Stats: 3,151,614 members, 7,813,011 topics. Date: Tuesday, 30 April 2024 at 03:57 AM

Miolad20's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Miolad20's Profile / Miolad20's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 1:54am On Apr 14
Oshawa, ON. Search on Kijiji.ca to see prices.
Mariojane:
Hello everyone

I got admitted into Trent University Durham, can anyone tell me the best area to narrow my accommodation search to? I searched the Facebook marketplace place I was not able to get any information that I needed. Family accommodation and I would appreciate a price range Pls. Thank you
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 1:26pm On Mar 03
I really appreciate the fact that you included the exceptions to the rule in your response.
seunpinky:
The guideline does not apply to:
new buildings, additions to existing buildings and most new basement apartments that are occupied for the first time for residential purposes after November 15, 2018

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 12:01am On Feb 29
For the love of automobiles 🏎️🚗🚕

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hCNYeYOZfqw
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 1:07pm On Feb 20
Everything you need to send is stated in the PPR instructions.

Canadahome:
Hello guys,

If one is sending passport for stamping.

Are there other documents to put in the envelope?

Or just Passport, PPR letter snd Biometric letter?
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 1:57pm On Feb 05
Have you checked for yourself on the government's website? All the info you need is there.

https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/child-family-benefits/canada-child-benefit-overview.html

ExcellencyFSA:
Good day elders and happy Sunday from here.
I want to ask about child benefits for my two kids.
When and how can I apply?
We arrived Canada November 2023, but someone is saying we can't apply until after 18 months.
I need advice on this from senior Canadians.
Thanks.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 3:18pm On Jan 26
I suggest you visit their websites to see what big banks offer. Compare and decide on one. Make sure to take note of the fine print at the bottom, as these newcomer offers often come with conditions.
thesailorman:
Morning all pls recommend a good bank with incentives for new comers. TD gives $1,500 CC. Any other suggestions are welcome. Thank you

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 7:27pm On Jan 18
Options: a very good shovel (wide, high, with wheels), electric snowblower, or heated driveway (lol). I'll wait for more experienced Canadians to chime in. However, I know that clearing the snow ASAP and salting your driveway before snowfall helps.

muymacho:
Elders! How are you shoving snow from walkways? I am looking at some houses in the vicinity and the driveways have no snow. I don't believe they used shovel for that.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 8:31pm On Jan 06
The basement in this video is available for rent - move in February 1, 2024. 1-bed/ 1-bath basement apartment - ideal for a student, single person, or a couple.

New building, located near grocery stores, transit, and in a choice area in North Oshawa, ON.

$1600 + utilities 30% - shared with occupants on the upper level. Serious enquiries only, please. Send a DM for further details.

miolad20:

I did a tour of the apartments. You can watch it here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bmw4nW4dxR4
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 6:42am On Jan 05
Yes, you can inasmuch as the experience meets the requirements. See under "Skilled work experience" -https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/express-entry/eligibility/federal-skilled-workers.html

and under "Proof of work experience" -
https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/corporate/publications-manuals/operational-bulletins-manuals/permanent-residence/express-entry/applications-received-on-after-january-1-2016-completeness-check.html

Cannybaby2024:
Hello everyone, if I’m working with a company before they registered it, can I claim the years I worked there before it was registered?

It was registered in 2022 but I started working in 2020. If I claim from when it was registered it’s going to be just 1 year work experience and it reduced my score

Please 🙏

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 6:33am On Jan 05
Check the government's website for guide on POF, under "What we accept as proof" https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/express-entry/documents/proof-funds.html

CrystalMax:
Hello Seniors,
I have fixed my POF, I would like to know whether I need to include statement of account with my fixed deposit certificate when submitting my POF?
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 4:42pm On Dec 14, 2023
Yes, put it together, we go watch am.

Afolavid:

Thanks. Yeah I agree... Funny enough, I have a YT channel but I was the only one so my videos were portrait and short cuz I was driving, might as well put them together like that and post sha
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 3:54pm On Nov 28, 2023
LMAO, remember when you guys (Alberta) called? Ads all over Toronto subway and buses.

AirBay:

Se person go dy live inside cold now.

Here in calgary 2 bed 2 bath used to be 1500-1600. Now, the out of town ones are 2k. Anything close to bus or train or downtown undecided goodluck

@ednut1 help us beg your people in Toronto to stop moving yo calgary

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 2:42pm On Oct 07, 2023
No time and resources, but they have millions to pay agent. Okay o. Our people never learn sha. Research and DIY that they will still do when/if they eventually land here to survive.
Voltron007:
Even if you must use an agent, 2.5m is too much. Not everyone has the time and resources to burn data on researching. I’d advise you scout for a more reasonable agent if you can’t DIY.

