Stats: 3,331,005 members, 8,448,202 topics. Date: Sunday, 19 July 2026 at 11:59 PM

Infiosa's Posts

Nairaland ForumInfiosa's ProfileInfiosa's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 (of 6 pages)

TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 9:37pm On Feb 13, 2021
Nancyamah:
Mind your business,if you are not going allow others to go
Does he/she have what it takes to go ? We know their type now.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa:
overlord77:
You took my comment very personal, do you feel attacked? if you want to japa, just say so Don't come here pretending to be vacationing. mschewwww. Oversabi, right back at you
Ode... check me out on Instagram @ and see the countries I have been to on both leisure and business. You can also check me out on LinkedIn and see how much of professional profile I have built for myself. If I have to relocate, it will then be on professional grounds. There are so many genuine grounds for migration - UK point based is now one of them. So keep quiet if you don't know how jump into a conversation and it is obvious u got nothing to offer here intellectually. For your information, this platform is designed for individuals with intellectual capacities to walk people through genuine steps to acquiring visas as well as guides on successful travel experience not japa as you have described it in your own myopic terms. Ode jatijati.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 7:20pm On Feb 13, 2021
overlord77:
Appointment for what please, where are you guys going or what are you all saying is your reason for travelling to a country battling COVID?
Nigerians sha
Where people are going shouldn't be any of your concern and why they are travelling should be least of your problem! What Nigeria is battling with is worst of Covid-19. How would your describe the rate of kidnapping in various part of the country? For your information, people can travel for any genuine reasons - vacation or business. Oversabi!
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 4:08pm On Feb 07, 2021
fetomowo:
Please, does anyone know if transiting through Europe ( CDG, AMS, LHR) will constitute a violation of the US covid 19 protocols?

If yes what is the advisable thing to do, travel through Qatar or UAE, or even North Africa to JFK?

Please kindly advise. Thanks
Yes, the restrictions placed on Europe and the UK is yet to be lifted, most especially when transiting with B1/B2 visiting visa. Qatar is the best option for now as Emirates has added additional requirement on top of the normal PCR negative test which is the Covid 19 Rapid test. I would have suggested Air Morroc or Egyptair but overall feedbacks received are not really encouraging.
Taal17:
You only need a PCR Covid test at a designated testing centre and there are many to choose from( there is NO testing place at the airport and rapid tests are not valid for travel). Get your sample taken and get the PCR Covid test done either at LAGOS state facilities or the official ones on ncdc list e.g afriglobal, synlab, clinic, veracare, 54gene .

Anyone telling you about some test at the airport is scamming you by selling fake results. Actual COVID tests done are easily verifiable and plenty fake results have been traced to nigeria.
It is not totally true or untrue but a function or discretion of the airline. I think it's better to start learning how Rapid test is being carried out. I plan to visit US in April via Emirates and I have been reading about their requirements to travel to, from or through Dubai. See the attached

TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 6:52pm On Feb 04, 2021
Damian457:
Guys...I’m traveling to USA in 2 week time. I learnt from my Travel agent that all travelers are required to do a Rapid covid 19 test which will cost another 37k at the airport. Regardless the airline
How true is this?
Not necessarily true because requirement for Rapid test is at discretion of the airline. However the mandated test to travel to the US is either PCR covid-19 negative test or an antigen test. Please engage your airline for further clarifications. I know Emirates has mandated Rapid test if you are transiting through Dubai effective since February 2nd.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 5:17pm On Jan 30, 2021
Kettlecorn:
As mandatory as quarantine plans sound but it's a function of the state you are visiting in the US.
No sir, effective Jan 26, it is now a federal manadate signed into law by executive action by Biden, that can and most likely will be regulated at POE. Things are moving very quickly as new variants of the virus are popping up. The burden of enforcing pre testing is on the airlines. You will not be allowed to board without a negative covid test. Quarantine plans however are expected to be validated at POE. These are all still very new as plans are still being tweaked by the CDC. I will not be surprised if the US eventually comes up with stricter enforcement of quanrantine. Canada just announced theirs today. "Trudeau said in addition to the pre-boarding test Canada already requires, the government will be introducing mandatory PCR testing at the airport for people returning to Canada. Travelers will then have to wait for up to three days at an approved hotel for their test results, at their own expense, which is expected to be more than $2,000,” Trudeau said." Those with negative test results will then be able to quarantine at home under significantly increased surveillance and enforcement.
Very draconian in my opinion. My interpretation of this is that they are trying to discourage international travel.
Canada's approach since the beginning of covid-19 pandemic has been stricter and tighter than most countries. We are very much aware they have stricter travel requirements and exemptions for non Canadian citizens/PR holders. Each country treats their travel restrictions differently. So the information communicated so far on travel requirements for visitors to enter US is just as basic as if you want to visit Dubai. For now, let's drop overflogging this issue. Thanks for sharing thoughts and opinions. Well communicated.� �
Kettlecorn:
The underlying principle here is "flee from all appearances of evil that can possibly lead to negative connotations". Carrying a resume or business cards or even attending an interview in the US are not explicitly restricted, but the immigration officers at POE can infer negative things just by seeing stuff like this. It has happened many times before and people should be careful and just avoid it. There was the case of a lady that was denied entry when they found her hair extensions hustle business cards along with a few packets of extensions in her luggage. They said she was going to market and sell her products, which she denied, but then, guess what the result was? The only and most updated requirement for non US citizens is Convid 19 negative test. Not 100% true. There is also the requirement that you quarantine for 10 days. Do you envision that they may ask you your quarantine plans at POE? Again, not explicitly stated but likely a stumbling block if you don't prepare well and think its a triviality. Y'all keep stating the officially published restrictions when we all know that the POE officer has wide discretion to allow or deny entry and can infer almost anything from anything, which they often do. My simple message is plan and prepare well.
Your opinion is undoubtedly well stated and communicated. As mandatory as quarantine plans sound but it's a function of the state you are visiting in the US. However covid-19 negative test result is inevitably mandatory at every POE in the States. I will definitely agree with u on plans and preparation. As long as your intentions are genuine, no stone should be left unturned. In conclusion, a colleague of mine visited New York this January on 2 weeks vacation and he was not asked so much difficult questions on his quarantine plans despite it was stated that he would be staying in the hotel for the period.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 10:10pm On Jan 29, 2021
Kettlecorn:
I said the only people guaranteed entry are citizens and permanent residents, but they also need to have a negative covid test. A non citizen with a visa and negative covid test is not guaranteed entry at POE. It is and has always been at the discretion of the USCIS officer, and during a pandemic, non essential travel is discourged. As you well know, not every requirement/restriction is published or communicated. For example, People have been denied entry because they found resumes or even business cards on their person. Not a published requirement, but an indication of an inference.
Finding resume on a travellers may be flagged as a red flag but business cards should not attract any form of suspicion. From my personal experience, I have shown my business card to the immigration officers at the POEs on different occasions. In fact, it was indeed a convincing proof that I have strong tie to return to the home country. The mentioned excuses for denial of entry at the POE are circumstantial not travel restrictions on non-citizens. The only and most updated requirement for non US citizens is Convid 19 negative test. I will appreciate if you can make a reference, at least we are all because of necessary information.
Kettlecorn:
Getting a student visa has always been relatively more difficult from Nigeria because of the high level of japa tendencies of our citizens. Adding a pandemic to the mix has only compounded issues. You cannot deny the fact that it is even more difficult with the pandemic. My point is that even when it is clear that conditions are not ideal and the likelihood of being denied is even higher, people are still trying their luck. You have to be smart to succeed. The people that I know that started the online option have the backing of their schools which have already made representation to the State department so that after their first year, they will easily be granted a visa. There are options out there. You will only look desperate if you try to push through now. Level of denial is currently high. Most schools are operating remotely even when on campus so what is the benefit of going there in person?
Even visiting friends and family is a long shot and trying your luck. How can you justify a vacation when you need to quarantine for 10 days upon entry? The official policy is that only essential travel is encouraged. The only people guaranteed entry are citizens and permanent residents and they are subject to testing and quarantine.
How do you mean restrictions? The only restrictions that have been communicated is having a covid-19 test 72 hour before boarding a plane to the US. I will appreciate references to other restrictions for vacations and visiting families and friends. See below.
http://ng.usembassy.gov/u-s-citizen-services/covid-19-information/
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 1:57pm On Jan 24, 2021
bunu234:
I have been trying to book an appointment in Abuja but its saying "there are currently no appointments available". what do you think is happeninghuh? pls help
Relax for few days, they will definitely open up the appointment dates. This is their usual practice when the available dates for a given month have been fully booked.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 1:52pm On Jan 24, 2021
Viking007:
And their federal government just extended the travel restrictions till February. sad
Hope the restrictions end in February.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 3:33am On Jan 24, 2021
Dammyllionaire:
Okay... Thanks

