Stats: 3,330,930 members, 8,447,796 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 02:00 AM

IanSweet's Posts

Nairaland ForumIanSweet's ProfileIanSweet's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 22 pages)

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 11:06pm On Jan 01, 2017
Muafrika2:
Many of them have lived in Kenya and Tanzania as refugees so they know the language. They are trying.

You know the history of the East African Coast. Some Arabs may have been assimilated.

That's a very accurate observation.

The secret is communism. Called Ujamaa in swahili, Tanzania opted for communism and as government policy, citizens from different tribes were set up in new communities and had to work together on farms, etc. They grew to have an acceptance and understanding of each other. Perhaps that's the way to go for Africa.

Luhya. It's the Second largest Kenyan tribe.
Wow, i mean i have never heard of communism in Africa. U mean like real communism (the soviet union kind) or what? Pls i'd like u to shed more light in that aspect.

I heard of Kikuyu domination in Kenya. What can u say abt that? Personally i think am surprise how come Kikuyus dominate Kenya when they are just about one quarter of the country's population.
Is luhya a bantu language? What is your (luhya's) largest city?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 8:54pm On Jan 01, 2017
Muafrika2:
Even I would not support a political Union. It's hard enough trying to compete with the major tribes within our individual countries for simple government services. Bringing in other whole countries would only work to disadvantage previously disadvantaged communities.

I must say we are making headway on the economic front, which is okay. Trade for example. Movement within EAC has been eazed with scrapping of passport, uniform custom policies and even shared tourist visas for visitors. Tanzanians are hesitant with some of the measures though.

Then there is major infrastructure coming up like the RVR to make travel faster, cheaper, easier.

That's true for most Muslim nations. They prefer and seek alliances with Muslim nations.

Somalis are good in business and travel wide. May be a stable country would give them such an opportunity, but am sure they would love the idea of free movement for business.

Let's see if a stable Somalia will do magic.
Hmmm, do u kenyans answer your tribal names so much? Or swahili /names?
Cos am wondering since u guys all speak swahili, how do u differentiate yourselves ethnically especially in the urban areas?

For instance in hausa speaking northern Nigeria, all the tribes there are so united especially the muslim ones, there is no room for differentiation amongst them as such because they all speak hausa and answer only islamic names, most southern Nigerians cannot even differentiate northern Nigerians based on tribe because almost all of us speak hausa.

So am kinda surprised by the fact that tribalism thrives in Kenya. Anyone would think u guys are becoming increasingly homogenous due to a unifying language. So pls what am i missing out? (pls dont mind my curiousity and my over inquisitiveness)
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 8:40pm On Jan 01, 2017
@Muafrika2

You said Swahili is spoken by everyone in Kenya? But most online sources i have come across claims that only about 2/3 of Kenya speaks swahili, i guess i was misinformed.
So do u mean even down to the most interior villages people there speak swahili fluently? Then i guess most native languages would be dying slowly, what about the masais? Do they speak it too?

Pls can u translate the foll swahili words 4me, KITOGO, KIDOGO, WEWE, MTOTO, MDOGO (hope i spelt them well). I always hear them in swahili songs
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 8:31pm On Jan 01, 2017
Muafrika2:
There is an indigenous bantu tribe called swahili. It's closely related to Pokomo, Taita and Mijikenda languages. Some related languages in Tanzania too. You heard them speak you'd think they are speaking a corrupted form of Swahili. Very close.

Just like Kenya Tanzanian coast speaks better and more swahili than the inland. I think Tanzania has more indigenous languages than Kenya. They still use them.

Get deeper into Tanzania to find the indigenous tribes like Maasais who speak their original Language better.

Uganda has been more like Nigeria with native languages. Swahili has been used as an official language for some time but not as well spoken by the wider population.

Swahili is spoken by everybody in Kenya. It's so entrenched that there are tribes which have forgotten their native languages.

Are you listening to Taarab?

Modern Tanzanian music(bongo flavour) borrow alot from Taarab, an old genre that was musical Swahili poetry. Those are the songs sang by mostly older women swaying in long flowy dresses. I love them too. They are always dissing other rival women. You can feel it's poetry, rhyme and flow. very good writers I must say.

