Stats: 3,328,459 members, 8,435,742 topics. Date: Monday, 29 June 2026 at 09:35 AM

Enoquin's Posts

Nairaland ForumEnoquin's ProfileEnoquin's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 (of 59 pages)

Nairaland GeneralRe: Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification. by Enoquin(f): 11:14am On Dec 06, 2014
No appeal oh. Jury makes the decision so even if you have a 'biased' mod as the judge, his/her hands are tied. The judge can only ask questions for clarification sake.
If as you claim, mods have bias, will this not be a chance for the jury to undo the unjust punishment? Anyways, it would make for interesting threads, if you are found guilty, go straight to jail...cheesy
Whenever you log in, na straight to jail till your ban expires. Issues of infinite 'banned till year 3059' bans will not crop up grin cheesy
Besides, some monikers would be too proud to seek a trial, they'd rather serve their jail sentence
Iroh88:
You have a good point. But my fear is that commuting sentences through appeal could encourage impunity on the part of members.

Besides, if the decision of the court is to be taken under advisement, who then makes the final call as to the sentencing?? Would it be through a majority vote by the jury/judges?

This idea becomes much more complex when you consider its application under the politics section. Each of the mods have their political bias and you know what that means.

So for the avoidance of such complexity, I'd rather we stuck to the status quo where banning/incarceration is at the discretion of the mods (individually). smiley
BusinessRe: Ways To Turn Your Ideas Into Reality by Enoquin(f): 11:01am On Dec 06, 2014
This is an interesting and educating article eleojo23. I would have added more but my thumbs are dead from typing.

Get off your butts people and start something.
Nairaland GeneralRe: Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification. by Enoquin(f): 10:58am On Dec 06, 2014
lipsrsealed Who go pay the millions? No SAN oh. I was looking at it from the angle of curbing the acidity dished out whilst fighting amongst monikers. Lawyers will have to carefully word their statements same with the accused...hehehehe

Descartes:
You are on point.

I can't wait to hire a SAN on this board and demand for compensation in Millions of Naira if banned unlawfully. wink
Nairaland GeneralRe: Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification. by Enoquin(f): 10:52am On Dec 06, 2014
cheesy, yes oh, e-community

Descartes:
You have said it all.

Nairaland is indeed an e-Community cheesy
Nairaland GeneralRe: Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification. by Enoquin(f): 10:44am On Dec 06, 2014
Iroh88:
This is asking for too much. cheesy

Let's just have the Sonas, the Alcatrazes and the Kirikiris first. Let the prerogative to send people to jail remain solely in the hands of the mods.

Seun sorry to bother you, but can we have this on the fp? Sample more opinions and contributions, see if we can make something out of this. You never know.
As Descartes has rightly said, Nairaland is an e-community. That an activity is happening in one section, doesn't mean, other sections are at a standstill...besides, the banned moniker is the one to seek for a trial and if it is a big offence, (s)he can get a trial with the understanding that the jury might even give him a stiffer punishment if found guilty...I know I would like to come to Nairaland e-court and watch as lawyers try without using abusive words, to get their clients punishment reduced or off the hook.
Secondly, issues of bias from mods will be reduced.

It's good thought to sample the opinion of others
EducationRe: 16 Errors That Are Still Taught In Nigerian Schools Today by Enoquin(f): 10:37am On Dec 06, 2014
Interesting. I knew some but knowing more never hurt anyone except one's self
Nairaland GeneralRe: Banning On Nairaland: Possible Modification. by Enoquin(f): 10:18am On Dec 06, 2014
I think it is a cool idea even that of the e-judiciary. Imagine Omenka(Op) being banned and his case taken to e-judiciary where only Barcanista and maybe Obiagelli (sorry for the mentions) are allowed as his defence lawyers. Then, the jury will consist of known partisan members or folks from religion or business section. All other comments apart from the judge, lawyers and maybe jury will be hidden. Then the jury will hand out the ban depending on the offence. Not all offences will require the jury though...cheesy
CelebritiesRe: This Annoying Thing About Nigerian Comedians by Enoquin(f): 11:33pm On Dec 03, 2014
coogar:
it's simple!
nigerians are rarely doing anything for passion. they do it for the financial benefit. it's not only the comedians.....check out our music artistes, nollywood actors, etc. once they make money, they lose the passion to maintain their quality.

when the hunger is real, they work ever so hard to break barriers. when was the last time you have heard anything quality from 2face, MI, ruggedman, etc. when was the last time basket mouth or elenu came up with an original joke?

the art is a means to an end for many of them. make money, get fame........and then join politics. the other day i saw 9ice riding a donkey to submit his application - what an arsëhole!!! politics after just 3 albums?
You forgot to mention the eagles, see Mikel, look at his attitude...no hunger. It's a money society, so everyone just works to get money (almost everyone); very few are driven by the need to better the society or the lives around them. They'd display cash online as if there's a proclamation that we would soon go back to using cowries.

