Stats: 3,156,058 members, 7,828,724 topics. Date: Wednesday, 15 May 2024 at 01:23 PM

Gigdraft's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Gigdraft's Profile / Gigdraft's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 8:01pm On Apr 04
Gift96:

You fit help me too sha oo cry
It's quite glaring. @Lordlontor is trying to lure anyone gullible enough into something shady. Please be careful of falling victim.
Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 7:14pm On Apr 04
Lordlontor:
Onye ji ugwo. You de inside gbese you still get pride 🤣🤣🤣🤣
Your account was registered today, so I would assume you are a troll. FYI: Obi's case was an analogy, and not necessarily a personal scenario.

Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 7:01pm On Apr 04
Lordlontor:
Cool. Make obi DM this account if e gallant
For what exactly, and why does he needs to be gallant?

Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 6:54pm On Apr 04
Lordlontor:
How old be obi sef?
Let's say 35 years.
Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 5:49pm On Apr 04
Gift96:

Obi Shouldn't have taken a loan of 20 million to go study. She could have taken half of that loan and invested it in a reasonable business.

Wait for a turn over (ROI) for 3 years and travel convinently. No clear cut path to success sha. Obi good luck o
What if Obi is already in Canada and going back to Nigeria is not an option now because the N20m is almost exhausted?
Travel / Re: Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 5:47pm On Apr 04
tensazangetsu20:
I can't advise a married man with children to leave Nigeria on a student visa. Better off finding a sponsorship job or getting permanent residency from Nigeria.
That's another way to look at it, but how about a married man with a low CRS score (and no PNP alternative)?
Travel / Nigerian Students Abroad: How Do You Survive? by Gigdraft: 5:33pm On Apr 04
Let’s be honest with ourselves. Studying abroad (Japa) isn’t particularly easy for average Nigerians who are self-sponsored (paying their own fees). If, for example:

1. Obi takes a Japa loan of N20m to study Cyber Security in Canada.

2. The lender expects Obi to pay N1m monthly for 24 months (with N4m as interest).

3. Not that bad, right?

4. However, the reality is that Obi has no means of amortizing his loan. He is supposed to study and not to work.

5. Meanwhile, Obi’s only hope is to work while also studying in Canada to meet his monthly loan commitment.

6. Unfortunately for Obi, he got to Canada, and reality suddenly dawned on him.

7. Obi meets loads of assignments, coursework, group work, class presentations, and exercises, which demand more time than he could spare for work. To make matters worse, Obi’s wife and kids won’t stop ringing his phone to send some $ for their upkeep.

Can you relate to Obi's situation? Maybe? How then do you survive? Do you just abandon schoolwork and focus on your loan repayment or cut communication with your lender and family?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 8:24pm On Jul 20, 2023
ZorroJuro:

Here’s my story
I got my PPR 15 days after biometrics!
• Application submission; 1st July, 2023.
• Biometrics submission; 5th July, 2023 (updated on the same day).
• Medicals passed; 18th July, 2023 (p.s: I did upfront medicals).
• Procedural Fairness letter; 18th July, 2023 (because I mistakenly put the wrong information concerning visa denials).
• PPR letter; 20th July, 2023
I also submitted my application without an agent cus they were misbehaving.
DOCUMENTS USED
• Letter of acceptance
• Tuition receipt (4,000 CAD)
• Sponsor’s Bank statement
• SOP
• Sponsor’s Bank reference letter
• Recommendation from school
• Sponsor’s property documents
• Upfront medicals letter
• Police report
• Passport
• Sponsor’s passport
• NIN (Sponsor’s and mine)
• Recommendation letter from employee
• C.V
• Birth certificate
• Transcript
• Family pictures
• Affidavit of return home
• Letter of sponsorship
• Sponsor’s company ownership documents

Congratulations 🎉

Now, who's next?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 11:02am On Mar 19, 2023
akinloluazeez:
Thank you bro, please do i need to schedule upfront Medical as well? Or wait for the portal request?

