Stats: 3,150,600 members, 7,809,180 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 03:26 AM

How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends - Investment - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Investment / How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends (36109 Views)

3 Quick Ways To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividend In Nigeria / How To Recover Unclaimed Dividends In Nigeria / Unclaimed Dividends: How To Get Them Back (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by BluntCrazeMan: 5:59am On Jan 14, 2021
It was in the news some days ago that: “The Federal Government Is Planning To Borrow Dormant Account Balances And Unclaimed Dividends” (https://www.nairaland.com/6349423/fg-borrow-dormant-account-balances).
It was also in the news some days ago that: “SERAP Asks Buhari To Drop Plans To Borrow Dormant Account Balances And Unclaimed Dividends” (https://www.nairaland.com/6355484/serap-asks-buhari-drop-plan)
But in the meantime, we the citizens can prevent our hard earned funds that were abandoned for some period now - from being used and then being finally looted and cornered into private pockets on the long run.
Mostly to be affected funds are those Dormant Accounts that belonged to deceased persons, for which it would involve some rigorous processes in order to retrieve.
Then, another most likely to be affected funds are Unclaimed Dividends. This one could heavily affect both living and deceased persons.
And the Federal Government is actually targeting these funds.
BUT THE UNCLAIMED DIVIDENDS CAN BE RECLAIMED.
The Unclaimed dividends increased from ₦109.1 billion in Devember 2016 to ₦130 billion in December 2019, and it continues to increase.

Here below are the steps to follow in retrieving unclaimed dividends.

Step 1: Input your first name and last name into the Official “Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC)” Search link: https://sec.gov.ng/non-mandated/ in order to get a list of all your shares from the SEC.
This will give you a screenshot of all the companies you have shares in, and the registrars in charge.

Note: if you have changed your name due to marriage or other reasons, search with your previous name and also try different format of name e.g those with prefixes e.g 'Olu', 'Oluwa' etc

Step 2: Take note of your registrar’s name and your Shareholders Account Number for each of the companies you have shares in - This Is Very Necessary. (Note: A Registrar, is a company that keeps the shareholder’s details for other companies.)

Step 3: Click on the Registrar’s name beside the Company's name, then download and fill your registrar’s E-mandate form.

Step 4: Submit your form by mailing the filled forms to the Office of the Registrars, or by submitting it at your bank, or by searching out for the official email address of the Registrars and Uploading the filled form to them through their email. (Note: some companies may require you to go to your bank and get a bankers confirmation, so they can initiate the e-dividend form for you.)

Once this is done, your account will be credited automatically with the e-dividend going forward.
It is best to go to the official website of the Registrars as well as that of the company itself, before proceeding to download and fill the forms. This is because, there might had been lots of changes since the last time you abandoned shares.
For instance, the company's name or registrar’s name might have changed, or maybe the company might have changed their old registrar to a new one. In some cases, the Shareholders Account Number may not be available on the SEC search site, in that case, you have to send an email to the registrars of such Company in order to have your Shareholders Account Number sent to you through email.

42 Likes 16 Shares

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by BluntCrazeMan: 6:06am On Jan 14, 2021
The truth here is that, if you are not a patient person, you may end up finding all these processes very tiring and irritating.
I have done mine though, and it all took me three days to download, fill, and submit the forms for the companies I had shares in. Some Registrars Websites even made it possible for their own E-mandate Form to be filled Online on their website too, so that there won't be any need to download and fill.
The next thing I want to do about this is to know how much exactly is my unclaimed dividends, and how much of it had expired already.

18 Likes 5 Shares

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by DSS1335: 6:24am On Jan 14, 2021
Thanks op for the information, I will give a try.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by BluntCrazeMan: 7:14am On Jan 14, 2021
DSS1335:

Thanks op for the information, I will give a try.
I wish you the best bro.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Favemmzar200(m): 10:04am On Jan 14, 2021
Let me share this vital information since I don't have any shares or dormant account

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by lekki1444: 10:04am On Jan 14, 2021
Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Abboki: 10:04am On Jan 14, 2021
Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by jawalis(m): 10:05am On Jan 14, 2021
The process are sometimes exhausting. Trust me, you gotta take your time

