Stats: 3,326,181 members, 8,425,354 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 11:58 AM

Lapazarian's Posts

Nairaland ForumLapazarian's ProfileLapazarian's Posts

1 (of 1 pages)

PropertiesLooking For A Decent Plot In Chevy View Estate by lapazarian(op): 6:44pm On Jan 20, 2013
Nairalanders,

I'm looking for a decent plot of land to purchase around Chevy view area of lekki for personal development purpose.
Please give me a shout out if you have any information.

Thanks!
PoliticsRe: Chevron Report That An Oil Rig Caught Fire Near Niger Delta by lapazarian: 7:51pm On Jun 30, 2012
Close out on this thread. Heard the fire quit on its own while a relief drilling campaign was mobilised. The well has since been killed, plugged and abandoned. No major environmental issues as it was a gas well, the condensate either burnt or was vaporised. 2 missing ppl from the incident were never found. May they rest in peace.
TravelArik Air Nearly Suffocates Passengers. by lapazarian(op): 11:21am On Jun 10, 2012
A friend on a Port-harcourt bound flight from lagos boarded said flight. The safety briefing was executed and passengers were waiting for the flight to take off.
Apparently, the air conditioning was not working and a few passengers started complaining and taking off their shirts. This went on for an hour, the Indian pilot, after hearing of the complaints simply announced that anyone not interested should get off. How rude!
All the passengers disembarked in protest, I heard there are arrangements for another aircraft being made.
What exactly is happening to the aviation industry? Arik is the only airline with relatively new planes, they charge premium prices but this kind of treatment is unacceptable.
I suggest they suspend the crazy indian pilot for his reaction. What the hell!!!
PoliticsRe: World Bank Presidency: Obama Rejects Iweala Nominates Jim Yong Kim by lapazarian: 8:11pm On Mar 23, 2012
What value would she really add as world bank president?

Nigerians, quit daydreaming and let us face our problems square. The potential is huge, everybody acknowledges this worldwide but we have to make it work by fixing fundamental issues such as corruption and and weeding out agents of disunity.

Our people in the diaspora have only really helped themselves and a Nigerian world bank president to me is just a novelty.
EducationRe: What Do The Names Of Nigerian States and Cities Mean? by lapazarian: 8:22pm On Mar 19, 2012
Kaduna was named after the river Kaduna which means "crocodiles" in Hausa. The singular word in hausa is "kada". A few of these creatures still live in the river till date!
PoliticsRe: Chevron Report That An Oil Rig Caught Fire Near Niger Delta by lapazarian: 8:57pm On Jan 18, 2012
snthesis:
^^^in regards to the oilspill - reports suggests the quantity of spill is in d region of approx 13barrels.
Probably condensate from the gas. It would probably vaporize on its own.
They are really lucky this was not an oil well,
PoliticsRe: Chevron Report That An Oil Rig Caught Fire Near Niger Delta by lapazarian: 9:23pm On Jan 17, 2012
Remii:
until official report is out, you can only speculate. gas kick expands as it moves to surface as the volume double with half TVD distanced moved upwards (from gas law PV=K), if not detected of released in a controlled manner, it could lead to explosion on surface.

Killing: One option is drilling a relief well into the same wellbore with another rig to pump in kill mud. The well could also die on its own if the reservoir got depleted.
Not sure u wld want to wait for an unquantified gas reservoir to deplete in this case. Plus mobilizing another rig to drill the relief well will involve some lead time. I just hope it doesn't escalate into an environmental disaster before they sort it out.
PoliticsRe: Chevron Report That An Oil Rig Caught Fire Near Niger Delta by lapazarian: 8:49pm On Jan 16, 2012
Not funny people.

Remii, I read on the news that it was a gas kick on an exploratory well, it probably wasnt handled well.
Any details on why it couldn't be contained? How do they intend to stop the fire?
PropertiesRe: Various Flats To Let @ Lekki by lapazarian: 5:31pm On Dec 20, 2011
Get me a 3/4 bedroom large enuf for a family plus parking space for 2 cars. Preferably a duplex or semi detached in lekki. Do not go beyond Chevron Max and it has to be well priced.

Urgent.
PropertiesNeed An Apartment In Lekki by lapazarian(op): 7:54pm On Oct 26, 2011
People,

I just got transferred to Lagos. Need a 3 bedroom apartment to accommodate my family in lekki, preferably closer to chevron roundabout. Any pointers?

Would be nice to know the price range too.
CultureRe: Nigerian Tribes And Their States by lapazarian: 1:06pm On Aug 04, 2011
Nice one!

I am Ninzam (Kaduna), my wife is 50% Tarok (Plateau) and 50% Izon (Bayelsa) but my kids speak only english so far!
AutosRe: I Need A Rav4 by lapazarian(op): 9:55pm On Jun 23, 2011
Na PH I dey. Can u send the pics to i.btec@yahoo.com ?
AutosI Need A Rav4 by lapazarian(op): 9:10pm On Jun 23, 2011
Guys,

I need a clean RAV4 to replace my old CRV, from 2008 model upwards, preferably limited edition.

