Stats: 3,166,654 members, 7,865,631 topics. Date: Wednesday, 19 June 2024 at 10:01 PM

Likeababygirl's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Likeababygirl's Profile / Likeababygirl's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (of 6 pages)

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:23pm On Jul 09, 2017
Newman1010:
Hi @likeababygirl, I will be heading to Halifax SMU by September hopefully. How much is rent for a month? Just asking cos I'm a guy

Rent depends on what kinda apartment you want and the location. The one i am talking about is about $1,050 for a month. Two bedroom, unfurnished with heat,hot water and electricity.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:20pm On Jul 09, 2017
fiendishghoul:

I doubt this is true, there are some people here that applied from other countries, e.g. Maziude, judebebo etc

These people you mentioned above didn't apply for their study permit in Canada and more importantly not on a visit visa. They had legal residence(student visa) in the country they applied from. The person I replied wants to convert a Canadian visit visa to a study visa from inside canada.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:51am On Jul 09, 2017
kaizenBash:
Hello esteemed members!

Please I need your prompt assistance on below questions.

1. Is it possible to convert 2 or 5 years Canada visit/business visa to work visa on getting to Canada without being an illegal immigrant?

2. How long can one stay with 2/5 years visit/biz Canada visa? is it for the whole visa period or you have to leave after 3 months like the way they operate in the US if you don't want to end up being an illegal immigrant.

3. If one has an admission offer and later got a visit visa to Canada can he/she just walk in to the institution and request the visit visa to be converted to a student visa on getting to Canada?

I would really appreciate genuine information from members on this regard, as I'm trying to weigh my possible options before making final decision whether to go on visit visa (I have a potential good link to procure the visit visa) or with study visa and convert to work/study visa on getting to Canada.

You cannot convert a visit or business visa to a study visa, you have to apply fresh for a study visa.
You also have to come back home to apply for the study visa.
So best thing for you is to leave getting the visit visa idea (cos you don't have it yet) and focus on getting an admission and applying for your study permit from Nigeria.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:47am On Jul 09, 2017
debbiejosh:

Nothing remains hidden in Canada, as long as the job is detailed around her SIN Number, she's paying taxes and her T4 and other things are tied to it.
About immigration knowing, I assume that for PGWP, she would need to submit her tax assessment/option C, it could be evident there.
CRA and ICRC share information, please guys, nothing is hidden in Canada, don't jeopardize the long haul with little mistakes.
This is true. I think we should be careful. I have read a lot of these cases on canadavisa(dot)com. These people come running and seeking for help and when you find out, it's because of working extra hours or illegally. Sometimes, people get away with it but why gamble. If they don't find out when applying for PGWP, they might find out when it's PR time.
We really don't want to jeopardize our chances of getting PR for the extra $2,000 we made while working before classes started.
Please let's try to do all our hustle in Nigeria if we really need extra cash before school resumes.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 12:54am On Jul 09, 2017
Anyone going to Halifax this Fall, MSVU especially, being female will make this perfect. Need someone to share a 2 bedroom apartment with.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 12:52am On Jul 09, 2017
DereI:

Okay, this is what my friend did.

1. She applied for International Business in Algonquin College Ottawa and was given admission for Winter (Jan) 2017. Then she wrote to the school for a change of course (while still in Nigeria). She was issued another letter of admission which she went ahead to pay the initial tuition deposit of C$9,000. This was around September last year.

2. She applied for TRV and was called for medicals and later approved. But her TRV was approved AFTER her resumption date which she deferred to Fall (Sept) 2017.

3. She took her time to prepare herself and search for a very cheap one way flight N239,000 from Lagos to Ottawa (Royal Air Maroc) and left Nigeria by April 2017.

4. Three days after her arrival, she opened a bank account and applied for her SIN. She said at the POE, she was only asked to show her International passport and nothing else. No questions.

5. One week after her arrival, she went to Montreal and secured a job, got an apartment and is still working.

Note that she is to resume by September 2017. So far, she has been working 5 hours daily every mondays to saturdays and earn a minimum of C$15/hr.
So this is it....you can actually work while waiting for resumption.

Just curious. Isn't it illegal to work before classes begin?
I have read that it might seem like it's no big deal now but can affect ones application when requesting for PGWP.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 7:41am On Jul 06, 2017
2bpat:
Good morning great people.
Please I need sincere advice on what program to study.
I have Bsc in Accounting and have worked as a marketer for about 5 years. I wish to apply for a study in Canada. Two programs in mind;
MBA with specialization
DIPLOMA IN ACCOUNTING this will lead to Certified Professional Accountant (CPA) final examination

Kindly give professional advice on which one to go for.

