Stats: 3,157,900 members, 7,834,998 topics. Date: Tuesday, 21 May 2024 at 12:24 AM

"The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup - Sports (4747) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup (11776980 Views)

Cameroon's Douala Stadium Artificial Grassfield For AFCON 2019 Stolen / Super Eagles Arrive In Uyo, Train Ahead Of Their AFCON 2019 Qualifier (Pictures) / AFCON 2019: Nigeria To Battle South Africa For A Place (Full Draws) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (4744) (4745) (4746) (4747) (4748) (4749) (4750) ... (16192) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:44pm On Sep 18, 2018
Joebie:
You have a point sha. Is he back from injury?

Yes!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 8:54pm On Sep 18, 2018
tbaba1234:

Where is Lukman Haruna today? washed up at "28 years"... I watched him recently and he can not even run anymore. He was obviously more than 17 in 2007.

Ajiboye is a keeper and keepers have longer careers.

You people said none of them made it in football but that is a big fat lie.

Age and performance should be separated.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 8:57pm On Sep 18, 2018
Just for fun which nigerian player will be the first to score in uefa CL?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:01pm On Sep 18, 2018
Icon79:
And by the way, Inter Milan 2 Tottenham Hotspurs 1

And that's to all all the EPL is the most competitive league in the world crew grin

O pari

Relax na.. its just one game out of 6.. inter Milan had the home advantage...

And yea, the EPL is the most competitive league in the world.... its not like d la liga where u got just barca and Madrid and sometimes Atletico mounting a title challenge....

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SlayerForever: 9:04pm On Sep 18, 2018
maidaboi:
Just for fun which nigerian player will be the first to score in uefa CL?

We'll need a list of them all first.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:05pm On Sep 18, 2018
Meanwhile in the championship, Etebo's Stoke city are holding Swansea to a 0-0 draw at HT...Etebo got a yellow..

Semiu Ajayi is on for Rotterham who trail Aston Villa 1-0 courtesy of a Tammy Abraham goal
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:07pm On Sep 18, 2018
charlesemeka85:
chuks aneke? bros go sleep abeg cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy

That boy is good, I no go lie.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SlayerForever: 9:07pm On Sep 18, 2018
Danielnino00:

Relax na.. its just one game out of 6.. inter Milan had the home advantage...

And yea, the EPL is the most competitive league in the world.... its not like d la liga where u got just barca and Madrid and sometimes Atletico mounting a title challenge....

I wonder if that's even an argument.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:08pm On Sep 18, 2018
charlesemeka85:
ROCK KO! where is he currently playing now self?

He is with Wolves.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:10pm On Sep 18, 2018
Joebie:
Akpoguma and Torinarigha turned down Nigeria. Wetin remain again? Uduokhai kind of kept it open 50-50.

Modified
Tega? Abeg leave matter for matter. This is his second spell in the Championship. Make we see.

Anyone who says Tega is not good doesn't know football.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:14pm On Sep 18, 2018
andrew444:

Igbekeme might not have done anything to deserve a call up,let me agree on that ,but common stop this player of the month or player of the week of a thing okay,so If a player won player of the month in a league then that player deserve to be call up ? Is that now you judge your own football ?

When Isaac success won Grenada player of the season before his move to watford was he called up to the eagles because of that ?

That is how I see it.

The fact that Isaac was no called doesn't justify his exclusion from the national team.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:16pm On Sep 18, 2018
SlayerForever:

Not necessarily but yes we do have players in top leagues. When the team gets choke full with average/skreppy bench warmers it will backfire. That time insults will start to fly up and down.

Hahahaha!
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:17pm On Sep 18, 2018
Danielnino00:
Meanwhile in the championship, Etebo's Stoke city are holding Swansea to a 0-0 draw at HT...Etebo got a yellow..

Semiu Ajayi is on for Rotterham who trail Aston Villa 1-0 courtesy of a Tammy Abraham goal

See dem life? Tammy don dey close mouth.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:19pm On Sep 18, 2018
charlesemeka85:
A top source in the Nigeria Football Federation ( NFF) has confirmed the intention of the football house to cap the duo of Ademola Lookman and Arnold Groeneveld Danjuma when Nigeria play Libya in back to back AFCON 2019 Qualifiers games.

Lookman represented England at various youth levels but he has now pledge his senior international future to Nigeria despite a late push by England.

Danjuma represented the U21s of the Netherlands during the last international break but he refused to close the door on representing Nigeria at senior level even though he confirmed his preference to play for the Dutch national team.

Nigeria have moved to cap the talented wingers and already talks are on with their advisers to seal their international switch before the game against Libya in October, however they are in a rush against time to conclude the switch.

” Time is not on our hands but we will try to conclude the switch for both of them or probably one before the next game against Libya. We are hopeful “, he told Owngoalnigeria.com.

shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked shocked grin are you for real?

