Stats: 3,152,112 members, 7,814,902 topics. Date: Wednesday, 01 May 2024 at 10:43 PM

Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? - Computers (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / Computers / Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? (112184 Views)

Does It Really Matter If You Pull A USB Out Before It Safely Ejects? / Hotspot Shield - Will It Really Conceal Your Ip / Starcomms Modem Exchange Program.does It Really Worth It? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (86) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 9:40pm On Oct 12, 2008
@hayprof
ehen---tnx for all d info
i hope wen we try dis izap tin we go dey get good speed like u or more(Amin oh grin grin)
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 11:36am On Oct 13, 2008
uspry1:

I, as moderator, was informed by NL member complaint via "Report to moderator" about too many all dots (.) or commas (,) posts by ohelala that has been distracted this thread.

All dots/commas postings has been removed! Clean them up in order to make NL member happy! grin

Thanks Mod, u can do us more help by removing discriminating posts ohelala made against Hayprof wink
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 1:32pm On Oct 13, 2008
lynxnoon:

@hayprof
ehen---tnx for all d info
i hope when we try this izap tin we go dey get good speed like u or more(Amin oh grin grin)

Mayb ur luck will shine, when its your time! wink
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 1:34pm On Oct 13, 2008
[center]N.B: Some Download rate shots I posted Only appeared in the twinkle of an eye (0.99sec) . .

Don't dream of Getting such speed all the Time. . It's Just Luck! wink[/center]
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 6:50pm On Oct 13, 2008
hayprof:

[center]N.B: Some Download rate shots I posted Only appeared in the twinkle of an eye (0.99sec) . .

Don't dream of Getting such speed all the Time. . It's Just Luck! wink[/center]
eeh no probs------ as long as dere's an average good speed evrytym wink wink
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 7:03pm On Oct 19, 2008
Like today, wen i got a constant speed of 400kb+ how sweety! tongue wink
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 9:35pm On Oct 19, 2008
STARCOMMS IZAP---------hmmmm wink
OSHODI within EVDO coverage lipsrsealed
24hrs for activation lipsrsealed grin grin
hmmmmmmmm
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by KalEl1: 1:48pm On Oct 20, 2008
I recommend Reltel Wireless to anyone that just need to Browse (Not massive downloads)

Their Intenet connection is very Reliable, and u get Incredible speed in the night too*

hmmm, wats ur definition of "incredible speed"? i just got the verizon aircard from their office @ ikeja(oba akran) 2 days ago.   ***its actually free but u need to subscribe before u get the card***

i get about 2kbps average during the day and 5-7kb at night (say 12am-6am).despite getting full reception or 3bars at least.  angry
is it just me or is that the 'normal' speed?  undecided

PS: does anyone know if i can use the verizon aircard to connect to the starcomms izap or mtn 3G or any other network   
getting download speeds of 2kbps on hardware(the aircard) with the capacity/potential of 700kbps can be quite frustrating.  angry
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 9:47pm On Oct 20, 2008
@kal. why u no buy starcomms nah?
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by strontium7(m): 9:59pm On Oct 20, 2008
Izap? its no different from the same old EVDO they were blabbing about.most scenerios often involve people paying for high speed broadband and they painfully end up getting 1x services with download speeds of 2 to 5 kbp/s! which in my own opinion is slower than my 80 year old grandma's ability to cover a 100 meters.i really think u should ask them about their network coverage for braod band b4 chooking ur head inside ooooo!! grin
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 12:28am On Oct 21, 2008
once u r with in d evdo coverage u wil enjoy izap smiley smiley
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 7:22am On Oct 21, 2008
@strontium7. you mean 2KB/s to 5KB/s? pls get the units right.
starcomms 1x is not that bad. it has improved.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by KalEl1: 10:42am On Oct 21, 2008
@kal. why u no buy starcomms nah?

how much did urs cost u? i would be getting mine immediately my subscription to Reltel expires.that is if i find out the card i have wont work with any other network.
please give me a precise figure, seems no one wants to disclose how much it costs.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 11:50pm On Oct 21, 2008
Kal El:

how much did urs cost u? i would be getting mine immediately my subscription to Reltel expires.that is if i find out the card i have wont work with any other network.
please give me a precise figure, seems no one wants to disclose how much it costs.
15k for d card wit 100hrs "free" valid for 30days
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by samir101ng(m): 4:24am On Oct 26, 2008
(on knees with hands raised up to the sky)

To all nairalanders interested in getting a fast connection with no download limit, i am here to give a rounding endorsement and testimony to starcomms izap. I had been quite skeptical about it at first, but after using it and experiencing its speed for the past 2 weeks. i can satisfactorily say that starcomms have kept their promise. I am currently using it at CBN Senior Staff Quaters in Garki 2, Abuja. I get a minimum of 3 EVDO bars and use the Sierra Air Card 580. The speed has been incredible and worth it at N15000 per month. However, a word of caution. Make sure before subsribing that your area is well covered by EVDO signals before you start whining and complaining about poor service. Big thanks and a shoutout go to hayprof, dual core, flyuche, lynxnoon and all my fellow bandwidht guzzling friends on the starcomms network.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by KalEl1: 10:13am On Oct 26, 2008
I get a minimum of 3 EVDO bars and use the Sierra Air Card 580.

