Stats: 3,152,744 members, 7,817,055 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 01:29 AM

What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? - Politics (8) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? (29647 Views)

Rivers Rerun: APC Member Stabbed By Opposition Party - Graphic Photos / Being An Opposition Party, Not Licence To Abuse Buhari, APC Tells PDP / The Media Is An Opposition Dominated Industry (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Toktee(m): 1:39pm On Sep 02, 2014
yorke1: APC is filled with losers hence the reason for their bitterness. They simply don't have eyes to see anything good. I just love the way our President till 2019 has been ignoring them since 2010.
are you sure or you dnt have anythng to say?

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by kingmekus(m): 1:43pm On Sep 02, 2014
OseghaleEbosele: From the article above it is obvious that the writer doesn't know anything about politics, whether in Nigeria or in other parts of the world. I suggest he should study the situation in USA (Democratic Party vs Republican Party), UK and Australia(Labour Party vs Conservative Party), France (Socialist Party vs Union for a Popular Movement), Germany (Social Democratic Party vs Christian Democratic Union) etc
okay mr know it all kindly tell us what is happening at those places u mentioned!!!
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by ifysimple(f): 1:45pm On Sep 02, 2014
Dont mind the yeye APC
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by zanga420: 1:45pm On Sep 02, 2014
edogirl2: Nigeria without APC or at least an opposition as visible as APC will leave us the people at the intolerable mercy of the nasty party.
YES, we need credible opposition but the one we have presently has not shown better credibility to the ruling party. For instance in football I remembered when Chelsea need a better finisher than Drogba, they bought Torres but didnt prove he's a better finisher than Drogba, then they stuck with Drogba till they get a better finisher in D.Costa. Its similar to our political landscape we need alternative/opposition but apc have not proven to be that, their conducts n vice versa shows that.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Btruth: 1:49pm On Sep 02, 2014
@ OP, whatever, all we need is a change, we are tired of PDP. Let another party come to the helm of power. That is what is call change, and that is exactly what the majority want. It shouldn't be one party running the show continuously now, a bi?
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by comos: 1:52pm On Sep 02, 2014
hensben: can you compare nigeria of now and then, things are getting worse my sister, poor educational system;can you compare education of then and now, high cost of living nkor, many more i cant highlight now...In case you dont, things started getting worse for nigeria since 1999and its getting from worse to worst if i am lying ask elderly man around you nigeria of then and now.
perhaps you are the Lazy types that sit at home expecting FG to provide everything for you.
so far since last year, I have set up two small scale business, and things are really moving fine with me.
especially with the improvement in power sector which has greatly enhance my business.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by egift(m): 1:54pm On Sep 02, 2014
Rijes: They should lead by example.........
What rochas is doing to us in imo is not commendable and u know dat.

Ask anyone who knows, Rochas have done more than all the PDP Governors in Imo State put together.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 1:54pm On Sep 02, 2014
honeric01:

LOL, so the opposition should serve as the watchdog? do you know the meaning of the word "WATCHDOG"? grin grin grin grin grin

What is the job of the Judiciary, pressure group, activist and the Legislators if the opposition to you should be the watchdog?
What did you score in O Level Government?
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by ritux: 1:55pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: I am personally astounded by the developments in this country. The degree of bitterness and intolerance are getting pretty worrisome.

Granted, the government in power has a lot to do to meet the expectation of the electorates that voted it into power. But then we have to draw a line between a constructive opposition and sheer unreasonableness.

In other climes, opposition elements make their mark by complementing the party in power. In other words, they, as a watchdog of government, provide constructive opposition. They praise the government when it makes positive progress and provide constructive criticism when the government falls out of line.

From the foregoing, the opposition duly earn their respect and recognition.
Infact,the opposition conduct themselves as a credible alternative. Put in another way, the opposition demonstrate, by their action, that they be could entrusted to form a broad-based government without jeopardising the common good.

The case of Nigeria is pathetically unfortunate. We have a situation where the major opposition party practically see nothing good in whatever the government does. It is as if the main opposition party viz APC is pre-set willy-nilly to denigrate and disparage all actions of government.

I am constrained to ask whether this tendency is purely an African thing; where you must denigrate and malign your counterpart even when doi so is at the detriment of the common good...