Double coup! grin
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:22pm On Sep 18, 2018
forgiveness:

See dem life? Tammy don dey close mouth.

See eh..Tammy can score 30 goals in the championship if he so wish...

I'm just sure he won't play for Nigeria again..He used his own mouth to blow that chance.. We rated him highly.. The fact that Pinnick himself went down to England to talk with him showed how much we wanted him. But he threw it right to our face..
Tammy has gone the way of Sydney Sam,Nedum Onuoha,Jordan Ibe and Gabriel Agbonlahor... that's the truth...

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:26pm On Sep 18, 2018
charlesemeka85:
Owngoalnigeria.com had a chat with Hamburg highly rated 18 year old defensive midfielder Jonas Benjamin Chimezie David who recently declared his intention to represent Nigeria ahead of Germany to this portal last month.

Already he has made the step up to the first team and he earned positive reviews after impressing in a pre season friendly game against Bayern Munich and it immediately sparked talks about his international future.

In this interview with Osas Mahawi, Jonas explained why he opt for Nigeria ahead of Germany and his immediate aim of playing for Nigeria at any level, although the U20s is his main target for now.

OGN – Hello Jonas, what informed your decision to declare for Nigeria ahead of Germany?

Jonas – I want to make my father proud and playing for the country that he comes from will help me fulfill my aim of making him very happy.

OGN – Are your parents in support of your decision to play for Nigeria ahead of Germany?

Jonas – Yes. I am blessed with the most wonderful set of parent. They support my decision and I pray it comes to pass soonest than later.

OGN – Have you ever been to Nigeria ‎?

Jonas – No. I have not been to Nigeria yet, but this is a fact I really want to change in the nearest future. Hopefully before or if I get invited to any of the national team of Nigeria.

OGN – What’s your immediate target with the Nigerian team?

Jonas – Honestly, I want to progress through the ranks meaning I will love to start from the youth teams but that doesn’t mean I’m not eyeing the senior national team of Nigeria.

OGN – So who is your favourite Super Eagles player?

Jonas – John Obi Mikel. The captain and I share similar characteristic as midfielders and I hope to emulate his success with the Nigerian team and also match his achievement at club level.

See better player here but na overage na em dey worry our coach.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by forgiveness: 9:27pm On Sep 18, 2018
Danielnino00:

See eh..Tammy can score 30 goals in the championship if he so wish...

I'm just sure he won't play for Nigeria again..He used his own mouth to blow that chance.. We rated him highly.. The fact that Pinnick himself went down to England to talk with him showed how much we wanted him. But he threw it right to our face..
Tammy has gone the way of Sydney Sam,Nedum Onuoha,Jordan Ibe and Gabriel Agbonlahor... that's the truth...

If he comes out and apologies for what he did, I don't see why we should not take him back.

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 9:38pm On Sep 18, 2018
forgiveness:

If he comes out and apologies for what he did, I don't see why we should not take him back.

Apologize indeed grin .. He will only apologize when his career doesn't go the right way..
All these foreign born players have the ambition of playing for their country of birth.unfortunately, a lot of them.are just average and not good enough for the team... The wise ones like Aina,Ekong and Ebuehi picked Nigeria cus we would give them the chance to boost their careers... the rest are just playing hide and seek with.us.. Still waiting for their career to hit the right path so their country of birth can give them a look in..

Tammy belongs to another class... The class of Agbolahor,Onuoha,Ibe and Sam... They allowed the media hype get into their head and threw away the chance of representing Nigeria and upgrading their careers...

well.. its not.too late for Tammy to.apologise... But will Nigerians accept him??
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by soetanoreoluwa(m): 9:50pm On Sep 18, 2018
forgiveness:

Since joining Sharktar Doneskt, Kayode has already contributed 4 goals (3 goals and 1 assist) in 8 matches before he got injured.

It's not about lack of ability not to get game time but due to injury.

I know.. Both success and Kayode are partial member of the team we should wait for them to be fully fit bfr clamour for them.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 9:59pm On Sep 18, 2018
Danielnino00:

water don find level

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by maidaboi(m): 10:05pm On Sep 18, 2018
The danjuma kid is good denis didn't have enough time
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Danielnino00(m): 10:06pm On Sep 18, 2018
Nigerians in tonight UCL review..

Galatasary-3 vs Lokomotiv Moscow-0

Brian Idowu was on start to finish and even picked up a yellow card in the game.. Onyekuru came late on..

Club Brugge -0 vs Dortmund-1

Super eagles prospect Arnaut Danjuma started for club Brugge and was replaced in the second half by Dennis Bonaventure

Shackle 04-1 vs FC Porto-1

Chodozie Awazeim was an unused sub in the game.

Meanwhile, up Liverpool. grin

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by SlayerForever: 11:33pm On Sep 18, 2018
forgiveness:

Hahahaha!

Hehehehe.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 5:46am On Sep 19, 2018
jihday:
cc icon4s for the U-21

For U20 you mean?
Has he declared his willingness to play for Nigeria?

