Stats: 3,326,172 members, 8,425,309 topics. Date: Friday, 12 June 2026 at 10:58 AM

Niyitogun's Posts

Nairaland ForumNiyitogun's ProfileNiyitogun's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (of 7 pages)

RomanceRe: Humility: The Lost Female Art by niyitogun(m): 2:53pm On Dec 26, 2013
bukatyne: Dear OP,

You have made some very good points in your write up.

However, humility is a virtue to be developed by both men and women.

Humility is not for the female gender alone.
I agree with you. It is important for both. But the truth is it is about the way most important quality that attracts men to females when we want to settle down whereas it's not the most important trait vise versa but it is also important. Op here just shed light on something most ladies may not take as important or overlook. Contrary to what the media or some feminist may preach this is very true. Op truly loves ladies to have shared this.
Science/TechnologyRe: Python Caused Traffic jam At Galadima-zuba Express Axis, Abuja by niyitogun(m): 2:20pm On Dec 26, 2013
Yucee55: If in India, those that dare touch any animal, be it birds, reptiles, mosquitoes etc will all go to jail. smiley The punishment could be more in the case of such highly valued and protected endangered specie like the Python. Our laws on cruelty against animal has failed. cry
Even laws on cruelty to human beings have failed as some places still practice "jungle justice" not to talk of on animals. I wonder how long it would take before the house passes strict laws on cruelty against any species. Shocked at quite a number of person's responses on this thread, preservation culture on rare animals seems to be almost absent and not just that, some persons are against it. We must continue to educate an re-educate ourselves as this may be the only way forward for now.
HealthRe: Queen Okafor: Nigeria’s Hairest Woman, Narrates her Ordeal by niyitogun(m): 2:03pm On Dec 24, 2013
I know for certain those hair cells can be killed with lasers but the most concerning part is the hormonal imbalance and you should seek medical attention for it. I would also advice you marry early once you find someone you like and he's willing to for some other medical reasons. All The best.
RomanceRe: Tips To Differentiate Between A Loving Girlfriend And A Pretender by niyitogun(m): 12:54pm On Dec 24, 2013
john6006: This Tips are only relevant with white not in Nigeria.
I disagree, she's mostly correct irrespective of race.
RomanceRe: Why Sex Should Wait Until Marriage by niyitogun(m): 5:51pm On Dec 21, 2013
Rityben: Birthcontrol pills increases the risk of fibroid growth.
On the contrary they are protective after the age of 20 but only increase risk in the teenage years. I am however not in support of premarital sex, just wanted to shed light on your post.
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m): 5:21pm On Dec 21, 2013
pickabeau1: Dude I don't get you....

Where in my post did u see advocacy for banning of firearms

You better calm down... U r coming off like a NRA spokesman

What does a hunter need a semi automatic for
What's wrong in carrying out background checks before u sell certain types of guns
Again you have taken me out of context. We both just said the same thing. You can read my post again.
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m): 6:48am On Dec 21, 2013
niyitogun: I do not see it this way. I think the issue here is about civil rights and the right to defend yourself by carrying a gun if need be. Government cannot just disarm people to deny them rights of self defense but i believe they can however put tighter controls on the kind of weapons being issued (not issuing automated weapons like the AR 15's capable of disseminating hundreds of bullets in a minute) and running mental assessment before guns are sold to qualified civilians (those without criminal records). I believe assess to "controlled firearms" reduces crime - think about it this way, if you are walking down the street or in your house, a robber would think twice before trying to attack you, steal from you or break into your home as he's is not sure whether you also have a gun but when people are denied complete access to firearms then the criminals who get them illegally anyways get a free arm to perpetrate their evil deeds. Just my point of view.
Most people that argue against control of automated weapons by limiting it's access only to law enforcement argue on the premise that police are to protect you but are not liable if they don't and you get robbed/shot(you cannot sue them) and it would take them a few minutes to get down when they are called, so why put civilians at a disadvantage by not having a chance to fight back if the criminal faces one with an automated weapon as a regular pistol has little chance to defend you against such a machine and the police who have them are not on the scene immediately at the onset of the incidence. While this may have it's fact the truth remains it might cause more harm than good if it falls into a wrong hand like the movie theater shooting at Michigan(I think).
It is also true the government generates a lot of revenue from firearm tax and money is also involved however this is not the most important factor in the debate but civil rights is.
RomanceRe: Guyz Don't Ever Marry A Girl That You Have Not Had Sex With by niyitogun(m): 5:40am On Dec 21, 2013
borax sexy: OMG.. Guys like u still exist!!! U've given me all the encouragement and motivation I need to remain a virgin till I get married ... Tnks so much!
Sure, a lot of guys still respect ladies who are virgins and i am also one. Keep yourself and he would value you for life after marriage. That's one of the best gifts you can give your husband .
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m):
pickabeau1: I know....it was a rhetorical q

