Stats: 3,330,677 members, 8,446,584 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 July 2026 at 06:36 PM

Woky's Posts

Nairaland ForumWoky's ProfileWoky's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 (of 105 pages)

Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 4:20pm On Nov 18, 2013
mavister: The person who makes me laugh the most on here is woky. He hasnt said any meaningful thing here. He's just following the catholic train without ticket.woky, where is the book of ezra found in d bible?
hahahahahahaha laff wan tearr my belle here o!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 4:20pm On Nov 18, 2013
mavister: The person who makes me laugh the most on here is woky. He hasnt said any meaningful thing here. He's just following the catholic train without ticket.woky, where is the book of ezra found in d bible?
hahahahahahaha laff wan tearr my belle here o!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 3:54pm On Nov 18, 2013
mavister: thanks for attempting the questions. Let me clarify you
The Bible is absolutely clear that we are to worship God alone. The only instances of anyone other than God receiving worship in the Bible are false gods, which are Satan and his demons. All followers of the Lord God refuse worship. Peter and the apostles refused to be worshipped ( Acts 10:25-26; 14:13-14). The holy angels refuse to be worshipped ( Revelation 19:10; 22:9). The response is always the same, "Worship God!"
Roman Catholics attempt to "bypass" these clear Scriptural principles by claiming they do not “worship” Mary or saints, but rather that they only "venerate" Mary and the saints. Using a different word does not change the essence of what is being done. A definition of "venerate" is "to regard with respect or reverence." Nowhere in the Bible are we told to revere anyone but God alone. There is nothing wrong with respecting those faithful Christians who have gone before us (see Hebrews chapter 11). There is nothing wrong with honoring Mary as the earthly mother of Jesus. The Bible describes Mary as "highly favored" by God ( Luke 1:28). At the same time, there is no instruction in the Bible to revere those whom have gone to Heaven. We are to follow their example, yes, but worship, revere, or venerate, no!
When forced to admit that they do, in fact, worship Mary, Catholics will claim that they worship God through her, by praising the wonderful creation that God has made. Mary, in their minds, is the most beautiful and wonderful creation of God, and by praising her, they are praising her Creator. For Catholics, this is analogous to directing praise to an artist by praising his sculpture or painting. The problem with this is that God explicitly commands against worshipping Him through created things. We are not to bow down and worship anything in the form of heaven above or earth below ( Exodus 20:4-5). Romans 1:25could not be more clear, "They exchanged the truth of God for a lie, and worshiped and served created things rather than the Creator — who is forever praised. Amen." Yes, God has created wonderful and amazing things. Yes, Mary was a godly woman who is worthy of our respect. No, we absolutely are not to worship God "vicariously" by praising things (or people) He has created. Doing so is blatant idolatry.
The major way Catholics "venerate" Mary and the saints is by praying to them. As the following article demonstrates, prayer to anyone other than God alone is anti-Biblical – praying to saints and Mary. Whether Mary and/or the saints are prayed to, or whether they are petitioned for their prayers – neither practice is Biblical. Prayer is an act of worship. When we pray to God, we are admitting that we need His help. Directing our prayers to anyone other than God is robbing God of the glory that is His alone.
Another way Catholics "venerate" Mary and the saints is by creating statues and images of them. Many Catholics use images of Mary and/or the saints as "good luck charms." Any cursory reading of the Bible will reveal this practice as blatant idolatry ( Exodus 20:4-6; 1 Corinthians 12:1-2; 1 John 5:21). Rubbing rosary beads is idolatry. Lighting candles before a statue or portrayal of a saint is idolatry. Burying a Joseph statue in hopes of selling your home (and countless other Catholic practices) is idolatry.
The terminology is not the issue. Whether the practice is described as "worship" or "veneration," or any other term, the problem is the same. Any time we ascribe something that belongs to God, to someone else, it is idolatry. The Bible nowhere instructs us to revere, pray to, rely on, or "idolize" anyone other than God. We are to worship God alone. Glory, praise, and honor belong to God alone. Only God is worthy to "...receive glory and honor and power..." ( Revelation 4:11). God alone is worthy to receive our worship, adoration, and praise ( Nehemiah 9:6; Revelation 15:4).
^^^

*tedious*
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 1:15pm On Nov 18, 2013
unongu: CERTAIN FACTS ABOUT THE CATHOLIC CHURCH:
1. The Catholic Church gave us the Gregorian calendar which we all use today.
2. The Catholic Church gave us the date for Easter.
3. The Catholic Church gave us the date for Christmas which means Christ-Mass.

