Stats: 3,326,967 members, 8,428,838 topics. Date: Thursday, 18 June 2026 at 05:13 AM

Sweetlemon's Posts

Nairaland ForumSweetlemon's ProfileSweetlemon's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 (of 143 pages)

CelebritiesRe: Iyanya Is Cross River State Ambassador(photos) by Sweetlemon(f): 8:41pm On Nov 23, 2015
I thought he was from Akwa-Ibom?
RomanceRe: We Are Engaged, But Im Having Doubts, Pls I Need Your Advice by Sweetlemon(f): 1:33pm On Nov 12, 2015
CaroLyner:
put yourself in her position.i bet you wont be thinking that way
Sure I have! And ain't no way no nigga's gonna marry me out of pity!
Lord have mercy! What have we done to our self-worths?

How will a lady be changing religion for a man she's not YET married to? Say wetin happen nau? You don't make such "sacrifices" to someone you're not yet married to. We ladies need to learn how to love with dignity. By all means love your boyfriends but don't give him your all until he has paid your bride price in full and you have fixed a date for your court or church wedding.

That grl was desperate to hook the OP. She wasn't making sacrifices or being a good girl. She was desperate. Simple! The OP's fault here is that he shouldn't have kept dragging her along till now. He's always known he's just not that into her but he kept pitying and pitying until he started pitying himself.
RomanceRe: We Are Engaged, But Im Having Doubts, Pls I Need Your Advice by Sweetlemon(f): 12:58pm On Nov 12, 2015
CaroLyner:
his heart better be leading him towards marriage with the girl.
Because you're going to be the 3rd party in that marriage ko?
Why are Nigerians like this mbok? Somebody says he's marrying someone out of pity and you still encourage him to go ahead with it because the girl's existence revolves around him??

Geez!
RomanceRe: We Are Engaged, But Im Having Doubts, Pls I Need Your Advice by Sweetlemon(f): 11:36am On Nov 12, 2015
eroticboy:
My friend a lot of men have found themselves in the situation you are in......

some have gone ahead adapted and tried to find joy in their marriages......
some are seeing hell in their marriages....
some have gone ahead and divorced......
some have had and are running numerous affairs etc......

the first thing in any relationship ,contract , business or whatever it is that binds two or more human beings together is the consummation of self interest.....

any relationship that does not serve your interest IS NOT i repeat IS NOT IN YOUR BEST INTEREST

before a man or woman gets married, their decisions and whatever they do will should be them. you will always have alternative options and can always backtrack on a decision relatively easily.
at that point you have a choice on what you want, how you want it and when you want it.
when you get married to someone you lose that freedom of choice and cannot pivot on your choices so easily.

Once a marriage contract is signed, you at that point have signed away your freedom and power. you have lost automatically your ability to make decisions which are based strictly on the premise of your own personal self interest.

Marrying a woman means you have decided to take personal responsibility for her, it means you have signed away your rights to make decisions based on your self interest. it means you accepted her with her faults and good points.

It gets a hundred times harder to backtrack on a bad decision at that point.

it means when you have decided to base all your future decisions not on your self interest but in the interest of your family.
Any and every decision you will take after marriage will have serious and long term consequences on your family, her family and your future generations.

if at this point of reading this, you are becoming alarmed at what you are reading, then you should really reconsider the decision whether to go ahead or not.

the decision to marry anyone MUST and I repeat it very boldly MUST BE BASED ON YOUR OWN SELFISH CAREFULLY THOUGHT OUT INTEREST. Please note the word CAREFULLY THOUGHT OUT . you need to know what you want in a woman and be sure its the best thing for you.

You don't need to serve any other person's interest and this is inclusive of any woman you want to marry, your father your mother or anyother person's needs. Trust me any and every woman who wants to marry or get married is doing so on the basis of self interest. You dont owe nobody a thing.
You came into this world alone and by God you are goin out the same way......

Forget all these pity party and what anyone tells you.
Forget the "you used her and want to discard her" bullshit accusations anyone wants to pin on you
Forget the "She has done a lot for me so i owe her" bullshit emotional blackmail
Forget it all
IT BELONGS TO THE DOMAIN OF EMOTIONAL MANIPULATORS AND WEAK PEOPLE WHO DONT HAVE ANYTHING TO OFFER YOU
You don't owe anybody Jack Shiiiiit but yourself.

If what you have is not meeting your standards{whether it be fickle things like beauty or money}, then it is important for you to decide to do the right thing based on your OWN SELFISH INTEREST

Please spend some time alone away from everyone and clearly define what you want for yourself.
If you are a religious, you should spend time with your God seeking for guidance but you do need to do the above alone.