Making gun ownership fundamental is the bane of logic and good judgement

More will die...
On the contrary it has reduced a lot more violent crimes and buglaries in more states. I know this might sound odd but research and data has shown this- since the second amendment violent crime rates has significantly reduced. But you seem to miss my point, gun control is not about banning guns, it is about what type of ammunition should a civilian be able to carry as well as whether they are allowed to carry them openly or concealed. There are incidents that have happened of mass shootings where automatic weapons like Ak 47s, AR 15s were used and caused a lot of casualties hence my support for "gun control" (which doesn't mean banning people from owning guns).....more crimes have and lives have been saved by law abiding civilians with their guns but this usually don't get headlines in the media because it's not bad news. You can read my previous post where i explained how this works. So please note i am an advocate for gun control contrary to what you think.
niyitogun: On the contrary it has reduced a lot more violent crimes and buglaries in more states. I know this might sound odd but research and data has shown this- since the second amendment violent crime rates has significantly reduced. But you seem to miss my point, gun control is not about banning guns, it is about what type of ammunition should a civilian be able to carry as well as whether they are allowed to carry them openly or concealed. There are incidents that have happened of mass shootings where automatic weapons like Ak 47s, AR 15s were used and caused a lot of casualties hence my support for "gun control" (which doesn't mean banning people from owning guns).....more crimes have and lives have been saved by law abiding civilians with their guns but this usually don't get headlines in the media because it's not bad news. You can read my previous post where i explained how this works. So please note i am an advocate for gun control contrary to what you think but i am not an advocate for disarming a nation. I have shared a link here for people who believe in facts and statistics.
http://www.infowars.com/18-little-known-gun-facts-that-prove-that-guns-make-us-safer/
FamilyRe: I Need A Wife To Get Married To In 2014 by niyitogun(m): 3:45am On Dec 20, 2013
shizzle11: I bid you farewell young woman. Thou you can keep at it if you wish....
but for clarity and to avoid misinforming people, can you please quote me where I asked you the bolded