The remains of all of the Apostles are in Catholic Churches, and so are all of the Gospel writers. Note! Some relics are divided between Catholic Churches:
St. Peter is in St. Peter's Basilica in Rome.
St. Paul is in St. Paul's Church in Rome.
St. Matthew is in the Cathedral of St. Matthew in Messina, Sicily.
St. James the Greater is in St. James Church in Compostela Spain.
St. James the Less (the Just) is in the Basilica of the Holy Apostles in Rome.
St. Bartholomew is in St. Bartholomew-in-the-island Church in Rome.
St. Andrew is in the Cathedral of Amalfi in Italy.
St. Philip is in the Church of the Dodici Apostoli in Rome, Basilica of the Holy Apostles.
St. Simon is in the Vatican, under the Altar of the Crucifixion.
St. Jude is in St. Peter's Basilica in Rome.
St. Thomas is in the Cathedral of Saint Thomas in Mylapore, India.
St. Matthias is in St. Matthews Abbey in Trier Germany, and in St. Mary Major Basilica in Rome.
St. John is in the ruins of the Basilica of St. John in Ephesus Turkey.

"You are built upon the foundation of the Apostles and Prophets with Jesus Christ Himself as the Chief Corner Stone." Ephesians 2:20.
Even though he was not an Apostle, he did write the Gospel of Mark. St. Mark is in St. Mark's Church in Venice, Italy.
Even though he was not an Apostle, he did write the Gospel of Luke. St. Luke is in the Basilica of Santa Giustina in Padua, Italy.
The first Christian Martyr. Acts 7:60 St. Stephen is in Rome in the Basilica of St. Lawrence Outside the Walls.
The first person to arrive at the tomb of the Risen Christ. John 20:1 St. Mary Magdalene is in the Basilica of St. Maximin in Villalata, France.
He produced the first Bible containing both the Old and New Testaments, the Latin Vulgate. St. Jerome is in St. Mary Major Basilica in Rome.

We know from the many authentic Relics that the Catholic Church has a lot in its possession. Among them are:
1. The Relic of the True Cross on which Jesus Christ was crucified. John 19:17-18
2. The "INRI" inscription from the True Cross, called "Titulus Crucis". John 19-19
3. The Nails which held Jesus to the cross. John 20:25
4. The Lance Point of Saint Longinus which pierced the side of Jesus. John 19:34
5. The Crown of Thorns and the individual thorns from it. John 19:2
6. The Table used at the Last Supper is in St. John Lateran Basilica in Rome. Matthew 26:20
7. The Scala Santa, the steps which Jesus Christ ascended on His way to meet Pontius Pilate.
8. The Chains of Saint Peter, in the Church of St. Peter in Chains in Rome. And Many more...

We know from its sheer Size and Rapid Growth, with over 1,057,000,000* (one billion, fifty-seven million) members, or one in six of the entire population of the earth, as of February 2000. That is an increase of over 40,000,000 (forty million), since December 1997, more than half of the total membership of the largest single non-Catholic denomination. In 2001, the Catholic Church grew to over 1,070,540,000* members, plus another 216,000,000* Orthodox. Bar none, the Catholic Church is the fastest growing Christian Church in the world. All of the over 36,400 various Non-Catholic denominations, collectively added, total less than the Catholic membership. For those detractors of the Catholic Church who say that numbers are irrelevant, they are in effect, saying that Satan is winning souls and that GOD is losing souls. They are saying that more people are convinced by the lie from the father of lies, John 8:44, than they are convinced of the truth of GOD, John 14:6. They have forgotten, or maybe they never knew, that Satan can only do what GOD allows him to do. ---Victor Ajluni
WOW!
Cnt stop thanking God that am a Catholic!
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 1:11pm On Nov 18, 2013
unongu: Glory to JESUS!!! A very good day to you all. I am happy to be in the midst of the chosen ones (Catholics). I am a staunch Catholic and while going through the religion section of Nairaland, i came across this thread and, boy!, saying that i am happy to key into the thread is an understatement. Abeg make una recognize me. Glory to JESUS!!!
bros we see u!

U ar welcm bro..

Sal.c oya do ur work
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:56pm On Nov 18, 2013
Ukuts gp: everybody have known you to be a very abusive and insultive person. No need toeing ur line.
haba!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:51pm On Nov 18, 2013
try69: Laughter is really food for the soul grin grin

I love this thread grin grin grin grin
sometimes crying or laughing are the only options left, and laughing feels better right now!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:41pm On Nov 18, 2013
mavister: just as you displayed your oh so ''intelligence'' by avoiding and boycotting the questions asked you here.. Now u resort to insulting? I notice something that catholics resort to insults when they cant defend their belief.hahhaha
mtchw!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:33pm On Nov 18, 2013
mavister: this guy is funny. Anyways u are ignored . Perhaps if u can rephrase your questions in pidin english, i'd reconsider and answer.