Kenyan musicians use alot of slang, so the Swahili can confuse even Tanzanians. What Tanzanians speak is what you'll find at the Kenyan Coast, inward as far as the Taita reach and all the way into Southern Somalia.

The swahili spoken in Nairobi is different, unofficial mixed with alot of slang, at times English, etc.
Ok thanks for the enlightenment.
Now i get the picture better.
What about Rwanda and Burundi? How well have they adopted swahili? Also, since they are french speaking, how well do u guys relate with them.

Yes i have seen a couple of Taraab music and musicians, the Indian influence appears strong in the culture. Even many of them look mixed race.
It seems like many Tanzanians are mixed race? Cos i see many of them who look like they have some Indian or Arab blood even though they are still black.

Also i have observed that tribalism seems to be less of an issue in Tanzania compared to Kenya or Uganda, infact i was so shocked when i knew that Tanzania is religiously half muslims half christians and has many ethnic groups like Nigeria yet hardly any case of religious or tribal conflicts.

I'd also like to know your own Kenyan ethnic group?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 8:19pm On Jan 01, 2017
Muafrika2:
There was a time when EAC was working more closely just after independence. But came some political differences between the leaders - and the community broke down.

The current EAC is a second trial.

The EAC seeks to create an Union similar to the EU, with one currency, uniform economic policies, social integration, and eventually, political unity (I don't see that one happening)

They are all at war. Their histories are not as closely related to the rest of the East Africa. Ethiopia has always been a loner, avoiding alot of international and regional communities as a way of self preservation.

The EAC seeks to create an Union similar to the EU, with one currency, uniform economic policies, social integration, and eventually, political unity (I don't see that one happening)

Swahili was a language of trade way before colonialism came, and people in countries as far as the Congo used it. That's why it was the first option for a national language when the colonialists left and our leaders sought to restore our African culture while uniting us.

Kenya has also house refugees from Congo, Rwanda, Burundi, Uganda, Sudan, Somalia, all who get education during their stay in Kenya and go back home speaking Swahili.
Ok, great reply.
It saddens me that EAC is not working as it should.
I hope it works better in the future, but i must tell u that am puzzled as to why the EAC is not working. Anyone seeing East Africa from afar would feel you guys are so going on well together especially due to the fact that you have a common language.

About the horn africans i think u guys are really so different. I personally, see horn africans different from the rest of we subsharan africans. They seem to have been over influenced by the middle east. See countries like Somalia and Sudan, they value islam more than any thing and just act no different from the Arabs. It's good the rest of you keep them away. But i think Ethiopia seems a little bit different from the others or don't you think? Ethios seem to be prouder black africans and try to associate culturally with other subsharan africans better, or am i just mistaking?

Also i'd like to know yout reasons why you feel the EAC political unity cannot work.
We west Africans (ECOWAS) have more differences than you East africans yet it seems like Ecowas is faring better.
Anglophone and francophone west africans have no common uniting language, we are miles from each other and never do anything together. Ghanians are like the only brothers we Nigerians have in West africa.
TravelRe: International Borders Around The World (pictures) by ianSweet(f): 7:50pm On Jan 01, 2017
wintersnow:
WHERE IS NIGERIA AND HELL FIRE
LoL grin
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 7:33pm On Jan 01, 2017
Pls, all Kenyans here are free to ask me (i don't know about other Nigerians here) absolutely any questions, i promise to answer to my best knowledge.

My second question to Kenyans here

I believed that Tanzanians were the first or original owners of the swahili language which later spread to Kenya and other areas but you guys corrected me that Swahili evolved simultaneously along all east African countries at the same time.
So i would sincerely like to know pls, how come almost all Tanzanians are very fluent in swahili and majority have adopted it as their first language? compared to Kenya and Uganda where only about 2/3 and 1/2 speak swahili?

Lately, i have been watching a lot of East African music and i must admit that i have come to start falling in love with East African music, just that i think my love is one-sided and it is mostly towards Tanzania (Bongo) music.