As for 9ice, he rode an a.s.s because he is an ... cheesy
CelebritiesRe: This Annoying Thing About Nigerian Comedians by Enoquin(f): 11:22pm On Dec 03, 2014
thatniqqress:

Kelvin hart, overratted.
Chris rock anytime any day
Ehnhuh
Thank you jare, really overrated. I don't know what peeps see in Kevin Hart, the dude just shouts all over the place, lump him with Kat Williams. Give me Chris Rock jare, anytime, anyday.

Obviously, OP doesn't know what funny is...putting Kevin Hart and Chris Rock in the same sentence; AY and Bovi in the same bracket. I am happy, Bovi's hustle is now paying off, that's all. AY, the dude is darn lucky.
CelebritiesRe: Nigerians Got Talent: Who Draw Phyno Better? See Photos by Enoquin(f): 6:41pm On Dec 03, 2014
None. The 3rd guy just has a deeper sketch...and still his potrait looks like a robot from Terminator
FamilyRe: Aunty Babyosisi's Token Christmas Gift For An Unemployed Youth by Enoquin(f): 11:48am On Dec 03, 2014
Babyosisi, this is a good thing and to the others who have donated too. May your pockets be enriched.

Now, I do not get some styles of corrections or 'criticisms'. I am of the opinion, that if your criticism cannot be stated respectfully with solutions or a better modification proffered, then you should say nothing.

Will N18,000 not help any serious minded graduate even if nothing it can get you basic foodstuffs so you have something for christmas? And even if you have food, that's an awoof amount to subscribe or get something you've always wanted or even giving part of the money to someone who didn't expect it. That is what an act of little kindness started by someone can snowball into.
That you are unemployed gives you the time to dream, so that when you are given an opportunity, you run with it. Let's drop our sense of entitlement, it hasn't improved Nigeria one bit. There is the business section, so many threads there. Use part of the money for that but stop belittling the act, it is someone's hard earned money.

I would have suggested this goes to the job/vacancy section. It might be a 250 word of an idea on how the economy can be improved or something like that. I wish I could participate...but I think there are people who would need it more than someone that just needs extra free cash.
LiteratureRe: My Flash/short Stories Collection by Enoquin(op): 10:48am On Dec 03, 2014
tongue You forgotten, that's how we smile in the caves
spywareczar:
wah?? I like it na
LiteratureRe: My Flash/short Stories Collection by Enoquin(op): 9:38am On Dec 03, 2014
CelebritiesRe: Tiwa Savage Grinds Patoranking On Stage & Forgets Her Husband by Enoquin(f): 8:09am On Dec 03, 2014
shocked lipsrsealed
EventsRe: A Nairalander's Traditional Wedding Pics by Enoquin(f): 7:14am On Dec 03, 2014
lipsrsealed Dem jugs men! Abeg remove the first picture. Wish them the best
NYSCRe: Ekiti Loses A Corps Member by Enoquin(f): 10:29pm On Dec 02, 2014
undecided Is there no picture of her in her corper's uniform?

RIP Otondo, another candle's light put off half way
EducationRe: Lecturers Promise To End Sexual Harassment & Extortion Of Students On Campuses by Enoquin(f): 6:21pm On Dec 01, 2014
lalasticlala:
Also, Mr Austin Okoh, the immediate past chairman, Senior Staff Association of Nigerian Polytechnics (SSANIP), Yaba College of Technology,Lagos, said that the authorities of the college have been doing all within its power to prevent crises on the campus.

Okoh said that the authorities had been operating an open door policy to ensure that issues that could lead to industrial dispute were promptly addressed by the stakeholders.

“In the area of sustaining peace on the campus, the management has really tried.

“There are crises on campus related to infrastructure, cultism, incessant power failure , insecurity and lack of water; the management of this institution has been trying to address.

“Sometimes, students would want to hide under the guise of incessant power failure to disrupt proposed semeter’s examination giving the excuse that they cannot study in the dark.

The school authorities have always addressed such agitations before they get out of hand, he said.

“The authorities of the college ensure that everything is in order ones the examination period is approaching to forestall anything that can disrupt it.’’