Thank you
This depends on your CGPA. University of New Brunswick waives GMAT for their MBA if you make i think 3/4 ( i think) Canadian cgpa.
You can also check out Post graduate certificate in Accounting. Fanshawe has one called 'Professional Accounting'.
But then be ready to explain the relationship between marketing and accounting during visa application.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 6:44am On Jul 06, 2017
Osemigho:
House, help me scream Jesus! Application approved!!!!!

Exactly 13weeks after they acknowledge receiving my documents.

Please shout Jesus is Lord!
Hallelujah. Congratulations sir, this our God never leaves his own people. Btw, i hope you are ready to accept your guru title now grin

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 11:38am On Jul 03, 2017
maziude:

Boss,

She stated other home ties. My opinion is based on her wanting her husband and kids to join her.

Like I said, that is not actually the crux of the matter. The main matter is linking her past to the present and future programme/plan.

#MyOpinion...
Do you think when she has all her family with her in Canada any other landed property hometie is relevant? I don't think so.
I agree with you on the program and work experience inconsistency sha.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 11:33am On Jul 03, 2017
[quote author=bettyLad post=58073759][/quote]
Not to discourage you or anything. Your profile is very complicated and visa approval is slim.
First one is the inconsistency you have in your education. Sociology, teaching, fashion, hospitality and management. It cannot fly even with the best SOP.
Second one is you want to go with your 3 kids and even your husband. Those are the main people you can use as hometies. Questions like who is going to run your husband's business will arise cos you have stated that he will be in charge of the children.
I'll advise you to find a course related to your undergraduate since you don't have any substantial work experience in either teaching or fashion.
Don't apply with all your children . Trust me they can join you later. Taking 3 kids along with you when you want to go study doesn't paint a picture of a serious student IMO. And Later can be as early as 2 months.
Just my opinion.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:50am On Jul 02, 2017
atiteb4:
haba....well let's see as it goes. Cos my first to third year isn't encouraging at all.
What was your final cgpa tho? You should apply to other schools asides those two you mentioned sha. All the best
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:46am On Jul 02, 2017
sonne20:
pls house... I keep on asking same question no response since...pls any body no about rockies college in BRITISH Columbia? pls a friend of my is planning on apply for school..
If nobody is replying it could mean nobody knows about it. I bet google knows tho. Read the reviews.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:43am On Jul 02, 2017
Sirmicholo:
VERY URGENT

GUYS PLEASE

AM ABOUT TO SUBMIT MY ONLINE APPLICATION, PLEASE I NEED A CLARIFICATION ON THE PART THAT SAYS REQUEST FOR MEDICAL EXAM AND A PROVISION FOR UPLOADING FOR IT. WHAT IS THE APPROACH TO THIS PART?

How will I get the form to upload as am not doing upfront medicals

Thank you.
Please I need urgent help to the above ques
Oga turn off your caps-lock and ask your question again. Thanks
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:42am On Jul 02, 2017
MagnaB:
Hello dear friends, i am about to go for my medicals and i am currently contemplating on which medical lab or clinic i should visit bearing the cost in mind and the speed at which my medical test will reflect on my application.

My options are between IOM and children practice.

Please which of them is best and most advisable.

I am open to other suggestions as well.

Thank you as i anticipate your prompt response.
IOM is very fast. I got a call the next day that my result has been sent. But it is also expensive at 40,200 naira. I don't know about the other one.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:41am On Jul 02, 2017
atiteb4:
but some people here said we can use only 400 and 500level result. Even some schools in Canada like Brandon university and university Of Manitoba consider 400 and 500level result. Am confused now.
Your result from first year to last year is used. some schools give special consideration to last two years cos they believe that is when you did your research. However, even if your last two years is great and you don't meet their general cut off point of 3/4, you may be bounced.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 1:57pm On Jul 01, 2017
radeke2017:
Hello house, Iv been following this thread for a while and it has been really encouraging.
I have a bachelors degree in computer science - second class upper (I graduated in 2015 served 2016).
I applied for the IT business analysis post graduate certificate program at conestoga college for January 2018. My Parents are my sponsors
I made a list of the documents I have gathered to submit.
Ild appreciate feedback on what I can add or what I can do differently.
Admission letter
Fee schedule
Tuition receipts ( 2 semesters )
International passports (previously issue American visas most recent still Valid)
Undergraduate certificate/ transcript
Waec certificate
Birth certificate (entire family)
Nysc certificate
Cv
Statement of purpose ( still working on it )
Letter of introduction ( sponsor/ sponsors employer)
Bank statement (sponsor) showing flow with a closing balance of 3 million and 5,000 USD
Treasury bill certificate (Sponsor) 10 million
police certificate
Parents Landed Property documents in Nigeria
Prove of transfer of 10,000 CND from sponsor to my dom account
(Letter from the bank saying I can withdraw without limit)
Your documents are okay. But why didn't you try a masters admission since you have a second class upper degree? It might be hard to convince the Visa Officer as to why you chose a PGC over a masters degree.
I'll advice that you work on getting a masters degree admission against winter/fall 2018 and then you are good to go.
However, since you have paid tuition. You should apply for the Visa. Write a good statement of purpose and explain why you chose the pgc and maybe you will convince the Visa Officer.
All the best.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 1:52pm On Jul 01, 2017
Olakunlae:

Yea, it only worked for the few courses I did in school but when I input all the courses I did which is about 79 in number, it just take me back to the beginning of the whole process. This happened several times of trying
just keep trying sometimes it does that. If you have a 3.5 and above, your cgpa is more than 3.0 on ths scale of 4.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 12:42pm On Jul 01, 2017
Olakunlae:

Someone should please help me with solution to this question I asked earlier. I can't contact a potential supervisor if I'm not sure what my cgpa is on a 4pt scale.
You should try it again. It works. What was your cgpa?
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 6:42pm On Jun 30, 2017
jW16:

God bless you bro! This has relieved me of going about SOA burden (since he is not my relative).

Thanks alot
If your program is more than one year, your sponsor still has to show SOA and other relevant documents o.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:19pm On Jun 29, 2017
bluegirl080115:
With all these good testimonies and sweet news
I know my own trv is being approved
Im so steered up

Amen o. But wait i been dey think say you be Visa Officer o grin

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 8:57pm On Jun 29, 2017
Shonky:
Paper Route - 12th May
Medical Call up - 31st May
Medical Done - 1st June
Passed - 7th June
Approved - 29th June

Applied to Saint Mary's University (Halifax, NS)
Masters in Technology Entrepreneurship & Innovation
16-month program
Have BSc Business Admin.

Current Work - Marketing Officer (8 months)
Sponsor - Mother
Paid tuition for the year and added receipt before applying
Added Employment Letter of Intro.
Added a 3-month pay slip
Letter of Affidavit from mum
Police report
Landed Properties of sponsor and other investments
Bsc Degree Cert.
Resume
Very strong Study Plan....(not more than a page) But it was well paragraphed and each paragraph very convincing and answered the questions or points on the CIC checklist.

I hope this helps to encourage someone.

"For the vision is yet for the appointed time; It hastens toward the goal and it will not fail. Though it tarries, wait for it; For it will certainly come, it will not delay." HBK 2:3

To God be the glory

Congratulations. I am going to Halifax this fall too. Let's chat

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 8:53pm On Jun 29, 2017
CanadianNurse:
Austinpee4 Markab penitentential Folaroyal(anywhere you are oluwa bless you) michV nelly28 Osemigbo oga mikymiko

Omg una still plenty Truce01 dogice yemdogg chimah3 smartlawyer maziude mcobex mcowubaba

Baba justwise

Bluegirl080115 bbclue likeababygirl ayoola

Abeg anybody wey I no remember forgive me

Baba Don do am,

Application approved!

Special shoutout to john2017,i be canadiannurse wey never see canny but God Don do am bro repent and see wetin God go do for your life too
Hayy. Congratulations bro. Well deserved ��
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 9:49am On Jun 29, 2017
Nolongthang:
Good morning my people.
So my sponsor can only provide an account of 3m (10,000cad) for living expenses.
I work as a freelanceing 3d artist, and I have earned quite alright through the years, matter of fact I paid my school fees (33,000) from my account.
Now my question is can I declare myself that I'll be the one to pay my total school fees even when I'm abroad total school fees of 4 semester is (13,200) through my freelancing jobs.
P.s my statement of account atm is 2m.
What is the relationship you have with your sponsor? He cannot just declare all the 3 million naira he has for you especially if he/she isn't your parent or if there are other dependents.
Also if your sponsor has a good source of income, you can declare that he paid your fees for you and will also cover the remaining fee. However, there must be a good inflow of money into the account supported by other work documents.
Nope you cannot declare that you will pay your fees through freelancing job. It a no no. Think about it what if you don't get any freelancing job? So you become stranded. That won't fly.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 6:57pm On Jun 27, 2017
kelvinxxy:
Good day all,

Please, is it too late to apply for Visa. My school starts Fall Semester by September 5th.