The All Progressives Congress (APC), Nigeria's main opposition party, I believe, has not covered itself in that much glory over the past few days. One would have expected some level of appreciation and commendation for the growing democratic culture in Nigeria as witnessed by the free and fair elections in some states in the past few months.

Instead, all one hears are a cacophony of discordant voices.
Now, I am beginning to comprehend why Julius Nyerere asserted that African culture abhors opposition...

God bless u
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by honeric01(m): 1:56pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: What did you score in O Level Government?

A1, now what did you score? undecided
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Lordlexyy: 1:59pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: You can avail us with your understanding on what an opposition party entails?

Was this how our heroes past like Awo and Azikiwe played opposition that made them national icons?
How else would you expect the opposition to conduct itself better than this? You have a practically no performing party for over 15yrs and you are so insensitive to littered this thread with your rhetoric craps. You will do well to give instances as to how exactly the opposition is heating the polity, cos your comments thus far tends to be going that direction. You must be dishonest to critise the opposition at this time that pdp is out to tear the fabric of our political structure through its corruption tendency and politics of region and religion.

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by egift(m): 1:59pm On Sep 02, 2014
richeso: Ok.. very Nice.. I like this.... Ok. tell me the bad ones..abi no bad one?

Buhari Instituted decree 2 and Decree 4 that was aimed at gaging the Press and Banned street protests. This is his only low but he was honest in his actions. And the good news is that under democratic dispensation, there are institutions of government in place that will checkmate and over zealousness.

THE PRESS UNDER PRESIDENT JONATHAN
The Government Signed the Freedom of Information Bill into Law, which is good. But Cases of Military harassing Pressmen and journalists on daily basis, that the Committee to Protect Journalists on August 22, 2014, warned of dire consequences should the infringement persist. (One begins to wonder the sincerity in the FOI law).
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:00pm On Sep 02, 2014
rman:

Only in Nigeria will government in power that control all the resources blame opposition for poor performance
! Pathetic
Unfortunately, the government in power has done same to the opposition. You can not exonerate them.

Typical examples,

Allowing PDP spokesmen to claim APC is sponsoring bokoharam.
Using government resources to gain unfair advantage, TAN is a good example.

The examples are numerous. The OP is just is not balanced in his assessment because he tried to paint APC as a bad kind of opposition.

Has PDP also conducted itself is a classy manner? NO

Mind you, going by comments by posters on popular forums and blogs, majority support parties based on ethnicity and religion. Sometimes, maybe based on popularity.

PDP and APC are using same rules and tactics because that's what Nigerians want. Blaming APC for that is so not right

No-one is rooting for the PDP. They have their shortcomings.

But the opposition wants us to vote them into power yet their ideology and policies are the same if not worse than that of the ruling party.

The moot point is whether we want to change government for its own sake.

Convince me on why I need to take a gamble on a new party in power given the attendant implications of doing so.

That is what you supporters of APC should be addressing and not playing ostrich.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:07pm On Sep 02, 2014
Lordlexyy: How else would you expect the opposition to conduct itself better than this? You have a practically no performing party for over 15yrs and you are so insensitive to littered this thread with your rhetoric craps. You will do well to give instances as to how exactly the opposition is heating the polity, cos your comments thus far tends to be going that direction. You must be dishonest to critise the opposition at this time that pdp is out to tear the fabric of our political structure through its corruption tendency and politics of region and religion.
You are allowing yourself to get giddy with emotion.

I will flesh out areas where the opposition bungled opportunities to build political capital as we proceed further.

Please keep your discourse clean if we must interface.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by MAYOWAAK: 2:09pm On Sep 02, 2014
While no one can say with absolute certainty how APC would perform at the centre, I would rather risk trying them before knowing what they can do. At any rate, even if the argument that they won’t do better is valid, Nigeria practices Federal Character, so I ask why can’t we “quotalise” incompetence and corruption! Why must PDP be the sole beneficiary?
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Nobody: 2:11pm On Sep 02, 2014
OseghaleEbosele: From the article above it is obvious that the writer doesn't know anything abuit politics, whether in Nigeria or in other parts of the world. I suggest he should study the situation in USA (Democratic Party vs Republican Party), UK and Australia(Labour Party vs Conservative Party), France (Socialist Party vs Union for a Popular Movement), Germany (Social Democratic. Party vs Christian Democratic Union) etc

My friend, saying the writer doesn't know politics is a very wrong statement. You are in Africa and Nigeria in particular so don't compare already developed nations whose Rule of Law and democracy practiced by them is as powerful as a Bible
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:13pm On Sep 02, 2014
honeric01:

A1, now what did you score? undecided
Then you must have helped yourself with microchips.