(No offence pls) I have discovered that Tanzanians speak and sing in swahili in a lovelier, sweeter and more attractive tone than other east Africans. Pls why is this? Their swahili sometimes have this Indian and middle eastern flavour the way they sing it at times. There are about 10 Tanzanian musicians am a big fan of, Uganda about 5 of them while in Kenya i think i love Sauti sol and a duo group (i think Gabu & Frasha).

KenyanStar, MtuSuper, Muafrika2, kikuyu1, PissedYagami, gallivant, NairobiWalker.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 7:11pm On Jan 01, 2017
I wish to learn more about east Africa and i have some sincere questions for Kenyans here (from an open heart)

My first question
Pls, I want to know how functional the east African community of states is.
We in west Africa have ECOWAS, although ecowas is very functional and they have really been trying to make west africa united but sincerely i really do not like the way ecowas is working.
Still on EAC, i'd like to know why Horn African countries (Ethiopia, Somalia, Eritrea, Djibouti) are not part of EAC.

Also, i once read somewhere that there are plans by the EAC to form a united single country. How true is this please? I really love the idea. I have always admired the way majority of east africans (excluding horners) have been united by the swahili language.

KenyanStar, MtuSuper, Muafrika2, kikuyu1, PissedYagami, gallivant, NairobiWalker
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:57pm On Jan 01, 2017
Happy new year peeps.

I really think it's time we change the direction of this thread.
The thread is over 270 pages now and it has been the same thing all over from the beginning.
It's a new year and i think i have decided to let all the negativities go away with the previous year.
I am a person who loves to learn so i think this thread should be channeled positively for us to learn and interract better with each other and complement our progresses and inadequacies.
Let every form of hatred, envy, resentment and antagonism die with last year please.

One love to my fellow Africans. Together we can make Africa a better continent and the envy of the world.

KenyanStar, MtuSuper, Muafrika2, kikuyu1, PissedYagami, gallivant, NairobiWalker, Iblawi, Arizeejikonye et al
CultureRe: List Of 371 Ethnic Groups In Nigeria by ianSweet(f): 7:48pm On Dec 28, 2016
SUREPA:
Nice one guy!

Cross River state have the highest ethnic groups in Nigeria.
''Quote me any day''.
Taraba is officially the highest with about 70 ethnic groups.
Cross River has just about 50 ethnic groups. Plateau, Kaduna, Bauchi and Adamawa each have over 50 ethnic groups too.
CelebritiesRe: Rahama Sadau Denies Offer Of Millions Of Dollars To Dump Islam & Join Hollywood by ianSweet(f): 7:24pm On Dec 28, 2016
I can see many silly yoruba muslims here claiming what they do not know.
Islam in yoruba land and in the core north are very different. The core north practice the kind of islam in Afghanistan and Iraq.
RomanceRe: Even Marriage To A Religious Leader Does Not Guarantee Perfection by ianSweet(f): 3:09pm On Dec 24, 2016
Agimor:
Something happened yesterday in Shoprite in Warri . A guy approached a girl and demanded for her number,the girl gave out the number without hesitation. The young man promised he will call. In her presence, the guy entered his Range Rover 2016 model and drove off. The girl started running after the car & shouting "WRONG NUMBER!!!" Pls wait wait wait, I gave you a wrong number... Oh my God what have I done....Wait! HahahahahahahaHappy Christmas Watching Night.
LoL. Am feeling for the girl
RomanceRe: Ladies Who Had Sex On First Date With Men They Met Share Their Success Stories by ianSweet(f): 2:53pm On Dec 24, 2016
Wiseman5:
DON'T BREAK THE GATE