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by omoadeleye(m): 10:05am On Jan 14, 2021
Let me just try it maybe there will be a share in my names, i never can tell.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by pharmagba: 10:05am On Jan 14, 2021
BluntCrazeMan:
The truth here is that, if you are not a patient person, you may end up finding all these processes very tiring and irritating.
I have done mine though, and it all took me three days to download, fill, and submit the forms for the companies I had shares in. Some Registrars Websites even made it possible for their own E-mandate Form to be filled Online on their website too, so that there won't be any need to download and fill.
The next thing I want to do about this is to know how much exactly is my unclaimed dividends, and how much of it had expired already.
God bless you for this post
You will never lose your hard earn money
You will not labour and another will loot

14 Likes 2 Shares

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by tollyboy5(m): 10:06am On Jan 14, 2021
grin uselss country I'm waiting for its total destruction. Joining aboki to reasonable south was a great mistake!

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by AFULA(m): 10:06am On Jan 14, 2021
okay
Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Mummyfour(f): 10:08am On Jan 14, 2021
[quote author=BluntCrazeMan post=98037106]The truth here is that, if you are not a patient person, you may end up finding all these processes very tiring and irritating.
[/quote
If you could call your registerers and provide them with an evidence that you own the account you are referring to, and go ahead to ask them for the value of your dividend, they would tell you

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Dreambeat: 10:09am On Jan 14, 2021
I have tried doing mine and the registrars involved in my shares have been tossing me up and down

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by StepTwo: 10:09am On Jan 14, 2021
Wonder why the CbN can’t make it easier to withdraw money from a deceased bank account, especially for a next of Kin with a valid means of identification. This country!!!

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by onoms4luv(m): 10:10am On Jan 14, 2021
all these stealing attitude when federal nor want repent from so, e go burst for their Belle one day.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by keeper303: 10:12am On Jan 14, 2021
BluntCrazeMan:

Thank you very much. I followed the steps in your post and when I wrote my name on the SEC website it turned out 3 companies against my name. I filled the E-mandate form supplied by Africa Prudential. Africa Prudential has acknowledged receipt of my form.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Enudapan: 10:13am On Jan 14, 2021
Nah eh! No qualms
Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Mummyfour(f): 10:13am On Jan 14, 2021
Dreambeat:
I have tried doing mine and the registrars involved in my shares have been tossing me up and down
which registrar are you using?
If they are in your location, go to their office.
It is your right.
No be phone call matter abeg.
It's your money

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by obonujoker(m): 10:16am On Jan 14, 2021
Can we claim for a deceased person?

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Lilimax(f): 10:19am On Jan 14, 2021
Retrieving my unclaimed dividend is one major task I must achieve this year God willing.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Buzzotalks: 10:19am On Jan 14, 2021
I just tried the process for mine and that of my dad but our name wasn't on the platform
....what should I do

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Druss(m): 10:21am On Jan 14, 2021
A family member tried it but apparently some of them are refusing to pay even after completion and submission of the forms.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Omezif(m): 10:21am On Jan 14, 2021
Learning never end.

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by flourish01(m): 10:21am On Jan 14, 2021
Nice information. Thanks

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Coldie(m): 10:22am On Jan 14, 2021
J
Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by Mummyfour(f): 10:24am On Jan 14, 2021
obonujoker:
Can we claim for a deceased person?
if you have the evidence of purchase of the shares and other documents, I believe you can.
I know a woman that is about going to claim her deceased husband's own

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by DirtyGold: 10:31am On Jan 14, 2021
The dribbling has just begun! grin grin

It is only in Nigeria that you'll suffer to make money, suffer to bank it and still suffer to get it back.

What's tha business?

Re: How To Retrieve Your Unclaimed Dividends by obonujoker(m): 10:32am On Jan 14, 2021
Mummyfour:
if you have the evidence of purchase of the shares and other documents, I believe you can.
I know a woman that is about going to claim her deceased husband's own

Mhen I don't have those documents again... But i found out that he has shares dividend with Transnational!

I believe letter of Administration might suffice?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

5 Money Making Ventures That Ruin Your Life Easily / FTX Hacked. Money In Accounts Stolen / Hackers Allegedly Steal N2.9bn From Flutterwave