Which student of government or political science have not heard the aphorism that the opposition is the watchdog of government.

Oga go and review the basics of government and stop drawing me back...
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by rman: 2:14pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: No-one is rooting for the PDP. They have their shortcomings.

But the opposition wants us to vote them into power yet their ideology and policies are the same if not worse than that of the ruling party.

The moot point is whether we want to change government for its own sake.

Convince me on why I need to take a gamble on a new party in power given the attendant implications of doing so.

That is what you supporters of APC should be addressing and not playing ostrich.

I am not an APC member but for this topic, I am supporting them because your initial post lacks logic.

Opposition wants what the party in power has in politics, so why blame them for that?

Also, I do not agree that their policies are exactly the same. IMO, this tactics is to brainwash Nigerians into believing what they have is currently the best or there is no alternative. Until, we have tried APC at the center and PDP in Lagos that argument of they are the same is rubbish. THEY ARE NOT.

Well, we all took a gamble on PDP at the center in 1999, for 15yrs the promises have not matched performance. If you are indeed a smart gambler, putting your stake on another party at least for 4yrs will be the smartest thing to do.

We all have only one life, as an adult, I will be shortchanging myself if I have such a limited option in democratic choices and did not use wisely by trying both at least, especially when mediocrity has replaced excellence in this clime

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Caseless: 2:19pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: The attitude you and several misguided folks are displaying is the crux of the matter.

Why is it that whatever the opposition don't understand must be wrong? Every policy initiated by the government must be wrong irrespective of the propriety of such policy.
This is the question most non-partisan Nigerians are asking.

Who told you guys that that is how politics is played? It is so painful to see that people cannot distinguish between nihilism and constructive engagement.

If you are not a good follower, how do you intend to become a good leader?

PDP is this, PDP is that...
Is the opposition aiming to outdo the ruling party in outlandish behaviour or to demonstrate that they are a better alternative by examplary conduct?

Does the Republican Party in the US set out to undermine the American government by showing to the outside world America's frailties as is almost the case in Nigeria?

Does the Labour Party in the UK go out of their way to rubbish the office of the Prime Minister just to score cheap political points or to engage in acts that undercut British institutions?

In advance democracies all over the world what we see are issue-based opposition politics and criticisms and not the desperado-style opposition being enacted in Nigeria where power is being sought at all cost.

Little wonder opposition parties are yet to form a government in Nigeria since independence in 1960.
op, u need education!
The only time the speaker of the congress of the united state agreed with obama was when he(obama) attempted to invade syria and the refusal of the speaker to host russian delegation that visited US then. The republican-dominated congress never agree with the senate or obama on any issue eg obamacare.
I saw MPs in the uk shouting david cameron down yrstrday when he went there to brief them on the measures/policy adopted to restrict their citizens that joined isis and are fighting in syria frm coming back to the UK.
Houthi shiit are on the neck of yemeni gov't right now.
Imran khan and al-qadri are on the streets in islamabad asking for the resignation of nawaz sharif.
Your shallow analysis makes me angry.
Go and read!

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Caseless: 2:23pm On Sep 02, 2014
zanga420: YES, we need credible opposition but the one we have presently has not shown better credibility to the ruling party. For instance in football I remembered when Chelsea need a better finisher than Drogba, they bought Torres but didnt prove he's a better finisher than Drogba, then they stuck with Drogba till they get a better finisher in D.Costa. Its similar to our political landscape we need alternative/opposition but apc have not proven to be that, their conducts n vice versa shows that.
ignorance wont help u. What do u mean credible opposition? U ar jst headless!