When you are clear on what you want out of life. Go after it, if what you have isn't what you want cut it out of your life immediately.
if what you have is what you want thenby all means do go after it.

PLEASE NEVER COMPROMISE ON THE STANDARDS WHICH YOU HAVE THE ABILITY TO SET AND MAKE A REALITY FOR YOURSELF
you have only only one life. you owe your future the best possible decision you can make for it to come true....
cheers
This is brutal, wicked, but it's the truth.
OP, forget emotional blackmail, follow your own damn heart cos it's your own life.
PoliticsRe: Amaechi Pledges To Complete Ongoing Rail Projects, Calls For Cooperation by Sweetlemon(f): 8:25pm On Nov 11, 2015
Wow! Healthy competition!
I forsee Amaechi and Fashola struggling to impress Baba. Gosh! I'm soooooo proud of myself for being part of this change. grin
PoliticsRe: Rotimi Amaechi Gets Minister Of Transport by Sweetlemon(f): 3:38pm On Nov 11, 2015
Demdem:

They are bad loosers. These fools are yet to recover from Jonah-daft loss spearheaded by the General of common sense revolution. grin
Na dem sabi. Don't take paraceutamol for their self-inflicted headache. But you can keep supplying the hankerchiefs for their tears.
PoliticsRe: Rotimi Amaechi Gets Minister Of Transport by Sweetlemon(f): 3:25pm On Nov 11, 2015
Demdem:

There is a Minister of state for Aviation, is there a ministry for aviation in this dispensation? If there is none, then which ministry will the Minister of state of Aviation operate from? Aso ministry?
This is no brainer, please apply ur brain well.
Leave these people alone. They're trying hard to hang on to something to prevent them from committing suicide. Please allow them, for now........... Until they see news of Amaechi remodelling airports.
PoliticsRe: Rotimi Amaechi Gets Minister Of Transport by Sweetlemon(f): 12:57pm On Nov 11, 2015
adioolayi:
Fashola the Engine room...
Ameachi ..Transportation.. not bad ..it includes Aviation, Railway, Maritime and other transport sector..wow..It's expansive too...God help this guys to bringing about real CHANGE!
Don't mind the wailers. In the sick hateful minds, transportation is limited to public buses.
Aviation, Railway? Maritime? That's a pretty heavy portfolio!
FamilyRe: Things That Bring About Failure In Today's Marriage. by Sweetlemon(f): 9:22pm On Nov 07, 2015
This sex thing is overrated.

I could sleep with a guy and feel nothing whatsoever for him afterwards. In fact, if I sleep with a guy I'm not crazy about, I get bored outta my mind afterwards.
I have sex because I love the guy. Not the other way round.
PoliticsRe: Tribunal Sacks Darius Ishaku, Declares Aisha Jumai Alhassan‎ Winner by Sweetlemon(f): 6:48pm On Nov 07, 2015
Kastonkastroll:
wow Apc have made history. First democratic elected female governor of Nigeria.. oliseh metuh how far? cheesy
This is not the first time they're making history nau. They're the first to oust a sitting President remember?

APC been making history since 1900.....
PoliticsRe: Biafrans' One Million Man Match - Pictures From Yenegoa by Sweetlemon(f): 11:18am On Nov 07, 2015
shota:
I am tired of responding to Igbo people on Niger Delta issues..
Why do you think I'm no longer very active here? These people are a royal pain in the ass!
PoliticsRe: Biafrans' One Million Man Match - Pictures From Yenegoa by Sweetlemon(f): 11:15am On Nov 07, 2015
I can bet with anything that these are Igbo boys in living in Yenegoa. Why hasn't any ND group openly come out to support it?
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 10:56pm On Nov 02, 2015
TheSonOfMark:

You mean your copy-and-paste half-truths from redundant website is a documentation of our history? Who are you to document our history when we've already done so?

The europeans first made contact with us before you in the hinterland. Heck! We've had our history documented CENTURIES ago while you lots are still confused and linking yourselves delusionally to ISRAEL.

Post links to the earliest documentation of your people let's see who should document who.

Such irking, blatant display of arrogant pseudo-intelligence!
Chai!
Chei!
DiarisGodooooo
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 10:37pm On Nov 02, 2015
christemmbassey:
I tot u claimed urs was a rerearch on our language, how come u can't tell which language it is? Bros accept ur wiki copy n paste stop decieving urself, u did no term paper, talkless of a research.
cheesy cheesy grin grin cheesy cheesy

I like the way you are grilling his asss. If the guy can just accept that he was wrong we wouldn't have gone this hard on him. Yet see what he's still spewing out of his mouth here.
fratermathy:
I've learnt my lessons sir. Some people do not appreciate their ethnicity being documented by anyone other than themselves and yet they haven't done so until this moment. smiley
Once again, thanks for being a rational fellow.
smh
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 10:01pm On Nov 02, 2015
Freemanan:
Funny how you attack the Op rather than issues raised.... He stated facts based on research and findings. Best you could do is ask for his sources!

