Stats: 3,152,247 members, 7,815,362 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 11:18 AM

Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market (14355 Views)

Buhari Didn’t Sign Any Loan Deal With China – Presidency / Buhari To Sign Loan Deal With China / Buhari Leaves For S-africa Today To Discuss With China’s President (2) (3) (4)

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Nobody: 4:28pm On Jul 01, 2013
Abagworo: I love Dangote. He keeps tapping our untapped potentials and thereby creating wealth for himself and others. The biggest mistake Yar'Adua made was to refuse him from buying up our refineries.

I dont think its a Yaradua's mistake per say but he succumbed to pressure from selfish fuel importers who resisted the sale to Dangote group... At least one day, Nigeria will stop importing refined fuel just like we have stopped importing cement. Imagine that Dangote controls more than 60% of cement market in Nigeria and he is replicating same in other African countries. China will suffer soon. It shows that one man can make a change just by believing....

Dangote has an abundance mentality and any man with such disposition will make wealth. Am happy his tomato pastery move will enrich poor farmers in the north.

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by scana042: 4:30pm On Jul 01, 2013
A TREE CAN NEVER MAKE A FOREST,a country where over 60% of its population is leaving below a $100 per day. only DANGOTE can not change much. let the Govt give the youth a LIFE.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Nobody: 4:32pm On Jul 01, 2013
Ada Nri1: If Dangote gets the monopoly of this tomato business then poor man is in trouble! Fresh tomato will become a luxury and canned tomatoes, well, let's just say that you'll buy them at any price Dangote puts.
There's enough market, why is this man so greedy as to crave monopoly for all his businesses enterprises.
Competition is good for consumers and I'm interested in what benefits me

Are your hands tied Who says you cant grow tomatoes in your backyard... Abeg, lets support what is good. He is using his talent to benefit himself and poor farmers. What is wrong in that ? ''Find your selling point''... ###In D'prince voice###
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Nobody: 4:34pm On Jul 01, 2013
scana042: A TREE CAN NEVER MAKE A FOREST,a country where over 60% of its population is leaving below a $100 per day. only DANGOTE can not change much. let the Govt give the youth a LIFE.

Keep waiting for govt money... Smh.

Dangote was not a graduate before starting his first business. Even if govt give you N500,000 you go finish am for mouth.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by mekaboy(m): 5:02pm On Jul 01, 2013
okpara ugo:

I dont think its a Yaradua's mistake per say but he succumbed to pressure from selfish fuel importers who resisted the sale to Dangote group... At least one day, Nigeria will stop importing refined fuel just like we have stopped importing cement. Imagine that Dangote controls more than 60% of cement market in Nigeria and he is replicating same in other African countries. China will suffer soon. It shows that one man can make a change just by believing....

Dangote has an abundance mentality and any man with such disposition will make wealth. Am happy his tomato pastery move will enrich poor farmers in the north.

Dangote is not a gud business man, he thrives on monopoly, he is a front for most Nigeria govt looters. He bullied ibeto cement out of business for years with the help of obasanjo who must have a stake in the company.

Is that how business is done? Ban your fellow cement producer from importing raw materials for his plant?

Make him pay thousands of dollars daily for his vessels on the sea which you and the govt wld not allow into the country?

Now if sanusi and was not a northerner and dangote was not a northerner, the north will call this a northern agender project.

How many times has sanusi partnered with. Businessmen in other regions to boost their industry?
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by fkaz(m): 5:05pm On Jul 01, 2013
I think with this, boko haram member need to go into farming of tomatoes
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by DealZnaija: 5:07pm On Jul 01, 2013
1st and foremost, there is nothing to celebrate in a situation where 1 Nigerian is on the Forbes list & 100million others are on the Poverty list. Its a contradiction of grave proportion.
2ndly, all Dangote does is to use govt money to fund his businesses under the guise of helping the economy e.g.

(1)Creation of jobs agreement for which he collected billions of =N= in partnership with BOI
(2)Proposed refinery, also to be funded by govt
(3) This tomato business also to be funded by CBN
The danger to the economy is that after a couple of years, he cashes out by selling to a foreign company and the money provided by govt goes into his pocket through gain. He has already done that with his cement business which he sold a sizeable stake to a South African company, so you can continue to rejoice as your commonwealth is been spirited away by stealth.

What any sane govt should do is provide an enabling environment for industries to thrive & not handpick one or 2 frends of govt. We are all alive and saw how Jumoh Ibrahim and others who collected Airline intervention fund did abracadaba with 39b naira & nobody is holding him responsible for that
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Nobody: 5:09pm On Jul 01, 2013
kcjazz:

How is the poor man in trouble? When you understand how much waste in tomato business then you will know how important this is. By the time tomato is transported for sale from North to South the price quadruples. A basket of tomatoes depending on the season is 700 to 1000, if it survives to the South it sells for 4000 or more.