...I may be right after all that you are indeed delusional. Good day
I understand how you must have felt about certain ladies comments on this thread, i feel the same but it's not worth burning energy or trading words with every person. Such ladies are actually needed to appreciate the humble girls out there. This is the beauty of life.
FamilyRe: I Need A Wife To Get Married To In 2014 by niyitogun(m): 3:00am On Dec 20, 2013
Baby mama: You make 60k a month probably living in a "face me I shoot you " and you wan marry? shocked shocked shocked
Chai
Women don suffer
Do you know how much SMA gold costs
Diaper Nko?
A honest man just spoke his mind. Who are you to judge him. Let us know how much you make in a month if you are so much better than everybody else.
EducationRe: Lecturer Killed At Olabisi Onabanjo University by niyitogun(m): 2:53am On Dec 20, 2013
ogunwalea: Tragedy struck on Wednesday at the Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye, Ogun, when unknown assailants killed a lecturer, just as ASUU called off its five-month old strike. The News Agency of Nigeria reports that the victim, Dr Segun Onabanjo, was a senior lecturer at the Department of Sociology. According to eyewitnesses, the assailants broke into his residence in Odomolasa area of Ilese-Ijebu at about 1a.m. on Wednesday, shot the lecturer and carted away some personal and household items. NAN learnt that the corpse has since been deposited in an undisclosed mortuary. When contacted on telephone, the Police Public Relations Officer of Ogun Police Command, DSP Muyiwa Adejobi, confirmed the killing of the lecturer. Adejobi said the command was on the trail of the killers who escaped through a nearby bush. “We are already working on some leads; the police engaged the criminals when they arrived at the scene and some were believed to have sustained injuries in the duel. “We combed the area and found some blood stains which we hope will help in this case,” he said. “The police command is seriously investigating this case and the suspects will be brought to justice.’’ Adejobi called on medical doctors in the state to alert the command in case they noticed anyone with gunshot wounds in their hospitals. Meanwhile, lecturers have resumed work at the university in compliance with the directive of the national secretariat of Academic Staff Union of Universities. Students’ turn-out was still low as some were seen returning to the campus as at the time of filling this report.

Source: www.punchng.com/news/gunmen-kill-lecturer-in-olabisi-onabanjo-university/
How can police command say "suspects" would be brought to justice?. Something is wrong somewhere(hope an innocent person doesn't pay for this). Sad news, May his soul RIP.
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m): 2:40am On Dec 20, 2013
pickabeau1: How can gun of ownership be a fundamental right
It is Sir, under the 2nd amendment of the US constitution. (I see it as a right to self defense). Here is some fact you can look at.

The Second Amendment Argument
The Second Amendment to the United States Constitution, adopted on December 15, 1791, states "A well-regulated Militia, being necessary to the security of a free State, the right of the people to keep and bear Arms, shall not be infringed".
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m): 11:37pm On Dec 18, 2013
biafranqueen: That will never happen Gun's and weapons are the only thing still manufactured on a large scale in America. The lobbyist aka bribers for the leaders in the Gun Industry are the most powerful only 2nd to the drug companies.
I do not see it this way. I think the issue here is about civil rights and the right to defend yourself by carrying a gun if need be. Government cannot just disarm people to deny them rights of self defense but i believe they can however put tighter controls on the kind of weapons being issued (not issuing automated weapons like the AR 15's capable of disseminating hundreds of bullets in a minute) and running mental assessment before guns are sold to qualified civilians (those without criminal records). I believe assess to "controlled firearms" reduces crime - think about it this way, if you are walking down the street or in your house, a robber would think twice before trying to attack you, steal from you or break into your home as he's is not sure whether you also have a gun but when people are denied complete access to firearms then the criminals who get them illegally anyways get a free arm to perpetrate their evil deeds. Just my point of view.
Most people that argue against control of automated weapons by limiting it's access only to law enforcement argue on the premise that police are to protect you but are not liable if they don't and you get robbed/shot(you cannot sue them) and it would take them a few minutes to get down when they are called, so why put civilians at a disadvantage by not having a chance to fight back if the criminal faces one with an automated weapon as a regular pistol has little chance to defend you against such a machine and the police who have them are not on the scene immediately at the onset of the incidence. While this may have it's fact the truth remains it might cause more harm than good if it falls into a wrong hand like the movie theater shooting at Michigan(I think).
It is also true the government generates a lot of revenue from firearm tax and money is also involved however this is not the most important factor in the debate but civil rights is.
Foreign AffairsRe: Gunman Opens Fire In American Hospital by niyitogun(m): 11:15pm On Dec 18, 2013
pickabeau1: no be yankee?