You are from Ibom doesn't give you the locus to the monopoly of knowledge about it's culture.... I know the history and historiography of Bayelsa than most Bayelsans I have met..

So chill love! And discuss! Not attacking his person...
We are attacking him because he has totally refused to take correction which is getting more and more annoying. Personally I came into this thread lightly but I have been growing angrier because oga OP is just NOT getting things into his skull. Calling us Ibibios or Efiks or Annangs, etc is like calling all Yorubas Ijebus and all Igbos Arochukwus. It's a big blow to our heritage pride and it's a sensitive issue. Why are you guys no just getting the point?
I give up! Geez!
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:48pm On Nov 02, 2015
anangboy:
This statement affirms Ibibio language as the progenitor which actually goes against recorded evidence. Efik was one of the earliest Nigerian languages,with the original orthography devised in 1812, by King Eyo Nsa Honesty. In 1860, it was one of the first three Nigerian languages to be codified with its own orthography and grammar.

Give it a rest. It's almost a catch-22.
Like seriously! The guy is beginning to make me feel he has mental issues. How can he be arguing with the indegenes ourselves about our own heritagehuh
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:40pm On Nov 02, 2015
TheSonOfMark:

Aha! I knew with a little push I'd elucidate that suppressed prejudice.

We Akwaibomites recognize our differences which in itself breeds relative respect.

You want to insult Akwaibomites?

Hinting about respect: Why do the people of Enugu and Anambra discriminate against Abakilikis?wink
Why are the Mbaise people treated with disdain?
Why are Ngwa people always ridiculed?

Need I go on? You Igbos HATE YOURSELVES!
Sosong o!
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:32pm On Nov 02, 2015
fratermathy:
The question is simple aunty.

What SHOULD WE STRANGERS AND LOVERS CALL YOU? No one has said anything on this and yet you are quick to attack other names. You'd prefer we call you all CALABAR PEOPLE?
There is no name for now. Just call us AkwaCross. I won't mind "Calabar people" though but some strong headed ones may not.
Calabar was our base and Efik is our most widely spoken language so I guess the name 'Calabar' is fair enough. But stick to AkwaCross for now to avoid complications.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:24pm On Nov 02, 2015
excel234:
You guys should come together as one people. If you see how diverse Igbo language is yet they identify as one people. When I traveled to Afikpo, I couldn't understand them, including some parts of Enugu. Yet we all identify as Igbo and work as one. Once there are general similarity, no need for division. Get yourselves together.
You are not getting the point. No one disputes the fact that we are indeed from the same lineage. We eat EXACTLY the same food, we have similar words and phrases in our dialects, etc. BUT we do not have an umbrella name like you Igbos. Calling all of us Ibibios or Efiks or Annangs is like calling all Igbos Arochukwus. How would you like thathuh That's the point we are trying to drive into some skulls here.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:07pm On Nov 02, 2015
fratermathy:
Then the term I used should be faulted. What I hate is people insulting my person. I never expected it from this people at all, I swear.
Because you committed sacrilege dammit! Take correction and take this dumb asss thread down!
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 9:04pm On Nov 02, 2015
fratermathy:
Yes that's true sire. However, in this case you know that these people are not only lingustically similar smiley. However my argument stands still upon linguistics which is my Forte. These tribes are of the same linguistic cluster. Do you disagree?
Now you are talking. This is how you should have put it from the begining. We are similar, in fact we are a group. BUT we don't have an umbrella name that unifies us as a people like the way Igbos, Yorubas and Hausas do. So we are NOT Ibibios.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:55pm On Nov 02, 2015
fratermathy:
I talked to people and read books. I talked to scholars on Ibibio /Efik studies at the University of Uyo. They all agree that Efik/Ibibio are members of the Akwacross linguistic cluster of which Ibibio is the proto language.
You talked to NOBODY! You just went to google cos you were in a hurry to make FP. Take correction, take this very insulting and misinformative thread down and do a better homework.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:52pm On Nov 02, 2015
kmariko:
Exactly my point, relying solely on Google without mutual interaction with the subjects lends to unmitigated errors though unintended is seen by the subjects as insults. Wanna write about someone ..talk to them first
Simple! You can't rely on google for sensitive stuff like this concerning people's heritage. It's very sensitive. Go out and speak to the people themselves to understand better.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:47pm On Nov 02, 2015
Efik is the most widely spoken and understood language in Akwa/Cross. Not Ibibio. Among all the Akwa/Cross languages, Oron is the most distinct. In fact, listening to Oron people talk can be very tasking! Lol.
However all the languages have similar words and phrases such as
mbok
Abasi
Sosong
di
mmong
kprupkru
ufok uwed
ufok Abasi
Ikot
and many more.
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:36pm On Nov 02, 2015
xreal:
That's one bad thing about this computer age - copy and paste [s] anything they come across on the internet [/s].
Soooooo annoying! What stops them from doing a lil research before creating threads?
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:34pm On Nov 02, 2015
fratermathy:
I am very surprised seeing this. I've always thought these people are the most non-tribalistic lot in Nigeria until I created this thread. I am so amazed that some people are here causing unneccesary tensions. If I haven't stayed and seen these people myself, I would have judged most of them hastily based on this thread.

