Stats: 3,153,796 members, 7,820,794 topics. Date: Tuesday, 07 May 2024 at 09:47 PM

Subsonic's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Subsonic's Profile / Subsonic's Posts

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Education / Re: Federal Government Scholarship 2020 Thread | FSB Scholarship by subsonic(f): 11:57pm On Nov 09, 2022
Lastbornbuns:

Depends on your year of award and year of graduation.

What do you mean by year of graduation? How many installment for PhD?
Education / Re: Federal Government Scholarship 2020 Thread | FSB Scholarship by subsonic(f): 12:16am On Nov 01, 2022
MeaslesMumpsRub:
I hear Master students are paid 300,000 naira twice. I.e a total of 600,000 In two tranches.

What is the amount and times of payment for PhD scholars?
Education / Re: Federal Government Scholarship 2020 Thread | FSB Scholarship by subsonic(f): 11:19pm On Oct 18, 2022
I just wrote the exams too. Does anyone have an idea of the percentage mark for moving to the next level?

I heard somewhere that it is 70%
Health / Re: Help My 3 Year Old Son Has Developed Drop Foot After Malaria Injection by subsonic(f): 10:35pm On Jun 07, 2022
missviva:
Please commence Physiotherapy as soon as possible...the earlier you start Physiotherapy the faster his recovery. Don't wait till his muscles start wasting...Physiotherapy will go a very long way for you and please be consistent...it will shock you to know that Physiotherapy has helped a lot of persons recover well from foot drop

The doctor asked me to wait for two weeks. Before physiotherapy. However, I have been massaging and stretching his muscles with shea butter. Thanks for the advice.
Health / Re: Help My 3 Year Old Son Has Developed Drop Foot After Malaria Injection by subsonic(f): 10:30pm On Jun 07, 2022
yomi007k:

As a doctor,I have seen some of these cases and patients do recover after about 4 to 12 weeks depending. Don't worry, all will be well.

Solution;
Get syrup ibuprofen, vit b complex and start physiotherapyy asap.

Thanks for the reassurance doc. These past few days have been stressful.
Health / Re: Help My 3 Year Old Son Has Developed Drop Foot After Malaria Injection by subsonic(f): 6:57pm On Jun 04, 2022
Thank you all for your concerns. Reading your comments, I panicked again and went back to the hospital. The doctor from the last meeting saw me and he asked why I come back so soon. I told him I need a second option.

The doctor I met this time was more empathetic. Like Shaggy007 suggested, she also said I could sue and asked for the nurse that gave my son the injection.

On a lighter note, she said she is hopeful my baby will recover. She said it is too early to tell.

I couldn't hold back tears from rolling down my face as my baby stumbled and fell trying to walk toward me. "Worst case, we will go for physiotherapy," she said trying hard to console me.
Health / Re: Help My 3 Year Old Son Has Developed Drop Foot After Malaria Injection by subsonic(f): 6:26pm On Jun 04, 2022
shaggy007:
Pls next time, use malaria syrup for kids.

Injection is not for something minor like malaria.

Thanks . No more injection for a long time
Health / Help My 3 Year Old Son Has Developed Drop Foot After Malaria Injection by subsonic(f): 1:08pm On Jun 04, 2022
----Advice needed-------

My 3 years old son took an injection for malaria yesterday. After about an hour we noticed he was walking funny and he complained about discomfort on is left foot (I guess peripheral Nueroapathy)

We rushed back to the doctor. He said the nurse may have injected my son on his sciatic nerve causing my baby to have a "drop foot".
Prescribed vitamin c and Nuerolite (or something, not sure the name) and he asked us to just be hopeful. That time will tell if it is permanent or not.

Doctors in the house, form experience hope my baby will be able to eventually walk normal. I am a little worried. Please help!
Nairaland / General / Re: How To Create A New Topic by subsonic(f): 12:50pm On Jun 04, 2022
Many thanks
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by subsonic(f): 8:54pm On Aug 27, 2019
babythug:

Have you considered a C-section?

What options did dr give you?

Membrane sweep works differently for everyone. Speak with your dr firmly and DO NOT leave anything to chance!

41 weeks pregnancy is sensitive as far as I’m aware

All the best and congrats for your miracle is on the way.

No mummy, CS would be my last option - I am not hoping for that. If this membrane sweep doesn't work, the next consideration would be inducing with medication (probably prostaglandins).
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by subsonic(f): 8:45pm On Aug 27, 2019
unex50:

Hello mum.. I was induced too.but no blood stain.. The stuff didn't work cuz after I remember I was induced like around 12am...then I gave birth at around 7:30pm...after every I did CS... You will be fine mama.. Congratulations already..

