Stats: 3,156,119 members, 7,828,987 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 05:04 PM

DoctorMcgruff's Posts

Nairaland Forum / DoctorMcgruff's Profile / DoctorMcgruff's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 2:10pm On Jun 24, 2012
logicboy01 i got places to be but i will answer your question on the 1st timothy verse when i get back...i am actually more appalled by the replies of some christians than that of the athiests, the bible is much more than what you see face value, through Gods grace and mercy he opens it to us
logicboy01:

load of rubbish. How does it solve the problem by telling women to be silent in church?

Furthermore, you are saying that Paul was not writing God's word

Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:52pm On Jun 24, 2012
Irrelevant point!, paul was not talking about nails or hair or nose hair, but was talking about the eyes,ears,legs,arms e.t.c... to FULLY function as the body should you need all those
logicboy01:

Following a body analogy, a body has parts that are not necessary for survival nails, hair etc.

Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:50pm On Jun 24, 2012
1.now i realise your not reading what i am writing and your being a troll,study the bible and read up on the women of corinth, then you would know its not baseless
2.I stated that my point was in chapter 12, where paul points out the gifts of the spirit which both men and women can have one of which is prophecy and knowledge...let me put this in much simpler terms (ALL CAN GET GIFTS OF SPIRIT,ALL ARE IMPORTANT PARTS OF THE CHURCH, ALL(INCLUDING WOMEN) CAN PROPHESY
3.I never said paul had schizo, YOU said that, i basically pointed out that Pauls verse in chapter 11 was specifically for the women of corinth who were doing something wrong at the time. Albeit his statement was harsh and comes off as sexist, it was clearly misinterpreted by people who like to do selective reading

logicboy01:

Put the bible quotes forward. Dont be intellectually lazy.

You are doing three things;
-making a baseless accusation against the corinthian women, of which your solution of silence will not solve anthing and is still sexist
-implying that Paul was schizophrenic and contradicting himself
-parts of the bible are irrelevant to us in the moder day
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:50pm On Jun 24, 2012
1.now i realise your not reading what i am writing and your being a troll,study the bible and read up on the women of corinth, then you would know its not baseless
2.I stated that my point was in chapter 12, where paul points out the gifts of the spirit which both men and women can have one of which is prophecy and knowledge...let me put this in much simpler terms (ALL CAN GET GIFTS OF SPIRIT,ALL ARE IMPORTANT PARTS OF THE CHURCH, ALL(INCLUDING WOMEN) CAN PROPHESY
3.I never said paul had schizo, YOU said that, i basically pointed out that Pauls verse in chapter 11 was specifically for the women of corinth who were doing something wrong at the time. Albeit his statement was harsh and comes off as sexist, it was clearly misinterpreted by people who like to do selective reading

logicboy01:

Put the bible quotes forward. Dont be intellectually lazy.

You are doing three things;
-making a baseless accusation against the corinthian women, of which your solution of silence will not solve anthing and is still sexist
-implying that Paul was schizophrenic and contradicting himself
-parts of the bible are irrelevant to us in the moder day
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:43pm On Jun 24, 2012
1st corinthians 12: 7-14, Paul talks about how the church is like a Body and the Body needs all parts of itself to work properly, he was indicating that everyone in a church is important and in fact needed in order for the church to function properly, this destroys the entire notion of women remaining silent in the church which would mean they are useless and not needed.....(connect back to the gifts of the spirit)
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:39pm On Jun 24, 2012
By mistake i said chapter 11, i meant chapter 12, let me end this. People tend to overlook a key important passage after chapter 11. When Paul was talking about spiritual gifts one of which is verse 8
8 For to one is given the word of wisdom through the Spirit, and to another the word of knowledge according to the same Spirit; and and to another the effecting of miracles, and to another prophecy, and to another the distinguishing of spirits, to another {various} kinds of tongues, and to another the interpretation of tongues.

