

The fear for bats is not because they suck all your blood as in the movies, but because their droppings can give you serious lung disease when you breath them.

That's not a frugivore.. Can't see it very clearly, but it looks like either a Hipposideros or Rhinolophus. The bats are just looking for insects. @op, don't be surprised about how they gain entrance into your apartment; unlike fruit bats, insectivorous bats have a highly developed/efficient echolocation system that helps them navigate beautifully in the dark. Please stop depleting the naija bat diversity...abeg. Next time you see them, just let them out or just follow Naijakings1's advice.
Politics / Re: List Of Nigeria's Best Performing Governors Since May 29 Inauguration - CGPI by BigBenoski(m): 12:47pm On Nov 08, 2015
Well... I can't judge these governors from my office here in Benin, but seeing Oshiomhole in that list nullifies every single letter in that page.

10 Likes 1 Share

Politics / Re: Murtala Mohammed's 77th Posthumous Birthday Is Today by BigBenoski(m): 12:00pm On Nov 08, 2015
I'm sure the the blood of the civilians he massacred in Asaba during the war would not let him rest in peace

Education / Re: UNIZIK Medical Student Reading On The Altar by BigBenoski(m): 11:52am On Nov 08, 2015
If you like read nailed to the cross, if you are not well prepared, you'll end with a fat F

17 Likes

NYSC / Re: Ebonyi State Slashes Monthly Allowance Of Corper Doctors From N130k To N15k by BigBenoski(m): 9:06am On Nov 08, 2015
d33types:

Medical doctors as corpers cannot be compared to engineers and the others..
A medical doctor has worked for 1yr + and has garnered experience before service and is not a fresh meat.. That's why they don't work under supervision like other corpers.. Most of them man general hospitals unsupervised.
you know that that means? It means they don't work 8-4 like the corpers you hear? It means they treat cases most medical students will not dare.they do full surgeries. Maybe when a doctor charges you 120k for simple appendectomy you'll appreciate these guys.
I swear if they deploy me there, i'll jejely start my private practice then 130k will be chicken change.

Without Corper doctors most northern states are in trouble and are hot cakes there..who Ebonyi don help sef cheesy

The hate for doctors is appalling men,yes they're doing humanitarian jobs doesn't mean they won't eat

No doctor will stay there..

Work experience? That was a very poor logic. Are you saying HND corpers should be paid 200k because they've worked for a year and 6 months? What form of f.uckery is this! It is called National Youth Service Corps for crying out loud. Again, I don't hate doctors,infact a number of my friends are medical doctors.. We all need them, just like we need the carpenters and everyone else. However, I have noticed a disgraceful trend in Naija medical doctors. Most of them went into medicine erroneously thinking there's money in medicine. Suddenly, in their 5th year at the university they discover that there's no special money in it. What happens? Frustration sets in, they start whining and many of them take up illegal D&C clinics and so many other despicable practices. IMO, people like you have no business in our hospitals. You'd be better in engineering where you have a chance of working in the oil sector.

NYSC / Re: Ebonyi State Slashes Monthly Allowance Of Corper Doctors From N130k To N15k by BigBenoski(m): 1:10am On Nov 08, 2015
You guys should also understand that ebonyi state doesn't have a lot of money right now, and this is NYSC..they are supposed to be volunteering .. Wait a minute, you mean these people were actually paid 130k monthly WTF!! How much were the engineers and other corps members paid?? If I be the governor, I go pay everybody 15k flat. When they are done with NYSC and get a job of their choice, they can then negotiate whatever pay they want. Nawa o

61 Likes 3 Shares

Culture / Re: Enugu Community Where Green Snakes Are Kings, Queens, Battle Men Of God by BigBenoski(m): 11:53am On Oct 21, 2015
ECOTERRORS:
The green Snake and Python are still sacred animals in my place which we don't kill. They ve never bitten anyone and it defies logic
Conversely, it is perfectly logical. Snakes and most other animals do not attack humans for sport. They only attack for defense or for food. Experience has taught the snakes in your community that humans do not pose any threat to their existence so, they've relaxed and integrated. If that same species of snake attacks people elsewhere, it Is only because it feels threatened there and they would instinctively want to defend themselves .