Every information you’d ever need from the beginning to the end is on nairaland. Save your 2.5m or dash me. 🤪
Science/Technology / Re: Do You Check Weather Forecasts To Plan For Your Day? by miolad20(m): 2:26pm On Oct 01, 2023
Normal routine for Canadians especially between fall 🍂 and spring 🌱.
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 9:53pm On Sep 15, 2023
New favourite photos shot by me!

1. Niagara Speedway, a go-kart track in Niagara Falls, ON. That's the Skylon Tower in the background. It's a mini CN Tower 😂
2. CN Tower from the front of Delta Hotel, Down Town Toronto, ON.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 10:10pm On Sep 14, 2023
In Naija, I used to visit the barber every other week as my hair grows fast and I had to always look sharp for work. However, when I got to Canada and saw the cost of a haircut - I learned to trim my hair and beard myself. I only go to the barbershop as needed now. Paying $40-$50 (+tip) regularly is crazy.

Viking07:
I dey go cut my hair.

Visiting a salon here na by appointment.
Hair cut in Abuja, Nigeria. N1,000

Hair cut in Toronto Canada. $40 = N30,000

If you are skilled in this field you’re a walking goldmine here.

Google “AIP” (seems that is the trending pathway now for japa-ing)
Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 10:56pm On Aug 17, 2023
Please clarify, you're landing in Montreal Airport in Quebec but your destination is Hamilton, Ontario? That's like a 6 hour drive. Why this extra stress considering your flight will already be too tiring? Your cheap options may include Megabus or Via Rail.
Princeofabia:
Hello Everyone,

I will be landing Canada on the 7th of September by 9pm.
I will be landing at Montreal airport.
The issue now is I don't have anyone to come pick me up and take me to my destination which is hamiliton.

Please if you can, please reach out. Pls help me...don't over charge me🙏🏼

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 12:56pm On Jul 14, 2023
If you're not getting any response, that in itself is something. You may need to rephrase your question based on your own research. Now, I haven't been to any of the places you asked about, but below is what I found on Google.

Sarnia - closer to Detroit, US than it is to the nearest Canadian city (London, ON)
Medicine hat - almost 3 hrs away from Calgary, AB
Nova Scotia College - NSCC? they have 14 campuses across the province. You should find information on the specific campus you may be heading to.

In terms of jobs and accommodation, I would choose NSCC.

Abigbo:
No responsethere till now, please i need pointers from anyone! Thanks!

Good day all, please I need advice from those on ground already, I have offers from lambton college in sarnia,nova scotia college and medicine hat in Alberta. Please I need advise on which province to pick,especially in terms of jobs and accommodation.
My husband will be joining later by God's grace.
Thanks for the response!
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 5:56pm On Jun 08, 2023
wememore03:

Was there a Draw today?

What was the score?

Travel / Re: Road Trip To Toronto, Ontario, Canada From Pennsylvania by miolad20(m): 9:54pm On May 18, 2023
CICONTOP:
I love this experience. There's no better way to learn than traveling. Hope to visit this Niagara Falls one day. I've read so much about it.

Watch my tour of Niagara Falls here, it's indeed a sight to behold!

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vir5nyFQJTc
Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 2:40pm On Apr 17, 2023
This is what is required per IRCC - https://www.canada.ca/en/immigration-refugees-citizenship/services/immigrate-canada/express-entry/documents/proof-funds.html
There is no need to complicate matters, especially if you don't have anything extra to prove/hide.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvx-BK-urYc
You can watch this to see how I presented my POF using tips that I got from Nairaland. All the best.

Cannytravels:
Good afternoon everyone.

Please for those in PPR stage or those in Canada, did you attach statement of account with reference letter? I'm seeing too many contradicting info about this. Some are of the opinion that it's not necessary, others will say it's good to attach it. Abeg una own fly without SOA?

Travel / Re: Road Trip To Toronto, Ontario, Canada From Pennsylvania by miolad20(m): 1:28am On Jan 27, 2023
I enjoyed this thread. Well done OP. A roadtrip from Toronto to NYC is on my bucket list for sometime soon. Must be super nice in summer especially.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 11:51pm On Sep 25, 2022
I don't think anyone can tell you this truly. Application timelines range between weeks and years in some cases.
MrWalterW83:
Hello everyone. Thanks for all your answers here. You are really helping a lot of people. Just a small question this evening. I know the EE draw just returned, but can we tell on average how it takes from receipt of ITA till the recipient eventually leaves for Canada? Thanks for your responses.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 4:12pm On Sep 19, 2022
miolad20:
Tastefully furnished apartments are available for SHORT TERM ONLY for people landing in Ontario.