Have u ever wondered why God carefully positioned membrane of blood in a lady's sexual opening? It is a tin mucous membrane that partially or completely cover the hymen. Science tells us that it has no particular function in the feminine body.
But why would the Maker put a breakable tissue full of blood (that contributes nothing to the body) at the very door of sexual opening of d female? Why is it so carefully placed at the entrance like a ribbon tied at the entrance of a new house about to be launched? Why is it filled with blood that spills away when it is broken?
Without doubt, the hymen is a gate. It is there as a covenant between the bearer and whoever plunges into that opening. Purse & meditate for a while my dear.
Before God, the dis-virginity of a girl is not a casual act of fun. It is a serious covenant confirmed by the blood shed on that day. This is God's way of saying whoever plunges into this woman shall do so by making blood covenant to join her for the rest of his life from that point onward.
Little wonder why sexual intercourse was designed by God to take place only after the marriage contract is sealed. 1Cor.6:15-20 has lesson for all ages. Kindly read it now.
Anyone who chooses to use his/her body for fornication must know that he/she is working directly against God's plan. Such act of disobedience will be punished now, at old age or after death(Heb. 9:27).
Don't break the gate, it is your pride. It is the best thing you can present to the man of your dream on the bed undefiled after your wedding. If you had broken the gate before coming to the Lord Jesus, trust Him for He makes all things NEW(2Cor 5v17).SO DON'T BREAK THE GATE!
Great sermon.
Bt i have a question.
My mother married my father as a virgin, but my mother endured the marriage for so many years even with all the terrible attitudes and maltreatment from my father.
I have also seen women who did not marry as virgins but are enjoying a heaven-on-earth marriage with their spouses.
So, do u expect a person like me to believe that keeping one's virginity is the key to a succesful marriage or right husband?

Do u know how much it hurts a lady to keep her virginity till marriage only for her future husband to not value her?
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 10:29am On Dec 23, 2016
LeSudAfricaine:
Just a quick question, if you post pictures and keep saying stuff like" the best in Africa" or " the most blah blah"in Africa" etc. Are you aware of what's happening in the rest of the continent?
I am not as dumb as people like you ok? I just don't come out here to say things am not sure of.
For instance if i say Nigeria has the biggest entertainment industry in Africa, am i wrong? Hell no. Cos i know almost all that i need to know about entertainment in other African countries.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 10:24am On Dec 23, 2016
shizzy7:
obaaderemi, iblawi and iansweet, what's your general perception on racism?

This is beyond Kenya, Africa e.t.c, just your own view of what it means.
The view of another race as inferior or unequal to yours i think.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:52pm On Dec 22, 2016
NIGERIA REPRESENTS THE PRIDE AND BEAUTY OF BLACK AFRICANS.
What does Kenya (the land of the greatest slums) represent?

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:46pm On Dec 22, 2016
When you see the average Kenyan most times you see ugliness and poverty all over but for Nigerians, glowing and radiant all the time, lovely, classy and stylish all the time.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:41pm On Dec 22, 2016
Kenyans claim that they enjoy more of modern life, infrastructure and amenities than Nigerians, but the question here is
''why does the average Nigerian look more beautiful, lovely, stylish, healthy, radiant, lavished and sophisticated than the average Kenyan''? WHY?

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:38pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
Race obssesed imbercile. Race is not an issue, we are an advanced society. I thought I cleared that up?
Advanced society where two-thirds of the people in the capital city live in the world's largest slums, many others live in forests and safaris drinking animal blood and completely cut out of modern life and only a few people of a particular race live in the few modern areas in wealth.
What an irony.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:29pm On Dec 22, 2016
Black Kenyans in their majority will continue to languish in Africa's biggest and most terrible slums until they can challenge these masquerading Indian imperialists and colonialists in their midst who control majority of the country's wealth and ship to India.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:24pm On Dec 22, 2016
iblawi:
Is that why you are crying?

This is not about hate but how many Indians have married a black Kenyan? You guys claim the Indians are Kenyans too.

Now you see you guys are the idiots with race and skin tones problem. Atleast we've shown pictures of Nigerians marrying whites and even wearing our traditional wears.
Black Kenyans are a disgrace to the Black African race.

Black south Africans are better because they themselves acknowledge the unbridgable gap between they, the whites and the Asians and strive on their own, promote their own cultures to make their own marks in the country, but Black Kenyans keep on living in fool's paradise languishing in the worst and largest slums in the world while the Indians enjoy the wealth of the nation and never marry outside their race and socio-economic class.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 6:19pm On Dec 22, 2016
iblawi:
BECAUSE you can't prove that Indians marry Kenya. They see you as rags and they have come to make you slaves. Normally fear Indians don't even marry black Indians not to talk of marrying a Kenyan that looks like black KIWI polish.
Exactly bro. Light skinned Indians do not even marry the darker skinned ones, let alone those animal blood drinkers..
They just keep on deluding their black selves that they and the Indians are one or they are just excusing their lack of capacity to challenge the Indians who control their country's wealth.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 5:12pm On Dec 22, 2016
Muafrika2:
How do they make the henna white? Is it paint? undecided