Hi Akinloluazeez,

Upfront medical is not mandatory. Hence, you can choose either of the two options. Meanwhile, I would only recommend an upfront medical if you are already behind schedule.

Can't wait to celebrate with you!

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 9:15am On Mar 19, 2023
akinloluazeez:
Hi all, Pls do I need to Book Appointment for Biometric, as I’ve been requested to provide one?

Hi Akinloluazeez,

As already detailed in your IMM5756, biometric appointment is mandatory.

Please visit the link below to secure a date with the VFS:

https://visa.vfsglobal.com/nga/en/can/book-an-appointment

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:55am On Mar 18, 2023
PutinDBomb:
Do I need TOEFL for visa? How many days before I get the visa? How much will I pay? How much is agent fee? How much will I spend from beginning to the end?

@Gigdraft
@Justmellow
@frankrobbn1
@ketima
@lekiboboe
@Anon123 etc
Hi PutinDBomb,

Visit the link below to track the official IRCC processing time. Regarding your first question, please note that TOEFL is not required for a Canadian study permit application.

Processing Time: https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html

I would suggest you read previous pages of the thread. The answer to your other questions are already there.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:45am On Mar 18, 2023
Republic001:
Pls can a study application be submitted on weekends like dis...am done with my application was looking if I shd wait till Monday or not
Hi Republic001,

Kindly note that the time of the day or day of the week you choose to submit your application is paltry. Please go ahead with your submission.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:40am On Mar 18, 2023
Atigba:

Why do you apply with GCKey account.

What happened to the new online portal
Hi Atigba,

The new portal is an ameliorated study permit application channel. However, the two mediums are equally effective. I will only recommend the latter to applicants with bulky documents.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 9:22am On Mar 18, 2023
HopefulSuccess:
PPR Timeline and Documents

First Time Applicant
I give God the Glory for making this a reality. Truely, what God cannot do does not exist!

I would like to thank @Teeebabyyy, @Johnstan, @Thomysne @Jaykeh @Trailblazer21 @bullstriker @Joedave25 @lolathegenie and @Gigdraft @Yemilizzy for giving prompt response to my questions.

I submitted my application in July. I started visiting this platform after and I gained some wealth of knowledge.
My SOP was simple and straight to the point (2 pages with one extra page listing the documents I submitted).
I also had lump sum of 2M from my sponsor in my personal statement of account and also salary account which was a bonus from work. I did not explain the lump sums and when ever I see peoples' PPR story, I get anxious and the thought of explaining the lump sum and sending an updated SOP via webform always came to mind but I never did. To be sincere, after seeing some PPRs and documents submitted on this platform, I get worried about my application. I decided to relax and trust God to perfect it.
In August, I got a scholarship, sent it via webform but never got a response (aside generic response) until October. I also sent an email to the MP but they replied that the agents were busy with Russia applicants so they couldn't help.
2nd week in November, I sent a webform to ask for update on my application.
The following week, I forwarded email to Nairobi office.
The 4th week, I emailed Accra, Nairobi and London asking for update and also requesting them to expedite my application. That same week, I ordered my CBSA note. Lo and behold, I checked my portal a week after and saw that my eligibility had started. The following day, I received a medical request.

Timeline
GCKey Account
Application Submitted: July 16th, 2022
Biometrics: July 20, 2022
Biometrics updated: July 20, 2022
CBSA notes ordered: November 24, 2022
Eligibility review: November 30, 2022 (That was the date I saw it. Started between 28th and 30th November)
Medical Request: December 1, 2022
CBSA Notes Received: December 15, 2922
Medical Done: December 21, 2022
Medical Passed: December 27, 2022
PPR: December 30, 2022

No of Webforms Sent: 4
Total No. of Emails Sent: 12

Webform Sent:
Scholarship Letter - Aug
IMM 5257 S1 Form - Sept
Updated LOA - Sept
Requested Application Status - Nov