Amen. Thanks mummy
Health / Re: Doctor in the House: Free Medical Advice Available by subsonic(f): 2:41pm On Aug 27, 2019
Hi docs, I am 40W5D today, I had a membrane sweep/strip done yesterday by my doctor

Afterward I felt cramps in my lower abdomen and also noticed blood stained mucus like discharge. He said if I do not go into labour within 72hours of the sweep, then it didn't work.

How effective is it in inducing labour. Also I am Rh Negative, hope I don't have to worry about bloody mucus causing sensitization.
Health / Re: Pregnancy Are You Pregnant Or Going Through A High Risk Pregnancy,,lets Talk by subsonic(f): 2:39pm On Aug 27, 2019
Hi mommies, I am 40W5D today, I had a membrane sweep/strip done yesterday by my doctor (used gloved fingers to massage my cervix with the hope of inducing labour- it was very painful).

Afterward I felt cramps in my lower abdomen and also noticed blood stained mucus like discharge. He said if I do not go into labour within 72hours of the sweep, then it didn't work.

Who has had this done before and how effective is it in inducing labour.
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by subsonic(f): 2:37pm On Aug 27, 2019
Hi mommies, I am 40W5D today, I had a membrane sweep/strip done yesterday by my doctor (used gloved fingers to massage my cervix with the hope of inducing labour- it was very painful).

Who has had this done before and how effective is it in inducing labour.
Health / Re: Doctor In The House:Obstetrics And Gynecology by subsonic(f): 12:07pm On Aug 27, 2019
Hi docs, I am 40W5D today, I had a membrane sweep/strip done yesterday by my doctor

Afterward I felt cramps in my lower abdomen and also noticed blood stained mucus like discharge. he said if I do not go into labour within 72hours of the sweep, then it didn't work.

How effective is it in inducing labour. Also I am Rh Negative, hope I don't have to worry about bloody mucus causing sensitization.
Health / Re: Doctor In The House:Obstetrics And Gynecology by subsonic(f): 1:18am On Aug 20, 2019
DBestDoc:

Yes Vaginal bleeding from any cause , Trauma of any kind to your abdomen that could have led to occult or frank bleeding after the indirect coombs was done.

But you should chill though. No cause for worries.

Ok. Thanks a lot.
Health / Re: Pregnancy Are You Pregnant Or Going Through A High Risk Pregnancy,,lets Talk by subsonic(f): 1:02am On Aug 15, 2019
tutulicious:

Duty calls.

The doctor told me the ward to go to and I went there and informed the nurses so I could get a bed space and I was asked all the questions in this world believe me I was not in the mood of talking I just want sleep but I answer all the questions, I didn't have my card because it was with dh who took my phone and went to God know where I was looking silly.

They finally gave me a bed space and took turns in coming to ask me who asked me to come to the ward. At this point I just want to cry and I asked the nurses if the ward was a fancy hotel that anyone would leave the comfort of their house to come and sleep. I decided to go outside until the doctor came as I turned to leave the doctor came in with another doctor. Nah that time the nurses free me phew.

The doctor advice the test result shows baby's heat rate is low plus my weakly positive ICT, the consultant told me best option nah CS. OK lemme tell dh, took a while before he came nah so we start deliberation he insisted no CS, I no fit drag with man now abeg. OK let's meet the doctor to advice and at the time the consultant was not there, she was sitting on the fence oh. She said both is good chances are 50/50 i no come know weitin to do again i just told dh to call the pastor and tell him. ( we have been having lots of revelation and has been praying for safe delivery). Pastor said do CS I just they thank God as no evil report go happen I no fit hear say baby didn't make it due to stressful labour cut me open comot the picking abeg jejely.

Na so we take do CS oh, the emergency was such that the doctor said baby has to come out today oh the haste was too much, the doctor come tell dh say even if we choose to be induced we go still land for CS as pikin no fit do labour.

At 12:09am 20/03/18 my tall, fair, rich, handsome, holy Ghost filled son was delivered weighing 2.9kg. rhesus positive. He cried weakly. However he was good.

After birth another drama this time it was my Anty she said I didn't tell her I was in labour therefore she no go come hospital can you imagine after safe delivery baby, mother and father is fine no one to help oh Nah so I just they cry oh Nah only her we call say we dey hospital and on emergency CS oh she no send me. everything has been sorted out sha.