Paul is basically stating that we ALL, Men and Women and people of all races can receive these gifts of God, one of which is prophecy,which once again askes the question why would paul say women should remain silent? when he is stating that they can receive the gift of prophesy It once again only proves that he was speicfially addressing the women of the church of corinth who were doing something wrong
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:18pm On Jun 24, 2012
logicboy01:

Remix from DJ DoctorMcgruff.

Paul clearly said that women should be silent in church. He never said "silent in some cases". Your verses do not support your point. Try again

So answer me this, why would paul in chapter 11 say women should be free to speak and church then turn back and say they should be silent?
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:15pm On Jun 24, 2012
Its really easy to blow that verse out of proportion because it is very in your face and precise, like i stated earlier and the other guy there was something much more to it. First he was addressing the women of the church in corinth, not ALL women. Secondly they were doing something wrong at the time. Most likely misbehaving and he letting them specifically know what they should do
Religion / Re: Should Women Be Silent In Churches? by DoctorMcgruff: 1:11pm On Jun 24, 2012
Another reason why the bible should not be taken so literal Paul has already indicated that women can pray and prophesy in church (chapter 11), and a worship service includes two or three people prophesying in turn (14:29-32). This means that it is permissible for women to have formal speaking roles in the church. Paul was apparently forbidding some other type of speech. Just as he did not allow tongue-speakers or prophets to speak out of turn, he did not want women to speak out of turn, saying things in such a way that they were breaking social customs about what is appropriate.
Family / Re: 12 Things Women Do Better Than Men by DoctorMcgruff: 11:40am On Jun 14, 2012
1 Thing Men do better than women?

WE AIN'T WOMEN

Politics / Re: 14 Years Since Abacha Departed: Drop A Message by DoctorMcgruff: 1:46pm On Jun 08, 2012
all these people praising abacha must be his family members, smh...the man was a tyrant one of the worst leaders we have ever had, terrible time were corruption was at an all time high. We were an International Pariah after He killed Saro Wiwa. Things were bad, there was no hope smh...Only good thing id say about him was he didnt take nonsense and got rid of those who got in his way. Unlike GEJ who is so soft. But God brough JUDGEMENT on him...i remember when he died, the celebration by many Nigerians
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:47pm On Jun 06, 2012
DoctorMcgruff:

Thats true but only a part of it, here is John 3:16
"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Whoever believes in him shall not PERISH but have ETERNAL LIFE

you also backed up my point in your own answer, "Love the lord your God with all your heart and all your soul" If you love God you clearly have chosen him
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:45pm On Jun 06, 2012
musKeeto:
no, this is FALSE.. God didn't promise those who choose him eternal life..

Luke 10:25-37
25 On one occasion an expert in the law stood up to test Jesus. “Teacher,” he asked, “what must I do to inherit eternal life?”

26 “What is written in the Law?” he replied. “How do you read it?”

27 He answered, “‘Love the Lord your God with all your heart and with all your soul and with all your strength and with all your mind’[a]; and, ‘Love your neighbor as yourself.’

28 “You have answered correctly,” Jesus replied. “Do this and you will live.”
29 But he wanted to justify himself, so he asked Jesus, “And who is my neighbor?”
30 In reply Jesus said: “A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, when he was attacked by robbers. They stripped him of his clothes, beat him and went away, leaving him half dead.
31 A [b]priest
happened to be going down the same road, and when he saw the man, he passed by on the other side.
32 So too, a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side.
33 But a Samaritan, as he traveled, came where the man was; and when he saw him, he took pity on him.
34 He went to him and bandaged his wounds, pouring on oil and wine. Then he put the man on his own donkey, brought him to an inn and took care of him.
35 The next day he took out two denarii[c] and gave them to the innkeeper. ‘Look after him,’ he said, ‘and when I return, I will reimburse you for any extra expense you may have.’
36 “Which of these three do you think was a neighbor to the man who fell into the hands of robbers?”
37 The expert in the law replied, “The one who had mercy on him.”
Jesus told him, “Go and do likewise.”