If I apply now. Do you think the visa would be ready before the Fall Semester starts.

Can they fast track it if possible

Please I need answers
No it is not too late to apply. But try to do upfront medicals to speed up your application. All the best

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 5:32pm On Jun 27, 2017
odalonu12:

thanks for ur reply.
1)pls can u just give me range of one year tuition fee for the PGD .just a range.
2)after completing the PGD program, will I be allowed to stay in the country and be working for as long as I want?
3) are u saying I can only be paid 11 cad dollar per hour?
- $12k-$17k for one year
- No. One year pgd gives you one year post graduate work permit. 2 or more years in school gives you 3 years Pgwp. So if you complete a one year pdg, your work permit will be for one year after which you must apply for PR or leave Canada.
- That is the minimum wage. They differ from province to province btw.
You should read up on these things. Google can help.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 12:48pm On Jun 27, 2017
odalonu12:
pls guys going to Canada for PGD, does it have difficulties in going for master degree,after completing the PGD

2). if the PGD is one year,will they give me one year visa?
3) I only have money to pay for the first semester, after that,can I work there to pay up the remaining semester?
4). is it possible wen I get there I differ the admission and start working till I raise money to further.

pls gurus answer my question. pls
1. I don't think the PGD gives any extra advantage in applying for a masters cos your undergraduate degree result will still be used for admission.
2. Yes, you will get only a one year visa
3. Yes you can work, however it is almost impossible to work and earn money enough to pay up the remaining semester fees because you are only entitled to work 20hrs/ week and minimum wage is about CAD$11.
4. No, ideally you are not allowed to work until you school resumes. so even if you differ your admission, you have to wait till you start classes before you work.
I'll advice that you try to get your one year tuition fees before traveling so you won't end up stranded and out of status in Canada. to be honest, the money you will make for part time work will almost be exhausted after paying for rent, feeding and transportation.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 8:35pm On Jun 23, 2017
TheDonSenator:
Heeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyhyyyyyyyyyyyy gbooooooooooooooooioooooooooosssssaaaaa
My trv don land oooooooooooooooooooooooooo
Make una dey drink oooooooooooooooooo
I just checked my cic account and saw that my application has been approved. ..
Everyyyyyyyyyyyy body ooooooooooo
Join me dance oooooooooooooooooo
Even my medical that I was waiting for showed passed. .
My application is not even up to a month
>: grin grin

More Trv... More Life
Congratulations to me
Congratulations bro. You are so blessed. Never stop thanking God.

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 11:19pm On Jun 22, 2017
glam4444:

Congrats my dear..I key into dis testimony excluding the tym
LOL at excluding the time. You shall hear good news concerning your application too.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 11:15pm On Jun 22, 2017
famous17:
Please join me in Thanksgiving to the Lord Jesus Christ

My application was approved today.

I saw God's intervention is my approval because I had already lost hope.

This is my second application.

I applied since Feb 27.

Thanks to everyone who supported me in one way or the other.
Special thanks to ola and thesoj.
Congratulations. God is good

Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 3:34pm On Jun 22, 2017
Hmy2015:
Pls house, is it normal if my medical exam status hasn't been updated even though the IOM notified me that i'm all cleared? submitted on the 6th june (upfront medical via paper route)?

It is very normal. Your profile won't be updated until it is attended to by the VO. so just be calm.
Travel / Re: Canadian Student Visa Thread Part 12 by likeababygirl: 10:25am On Jun 22, 2017
Douglaseguakun:

i graduated from uniben in 2011 and i studied statistics with computer science, since then i initially worked as a teacher bfor i finally got a job in form of an appointment as the official PA to the NDDC commissioner Edo State in 2014.after working for about 1 year and some months, the board was dissolved and i went into some oil business which i still do till date
now
1. i intend applying for bsc nursing in one of the universities in canada from scratch, that means am shunning my degree and applying with my o level...
2. am getting married by december and i intend taking my wife along as dependant to canada when i finally get admitted
my question to this beautiful house is,,,....do i even stand a chance of getting admitted?.......even if i am,,,will they even want to issue me the study permit?.......will i even stand a chance of getting the visa?
God bless u as u professionally advice me on what to do....thanks
Why do you want to disregard your first degree tho? It even puts more stress on you cos you have to justify what you were doing during those years you were in uni studying.
I'll say look for a masters or postgraduate certificate admission. Masters preferably if you finished with a second class upper. You stand a better chance of getting your visa with that.
2. As long as you get married before you apply for your study permit and you financially capable using the CIC requirement, you are good to go. It's better to get your own visa first tho before she applies for her own.

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (of 6 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 79