Just last week, a mad son shot a girl in the head pointblank in a colorado high school
yet the bloody sheriffs do not want to enforce the state law on gun checks;

Na today
The issue on gun control is a very technical one and i doubt the debate would end soon. I however feel civilians right should be encroached on a bit by denying access to procurement of automated guns as they may fall into the wrong hands. The situation above is sad but i doubt an automated gun was involved going by the casualties.
EducationRe: University Of Ibadan(pictures) by niyitogun(m): 11:02pm On Dec 18, 2013
My Alma Mata.....now OP just made me homesick. It's a pleasure representing this great school wherever we find ourselves. Recte Sapere Fons.
RomanceRe: The Population Of Single Ladies Are Becoming Too High, how Can We Help by niyitogun(m): 10:54pm On Dec 18, 2013
The figures are exaggerated though. Anyways I doubt respectful, down to earth, decent, loving, supportive and caring ladies are amongst - those get scooped up fast. Wish everyone the best in the journey of love.
RomanceRe: The Best Gift A Woman Can Give To Her Husband/fiance. by niyitogun(m): 10:15pm On Dec 18, 2013
softsparky: Respect him and respect your self.

my dad is a very strict man that his decision is final.we will always wonder why my mum will keep quiet without opposing or intervening in our presence, next minute you will see my dad and my mum coming out from their room with smiles and he will change his stand instantly. I always wonder what my mum normally say to make him change his mind.... my mum told me,

Respect your man and yourself especially infront of your kids.
That's a secret your mum revealed to you. It's very easy to win guys over this way but most ladies embark on a rather combative approach which doesn't work but causes stiffness. Guys have big egos', it takes a smart woman to bend it not an aggressive one. All the best.
PoliticsRe: Jonathan Snubbed At Mandela's Memorial by niyitogun(m): 5:45pm On Dec 17, 2013
BluIvy: Why should I tell you anything when google is free. Our inflation is lower than yours, our debt is lower than yours, we have an A+ international rating while your is BB-.
I agree with you dear. Most people here would argue with you based on sentiments but those who care about facts can check my link below for GDPs of African countries and also industrial GDP.
en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_African_countries_by_GDP_(PPP)_per_capita
EducationRe: ASUU Calls Off Strike by niyitogun(m): 4:55pm On Dec 16, 2013
emmddy: thunder fire ASUU, who will resume school for this Xmashuh?? infact nigeria undergraduate student are on strike.
EducationRe: ASUU Calls Off Strike by niyitogun(m): 4:43pm On Dec 16, 2013
aventura: Who wan go school for Christmas....their papa
Lol. See person wey dey clamour say make them call off strike say he wan go school o!
CrimeRe: Man Murdered By Policemen Over Bribe In Port-Harcourt by niyitogun(m): 3:11pm On Dec 13, 2013
talktimi: If you try using the butt of an ak 47 (which is a standard jtf weapon) to hit someone's head, an accidental discharge would send the bullet straight up or at an angle way higher than the stomach. This man was murdered in cold blood pure and simple, an accidental discharge claim would only give the offending officer a pat on the wrist as punishment. That aside, hospitals need to start attending to gun shot victims first before police report even if it means hand cuffing the victim to the bed or getting police security for said victim.
Unfortunately I am not sure the law gives doctors this right.
EducationRe: ASUU Ready to Call-Off Strike Next Week - Fagge by niyitogun(m): 3:06pm On Dec 13, 2013
So are all the students willing to leave for school now or wait till January?......#just asking
HealthRe: Doctors Warn Of ‘imminent Collapse Of Health Services’ From Saturday by niyitogun(m): 3:02pm On Dec 13, 2013
chess guru: grin
Hahahahaha didn't bother reading after the 1st paragraph.
Nigeria!!! Bunch of clowns. I J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊S̤̥̈̊τ̲̣̣̥ knew that after the ASUU stunt, every tom, dick, and harry will want to go on strike.
After all, ASUU got fg to agree to all demands without a compromise.
They will claim they are fighting for their sectors, but the truth is they are fighting for themselves and the selfishness of their union.
Follow follow mentality.
Next up...National Association of Beggars grin