3-bed/ 3-bath semi-detached apartment - suitable for a big family ($1,200 / week)
1-bed/ 1-bath basement apartment - ideal for a student, single person, or a couple. ($600 / week)

New building, located near grocery stores, transit, and in a choice area in Oshawa, ON.

Serious enquiries only, please. Send a DM for pictures and further details.
I did a tour of the apartments. You can watch it here.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bmw4nW4dxR4

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 6:27pm On Sep 07, 2022
Tastefully furnished apartments are available for SHORT TERM ONLY for people landing in Ontario.

3-bed/ 3-bath semi-detached apartment - suitable for a big family ($1,200 / week)
1-bed/ 1-bath basement apartment - ideal for a student, single person, or a couple. ($600 / week)

New building, located near grocery stores, transit, and in a choice area in Oshawa, ON.

Serious enquiries only, please. Send a DM for pictures and further details.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 9:45pm On Sep 03, 2022
No issues here. There's no rule that says all the POF must be in the PA's account only - correct me if this is wrong. Let your husband write a letter that the money in that account will be used for you both to settle in Canada, and you have access to it. Get bank letters on both accounts, and do a summary in an LOE.

This is what I did. See the tips and sample letter and summary in this video.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cvx-BK-urYc

Ca08abe:
Good morning everyone.

My question is on POF.
I am the PA and I intend to use my salary account which has been building up gradually since the start of the year. However, now that the crs are falling and drawing close to my score, is it okay to make up the balance of the POF in my account by asking my husband to transfer the balance to me before the ITA comes? I have 85% of the money currently and he will be transferring 15% of the total POF which is not a large amount I believe. Will I have to explain this transfer?
NB: My husband and I do not have a joint account.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 1:51pm On Aug 23, 2022
Entitled much? Don't be angry.

Banks may not want to open an account for you as you're yet to land. However, you can reach out to any of the banks and let them know the account will be funded by funds coming from a uni in Canada. They may consider that as you'll likely land soon. You may have a better chance if you already have PPR. There's no harm in trying.

olutoyiin:
I'm really surprised, is this how u guys do on this thread?

I only came here to seek advise if its better I open an account from here or wait till I move over, but no issues.

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 12:25pm On Aug 02, 2022
Immortalregis:
And on the 8th day, Satan invented manual labour: (Government is not reason... Government is Force!)
It isn't kindness that makes the system here work. It is the fear of the government. The fear of consequences that come when you fall on the wrong side of the law. The laws are designed to milk you dry with draconian fines if you offend and if you can't pay, or you're a serial repeat-offender, na prison straight. The government officials I've observed do not hate or love you, they feel your pain but are remorseless when it comes to punishing offenders. That's why the mantra here appears to be 'Ija wa, Ija osi... always guiding' which roughly translates to 'bro, err on the side of caution.'
Having said that, if you obey the law, nobody send you for here o! Just paro lo!!

So apt! This is why the system works.

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 12:39pm On Jul 25, 2022
What Seunpinky said + go on kijiji.ca and filter to GTA to search for rentals that fit what you want. You'll get an idea of how much they're going for and how to adjust your budget realistically.

Creativebelle:
1200 to 1500

Two kids

Age 2 and 5

Oh wow..condos..are there houses lower than 2500?

Thank you

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 2:29pm On Jul 17, 2022
GraciousWords:
I don get alert….GOD win!

Wow! Good news! It has ended in praise. Congratulations!

Travel / Re: Living In Canada/Life As A Canadian Immigrant Part 2 by miolad20(m): 3:03pm On Jul 06, 2022
Flakeyy:

Okay. Thank you. Do we need to file our taxes to apply for Child benefits?

If you're a new PR, you do not need to have filed your taxes before you can apply for CCB. However, you may face a bit of a challenge.
There are 3 methods of application;
i. birth registration - only if your child was born in Canada. I registered using this method when my family had newly landed and had not filed taxes yet. Note that we stated our income from Nigeria, but this in itself is not 'tax filing'.
ii. CRA My Account - only if you've filed taxes before
iii. Mail - I believe this is the option that can work for you.

You can read more on it here https://www.canada.ca/en/revenue-agency/services/child-family-benefits/canada-child-benefit-overview/canada-child-benefit-apply.html

Do note that I am not a tax professional, and I am a newcomer myself.

7 Likes 4 Shares

Travel / Re: Canadian Express Entry/Federal Skilled Worker Program - Connect Here Part 11 by miolad20(m): 3:57pm On Jun 13, 2022
Combine your certificates and ECA into a single pdf doc and upload it under education.
Martinkev:
Please, does this mean that ECA has to be submitted after ITA, even if no space is provided for it?

If yes, under what section should it be uploaded?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (of 5 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 61