I Thank God Almighty for His power shown in my pregnancy.

I thank all members of this forum where I learnt a lot of things even though I posted very little thanks to my Job, also maybe I would have lost this baby as I almost eat pepper soup and agidi as that's only wat I want when I was about 6 weeks, until a mama although she lost her lo reported she had miscarriage and was not sure why and she state she took pepper soup and swallow a day before, believe me my pepper soup and agidi was waiting for me since the night before would have eaten it save for the fact that dh brought rice that night and I was warming up to go and eat my meal before I read it on this forum.

I would like to advice all mothers; please if you are rhesus negative don't joke with it, OK? please do ICT test early I did at 28 and 36 weeks insist on knowing the test result as soon as possible. In my case who knows what would have happened if I waited one more week like the doctor asked me to.

Also follow your instinct, if your spirit say something is wrong follow up, even when Dr. says otherwise seek different opinions of drs./ hospital of course its your pregnancy even your dh can only feel concern he does not wear the shoe.

Right now my son is so attracted/has a bond to/with his father am jealous, maybe because it took almost 12 hours before I held him and his father was first to hold him sad

cc. Patking ma BS submitted, April mama port to March.

Ma you did so wonderful well plus you are so organised and people oriented and social media guru. God bless you ma.

And every April mama and other mama safe delivery to you all.

And because its our month God will grace all deliveries with His presence In Jesus Name.

Did you have any case of vaginal bleeding in the case of your pregnancy. I am wondering what could cause a mother to be sensitized before delivery
Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by subsonic(f): 12:22am On Aug 15, 2019
SlimBrawnie:

I confirmed my Blood group at about 25-30weeks... I immediately asked them if I'm going to take a shot at that point and another at delivery like I've read online, they said I'm going to be fine and will only need one shot immediately after I put to birth.

Oh... nice. I was told the same too. It was later I read online about the week 28 shot.

Health / Re: NEW BORN BABIES! Are U A New Mum? Then Lets Discuss Babies Here!!!!! by subsonic(f): 6:49pm On Aug 14, 2019
SlimBrawnie:

Hian, her own is better, the monitoring spirits I have around me won't let me eat n drink what I like grin, they say I should drink only hot things, even my malt is warmed before drinking, I shouldn't take milk, I shouldn't eat strong food.. This n that. Anyway I bless God. I had my Rhogam shot about 30mins after I came out from the theatre. God bless your family. Cheers

Please, did you get a RhoGAM shot at week 28 too or just after delivery.
Health / Re: Pregnancy Are You Pregnant Or Going Through A High Risk Pregnancy,,lets Talk by subsonic(f): 4:57pm On Aug 14, 2019
ffafolayan:

From what I learnt in my own hospital, RhoGAM is meant to be taken by you not more than 72hours after delivery. I didn’t know about taking its vaccine on week 28. The injection (to be taken after delivery) is for subsequent pregnancies though.

Why don’t you ask your gynecologist/doctor if you have doubts. At least, there is no harm in asking questions, the worst is that they won’t answer you and you are entitled to asking question since you are paying for the service.

As for me, I believe your baby is very fine, and the future ones too are excellent. Don’t work yourself out on what you have no control over.

hunniesuzie:
Oliran can you help? Can't remember other RH -ve mamas. Please also search the thread for help till someone in the know responds. Most of these things have been discussed before

Oliran:

Sorry I just came online, I didn't take Rhogam at 28weeks.
I only took it after delivery and since you tested negative at 36 weeks, there shouldn't be any problem.
Cc subsonic

Debclem:

Since your coombs test is negative, that means you are not sensitized and might not need the 28 wks shot.
The articles online will most likely point you to take a shot as 28wks as it is the norm in America but our gyneas here don't share same opinion.

I took the 28wks RhoGAM shot in my first pregnancy simply because i had a spotting incident, my gyne adviced I take the shot to avoid possible sensitization.
I also took within 72hrs after delivery.

My subsequent pregnancy, I only took within 72hrs after delivery as I didn't have any spotting issues, I don't also intend to take at 28wks of this pregnancy until after delivery.

I also know 2 other rhesus negative mommas that has only been taking RhoGAM within 72hrs after deliveries without ever taking the 28wk shot as they didn't have any possible incident of sensitization and they haven't had a single issue about that.

amorprincesa:

Dont be worried. Since ICT is negative. My first pregnancy I didn't take it at 28weeks and even after delivery cos baby turned out to be negative too. My second I didn't take it at 28weeks cos I didn't have bleeding issues. I took it 12hours after delivery only.

divinemandate:

I didnt take it @ 28 weeks.I took mine after delivery. delivered 10pm on Tuesday while I took the vaccine before 12pm on Wednesday. also did the ICT and everything came out fine. My baby is doing great.
your baby is fine nothing to fear about.