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by hensben(m): 2:24pm On Sep 02, 2014
comos:
perhaps you are the Lazy types that sit at home expecting FG to provide everything for you.
so far since last year, I have set up two small scale business, and things are really moving fine with me.
especially with the improvement in power sector which has greatly enhance my business.
id.iots thats what you are, i am speaking generally, the basic amenities suppose to be fixed by government which are not there; poor educational system, high cost of living,corruption, mortality rate, et al, do we not pay tax to fix all these things, how does all these relate to me been lazy, do i look like someone thats suffering in your eyes...I ask you again, compare nigeria of then and now or ask your father nigeria of then and now...are we not suppose to be moving forward as people.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by Nobody: 2:29pm On Sep 02, 2014
nigerianvenom: i keep saying that APC isnt an opposition party,rather,they are Angry people's conglomerate.
in sane countries,when they are in difficult situations,they join hands together and fight her common enemies,but in nigeria,it is not so,rather u'll see them used such occurence to try and score cheap political point.
they keep insulting the office of president,yet they keep itching to be there,is that how politics is been played?
They say GEJ is bad and cant perform,yet this same people claim their heroes such as tinubu,atiku,obj,buhari,etc are saints and i laugh.
is it not the same buhari that arrested nduka irabor for writting negatives stories about him?is it not the same buhari that overthrew a democratically elected government?is it not the same buhari that retrenched over 58,000 civil servant?tell me,when did buhari became a saint?can buhari tolerate criticism?
abi na obj we wan talk about?the obj that never built one federal varsity in 8yrs and no good federal library,but built one of the best private varsity in nigeria(bells university) plus a private library worth $2b,is it obj that never conducted any free and fair election?this same obj is the one tinubu,buhari and co went to meet,at the end of d meeting,they told obj to "show them the way" and i asked,"show u which way"?is it the rigging ways?
what about bukola saraki,atiku,tinubu,okoroacha and co? are they now saint?
i weep for nigeria.
You have spoken well...

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by lailo: 2:29pm On Sep 02, 2014
nigerianvenom: i keep saying that APC isnt an opposition party,rather,they are Angry people's conglomerate.
in sane countries,when they are in difficult situations,they join hands together and fight her common enemies,but in nigeria,it is not so,rather u'll see them used such occurence to try and score cheap political point.
they keep insulting the office of president,yet they keep itching to be there,is that how politics is been played?
They say GEJ is bad and cant perform,yet this same people claim their heroes such as tinubu,atiku,obj,buhari,etc are saints and i laugh.
is it not the same buhari that arrested nduka irabor for writting negatives stories about him?is it not the same buhari that overthrew a democratically elected government?is it not the same buhari that retrenched over 58,000 civil servant?tell me,when did buhari became a saint?can buhari tolerate criticism?
abi na obj we wan talk about?the obj that never built one federal varsity in 8yrs and no good federal library,but built one of the best private varsity in nigeria(bells university) plus a private library worth $2b,is it obj that never conducted any free and fair election?this same obj is the one tinubu,buhari and co went to meet,at the end of d meeting,they told obj to "show them the way" and i asked,"show u which way"?is it the rigging ways?
what about bukola saraki,atiku,tinubu,okoroacha and co? are they now saint?
i weep for nigeria.
Even as at that,A very strong opposition likeAPC is needed in d country.PDP should prove opposition wrong by delivering good Gov and stop sponsoring writter-up like dis to discredit the opposition.....there is no smoke without fire

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by honeric01(m): 2:34pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: Then you must have helped yourself with microchips.

Which student of government or political science have not heard the aphorism that the opposition is the watchdog of government.

Oga go and review the basics of government and stop drawing me back...

There was no microchip in my time... if you need a watchdog for your ineptitude govt, contact the civil right group, the pressure group, the activist and co.

The opposition must continue to play its role which is "SERVING AS AN ALTERNATIVE TO THE RULING PARTY". that is the number one reason for being an opposition.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by hensben(m): 2:35pm On Sep 02, 2014
rman:

I am not an APC member but for this topic, I am supporting them because your initial post lacks logic.

Opposition wants what the party in power has in politics, so why blame them for that?

Also, I do not agree that their policies are exactly the same. IMO, this tactics is to brainwash Nigerians into believing what they have is currently the best or there is no alternative. Until, we have tried APC at the center and PDP in Lagos that argument of they are the same is rubbish. THEY ARE NOT.