NB:
Pls abeg, who knows when engineers are going on strike too. Doctors are complaining and I don't know what we should be doing.
I have never seen a doctor writing aptitude test. They are one of the most employable set of people ave seen. Even in the university, they are given the most preferential treatment. The amount they make doing housmanship only ehh.grin
But It is said that the mistake of a doctor can kill a person, but the mistake of an engineer can kill millions. Yet you don't hear us making noise.
I assure you its not becos we lack a voice or ginger (something that is our natural trademark) but becos everyone CANNOT COMPLAIN and talk at the same time. And also as engineers, the end result of all we do is for the benefit of humanity (irrespective of the gains that may follow)..I believe its time doctors reassessed their moral stance and position if they are willing to let people die J̶̲̥̅̊u̶̲̥̅̊S̤̥̈̊τ̲̣̣̥ to gain whatever it is they claim to be fighting for
All i see here is jealousy
HealthRe: Doctors Warn Of ‘imminent Collapse Of Health Services’ From Saturday by niyitogun(m): 2:57pm On Dec 13, 2013
satowind: Nigeria self. Our leaders have killed us later we will complain of not being recognized after our effort in apartheid fight.
Gud luck wen this happens don't go on blaming it on other parties cause this one is on you.

Happy birthday to me
Happy belated birthday Sir!
PoliticsRe: Over 80 Nigerians Killed In Bangui (Central African Republic) by niyitogun(m): 1:42pm On Dec 12, 2013
pinkguy: Pls dont expect nigeria to send plane to C.A.R. Because sss just inform GEJ that most of them are boko haram @ see u guy later and get ready for ur 72 virgin because you must die in few days if u are muslim in CAR reading this ok
Can't comprehend how some persons can make such comment about such sensitive issues. Nigerians must stick together and protect each other.
Christianity EtcRe: Chris Okotie With Armed Guards In Church (Picture) by niyitogun(m): 1:08pm On Dec 12, 2013
akereconfi: Oh Please shut up. Did u see any Gun on them?. Yes they are hefty guys wearing some kinda bullet proof looking vest but I zoomed the pix well and didn't see any thing looking like a GUN.

Btwn am not a FAN of chris

STOP spreading LIES
I don't mean to be rude but you may want to look up "concealed and carried guns".
PoliticsRe: NNPC Diverted $49.8B Meant For The Nigerian Treasury Between 2012-13 - Sanusi by niyitogun(m): 12:44pm On Dec 12, 2013
It still saddens me that the federal government chooses not to increase funding to the education and the health sectors.
PoliticsRe: Fashola Hands Over 16 Newly Constructed Roads In Mushin. PICS. by niyitogun(m): 12:31pm On Dec 12, 2013
Goddex: The FG is constructing many more roads in Abuja than what Lagos state is doing but we don't get to hear this much propaganda. Lagos need pipeborne water like most other cities and not these noisemaking when a 2KM road is asphalted.
lol. true though. Fashola likes to sell himself but he also works hard. It is allowed. I hope the next governor works on improving tap water supply in Lagos.
PoliticsRe: Water Supply Restored In Onitsha After 12 Years by niyitogun(m): 12:15pm On Dec 12, 2013
londoner: No, the correct word is actually "portable".
i disagree sir. Here is my reason; http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tap_water
PoliticsRe: Jonathan Replies Obasanjo, Says letter Is Self-Serving, Provocative by niyitogun(m): 11:53am On Dec 12, 2013
i believe Jonathan is still the "best" democratic president Nigeria has had. He may be performing below average and badly but his predecessors were far worse (except you chose to be sentimental)
PoliticsRe: Water Supply Restored In Onitsha After 12 Years by niyitogun(m): 1:54am On Dec 11, 2013
godfreykingsley: Thank God for d likes of Gov. Peter Obi in dis country,I hav even forgotten that portable water is as important as power supply which are basic amenities in a country that has its systems working.
Potable

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 (of 7 pages)