Modified:

I just saw his interview with OGN.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:09am On Sep 19, 2018
charlesemeka85:
A top source in the Nigeria Football Federation ( NFF) has confirmed the intention of the football house to cap the duo of Ademola Lookman and Arnold Groeneveld Danjuma when Nigeria play Libya in back to back AFCON 2019 Qualifiers games.

Lookman represented England at various youth levels but he has now pledge his senior international future to Nigeria despite a late push by England.

Danjuma represented the U21s of the Netherlands during the last international break but he refused to close the door on representing Nigeria at senior level even though he confirmed his preference to play for the Dutch national team.

Nigeria have moved to cap the talented wingers and already talks are on with their advisers to seal their international switch before the game against Libya in October, however they are in a rush against time to conclude the switch.

” Time is not on our hands but we will try to conclude the switch for both of them or probably one before the next game against Libya. We are hopeful “, he told Owngoalnigeria.com.

The bolded is the line I was waiting to see in this post. The rest is no News.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 6:39am On Sep 19, 2018
Danielnino00:

Apologize indeed grin .. He will only apologize when his career doesn't go the right way..
All these foreign born players have the ambition of playing for their country of birth.unfortunately, a lot of them.are just average and not good enough for the team... The wise ones like Aina,Ekong and Ebuehi picked Nigeria cus we would give them the chance to boost their careers... the rest are just playing hide and seek with.us.. Still waiting for their career to hit the right path so their country of birth can give them a look in..

Tammy belongs to another class... The class of Agbolahor,Onuoha,Ibe and Sam... They allowed the media hype get into their head and threw away the chance of representing Nigeria and upgrading their careers...

well.. its not.too late for Tammy to.apologise... But will Nigerians accept him??

Well if he makes an apology no wahala. We can consider him but on merit.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by edi287: 6:43am On Sep 19, 2018
forgiveness:

You people said none of them made it in football but that is a big fat lie.

Age and performance should be separated.
But na age we dey talk about egbon. That set was crazy hence why Westerhof said what he did, but the 09 set rivals them imo.
We should be thanking God for MRI.
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 7:04am On Sep 19, 2018
edi287:

But na age we dey talk about egbon. That set was crazy hence why Westerhof said what he did, but the 09 set rivals them imo.
We should be thanking God for MRI.

At least from that 09 set we still have Omeruo, Onazi, Kayode and Ajagun still balling. There was selective MRI for that 09 set.
Did you see the 93 and 2001 sets?
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by jihday(m): 7:31am On Sep 19, 2018
Icon4s:

At least from that 09 set we still have Omeruo, Onazi, Kayode and Ajagun still balling. There was selective MRI for that 09 set.
Did you see the 93 and 2001 sets?
I think the 2001 set too was bad, they had Opabunmi, sambo, Akpan, Omonigho, I think there's a certain shuaibu too. they all faded out. don't think any of them played for super eagles aside from Opabunmi and that was in 2002 just a year after please correct me if I'm wrong I can barely remember their names
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by Icon4s(m): 7:44am On Sep 19, 2018
jihday:
I think the 2001 set too was bad, they had Opabunmi, sambo, Akpan, Omonigho, I think there's a certain shuaibu too. they all faded out. don't think any of them played for super eagles aside from Opabunmi and that was in 2002 just a year after please correct me if I'm wrong I can barely remember their names

You are right. We also had Segun Abiodun, Moses Ayuba, Victor Brown, Emmanuel Baba (My elder brother saw this one playing football on the streets of Dutse, Jigawa in 1999 and advised him to try to get registered with a club. He soon after joined Jigawa Golden stars)
Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:44am On Sep 19, 2018
maidaboi:
water don find level
lol.... as in

Tammy Na Championship level player, he isn't bigger than that and some people want us to think he is a world class striker. Dude is bang average, let him remain in second tier football where he obviously belongs

Re: "The Super Eagles Thread: The Road To AFCON 2023, 2025 And 2026 World Cup by safarigirl(f): 8:45am On Sep 19, 2018
Danielnino00:
Nigerians in tonight UCL review..

Galatasary-3 vs Lokomotiv Moscow-0

Brian Idowu was on start to finish and even picked up a yellow card in the game.. Onyekuru came late on..

Club Brugge -0 vs Dortmund-1

Super eagles prospect Arnaut Danjuma started for club Brugge and was replaced in the second half by Dennis Bonaventure

Shackle 04-1 vs FC Porto-1

Chodozie Awazeim was an unused sub in the game.

Meanwhile, up Liverpool. grin
the way forgiveness was shouting that Kayode is back from injury, I thought he would even play today.... Apparently, he isn't out. Just wasted space in my fantasy league

(1) (2) (3) ... (4744) (4745) (4746) (4747) (4748) (4749) (4750) ... (16192) (Reply)

Viewing this topic: BannedLarge, Subzerooo and 3 guest(s)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 57