Stats: 3,158,192 members, 7,835,962 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 06:12 PM

Elnon's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Elnon's Profile / Elnon's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences by Elnon: 8:44pm On Feb 22, 2021
Done researching about this Uni and dept...I'm impressed to discover such health-tech masters course...Thanks for this brilliant recommendation.

Now, this department doesn't require GRE and TOEFL for Nigerians...All they need is a health/tech related degree course, official Bsc transcript, proficiency in data tech skills, filling online application form, $35 application fee and 3 letters of reference.....According to them the departments selects GA....Should I still go ahead and write the GRE to stand a chance of being selected for GA? Should I also contact the department as regards this to know if there is any other requirements for GA application?.......Thanks
Mogenerous:

Check Middle Tennessee State University for Masters in Healthcare informatics. You certainly need to take GRE to secure GA.
Travel / Re: Why Do Most People Prefer Study Route Than Work route To Travel Out? by Elnon: 11:03am On Feb 22, 2021
That's still a few out of the many applying ...I'm in the IT sector too and the Nigerian factor doesn't help us...AS FOR THE HEALTHCARE SECTOR,YOU MUST REWITE SOME LICENSE EXAMS ETC
tensazangetsu20:

Not true. I have friends with two years of experience getting sponsored from Nigeria. Young small boys getting work visas to Germany like it's nothing. The supply for IT skills isn't much abroad compared to the demand so companies need to fill with candidates from other countries.

Travel / Re: Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences by Elnon: 10:49am On Feb 22, 2021
Oh thank you so much...Checking it out right away
Mogenerous:

Check Middle Tennessee State University for Masters in Healthcare informatics. You certainly need to take GRE to secure GA.
Travel / Re: Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences by Elnon: 10:43am On Feb 22, 2021
!
Mogenerous:

Travel / Re: Why Do Most People Prefer Study Route Than Work route To Travel Out? by Elnon: 9:52pm On Feb 21, 2021
even the IT and healthcare is rare... You must posses top notch skills and be super experienced
tensazangetsu20:
It is almost impossible to secure a work visa if you are not in IT or healthcare.

Travel / Re: Naija to Yankee Thoughts And Experiences by Elnon: 9:42pm On Feb 21, 2021
Wow....Finally got to the final page of this brilliant and inspiring thread.....Mr MackyNaija thank you so much for being selfless and a light in this broken world....What you do here is amazing and uplifting....We truly appreciate your being and wish you greater wins/successes!

Pls I need an advise from you cos you are such an experienced critical thinker.......A Quick background - I graduated as a medical laboratory scientist in 2019 and after that I couldn't keep up with the poor salary of health professionals in Nigeria here...That led me into coding/ IT field where I got certifications as a data analyst/scientist from the prestigious online school(Dataquest).....In 2020, I got a remote job for a polish startup/company as a healthcare data analyst.... I am 23 years now and wanna leave this country to the US/Sweden to give myself and future the best

I scanned through your former school and cant see any masters in the healthcare field (Saw one for computer science though)...Also discovered on here of many scholarships/funding options and that one can go from bachelors to PHD without masters.

Now, I've already applied for a masters in public health in 4 Swedish universities but believe the tech field will offer me more...Should I take GRE, TOEFL etc and apply for a PHD/masters in the US (noticed PHD has better funding opportunities) in computer science/IT considering my bachelors is in healthcare? Will it work?....what do you candidly advise me to do?..Leaving Nigeria this year is a MUST!

Thank you once again......
MackyNaija:

It isn't wholly about money.

In some instances like for doing a PhD, you might only need 1x GRE fee ($260), 2x Application fee ($100 for two schools) and a flight ticket ($1,000).
Pocket money for your first month (Roughly $500 to $,1000).

The tuition will be covered by a scholarship and living costs covered by a monthly stipend from the school.

This is very doable. Chip away at this costs year by year and in the near future, you have been able to do it.
Education / Re: Why Do Nigerian Universities Charge Ridiculous Amount For Transcripts? by Elnon: 9:34pm On Feb 19, 2021
IMSU NA WORST..PAID 60K FOR TRANSCRIPT
Periklis:
Uneven is fair.. Try uniport.. It will cost u over 40k
Travel / Re: Nigerians In Sweden, How Is The Economy And Life Generally by Elnon: 8:18pm On Feb 15, 2021
So what could be the problem?...Kindly contact the school or uni admissions...Also is your BSc in accounting?
Goldbw122:

Yes
Travel / Re: Nigerians In Sweden, How Is The Economy And Life Generally by Elnon: 10:45pm On Feb 14, 2021
Did you pay the application fee of 900SEK before the deadline?
Goldbw122:

Yes I did
Travel / Re: Nigerians In Sweden, How Is The Economy And Life Generally by Elnon: 10:22pm On Feb 13, 2021
hope you submitted these documents before the deadline which is Feb. 1 ?
Goldbw122:
I have submitted the necessary documents,. So what is the next step?
Celebrities / Re: Omotola Jalade-Ekeinde Celebrates Her 43rd Birthday (Photo) by Elnon: 3:33pm On Feb 07, 2021
No case...Its all lies from the faceless blogger
edo3:
Have they finished d allegation case wt osho baba?
Travel / Re: Top 10 Best Places For Digital Nomads (cheap & Safe Countries) by Elnon: 3:11pm On Feb 07, 2021
lol grin grin grin grin grin
olowococoa:
When will Nigeria be added to this kind of list?
Na question I ask ooh.
Travel / Re: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by Elnon: 11:51pm On Feb 04, 2021
My situation too in Asaba ...tired...
epirumhe:
I did data capturing in Benin since January 13th and I have still not been able to collect the passport due to no booklets

Travel / Re: Another 425 Nigerians Arrive From Saudi-arabia by Elnon: 1:29pm On Feb 04, 2021
Aljazeera remains the best international news media to watch...Totally unbiased
seunny4lif:
Bro, I don’t watch only CNN and BBC
BBC and CNN will never report bad news about Saudi just like they will never report about the massive protests that is going in Holland and France
Travel / Re: The Forms Of Racism You Have Faced As An African Abroad by Elnon: 9:25pm On Feb 01, 2021
lol....Life in Sweden is far better than America...So many Americans are here but no swede will ever dream of relocating to America
Reeses:

Well America is far better than the whole Europe i rather stay here than move there.

Travel / Re: The Forms Of Racism You Have Faced As An African Abroad by Elnon: 8:58pm On Feb 01, 2021
I so much love the Philippines....So kind and happy people.
klashe:
I experienced none in The Philippines. In fact they love black people more than westerners, firstly because the percentage of blacks in Philippines is very low and also they think all black guys are basketball stars so when strangers want to communicate they either call you Jordan or James (with so much excitement on their face).

Travel / Re: The Forms Of Racism You Have Faced As An African Abroad by Elnon: 8:49pm On Feb 01, 2021
Another angle....I agree....I once travelled with my Namibian friend but the profiling and disgrace I received ,he never got any....I was searched thoroughly but he wasn't....remember we are both blacks and black skinned....My Nigerian passport alone has given me so much pain hence why I must get another citizenship...One of the reasons why I find these criminals called yahoo boys disgusting and evil...I cant condone it....Damaging our reputation further..
Rilwayne001:
Most stories on this thread points to how Nigerian are treated abroad, and not really about race. And I'm not surprised. The corruption and Yahoo yahoo that's plagued the country is enough reason for foreigners to treat us like thieves. We're our very own enemies.

Travel / Re: The Forms Of Racism You Have Faced As An African Abroad by Elnon: 8:26pm On Feb 01, 2021
THIS!!!!!Many are still mentally enslaved....Religion(Christianity) painting Jesus to be white and devil to be black made me dump that religion...O wrong nau..I cant serve the GOD of those who see me as inferior....Now deeply irreligious and the Almighty God(MY SOURCE) that I pray to looks like me...God has or belongs to no religion.. I try not to gaze any white person more than once...You need to see how confident I feel when I interact with whites. I cry when I remember how we run to see them as kids even Indians then o...Slavery and the religion it came with ruined our identity...And the oppression is still going on from our evil leaders....Painful!.
Ayilara1:
We give them too much attention and we always feel inferior.

Here in Nigeria, if I see a white man/woman, no matter the urge to look at them I make sure my gaze doesn't pass once. The annoying thing you will see is most Nigerian looking at them till they feel the importance.

We might never be free from it until we develop our country.

Travel / Re: The Forms Of Racism You Have Faced As An African Abroad by Elnon: 7:55pm On Feb 01, 2021
Shit....This is so painful.. embarassed.
ikeseeholdings1:
i never understands what it means to be racially abused,until 2011 when i boarded a train from Beijing west train station to Guangzhou Train station. I was the only black man in that coach,everyone was Just looking at me,talking in their Language and laughing at me,calling me HEGWE(BLACK DEVIL)Because i don't understand the Language then.The most annoying part was when a family that sat close was telling their cry cry baby that if he crys again that they will bring him to me and the baby stopped crying. It was hell for me back then,especially when it's coming from Chinese people not from original White people

Travel / Re: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by Elnon: 11:59am On Feb 01, 2021
Block you?...This is the height of it all....I am done!.
Lordbinsmar:
it's quite unfortunate for me to be a Nigerian, once I find my way out of this shit hole, nothing is making me come back to live in there.