Any sellers?
Music/RadioRe: Worst Songs Of 2010. by lapazarian: 6:33pm On Dec 29, 2010
If you actually like REAL music then listen to artistes like Asa, Nneka, Keziah Jones, Femi Kuti, etc,

As for MI2 , listen to the lyrics, the boy knows what he is talking about (excellent stuff, unless you don't understand what rap music is all about)

All other NAIJA music not mentioned above is CRAP!
TV/MoviesRe: Movies You Don't Ever Want To See Again And Why? by lapazarian: 4:44pm On Dec 20, 2010
Did anyone see that new Indiana Jones movie, horrible
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Total Nigeria Selection Test by lapazarian: 5:45pm On Oct 11, 2010
You can pick any of the 6
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Total Nigeria Selection Test by lapazarian: 11:57pm On Oct 10, 2010
Fortune 444,

It went well, we were given about 6 topics to choose from. The presentation is informal as well as interactive so its no problem as long as you know your field well enough.

Only my field was interviewed but they will be conducting interviews for various fields for the the next two weeks.

All the best.
PoliticsRe: 50 Events That Shaped Nigeria’s History by lapazarian: 12:23pm On Oct 04, 2010
Why is it that when we talk about Nigerian history, nobody goes back to the very beginning (even before The Berlin conference & the "scramble for Africa"wink

Have we forgotten Sir George Dashwood Taubman Goldie ? How he was able to secure the region for Britain against stiff competition from France
and Germany?

Goldie gave up the territories of the Royal Niger Company in January 1, 1900 to the British government cos he couldn't take the heat from Germany and France anymore. These territories were the then "Northern & Southern protectorates". Lord Lugard only did what was natural to promote the interests of his government in 1914.

The funny thing is  the interests of Britain, Germany & France were mainly in the resource-rich south. The north was just a pawn in the game that was eventually promoted in order to secure the lucrative "Lower Niger" territory from the French who were the dominant force in the Sahara regions up to Sudan/ Niger/Chad areas.

What is going on in Nigeria cannot be blamed on anybody now, cos the evil has already been done more that a century ago. We only have to learn to put our differences aside and find a way to forge ahead.

Peace!
Music/RadioRe: Most Anticipated Rap Albums by lapazarian: 12:22pm On Oct 03, 2010
I can't take Kid Cudi seriously; he's just a stoner that sings whenever he is high.

I already wrote off Niki Minaj long ago; every time some artist starts a label they always sign on some chick that never really makes it; Jay-Z had Amil, 50 Cent had Olivia. Only Eve and lil Kim could truly represent!

Kanye will do well just because of the hype and curiosity + the guy is actually talented even though he can't get off his 10 year ego trip.

Lloyd banks? Dude can't rap!

NAS is talented but never fails to bore me! Jay-Z was right; he only had 1 good album!

The Game will definitely rock

Gucci Manehuh Nigga please!

As for J-Cole; I just hope all the hype wont choke him. So far so good for the young rapper!
PhonesRe: Htc Or Blackberry by lapazarian: 12:04pm On Oct 03, 2010
The HTC desire will easily win "phone of the year" award. It's about $600 on Amazon, so 95k sounds fair.
BBs are ok (compact and functional) the main thing going for them is the chat service which i think is an annoying distraction that i can live without.
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Total Nigeria Selection Test by lapazarian: 2:25pm On Oct 02, 2010
Structured interview for well engineer was on the 17th of August.
Got invitation letter for panel interviews on the 27th of September (date is October 5th).
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Total Nigeria Selection Test by lapazarian: 1:41pm On Oct 02, 2010
Hi all,

I got the so called "rejection mail" at about 12:00 am this morning. It's an automated mail, I believe so because I already got an invite for panel interviews coming up on Tuesday.

Does any one know what the format is like?
Car TalkRe: What's Actually Wrong With V6 Engines? by lapazarian: 11:46pm On Sep 05, 2010
V6 engines are great. They consume more fuel though. As long as you carry out proper servicing and care, you will not have any issues.
Mechanics will always tell you bad things about it because they are obviously not competent enough to carry out repairs on them.

My friend's V6 accord had a simple issue with the air conditioning, after several visits to the mech, the engine packed up due to timing issues that wrecked the top cylinder. (The mechanic was a honda place guy!)

Just make sure some  incompetent mechanic doesn't tamper with your engine and you will be fine!
Jobs/VacanciesRe: Total Oil Interview Any Idea On The Format? by lapazarian: 1:54pm On Jul 31, 2010
^^^^^^lol, they do give jobs, but they want the right guys to get it, Total is the best coy to work for in Naija of today in terms of everything.

@ Remii:

Tell me more about Total being the best Coy to work for.
CareerRe: Subsea, Mud, Reservoir, Pipeline, Petroleum, Drilling Engineers & Supervisors Zone by lapazarian: 8:39pm On Jul 29, 2010
Hi Dr. Ferlie,

I'm a completion engr, what's your completion strategy for this deepwater project?
CareerRe: Subsea, Mud, Reservoir, Pipeline, Petroleum, Drilling Engineers & Supervisors Zone by lapazarian: 8:36pm On Jul 29, 2010
Hi,

Any completion engineers in the house?

1 (of 1 pages)