Okoh said that sexual harassment by lecturers was not common in Yaba College of Technology when compared with other tertiary institutions.

.“Sexual harassment of female students is not very common here on our campus and when such incidents are reported , the college has its mechanism in place to address them immediately.

“We have the senior staff investigation committee and the junior staff investigation committee, anytime such issue is reported, we direct it to the right committee.

“We have competent hands to handle such cases because the authorities are very concerned about anything that borders on sexual harassment .

“This is usually handled with the seriousness it deserves and culprits are brought to book after they must have faced the disciplinary committee.

He said that the authorities of the college had been very committed in eradicating cultism on the campus.

“It is not easy to wipe it off the system completely but the authorities have made efforts and must be commended.

“The security and awareness campaign is in top gear; many students had been killed or slain in the past by cult members who mostly came from outside the institutions to attack,’’ Okoh said.

Source: http://dailypost.ng/2014/11/30/lecturers-promise-end-extortion-students-campuses/
This is true of Yabatech. Rare occurence of sexual harrassment - one lecturer (pastor and football referee) was sacked. 'Keep it in your pants'. Examination malpractice or worse impersonation? You are hauled off like a criminal and thrown into the back of a police van unlike Unical, where an impersonator ran off and the lecturers were laughing...Yabatech school of tension, thank you for a solid foundation.
LiteratureRe: My Flash/short Stories Collection by Enoquin(op): 11:38am On Dec 01, 2014
[b]Where did it all go? [b]

Silence, except for the clattering cutleries.
“Can you imagine what she later did?” The man asked pausing before taking a sip from his teacup.
No reply.
“She apologized baby, she said she thought I was going to leave the company and so was very scared; and in being scared she reacted that way. Can you imagine?”
“I see,” the man’s wife finally replied.
“I know it’s still too early but perhaps I might push for a salary increase.”
“Hmm…”
“With a salary increase, we can do so much. Travel to places, engage in…”
“Can you please pass the ketchup?” Interrupting her husband, the woman stretched her hand towards the ketchup bottle that was quite out of her reach.
“Baby, are you even listening to me?”
“Do I have a choice?”
“What kind of a reply is that? And why are you not even showing some degree of interest in the subject? I am trying my best- God knows I am- to satisfy you but nothing seems to work… nothing! You just sit there and do your best to spit out one worded replies…”
“It’s called monosyllables,” his wife replied unable to stop herself.
“Yes, throw it at me whenever you can. When you are not darn correcting me over imaginable offences, you are correcting my grammar. Perhaps you are too perfect for this world and you think your class higher than mine but you are my wife and I deserve some respect in this house!” On that final note the man’s fist hit the dining table hard causing the contents in the two teacups to slush over.
Apparently having enough of the whole drama, his wife makes to leave the table.
“And where do you think you are going?”
The wife doesn't reply.
Standing, the man grabs his wife’s arm in a bid to hold her back.
“Take your hands off me, Lekan.” The disgust in his wife’s voice quite obvious.
“And what would you do about it?” Lekan asked, a bit uneasy at the apparent calmness from Bola, his wife.
“Nothing, perhaps we need a break. I think I would travel to see my parents this weekend.”
“You are travelling nowhere Bola, nowhere!”
“And what do you want me to do Lekan, sit in this house and pretend that all is well? Sit here being the perfect housewife while you strut around in the corporate world feeling indispensible?”
“Is that what this is all about? You hate my work?”
“No…I don’t hate your work. I just hate what you are doing to me. I hate how I am dying inside and how you are doing nothing about it.”
“What do you want Bola? I provide for you just like every woman wishes her man would provide for her. Do you know how many corporate women would long to have what you have, time to do whatever they want?”
“I don’t care about what those women want. Lekan, you close your eyes to everything. I have begged, cajoled and tried to persuade you to listen to how I feel but each time you tell me I need more money. We have been in this marriage for 5 years Lekan and it doesn’t bother you that I have not even had a miscarriage. Have I not begged you to go for tests with me and when that failed, counseling? I have bought every video seminar for couples and even movies that should perhaps open your sense of reasoning when clearly I have failed to do so. I have told you how miserable I am and when I try to communicate, you shut me out saying I whine a lot.”
Lekan’s grip on his wife slackened a bit. “Look, I don’t want to deal with this now.”
“Then when do you want to deal with it? When do you want to face the fact that all is not well with us or that your wife is not a happy woman?”
“Babe, kids are not everything, okay?”
“Really, why not tell it to your mother who constantly nags at me for not giving you children? Why not say it to your twin sister who constantly calls me barren and spits at my feet?”
“They would all come around okay. Times have changed couples now have only females and live happily. We can still be happy without children.” He replied, not meeting her eyes. Trying to gather her into his arms.
In anger, she pushes him away; eyes blazing. “Look me in the eyes Lekan. Look me in the eyes when you say that!" Her voice rose with each sentence. "What then are you making all the money for since we are not sharing it with any offspring?”
“Bola, leave it alone. You are just angry now but you and I know how crazy we are about each other.”
“Crazy? Crazy is wanting to know everything that bothers me. Crazy is making sure we are both on the same wavelength. Where did it all go, Lekan? Why are you putting a wall between us?”
The questions seemed to hit Lekan hard. With no words to reply his wife who now had tears coursing down her cheek, Lekan stormed out, leaving his relationship worse than before perhaps with no hope of it ever being repaired.
LiteratureMy Flash/short Stories Collection by Enoquin(op):
Not to detract from those already doing a great job. These are flashes and very short stories of mine. Some are quite old, written when I was still cutting my teeth. Some might come in series but will never be more than 4 parts. Have a good read cheesy