So, I will crave your indulgence to ignore the few bringing down their people and spoiling their image here. Ibibios and Efiks are GOOD people and even though some have attacked and insulted me on this thread here, I still love them and would still say they are the least-tribalistic lot in the Niger-Delta. I hope the divergent few can change their ways.
Where you went wrong was calling all of us Ibibios. We are NOT ibibios mbok. Yes we are related, yes we are family, yes we are under one umbrella. Just that we don't have any umbrella name like the Yorubas, Igbos, Hausaa call themselves. Calling all of us Ibibios is like calling all Yorubas Ijebus. That's sacrilege!
So you understand what I'm trying to say now huh?
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:29pm On Nov 02, 2015
[quote author=AkwaIbomrep1 post=39620573][/quote]Thunder fire you!
CultureRe: The Dialects Of Ibibio And Where They Are Spoken by Sweetlemon(f): 8:27pm On Nov 02, 2015
speedyGonzales:
Annang is not Ibibio... Quit calling Annang Ibibio!!!

while all akwa ibom languages are certainly similar, they all originated from Efik, therefore, we all speak variations of Efik not Ibibio! bullsh*t, Eket is the only other dialect that's really like ibibio but oron is every different.
The creator of this thread is def NOT from Akwa-Ibom/Cross river.

I just hate the way false knowledge is being spread about on this forum. That was how someone said that there are Igbo tribes in Akwa/Cross and the dumb thread made FP. I was like WTF!
FashionRe: MBGA Releases Contestants Traditional Outfits (Photos) by Sweetlemon(f): 2:03pm On Oct 31, 2015
Zamfara, Kogi and Anambra are the only eye catching ones there
PoliticsRe: Crowd Welcome Umana Umana To Uyo Today (Photos) by Sweetlemon(f): 12:03am On Oct 25, 2015
Trueyarn:
Your name should have been Linus or maybe Elijah...
...they have never been sympathetic to APC and will never be!!!
Go and die!
Lol! You're obviously not from those areas as you would have said "we" so you go and die.
PoliticsRe: Crowd Welcome Umana Umana To Uyo Today (Photos) by Sweetlemon(f): 11:26pm On Oct 24, 2015
ocelot2006:
I dont thijk so. Udom already holds a ridiculously large lead ahead of UOU in the 13 LGAs cleared and merely requires 4 LGAs to win. UOU on the other hand needs to win all 18 LGAs and tally over 500k votes. To make matters worse of UOU, a majority of the LGAs listed for the rerun are STAUNCH Udom/PDP strongholds. Only five (5) are undecided. So please do tell me how PDP will have a hard time. Frankly its just a waste of time, and this so called celebration is quite funny.
I hope you know that Oron, Eket, Okobo areas are sympathetic to APC?
FashionRe: Unoaku Anyadike Wins Most Beautiful Girl In Nigeria Pageant 2015 by Sweetlemon(f): 11:05pm On Oct 24, 2015
TellingItAsItIs:
Finally a dark skinned beauty queen.
what Nigerians and Africans in general don't understand is that the standard of "African beauty" by the whites is a dark skinned beautiful woman,they keep on sending all the whitish looking "Africans" to the miss world stage failing to understand that there are alot of beautiful white women already.
They need someone that represents African beauty and miss anambra is just that.
I see another agbani in her
I get your point but they should present prettier dark girls. Not just any one. And pls don't compare her with Agbani abeg! Mtcheeeeew.

This whole show is becoming crappy. Hardly do you find any unusually pretty faces these days. Even the light skinned girls are just fair for nothing. You can't compare that Miss Ebonyi to Munachi, Adaeze Igwe, Anna Banner dem. That Iheoma Nnadi is as plain as and as flat as a plank! Lord have mercy! Silverbird should better sit up next year and go into schools to search for girls themselves since the real pretty ones are no longer coming out.
I was sooo bored today!

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 (of 143 pages)