Documents Submitted
Letter of Acceptance (Master's Degree - 1 Year)
First Degree Certificate
NYSC Certificate
WAEC Certificate
Affidavit for Correction of DOB (WAEC Cert)
Professional Certifications
Employment Letter
Payslips
Salary SOA/Personal SOA
Affidavit of Sponsorship
Sponsor SOA (Mother)
Receipt of Tuition Fee Paid - Almost 19% deposit
Resume
Academic Transcript
SOP - 3 pages
Passport Data Page
Birth Certificate
Police Character Certificate
Pages with Stamped Visa- 2 Countries (Africa and Asia)
Landed Property/Land Survey Document owned by Sponsor(No gift deed - I used it as my home tie and told them that my sponsor will gift it to me when I return to my home country following the completion of my degree. I also explained what I would use it for when I return to Nigeria.

At a point, I sent myself my medical request, PPR and timeline. I saw someone here who did it and got encouraged to do it. The following day, I got my medical request.
Just to encourage those waiting and expecting. Please keep hope alive. It looked like a long wait and had no idea of when it will end but it finally ended in praise. So will it for the hopeful(s)
Hi HopefulSuccess,

I'm elated to be a part of your testimony. Congratulations, and thanks for making me proud.

Now, who's next to make me happy?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 4:38pm On Mar 17, 2023
harkintem:
Good day,

Pls i really need help with this. I deferred my admission from January 2023 to September 2023 cos my visa got delayed.I have my visa and I wish to travel just to settle down and arrange myself before resumption. Hope I won’t have problem at the point of Entry as I wish to travel by April , new resumption date is September
Hi Harkintem,

I addressed your question in one of my numerous posts.

Please see below:
https://www.nairaland.com/7255452/canadian-student-visa-thread-part/126#116011391

Congratulations on your approval. I celebrate with you and your loved ones as well.

Have a good one!

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 4:31pm On Mar 17, 2023
Barahskali:
Guys it's PPR

No personal bank statement on my application

Timeline
Jan 18th submitted application
Jan 25th biometrics
Feb 17th medical request
March 1st went for medical
March 5th medical passed

March17th PPR

Ask Jesus and He will answer
Congratulations! I celebrate with you and your loved ones!

Now, who's next?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:22am On Mar 17, 2023
McChizzy:
Hello house.

How important is ielts for student visa? I already have my unconditional offer from my university and I'm about starting my visa application but I need clarification because I don't have ielts result.
Hi McChizzy,

Be at peace. If you're not opting for the SDS route, then IELTS isn't mandatory.

Please proceed with your application.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:18am On Mar 17, 2023
Theojamal77:
Goodday Gurus In the house. I have an important question.

Can I receive a gift deed of 10million naira from a person who isn’t stated as my sponsor, if so, how do I go about it and what documents do I need to submit in regards to show the legitimacy of the gift.

Hi Theojamal77,

Maybe we should revisit the definition of "sponsor".

What relationship do you share with your benefactor and why is he gifting you?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 10:12am On Mar 17, 2023
Wizardbee:
How long does it take to get a feedback from IRCC after submitting medical reports? IOM summited my medical report since on the 6th March and I’ve not gotten an update from them since
Hi Wizardbee,

The lengthiest I've experienced was three weeks. However, individual cases may differ.

Crime / Re: 12-Year-Old Boy Kidnaps 3-Year-Old Girl In Bauchi, Demands ₦‎150,000 As Ransom by Gigdraft: 8:51am On Nov 27, 2022
LordIsaac:

Oh, ok. I thought it extends to 12 years.
In contrast to @Righteousdemon's claim, which in my opinion, paints him as a nescient, a 12-year-old is doli incapax. Hence, you're right. He might not be held liable due to age.

Modified:

I just discovered Nigeria upholds a peculiar doctrine of Doli Incapax in its Section 30 of the Criminal Code. Therefore, in Nigeria, the doctrine is only applicable to kids within 7 years.

Happy Sunday!

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 11:46am On Oct 13, 2022
SoftdudeKay:
Please, how do I know when my eligibility starts? I submitted online on July 13th.