Finally, Can the DS 160 form be filled before the payment of visa fee or the Visa fee must be paid before proceeding to fill the DS 160 form?
Either way is perfect, the most important thing is to correctly map the passport numbers with DS 160 confirmation number during visa appointment scheduling. What is required while making visa payment is your passport numbers and also ensure names are inserted as indicated on the passport data pages.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 9:57pm On Jan 23, 2021
Dammyllionaire:
Okay bro. Thank so much.... So if I add another applicant under my application, a new DS 160 form will come up to be fill for them under my application?
Exactly �
Bossman:
You can do the covid test at one of those Rapid testing clinics/labs that provide the results in 15 minutes. That's the one I used when I traveled to Naija last November.
Very true, Covid-19 test's results aren't as difficult as presented. Few of my colleagues had had the tests and their results were all out in less than 24 hours. I don't know how it works anywhere else but the results will be out in less than 72 hours in Nigeria ��
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 3:01pm On Jan 23, 2021
Dammyllionaire:
Okay, Thank you.

But if we fill different DS160, will we still be able to attend the visa interview together as a family?
Once your application is submitted, then a question pops up if you want to add another applicant to your application or start a new application. So you can add those that are traveling with. Also note that u have to add everyone when scheduling your appointment and ensure that passport numbers and DS 160 confirmation numbers are mapped correctly.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 8:39pm On Jan 22, 2021
Viking007:
You applied since February?
August 2020
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 8:21pm On Jan 22, 2021
Teau:
Hello,

Applied - Dec 2019- 1st refusal came in Jan 2020, then reapplied Jan 2020 30th 2nd refusal came in Feb 2020.
No.
Feb 2020.
Thanks for the feedback, I wanted to know if anyone who applied between February 2020 till date has gotten a visa decision from IRCC on visitor visa. Normal TRV without any form exemptions.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 6:38am On Jan 22, 2021
Teau:
Hello,

Please has anyone asked for GCMS note for refused TRV applicant from outside Canada before.

If you have please can you share how you did it.
When did you apply? Are you a family member of a Canadian citizen or PR holder? Was the refusal recent ?
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 7:01pm On Jan 15, 2021
OyiBeeBee:
Hello house.
I applied for a TRV in November and my eligibility review and BGC has started.
Pls how do I know which visa office my file has been transferred to?
Are u a family member of a Canadian citizens or PR holders?
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 8:52pm On Jan 04, 2021
pointednose:
Appointments are opened for B1/B2 visas. Appointments are filling up for September as at when I checked this morning, and its also filling fast like someone said.

And B1/B2 interviews have surely started cos I know someone who has upcoming interview on Wednesday, January 6 and dates have been filled in times past for earlier months of the year.