@samir

i have a Verizon Aircard PC5740 which i got from Zoom(Reltel).it's capable of speeds "bursting up to 2.4 Mbps on BroadbandAccess, with average download speeds of 400-700 Kbps"(according to the pack) cheesy

do you have any idea if i can use it to connect to Starcomms Izap(or any other ISP)?
i considered MTN but that 3gig stuff. . . . . i mean even on a dial up connection i exceed 3gig a month(downloading prison break episodes overnight grin ), so that doesn't work for me at all.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 1:34pm On Oct 26, 2008
@kal. Your  card is a CDMA modem,  you can't configure it for use on a GSM network: there's no provision for SIM card. Secondly it's technically possible to use it on starcomms, all it would take is to give you  a number, and have your  modem  provisioned. But,  i doubt if the guys at starcomms would want to go through the stress. They would rather make you buy one of their modems.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 1:41pm On Oct 26, 2008
I remember Intercelluar used to configure CDMA handsets for its customer regardless of where you got it.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 4:15pm On Oct 27, 2008
@kal el
men i dont tink starcomms wud allow u to use anoda modem n gess wat? Izap is now 11k (chei i for wait small oh!! lipsrsealed wel dey say awuf dey run bele abi? grin grin)
@et al
to all izap users/intending users----------- men d speed dey ok oh n no hassles wen downloading(just make sure u r in d evdo coverage area)
@samir
notin do u CARRY GO!! grin grin
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 8:00pm On Oct 29, 2008
[center]
flyuche:

@kal. . .They would rather make you buy one of their modems.

WORD!![/center]
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 8:04pm On Oct 29, 2008
[center]Guys post your Longest Download session HERE!

-Lets See who matches up! cool

[/center]
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 8:09pm On Oct 29, 2008
[center]Are you guys aware Starcomms now have Express cards (on EVDo)

See this pic, (taken from the Toyin street office):

[/center]
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 8:11pm On Oct 29, 2008
[center]And what can you say about 1.0plus(+) GB download on EVDo with a bar (network signal) ?

[/center]
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 10:59pm On Oct 29, 2008
@hayprof. my starcomms is not performing up to expectations these days. MTN 3.5G to the rescue.
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 11:01pm On Oct 29, 2008
@hayprof
u don dey show ursef abi? am sure u get 1 chic for starcoms wey dey boost ur rates grin grin
anyhow am sending this post using Izap expres card tnx to u, dualcore n my oda nland/starcom buddies
below is d rate i got now but my highest so far was about 800Kps
no worry i go soon catch u grin grin
hope u dey kampe?
cheers man

Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 12:47am On Oct 30, 2008
flyuche:

@hayprof. my starcomms is not performing up to expectations these days. MTN 3.5G to the rescue.

lol, what happened to ur area? Starcomms moved their coverage!? grin
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by hayprof(m): 12:49am On Oct 30, 2008
@lynx, nothing do you. . Thank God for your life grin
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 9:16pm On Oct 30, 2008
today about 10:57am
[img][/img]

Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 2:42am On Oct 31, 2008
e b like se my starcomms head don correct small.
downloading the latest version of ubuntu8.10 iso file.
with just one signal bar and i am getting this transfer rate without the help of IDM

Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by flyuche(m): 9:14am On Oct 31, 2008
things are looking good

Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 10:03pm On Oct 31, 2008
hmmmmmmmm
maybe i shud also download d ISO file using IDM instead of requesting for it
wit d rates am getting i shud be able to download it on time
( winki tink a good idea is to download large files one at a time wink)
Re: Starcomms Izap - Is It Really Fast As Starcomms Claim? by lynxnoon(m): 10:22pm On Nov 01, 2008
wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink wink
it's just d beginning grin grin grin grin grin grin grin

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) ... (86) (Reply)

How To Change IP To Any Country IP Without Using Software / modify12Am 16/07/10 free Us Proxy And Other,first Come First Serve.go Get Yours / My Laptop Speakers Are Not Working Anymore, Wat Should I Do?

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 38