Well, we all took a gamble on PDP at the center in 1999, for 15yrs the promises have not matched performance. If you are indeed a smart gambler, putting your stake on another party at least for 4yrs will be the smartest thing to do.

We all have only one life, as an adult, I will be shortchanging myself if I have such a limited option in democratic choices and did not use wisely by trying both at least, especially when mediocrity has replaced excellence in this clime
exactly bro, this is the new tactics thy are using;'1-religion and ethnic tactics, 2-pdp and apc are all the same' which are false, E.g, check edo state under pdp and edo state under apc, the formal was sharing the state treasury while the later improve the state, the only people that are angry with oshiomhole are the people that were sharing the money with the formal, thereby, spreading propaganda against the later.

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:36pm On Sep 02, 2014
caseless: op, u need education!
The only time the speaker of the congress of the united state agreed with obama was when he(obama) attempted to invade syria and the refusal of the speaker to host russian delegation that visited US then. The republican-dominated congress never agree with the senate or obama on any issue eg obamacare.
I saw MPs in the uk shouting david cameron down yrstrday when he went there to brief them on the measures/policy adopted to restrict their citizens that joined isis and are fighting in syria frm coming back to the UK.
Imran khan and al-qadri are on the streets in islamabad asking for the resignation of nawaz sharif.
Go and read!
You are wont to regale yourself with a deluge of inapposite instances.

The last time I checked US and UK's past military interventions in the Middle East was ill-advised and generated diplomatic embarrassment for both nations.

You tell me why the House of Lords and the Congress should not question/oppose any bill emanating by their respective government for fresh adventure in the region cited.

Just like I pointed out, informed opposition thrives on the merit of their causes and not the hydra-head, scatter-gun approach we have here.

The opposition should not be a rubberstamp but must oppose on congent causes.

Such education you have...
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by honeric01(m): 2:37pm On Sep 02, 2014
caseless: op, u need education!
Go and read!

You dey mind the op? he doesn't even know the meaning of opposition..

He should also go and read about the opposition in SA, Zimbabwe, Thailand, Russia of all places, Ukraine e.t.c

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by degems: 2:37pm On Sep 02, 2014
Idrismusty97: APC is keeping the ruling party on their feet. They are doing a great job! After 15 years of monopoly! Alas a breath of fresh air!

Sai APC
Sai Buhari smiley

Go through this.

www.dna-nigeria.com/tinubu-collected-1-5-billion-oil-contract-dieziani-apc-convention/

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:39pm On Sep 02, 2014
honeric01:

There was no microchip in my time... if you need a watchdog for your ineptitude govt, contact the civil right group, the pressure group, the activist and co.

The opposition must continue to play its role which is "SERVING AS AN ALTERNATIVE TO THE RULING PARTY". that is the number one reason for being an opposition.
I still insist you burnish your O Level government, anyways.
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by hilariousdammie(m): 2:40pm On Sep 02, 2014
Omexonomy: Durring obj's tenure vote dont count whenever election is coming we athoumatically know who will win but gej came and change all that. E.g durring obj tenure osun election could have be convienetly rig in favour of PDP and the millitary and police will take care of the rest but gej never thaught of such rather he alowed the people decide for them selves.
thank God u know that all what pdp knows is to rig election cool
Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by honeric01(m): 2:45pm On Sep 02, 2014
maestroferddi: I still insist you burnish your O Level government, anyways.

And i insist you brush up your knowledge on government and the word "opposition"

Re: What Manner Of An Opposition Party Is APC? by maestroferddi: 2:49pm On Sep 02, 2014
rman:

Sorry you are conflating the whole issue. Go and read my essay so that you can get the slant of my argument.

The point is for the opposition to play its role while not constituting itself as a cog in the wheel of progress.

There are better ways to reach out to the populace/electorates than choosing the part of maligning and contradicting obvious achievements.

If you want to defeat a champion, you don't dismiss and discount their strength and advantage. Instead, you acknowledge their abilities while thinking out ways of outdoing them.

(1) (2) (3) ... (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (Reply)

The Underpass And Flyover Being Constructed By Kano State Governor / Nigerians React To Buhari's Indefinite Medical Trip To London / Awolowo Gave Western Region In 7 Years What British Couldn't Give Nigeria In 50

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 93