Thats true but only a part of it, here is John 3:16
"For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Whoever believes in him shall not PERISH but have ETERNAL LIFE
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:40pm On Jun 06, 2012
musKeeto:
He doesn't want anything of these things to happen? What bigger picture?
I understand you, but understand me when I say I refuse to believe this. When babies were dying due to a heart problem, some believed it was God's plan that the human heart should not be touched, that the heart was sacred. The world has progressed(and everyone benefits) because men have continued to research and work, not pray and fast. Men have thought of things, questioned the existence of boundaries, tried to find out our limits.. and this I fully support.
I accommodate the GOD idea, but MEN will ALWAYS remain SUBJECT to the CONSEQUENCES of THEIR ACTIONS..

I agree once again i beleive God has helped man understand how to fix heart defects and what not trough science. If God placed in your mind the ability to fix a birth defect why not use it? The problem with many christians is that we want this divine intervention or else its not "Gods Will" Its like the story of a man in the ditch and water was filling up and he would drown soon, 3 people passed by and offered help but he said "No im waiting for God" When he died and went to heaven he asked God why he didnt save him and God replied " I sent 3 people to save you and you denied them"
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:33pm On Jun 06, 2012
Logic Mind:

with a god like yours, I will choose the other side.

and thats your choice. you clearly see something on the other side, and i see that that walking with Christ is better. Again this is back to free will and the ability to choose. Once again God has promised those who choose him eternal life and those who dont, well im sure you know
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:31pm On Jun 06, 2012
DoctorMcgruff:

Good question, i dont know if mans actions are suppose to have more weight, but i think they are because now we enter into the concept of free will. God has given us the freedom to do as we please but he is basically saying look here is me and here is the other side what do you choose? In the case of Dana yes it was the failure of men(maintanance of the aircraft,corruption) that led to the crash. But like i said we dont know Gods reasons.

and no God did not want the crash to happen, he doesn't want any of these things to happen, but from my understanding he has reasons why he lets them. From his point of view he sees the bigger picture.
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:28pm On Jun 06, 2012
musKeeto:
U need more cheerleaders? Lol..

Nice write up, but 'did God want the Dana flight to crash?'.. no matter what GOD's plans may be, it seems like man's action has always had more weight... hence Jesus prayer 'may your will be done on earth, as it's done in heaven'..

Good question, i dont know if mans actions are suppose to have more weight, but i think they are because now we enter into the concept of free will. God has given us the freedom to do as we please but he is basically saying look here is me and here is the other side what do you choose? In the case of Dana yes it was the failure of men(maintanance of the aircraft,corruption) that led to the crash. But like i said we dont know Gods reasons.
Religion / Re: Did God Want The Dana Flight To Crash? by DoctorMcgruff: 3:06pm On Jun 06, 2012
Its sad because All these things begin with arrogance built from an illusion that you have the answer. But you dont, you start useless a thread hating on christians because you are unsure of what you beleive in. Attack christians so that their so called jargon can make you feel better about yourself(clearly you have some issues you need to deal with, thats the human psyche for ya. i have 3 things to say. 1. Tolerance: Tolerate others,mind your own business, this goes for both sides. 2, Respect: Clearly no respect for another human being based on his beliefs and lifestyle choice. You look down on christians because you feel superior and they inferior. You call them unintelligent and sheep. In a liberal society we live in, thats a very backward concept. No different from racist ideals. 3 God Lives: Take whatever you want out of it but he exists and he has his reasons.Truly i dont know what God has planned for me or others but i know its good at the end of the day. All i can do is trust him. Yes people died in that Air crash, but as someone mentioned those christians are free, they are not conformed to this world and are in a much better place. Also people like you need to stop putting the blame on being you dont beleive in and rather tackle the issues that befall Nigeria which are in connection with that plane crash, corruption mismanagement. I am a Nuclear Physicist who beleives in Jesus Christ and found him for myself so yes, Christianity is for everyone
Religion / Re: Pa Enebeli Elebuwa Exposes Pastor Sign Fireman. Says He Is A 419ner by DoctorMcgruff: 3:42pm On May 31, 2012
Sign Fireman is a crook, i mean when i saw that one billboard where he said " All the Finest women in Lagos attend my church, why not you?, so now we go to church to check out fine ladies?