Kindly help.
Thanks.
Hi SoftdudeKay,

The overall progress of your application can be tracked via your portal. Visit your dashboard to keep up to the status of your eligibility.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 11:40am On Oct 13, 2022
SoftdudeKay:

Please, I was single as at when I submitted my application in July, but I got married last month. I am yet to get a response from IRCC. Do I need to inform them about my new marital status while sending my web form to them?

Kindly advise accordingly.
Thanks.
Hi SoftdudeKay,

Your new marital status won't hurt your application. Please inform IRCC via webform, as that would even favour your family tie.

Wishing you a Happy Married Life!
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 4:16pm On Oct 12, 2022
paschal47:

Thank you, let me start right away.
You're welcome, Paschal47.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 2:19pm On Oct 12, 2022
msbaileyz:
Hello

please advise;
i have an undergraduate admission from manitoba for january 23, can i still apply via the new portal?
i concern about the time of resumption?
Hi Msbaileyz,

Either of the portals can be employed for the submission of your application. Regarding the timeframe, no one can assuredly tell which is faster at this time.

Please use the link below to determine your final conclusion:

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html

I can't wait to celebrate with you!
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 2:10pm On Oct 12, 2022
Queencyco:
1st breakfast served.
Applied - June 22
Biometrics - June 28
No eligibility started
Decision - Oct 12

I applied for a relative.
Hi Queencyco,

I sympathize with you over your refusal. Please share your full profile for an adequate guidance.

Can't wait to eventually celebrate with you!

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 2:08pm On Oct 12, 2022
paschal47:
Hello, I'm new on this thread, I want to know how to start my application for Canadian immigration. Thank you...

Hi pPaschal47,

You're welcome! Please start by reading through the thread and subsequently, ask specific questions at any point of confusion.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 8:56am On Oct 12, 2022
oscalowi:

I meant NSE. any insights?
Hi Oscalowi,

Very good then. Please note a disparity exist between SDS and NSE. You shouldn't use them interchangeably to avoid confusion, okay?

Back to your question, the NSE doesn't always work as initially projected. It appears IRCC's backlog is practically unmanageable, even with the NSE program. You might need to have your mind fixed at the Standard Processing Time.

Please visit the link below to update yourself with the current SPT:

https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/application/check-processing-times.html

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 8:08am On Oct 12, 2022
Canadaornothing:
What is the new processing timeline?

@Gigdraft
@frankrobbn1
@ketima
@lekiboboe
@Anon123
Hi Canadaornothing,

The current processing time is 13 weeks.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 8:04am On Oct 12, 2022
oscalowi:
Please my application is over 20days... how does the student direct stream work again? I thought I was supposed to get an email by now.
Hi oscalowi,

Do you mean NSE or you're applying from one of the seven countries where SDS is functional?
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 7:40am On Oct 12, 2022
eddykelechianya:
Good evening. Please i just got admitted to Conestoga college but I want to change my program to another. can it be possible?
Hi Eddykelechianya,

Yes, it is. I have done that on multiple occasions.

Please contact International Admissions for available options.

Email: internationaladmissions@conestogac.on.ca

Note: your request might not be honoured if your preferred program is full.

Can't wait to eventually celebrate with you!
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 7:22am On Oct 12, 2022
Anu2002:
With the new portal, will someone apply for ones children open study permit separately or together in the same Application for a parent already in Canada? Thank you.
Hi Anu2002,

When you start a new application, you will be asked, at the initial stage, if you wish to submit multiple applications concurrently. Kindly select Yes. The whole process will be illustrative from there.

Please note: you will not need to create a new account for your dependents.

I hope I'm clear enough?

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 22 by Gigdraft: 8:42pm On Sep 15, 2022
BeejayB:
Hello everyone…
It’s been a while. I’ve been absent for some time.

School and having to work has been a roller coaster but I wouldn’t have it any other way..

Recently changed schools and program this fall from the school I came in with from Nigeria in March.

I’ll try as much as possible to be present here and share my little knowledge with anyone available..

Wishing everyone else that have applied and planned to apply a successful application.
Hi BeejayB,

Thanks for your interest in giving back to the thread. We will keep watching for an update from you.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 60