So I will say pay your visa fee and apply.
Check out this information on Lagos
https://ng.usembassy.gov/category/consular-affairs/#:~:text=Message%20for%20U.S.,American%20Citizen%20Services%20(ACS).

slumbee:
I checked just last night and early this morning.
What is the best time to check for available dates. Is it possible to still get for March/April?
I can't really advise on available dates for March/April, at least first thing first is to see available dates. Then it can be rescheduled if your desired date is available. That's my suggestion.
TravelRe: USA Visit Visa Part 4 by Infiosa: 8:23pm On Dec 16, 2020
slumbee:
Hello,
This is the error message I get when trying to book a date even when I try at midnight.
Any suggestions
Thank you
It appears like a technical issue on their website. This message should appear when u almost exceeded the number appointment rescheduling.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa:
FYsol:
Like I stated it was just a suggestion. In Jan. 2019 I applied for vacation and was refused in February. In March I was advised to change the purpose of trip to exploratory visit in Saskatoon where exploratory visit is mandatory for SINP and after 4 Months long wait it was approved.

I was only speaking based personal experience.
Your personal experience is extremely helpful however it isn't applicable in all cases. I believe each application is treated with their specific.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 1:44pm On Oct 26, 2020
Kemo88:
Thank you for your response, the thing is are they accepting visiting visa application for tourism without any family in Canada ?
Just has @uzomacl has rightly advised that a well planned out and genuine tourist/visitor visa application stands a chance of being approved. May next year isn't a bad idea for such a great profile.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 1:33pm On Oct 26, 2020
Kemo88:
Thank you for your response, the thing is are they accepting visiting visa application for tourism without any family in Canada ?
Yes, non - priority applications are also being processed. See below url and snapshot.
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/corporate/publications-manuals/operational-bulletins-manuals/service-delivery/coronavirus/temporary-residence/visa.html

TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 1:24pm On Oct 26, 2020
uzomacl:
Hello FYsol,

I think your number 1 response is quite misleading. Getting a visa for vacation/tourist purpose is actually very easy. It becomes more completed and difficult when you start using conferences and exploratory purposes. The western world recognizes the need for vacation at least once every year. So after working hard for the whole year, it is very necessary to take some time off and relax yourself and most times, you may wish to travel very far to somewhere you have not even been before to experience new things.

So my advise is that the person should proceed with tourist/vacation visa. Package yourself very well and ensure you have booked your hotel and also state clearly your itinerary while in Canada.

All the best
Very accurate....
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 12:52pm On Oct 23, 2020
doyin25:
Pls house i want to ask if the vfs centers are now taking application for tourist applicants
Only online application is available for Canadian tourist/visitor visa at moment and you can only give biometrics at VFS centers once your applications have been completed and submitted. You will be advised few days after the application submission with biometrics letter to be presented at VFS center.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 9:36pm On Oct 13, 2020
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 8:28am On Sep 21, 2020
I came across this as Canadian visa application processing time for Nigeria:

TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 9:55pm On Sep 05, 2020
ty01:
Using a US visa does not also guarantee a Canadian visa. I have legitimately been to over 12 countries including US and was denied a visit visa to Canada. I wrote a strongly worded mail to them and requested for GCMS notes. They wrote back and apologized and promised to prioritize my application next time and ensure a different set of visa officers attend to my application next time. I can bet there was a mix up with my application. My view is that there is no straight jacket approach to this Canada visa thing. Just put up a tight application and hope for the best.
A tight application and hope for the best is the right advice for canadian visa application.
TravelRe: Canada Visit/tourist Visa Discussion. by Infiosa: 9:44am On Aug 23, 2020
Hi gurus in the house, I just need some clarification. Are children under age 14 not allowed to take biometrics for canadian TRV/ visitor visa ? That was the message that appeared when trying to add my children for biometrics enrollment. Thanks as your advice will be greatly appreciated � �.

1 2 3 4 5 6 (of 6 pages)