Beautiful Nigerians cheesy
We are not Indians, we Nigerians call the local hand tattoo LALLE. Indians are the ones who call it henna or whatever.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 5:08pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
We are an advanced society. Liberal, Democratic, multicultural, more equal than Naija, less polluted, less superstitious,less corrupted and no boko haram etc. Dresses alone can never define the true essence of a Kenyan. Get with the times. cool
Before i will believe that Kenya is a more equal multicultural society than Nigeria, i would like you to show me at least 10 pictures of the wealthy Indians in Kenya intermarrying the majority black people from places like Mathare, Kibera, Muturu e.t.c grin grin
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:57pm On Dec 22, 2016
Muafrika2:
How do they make the henna white? Is it paint? undecided

Beautiful Nigerians cheesy
Our little secret wink kiss

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:47pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
Who is not making sense? You have low intelligence my dear. Go and read a book and put down the dresses.
Well am sorry, i cannot put down my culture because it is my identity. I do not want to end up like Kenyans who live in Identity crisis because of what their Indian, white and Arab superiors have done to them.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:42pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
This is too comical. Giants of Africa ladies and gentlemen. Represent. grin
Yes, the African identity is for real Africans who have an exotic culture to display to the outside world.

I think you Kenyans should just renounce Africa and claim some other thing already. You are too cultureless to be called Africans.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:37pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
What else? I hope now you understand why you are hated all over Africa. You claim to represent the black race but all you have is disdain for your race. Self hate much.
You are making no sense.
I love black so much cos i am proud black African and proud of everything African unlike u Kenyans who prefer Indians and the Indian race to Black.
I am proud to call Ghanaians my brothers cos they represent Africa well.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:30pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
Did you watch the video about self hate? Don't you see this in Nigeria with the condescending attitude coupled with a bleaching epidemic? Nigerians get your brains out of the gutter.
Nigerians rock Africa in almost every aspect.
Kenyans keep on hating and getting uglier.
#WhyAreKenyansSoUgly?

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 4:26pm On Dec 22, 2016
gallivant:
Yeah, biggest aid recipients in Africa. Represent!
Hating, Hatred and Jealousy is the reason for ugliness and a protruted forehead among Kenyans.
U guys should learn to be more warm, friendly and appreciative like Nigerians and perhaps you guys will become as beautiful and cute as us.

Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 3:42pm On Dec 22, 2016
Muafrika2:
Kenya should consider donating too.

The problem with African petroeconomies is that while profits from oil, which are counted as part of GDP, are huge create "big" economies, the miners are foreigners and their profits are usually made by their sister companies. let me explain this for the benefit of girls like IanSweet here...

Shell, the mother company with headquarters in tax free places like Switzerland will do the prospecting for Nigerian oil. Shell will then sell the petroleum to its subsidiary, company X. But insignificant profits will be made by Shell company in order to avoid high taxes. company Company X (( these are the companies with stupid local names wink ), Registered in Switzerland, with an office in Nigeria, will sell the oil at the Swiss COMMODITY MARKET, where all countries buying minerals go for the same.

That's why Switzerland is so rich. ALL mineral companies are registered and have headquarters there.

So, is Nigeria worth more, theoretically, yes. Is Nigeria getting any of its worth? No. Reason, they do not profit from their resources. Because their minerals are mined by (and for) foreigners.
A good percentage of SPDC Nigeria is owned by Nigeria.
Foreign AffairsRe: Kenya Is Ahead of Nigeria In All Aspect (Facts Don't Lie) by ianSweet(f): 2:17pm On Dec 22, 2016
Muafrika2, Kikuyu2, KenyanStar, NairobiWalker, PissedYagami et al

More of my Proud-african West African brothers (Ghanaians).

I must confess my crush on these Ghanaian men in these attires. I think this Ghanaian kente attire for men is the sexiest in Africa.

This was what i expected from Kenya in the first place when they claim everything, but i was just so dissapointed.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 22 pages)