Phones / Re: Innjoo Fire Plus And Halo official discussion thread by BigBenoski(m): 6:18pm On Sep 23, 2015
raiz01:
yes. i rooted my using kingroot app .. another issue i found is that u cant backup the stock rom using mtk tools ... but u can do it with philz recovery ..
Wow! Mine isn't rooting with kingroot. I'll try again. Thanx
Phones / Re: Innjoo Fire Plus And Halo official discussion thread by BigBenoski(m): 4:32pm On Sep 23, 2015
raiz01:
for like two weeks now , I'm been waiting for someone to do Review on innjoo fire plus but no one was able to do it ... now I got the phone last week and all I can say is the phone is not upto my expectations . let's start with the cons of this phone:

1. to be honest this phone is actually not a 64bit , according to CPU z and antutu app .. its actually a 32bit , very much disapointed by innjoo for lying

2.secondly the phone battery is average .. it drains like mad , i dont know if its a Rom bug so i flashed sony e4 rom but the difference ins't much, but I used infinix hotnote so the battery performance of this phone can't be compared to that of infinix even though there is a 400mah difference . infinite battery is way too better

3. no notification light

4. no navigation bar light

well that's it for cons:

for pros of this phone :

1. the phone is extremely fast I can multi task perfectly .. thanks to the 2gb ram and octacore .. I can tell u that this phones navigates through apps like mad ..games on this phone u don't have to ask cos its damn smooth ..

2. Speaker of this phone is very loud and crisp .. much better than infinix note note .. when playing music u can feel the pureness of the sound coming out of the speaker

3. the design .. mehn I love the design, it looks and feels very premium and again the phone is very light ..

5. screen Quality is very awesome .. I watch Jupiter ascending 1080p and its very smooth .. gestures works perfectly too

6. both front and back camera are very good ... better than infinix and techno own

that's its folks , attaching pictures in a moment

You are right about the battery. Fast? Well I don't see any difference from my phantom f7. Plus my front camera doesn't flash. Have you been able to root? Maybe I should just return it
Agriculture / Re: Mysterious Bat With A Horse-like Face Found In Fish Pond (PHOTOS) by BigBenoski(m): 8:37pm On Aug 04, 2015
Izadibabe:
Hi Op,

This is a hammer headed Bat that is native to Africa and feeds on the blood of livestock so the fish pond will be a great place for them to get fresh blood from the fishes. It's also the Bat that is responsible for spreading Ebola Virus so try not to touch them if you come across another one.

Check out this website link for more info...

http://www.cracked.com/article_19921_6-terrifying-bats-you-wont-believe-arent-photoshopped_p6.html

The bolded is very wrong, sir. The H. monstrosus is a fruit bat (frugivore). It probably fell into the pond by accident
Agriculture / Re: Mysterious Bat With A Horse-like Face Found In Fish Pond (PHOTOS) by BigBenoski(m): 8:30pm On Aug 04, 2015
Kennycool1:

My Guy, Bats has more than 40 species with different image,
to me personally have seen bat look like dog, cat, bird, horse and Rat
i call my Granpa 1 day and explain this him, and finally the man tell me more stories about bat, even bat smell in different ways but dey do bahave in same ways....i always give glory to God each time i thinks about God creatures.......like human like animal........such is life
They don't all behave in the same way, bros. There are more than 1250 species worldwide so, you can imagine that.
Agriculture / Re: Mysterious Bat With A Horse-like Face Found In Fish Pond (PHOTOS) by BigBenoski(m): 8:10pm On Aug 04, 2015
Chai! Ignorance na bastard! Sorry guys, there is nothing mysterious or new about this mammal. This is the hammer headed fruit bat (Hipsignathus monstrosus). It is widely distributed in west and central Africa. And so you know, there are more than a thousand different bat species world wide. More than 300 of these are found in Africa while Nigeria boasts of slightly more than 90 species. So please, when next you see a 'strange' looking bat, don't kill it...it's just another mammal needing conservation
Education / Re: UNN Students Protest Over Power Failure by BigBenoski(m): 10:42am On May 26, 2015
lalasticlala:

http://dailypost.ng/2015/05/26/breaking-unn-students-begin-massive-protest-over-power-failure/

The manager go don scampa siiiince. Someone would have told him the story of how a one time NEPA manager was kidnapped and locked in one of the Franco toilets for hours. Lions and Lionesses!!

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (of 8 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 62