We produce the capacity we need but waste 900000 tonnes, Dangote will convert the 900000 to paste and create jobs doing that and he is putting poor man in trouble? Abi you dey import tomato paste? undecided
so why is he crying that the chinese are selling tomato paste? Let him produce his own with home grown tomatoes at a higher quality and lower price, if people still patronise the chinese then we'll know smth is wrong.
He wants to sell at any price he wants by eliminating the competition.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Afroconnect: 5:28pm On Jul 01, 2013
PLEASE DANGOTE,I BELIEVE YOU HAVE GOOD INTENTIONS,DO NOT LET ANY SCIENTIST OR SO CALLED EXPERT SELL YOU GM FOODS IDEOLOGY,TELLING YOU IT BOOST YIELDS-THEY ARE BAD,and damage seed quality in the long run.let us keep it Natural,this is our strength.
SAY NO TO GM FOODS-like if you agree,let us save our country and children.
read this report by a chinese blogger
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Mbeki: 5:36pm On Jul 01, 2013
It's a pity the way some of us reason, somebody found a gold mine in tomato paste production, a sector neglected and abandoned by many and you are crying monopoly. Why not form your own group of companies and challenge him, that is if greed and impatient will even allow your company to survive the 1st one year. Some of the people saying is greedy will not consider the employment opportunity he is going to create, If you can't buy the tomatoes he's going to produce, use carrot paste, all are rich in vitamin A. Allow the man be, at least he is not stealing our commonwealth unlike the thieves in government whose only venture is hotels and real estates

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by grandstar(m): 5:51pm On Jul 01, 2013
The government is d one creating this monopoly by banning imports or introducing high tariffs. This is nonsense. It is the protectionism that made him super wealthy and made cement costly. Government should stop banning. He needs to be competitive.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by danny301: 6:18pm On Jul 01, 2013
A-ZeD:
On a side note, the Dangote monopoly is not good for the country.

Did he stop you from investing in the country?
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Nobody: 6:19pm On Jul 01, 2013
Where are the other Nigerians in manufacturing industry? Nigerians should learn to create wealth and make opportunity available to all. This man is taking over all areas and that is not too good for any nation.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by PapaBrowne(m): 8:46pm On Jul 01, 2013
Ada Nri1: If Dangote gets the monopoly of this tomato business then poor man is in trouble! Fresh tomato will become a luxury and canned tomatoes, well, let's just say that you'll buy them at any price Dangote puts.
There's enough market, why is this man so greedy as to crave monopoly for all his businesses enterprises.

Then why don't you go into the business or tell your daddy to go into it and make it a duopoly.
You sit on your laptop complaining about a man who has one head, two hands, two legs just like you and using them to make impact in the way he feels best. Why not make you own impact. You can start with a farm in your village. Apparently, you prefer the chinese keep importing thier tomatoes for us while ours rot at the farms.

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by pazienza(m): 10:53pm On Jul 01, 2013
PapaBrowne:

Then why don't you go into the business or tell your daddy to go into it and make it a duopoly.
You sit on your laptop complaining about a man who has one head, two hands, two legs just like you and using them to make impact in the way he feels best. Why not make you own impact. You can start with a farm in your village. Apparently, you prefer the chinese keep importing thier tomatoes for us while ours rot at the farms.

You are not making any point. As a consumer,i want quality products at cheaper prices. If dangote is not a monopolist that is seeking for a way to exploit nigerian masses,let him produce his own tomato at cheaper price and a quality as good as the chinese and others,if he can do that,the chinese and the rest will naturally run out of business,or forced to lower their prices, it would be a win-win situation for the consumers and the farmers.

But that's not what dangote wants,he wants all competition removed,so that he can kill us with cut throat prices like he is already doing in the cement industry, nonsense!

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by pazienza(m): 10:54pm On Jul 01, 2013
mekaboy:

Dangote is not a gud business man, he thrives on monopoly, he is a front for most Nigeria govt looters. He bullied ibeto cement out of business for years with the help of obasanjo who must have a stake in the company.

Is that how business is done? Ban your fellow cement producer from importing raw materials for his plant?

Make him pay thousands of dollars daily for his vessels on the sea which you and the govt wld not allow into the country?

Now if sanusi and was not a northerner and dangote was not a northerner, the north will call this a northern agender project.

How many times has sanusi partnered with. Businessmen in other regions to boost their industry?

Thank you very much.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by pazienza(m): 10:56pm On Jul 01, 2013
mekaboy:

You are very right, Nigerians are gullible, because they used one aboki on the street as example. We don't know the agreement or technology behind this.

Any company that wants to come into Nigeria will simply go to dangote and he will get them monopoly.

Where will the production plant be? So farmers in other parts of the country will export their tomatoe to the factory up north?

I prefer this paste plant project be managed by the ministry of agriculture, setup the past plant in 4 regions of the country, this will encourage others to go into tomatoe farming and decide if they want to sell to the company for paste or sell fresh.

Creating equal employment opportunity for all regions.