I couldn't get my passport from Ibadan passport office since 4th of November 2020 after paying #28000 instead of the normal #17000. Because I was desperate to get it as soon as possible. I needed it to apply for a scholarship program which was going to close on 24th of January 2021.
After all my plead to allow me to see the PCO may be he can be of help. The useless officers at his office didn't allow me
I made a complaint via the NIS twitter account, the next thing is for them to block me for making a complaint embarassed

Travel / Re: Cost Of A Nigeria International Passport by Elnon: 11:58am On Feb 01, 2021
kai....Are there booklets in Lagos?...Pls any idea...Was told booklet is only available in Taraba state...A dead country...These leaders have destroyed this country and still don't want us to leave?
Lordbinsmar:
it's quite unfortunate for me to be a Nigerian, once I find my way out of this shit hole, nothing is making me come back to live in there.

I couldn't get my passport from Ibadan passport office since 4th of November 2020 after paying #28000 instead of the normal #17000. Because I was desperate to get it as soon as possible. I needed it to apply for a scholarship program which was going to close on 24th of January 2021.
After all my plead to allow me to see the PCO may be he can be of help. The useless officers at his office didn't allow me
I made a complaint via the NIS twitter account, the next thing is for them to block me for making a complaint embarassed

Travel / Re: Even Nairobi, Kenya Towers Over Nigeria by Elnon: 12:09am On Feb 01, 2021
which south African wan come Nigeria?...you must be joking
heniford2:
why then are you in Nigeria go to Kenya naw grin no dey mumu oh even south African dem wan come naija too much weed self no good
Travel / Re: Which Place Is The Best Between Banana Island And Lakowe Golf by Elnon: 6:04pm On Jan 31, 2021
same here.....Lakowe is the best .....I love the nature/serenity and being an introvert working remotely, the distance is not a problem....Nothing special about banana, Nicon estate better pass banana sef
Shugar1:
If not for distance, Lakowe is the best in my opinion. Banana na hype abeg
Celebrities / Re: DJ Switch Begs Peter Okoye For Giveaway: Says "I Am A Fugitive" by Elnon: 3:44pm On Jan 30, 2021
DEEP, TRUE AND SAD...I am learning my lessons....The comments here is a confirmation of what you said...Nigeria not worth it at all and no hope in sight.
Brutee:
I guess DJ switch will now be regretting fighting for this country. Her cause was a just cause but she should have known this country is not worth fighting or dieing for. After all the protests what is still happening has trippled, this is a lesson for everyone, if you fight for Nigeria, you'll end up in disgrace. It's been happening since the beginning of time. This country is not just worth it. This is a very big lesson for all those people claiming to be a patriot. I rest my case

End SARS is done and dusted, continue deceiving yourself with hopes of another End SARS protest. The people in the country is not ready for change. The moment you come to terms with the reality the better.
Celebrities / Re: Nkechi Blessing Takes Personal Photographer, Sister On Dubai Trip (Photos) by Elnon: 9:34pm On Jan 28, 2021
why shame the woman but praise the man...STUPID!
mosdii:
Sharp man dey drill her oil well.

Nigerian Girls Are Useless...All Of Them
Travel / Re: Scarcity Of Passport Booklets Resurfaces by Elnon: 8:33pm On Jan 28, 2021
Really SAD...Same horrible experience for the past 3 weeks now...This country will break you
Jackelony:

The issue of scarcity of Passport booklets has become a recurring decimal in Nigeria, as no year goes by without this ugly experience.
Speaking from experience, I went to the Nigeria Immigration Service HQ in Abuja last week to renew my passport, after making payments and being captured I asked to know when I should come and pick up my new passport. It was at that point that the officer assisting me with the process informed me that there are no 32-page passport booklets. This news left me shattered considering that I had plans that were hinged on obtaining that new passport.

I don't know why Nigeria keeps disappointing at every turn. Why does the NIS management have to wait till they completely run out of booklets before restocking? What happens to emergency health issues that require overseas treatment but for lack of Passport booklets cannot be pursued thereby leading to complications?

Moderator, Please move this to the front page to enable it attract the attention it deserves.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55