The Problem with many nigerian christians is that they fall for anyone that does miracles, if he does miracles, he is automatically a man of God. Meanwhile half these miracle works ironically dont preach about anything else but prosperity, which involves paying tithes to the pastor. Then when this power is seen, they put the so called "man of god" on a pedestal, calling him daddy and what not. What happened to pastors preaching about the Good news? Preaching about loving thy neighbour? Working toward being like christ?? Just goes to show that the church has become the new type of business

Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep's clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves.matt7.15
Education / Re: UNILAG Shut Down Over MAU Name Change Protests by DoctorMcgruff: 3:05pm On May 30, 2012
That Money that will be used to rebrand the school should be used to fix up the infrastructure of UNILAG.
Politics / Re: Zimbabwe's Vice Pres. Attacks T.B Joshua by DoctorMcgruff: 3:54pm On May 26, 2012
Quite sad how many christians are fooled by miracles and immidiatley annoint that person as a son of God....the end of days are near, that vice president is a smart man.Only God can free his people

Foreign Affairs / Re: What Is Africa Without The Horn? by DoctorMcgruff: 9:47pm On May 25, 2012
is this not the same somalia that doesnt have a government? with little children running around half starved and with ak47's smh
Politics / Re: President Jonathan's Speech At Enugu Is Treasonable by DoctorMcgruff: 1:38pm On May 20, 2012
I wonder what useless school OP went to?

Computers / Re: Internet Speed Rank In Africa; Ghana 1st & Nigeria 9th by DoctorMcgruff: 8:06am On May 19, 2012
Abeg make we just annex these ghanaians and make them the 37th state smh, they truly love us too much

Career / Re: When Will Nigerian Lawyers Stop Wearing Wigs, Looking Like Fools To The World? by DoctorMcgruff: 2:15am On May 12, 2012
Aringon: Does it mean that we should copy the americans or the europeans? Does it mean that whatever they do is always right? When are we going to be left alone to be free from colonial mentality.

Whoever brought this topic to nairaland is suffering from colonial mentality and see nothing good in africa. Instead our lawyers shud dress well with clean dresses and all

Your the one with the colonialist mentality,saying we should remain wearing blonde wigs? smh
Religion / Re: How Do Atheists Explain The Existense Of Intelligent Designs? by DoctorMcgruff: 11:12pm On Apr 17, 2012
logicboy:

You should be ashamed!

Adam to Abraham = 2000 years. Abraham lived around 2000bc (4000 years ago). 4000 + 2000 = 6000.

http://www.answersingenesis.org/articles/2007/05/30/how-old-is-earth

At the end of the day its an estimate not a fact, nowhere in the Bible does it mention the age of the earth or when the earth began also let me remind you that in the bible it does say "“[B]eloved, do not forget this one thing, that with the Lord one day is as a thousand years, and a thousand years as one day"

Now this is not to say that 1 day is exactley a thousand years but rather God transcends time, so the whole idea of the earth being created in a Literal Week is challenged, their lies the possibility the earth is MUCH older than 6000 years
Religion / Re: How Do Atheists Explain The Existense Of Intelligent Designs? by DoctorMcgruff: 10:55pm On Apr 17, 2012
logicboy:

You can try and force the bible into reality but you will always fail. The bible is a fairytale. It is about (not counting the 5 creation days before) 6,000 years from Adam to our current generation (historians have added up the time). The earliest fossils are 195,000 years old. The bible is a lie

clearly the historians have been at flaw, not those who wrote the Bible,and it is 6000 years from when christ lived not adam...ignorance
Religion / Re: How Do Atheists Explain The Existense Of Intelligent Designs? by DoctorMcgruff: 6:21pm On Apr 16, 2012
Ps.

had no idea that b@ang was a bad word smh angry
Religion / Re: How Do Atheists Explain The Existense Of Intelligent Designs? by DoctorMcgruff: 6:19pm On Apr 16, 2012
hence i don't believe in a big bang

(1) (2) (3) (4) (of 4 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 52