Catholics..when u catch them here, they jump over there..Hahahaha smiley
catch whohuh

U fit catch airhuh
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:28pm On Nov 18, 2013
try69: Ukuts gp is here cheesy cheesy cheesy cheesy
the clown!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 12:26pm On Nov 18, 2013
Ukuts gp: i like you. Those blind catholic will nt accept these bible verses. They always twist scripture and its true interpretation. Anyway, they know the truth but dnt want to admit it.
must everybody knw dat u ar stupidhuh.. displayin ur ignorance has always bin ur delight..
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 10:36am On Nov 18, 2013
abeg if any of una see chukwudi make una helep me tell am say Woky wan see am here!
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 10:33am On Nov 18, 2013
Richieboyn: Amen. Thanks dear. Emmm, are u the secretary of the thread? cheesy
bros u funny o
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 10:28am On Nov 18, 2013
Mrlouis: what happened in the book of luke 4:3-4. Besides.. U also have the opportunity to answer my questions. Na italo una dey depend on? He hasnt been able to defend y'all why not say somthing for ur self? Heaven na personal race oh.
clown!
Christianity EtcRe: The Christian Chatbox ( sticky) by woky: 10:25am On Nov 18, 2013
Joshthefirst: I just talk to am now. Him dey greet too.
daalu o
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 8:48am On Nov 18, 2013
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 8:43am On Nov 18, 2013
Mrlouis: doing like the master isnt it? Come to think of it. U dint do like the master here
https://www.nairaland.com/1503616/please-there-anything-like-purgatory

u dint do like the master here
http://www.nairaland.com /1506699/jman05-please- defend-jehovahs-witnesses
yet you come here to say u ''want to do like the master'' .u havent answered my questions. And to me i call that cowardice. Doing like the master isnt it? Until i catch u arguing in another thread. U just decieving your self bro. I still await your answers
lolz

you jst remind me of what happend in the book of Luke 4:3-4

you knw very well that italo can answer those questions...
I tink u have some other motive..
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 8:18am On Nov 18, 2013
italo: See elder statesman dey ask permission. grin

Bro...sorry we couldn't communicate through pm...my email was having issues. If its still important, I can open another one so we can talk...

Welcome here
no small elder statesman
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 8:06am On Nov 18, 2013
Richieboyn: Una welldone O. I kw av misd stuff here and i can't even start from d beginning jare. Sal directed me here. I think m happy to be here as a new student to interact and learn new things from my oga dem. emmm..... am I welcome in your midst?
over welcome sef.. Good to have u in our midst bro..

Sal.c pls welcom our bro Richieboyn.
Christianity EtcRe: The Christian Chatbox ( sticky) by woky: 8:01am On Nov 18, 2013
Joshthefirst: him no dey. grin

Good morning everyone.

Today, find a child in need, and show Gods selfless love to him. Give him a gift.
chai.. Whre him go naa.. If u see am helep me tell am say Woky dy grit
Christianity EtcRe: The Christian Chatbox ( sticky) by woky: 6:24am On Nov 18, 2013
Good morning everyone, hope u guys nyt was great

where is joshthefirst.. huh
Christianity EtcRe: The Christian Chatbox ( sticky) by woky: 6:23am On Nov 18, 2013
Good morning everyone, hope u guys nyt was great

where is joshthefirst.. huh
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 6:05am On Nov 18, 2013
Omniscient God, you told your people in proverbs 3:5 to trust in you with all their hearts and never to rely on their own understanding. You said that when we remember you and acknowledge you in all that we do, you wil direct our paths. You also assured us in Isaiah 30:21, that if we wander off the road to left or right, we will hear your voice say to us, "here is the road. Follow it". Show us now the right thing to do and right way to follow, in Jesus name, Amen.
Good mornin to you all.
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 8:34pm On Nov 17, 2013
Ukuts gp: i am out. Nobody should quote me again.
Ijeoma!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 8:33pm On Nov 17, 2013
Syncan: Fear? Italo afraid to defend his faith on NL? This is indeed a first. You really gave my day a comic relief.
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 7:49pm On Nov 17, 2013
Ubenedictus: popes honorius and vigilius. If u are discussing papal infallibility be careful when those names appear.
catholic Guru.

U ar jst good!!.. Tnkx bro
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 7:37pm On Nov 17, 2013
Ukuts gp: it is like u dnt have sense i suppose.
why do u lyk showing ur self.. Mango!!
Christianity EtcRe: @ITALO. Catholics Please Defend Your Doctrines Here by woky: 8:52pm On Nov 16, 2013
Ukuts gp: so if the Op dnt remove ur name, u cant answer the question? Did the name there hv any effect on you? U are funny sha.
u jst wnt him to answer so dat u wil start displaying ur ignorance abi...hmmm
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 7:41pm On Nov 16, 2013
POPE II: thx cool and of course I will stay.

Where is chukwudi
lolz.. Chukwudi neva wan patronise dis thread... Am waitn 4 him, try, hurricanchrist and others..
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 6:53pm On Nov 16, 2013
italo: Anti-spam + bad network.

But I'm good now. Thanks.

Welcome POPE II.
welcm bro
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 6:52pm On Nov 16, 2013
deleted
Christianity EtcRe: A Thread For Catholics by woky: 4:24pm On Nov 16, 2013
Rich4god: Back from divine mercy prayer. We pray that God will grant us our heart desire through Christ our Lord...
amen

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 (of 105 pages)