Thanks mummies for your reassurances. You guys are amazing!!! kiss kiss kiss

Health / Re: Doctor In The House:Obstetrics And Gynecology by subsonic(f): 4:01pm On Aug 14, 2019
DBestDoc:

You have nothing to worry about.
Provided your Coombs test came out negative at 36 weeks and you didn't have any major event after then.

If you got the RhoGam shot within 3 days post partum then all is fine.

Thanks doctor for the reassurance.
By "any major event" I assume you mean vaginal bleeding.
Health / Re: Is My Baby Going To Die? by subsonic(f): 9:13pm On Aug 11, 2019
Hi mommies, me and my husband's rhesus factor are not compatible. I am B- , he is A+. Our doctor only booked me for a vaccine (RhoGAM) injection after delivery. I recently read in several articles online that it is recommended to have an RhoGAM vaccine on week 28 of pregnancy (which I didn't) and another after delivery. Now I am a little worried. Hope my baby and future babies will be fine if I just take the vaccine after deliver.

P.S. I took a Indirect Coombs Test (ICT) aka the Indirect Antiglobulin Test or IAT at 36weeks and it come back "Negative"
Health / Re: Pregnancy Are You Pregnant Or Going Through A High Risk Pregnancy,,lets Talk by subsonic(f): 9:12pm On Aug 11, 2019
Hi mommies, me and my husband's rhesus factor are not compatible. I am B- , he is A+. Our doctor only booked me for a vaccine (RhoGAM) injection after delivery. I recently read in several articles online that it is recommended to have an RhoGAM vaccine on week 28 of pregnancy (which I didn't) and another after delivery. Now I am a little worried. Hope my baby and future babies will be fine if I just take the vaccine after deliver.

P.S. I took a Indirect Coombs Test (ICT) at 36weeks and it came back "Negative"
Health / Re: Why 40% Of Pregnancies Ends In Miscarriage- Dr Ede-edokpolor by subsonic(f): 9:10pm On Aug 11, 2019

P.S. I took a Indirect Coombs Test (ICT) aka the Indirect Antiglobulin Test or IAT at 36weeks and it come back "Negative"
Health / Re: Rhesus Factor Negative:enlightment by subsonic(f): 9:07pm On Aug 11, 2019

Health / Re: Doctor in the House: Free Medical Advice Available by subsonic(f): 9:05pm On Aug 11, 2019
Hi Doctors, me and my husband's rhesus factor are not compatible. I am B- , he is A+. Our doctor only booked me for a vaccine (RhoGAM) injection after delivery. I recently read in several articles online that it is recommended to have an RhoGAM vaccine on week 28 of pregnancy (which I didn't) and another after delivery. Now I am a little worried. Hope my baby and future babies will be fine if I just take the vaccine after deliver.

Health / Re: Doctor In The House:Obstetrics And Gynecology by subsonic(f): 8:54pm On Aug 11, 2019
Hi docs, me and my husband's rhesus factor are not compatible. I am B- , he is A+. Our doctor only booked me for a vaccine (RhoGAM) injection after delivery. I recently read in several articles online that it is recommended to have an RhoGAM vaccine on week 28 of pregnancy (which I didn't) and another after delivery. Now I am a little worried. Hope my baby and future babies will be fine if I just take the vaccine after deliver.

Health / Re: Trying To Conceive A Child? TTC by subsonic(f): 8:54pm On Aug 11, 2019

Career / Re: Medical Doctors' Forum: Let Us Know You! by subsonic(f): 8:11pm On Aug 11, 2019
Hi docs, me and my husband's rhesus factor are not compatible. I am B- , he is A+. Our doctor only booked me for a vaccine (RhoGAM) injection after delivery. I recently read in several articles online that it is recommended to have an RhoGAM vaccine on week 28 of pregnancy (which I didn't) and another after delivery. Now I am a little worried. Hope my baby and future babies will be fine if I just take the vaccine after deliver.

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Ncat 2017 Recruitment Oral Screening/ Interview by subsonic(f): 11:39pm On Feb 23, 2019
Fingers crossed

Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Invitation For The Nigerian College Of Aviation Technology (NCAT) Recruitment by subsonic(f): 3:55pm On Nov 02, 2018

(1) (2) (of 2 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 53