Another sensible post.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by abedoyin: 12:18am On Jul 02, 2013
Dangote did nt plan to monopolise the Tomato market,Read an excerpt from the article. "Dansa Holdings Ltd., a unit of Dangote Group, the
company that accounts for the bulk of Aliko
Dangote’s $19.9 billion wealth, took up the
project after a a failed attempt to get importers
including Olam, Conserveria Africana Ltd. and Chi
Group Ltd. to form a venture. The plant is
expected to start by November and will produce
more than 400,000 tons of tomato paste annually.
Most of its tomatoes will come from farmers in
Kadawa Valley."
Dansa Holdings Ltd., a unit of Dangote Group, the
company that accounts for the bulk of Aliko
Dangote’s $19.9 billion wealth, took up the
project after a a failed attempt to get importers
including Olam, Conserveria Africana Ltd. and Chi
Group Ltd. to form a venture. The plant is
expected to start by November and will produce
more than 400,000 tons of tomato paste annually.
Most of its tomatoes will come from farmers in
Kadawa Valley.

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by IGBOSON1: 12:36am On Jul 02, 2013
Capnd143: DANGOTE!! Would soon wrestle world richest man status from the slim helu and bill gates! Since others have refused to invest in Nigeria, then Mr.Dangote Carry go . .oh!
Am i the only one noticing this guys investment regions? Northern Nigeria, Iraq, pakistan? Hmmm . . I so love Dangote

^^^As per his investment regions in Nigeria: you forgot to add South Western Nigeria (including Edo).
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Crisnite(m): 12:40am On Jul 02, 2013
pazienza:

You are not making any point. As a consumer,i want quality products at cheaper prices. If dangote is not a monopolist that is seeking for a way to exploit nigerian masses,let him produce his own tomato at cheaper price and a quality as good as the chinese and others,if he can do that,the chinese and the rest will naturally run out of business,or forced to lower their prices, it would be a win-win situation for the consumers and the farmers.

But that's not what dangote wants,he wants all competition removed,so that he can kill us with cut throat prices like he is already doing in the cement industry, nonsense!
Dangote hasn't commenced production yet, I wonder how u knew the prices won't be cheaper or that it would be of lesser quality to what the chinese import.......and most of you that are crying foul about the monopolistic nature of Dangote, read the article again especially the part where it says other importers refused to join in formin a venture for producing the paste locally. That should tell you sumtin, it is more in there benefit that we import tomato paste and they don't care about you 'either'.
Monopoly is part of business and also of life.....if u can challenge d monopoly, nobody stops you.

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by trolling(m): 2:19am On Jul 02, 2013
Afro connect: China should be watched closely,they just signed a bill allowing genetic modified foods to be made by Chinese business men and companies for exports.Nigerian governments are selling lands for chinese business men to farm and sell to Nigerians-these greedy business men will use GMO technology for fast yields and quick payback.NAFDAC,Ministry of Agriculture should wake up and stop sleeping.
mark of the beast is coming to fruition,he who controls the seed controls the people,this is why we have Gmo's,so u should know that real food would be eradicated for gmo's consumption n purchase,we can see see that by the killing of bees colony by pesticides created by this gmo companies
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Moralistli(m): 8:16am On Jul 02, 2013
May God continue to bless you our great industrialist.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by stuhporh: 8:23am On Jul 02, 2013

There isnt any monopoly here, he has simply directed any entrepreneur to tap into that market if you have the capacity to start up. Talking of monopoly, would you rather prefer Chinese keep exporting tomatoes into our country while enriching their country? on a serious note, the advantages are more than the disadvantages.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by Daniel058(m): 9:45am On Jul 02, 2013
Then i became tomatoe farmer chikina

Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by abujalapdog(m): 10:15am On Jul 02, 2013
Job opportunity for average jobless nairalander... grin grin
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by tnktosin(m): 11:39am On Jul 02, 2013
I recall T.B Joshua saying this would be a good year for farmers....hmmm true that.
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by baysol: 5:31pm On Jul 02, 2013
eGuerrilla: contd.

Source

Nigeria is slowly manipulated to death by foreigners and our mumutan president and his croonies sidon dey look. What a pity and time dey go and Nigerians take no heed until its too little too late. What a shame?
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by taharqa2: 6:43pm On Jul 02, 2013
baysol:

Nigeria is slowly manipulated to death by foreigners and our mumutan president and his croonies sidon dey look. What a pity and time dey go and Nigerians take no heed until its too little too late. What a shame?
What is this ijiot talking about??
Re: Dangote Vies With China Over Tomato Market by baysol: 2:04pm On Jul 10, 2013
taharqa2: What is this ijiot talking about??
I be like say you dey craze. People like you go begin dey cry when the chips are down . whwether na simple english you no sabi come pay your school fees first yeye person.

Fayose Closing Down Private Schools In Ekiti / Those Calling For My Resignation Are Kids, Ayu To Wike’s Camp / National Grazing Bill Still Active In National Assembly - Vanguard

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 58