Copyright © 2015
All rights reserved. These pieces or any portion(s) thereof may not be copied or reproduced or used in any manner whatsoever without the express written permission of the writer.
EntertainmentRe: Guy Blew N10.1million ($63K) On Drinks In Victoria Island (photos) by Enoquin(f): 6:52pm On Nov 30, 2014
That's why there are few wealthy black men...there might be plenty rich black men but only a tiny few are wealthy.

The government cannot build all research facilities or fund inventors or scientists. Most times, wealthy men fund these activities and since we have a minute few, we cannot move many steps forward but take tiny steps slowly.

10.1 million on drinks, poverty cloudeth the mind.
CelebritiesRe: Nairalander Wedding At Deeper Life Church by Enoquin(f): 10:02am On Nov 30, 2014
OP are you the Nairalander in question? If no, why didn't the Nairalander himself post? Abi the pesin way no pure ni? grin or no liver to withstand the caustic tongues wey dey here? cheesy

Smiling is not a sin you know. On a serious note, I hope you guys prayed when you got home, when you got into the bedroom, before and after your conjugal duties? We won't want you guys to miss heaven. angry
Art, Graphics & VideoRe: Dora Akunyili's Daughter, Njideka Akunyili Wins International Award. by Enoquin(f): 9:16pm On Nov 27, 2014
I am more interested in the story of that art...strikes deep
PoliticsRe: Was Abacha Truly Poisoned By Indian Girls? by Enoquin(f): 7:39pm On Nov 26, 2014
dein77:
Meaning you're also not buying into the Indian girls conspiracy theory?
Come on, those were stories told to spice up his demise, just like the Indians 99 - Nigeria 1 story?
PoliticsRe: Was Abacha Truly Poisoned By Indian Girls? by Enoquin(f): 7:06pm On Nov 26, 2014
I doubt anyone except the people involved know what happened to Abacha.
I also doubt Nigeria would or allow private individuals make any inquiry into his death or any other big incident that has happened in Nigeria. Most Nigerians are governed by sentiments
AgricultureRe: Meet Tomtato – A Plant That Grows Tomatoes Above Ground And Potatoes Below by Enoquin(f): 6:31pm On Nov 26, 2014
It took him a decade worth of work. I must commend people who are steadfast and committed to their vision.
CelebritiesRe: Denrele Says He's Ready To Marry! by Enoquin(f): 8:17am On Nov 24, 2014
Derenle, Weird MC would be a good catch cheesy
Art, Graphics & VideoRe: Check Out My New 3D Works On My Behance Portfolio by Enoquin(f): 12:44pm On Nov 22, 2014
spywareczar:
Eno, so the caves in the outskirts of akwa ibom still exist?? And there's GPRS network there?? Amazing! grin
It's amazing and no it isnt in the outskirts...we are the town, while others are the outskirts. The root of our trees have charging abilities, our leaves are Wi-Fis, our ponds stream moving pictures and so many other info that I cannot share because we do not want intruders angry
Art, Graphics & VideoRe: Check Out My New 3D Works On My Behance Portfolio by Enoquin(f): 12:44pm On Nov 22, 2014

Art, Graphics & VideoRe: Check Out My New 3D Works On My Behance Portfolio by Enoquin(f): 11:33am On Nov 22, 2014
No wonder I see tongues hanging out everywhere...thank you for helping a primitive girl out. I'll stick to smile used in our caves angry
spywareczar:
no, its like this tongue

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 (of 59 pages)