Stats: 3,153,280 members, 7,818,944 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 08:46 AM

Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) - Poems For Review (12) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Poems For Review / Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) (18600 Views)

NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta / Collaborative Poetry Competition Season One: ROYVER AND KRYSTALXXX WINS!!! / A Critique Of Poems Featured In Nairaland's "The Poets" Competition Season 2 (2) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by OMA4U(m): 4:49pm On Nov 09, 2014
DETAILS OF THE SECOND ROUND OF THE COMPETITION:

The second round has been postponed till next weekend. We believe this will give our finalists ample time to craft their muse to its apogee.

STRICT INSTRUCTIONS FOR THE SECOND ROUND THAT MUST BE ADHERE TO.

The collaborative poems for the second round must come in different forms. There are various forms of poetry to apply, check out this

https://www.nairaland.com/1958923/beauty-poetry

* A poem that will be submitted for the second round must be of more than one form in which SONNET MUST BE ONE.

Any questions?

OMA
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Gladyys(f): 10:49pm On Nov 09, 2014
Mehn! Couldn't make it....kudos to dos who made to d finals....I rilli enjoyed reading d poems..
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Royver(m): 10:57pm On Nov 09, 2014
hello krystalxxx, we made it smiley
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 10:59pm On Nov 09, 2014
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by AD30LA: 11:09pm On Nov 09, 2014
OMA4U, am here expecting your response
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 11:13pm On Nov 09, 2014
I see you texanomaly. Relegated to *post observation post*
O ma se o.
Heheh.
When the competition ends,we still won't forget your title. Lol
Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 11:23pm On Nov 09, 2014
Royver:
hello krystalxxx, we made it smiley

Yes that's great and you made that very possible. Thank you.
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by texanomaly(f): 11:28pm On Nov 09, 2014
laykorn:
I see you texanomaly. Relegated to *post observation post*
O ma se o.
Heheh.
When the competition ends,we still won't forget your title. Lol
Ayamlaykorn
tongue
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by basille(m): 12:22am On Nov 10, 2014
*watching from the sideline* Great poems.

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 7:00am On Nov 10, 2014
Basille and joe17. This is the thread we're using for discussions. The other one is strictly for submitting poets. Thank you sirs for your support. We are really delighted to know that you enjoy our poems.
Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by OMA4U(m): 8:48am On Nov 10, 2014
AD30LA:
OMA4U, am here expecting your response
Sorry, what's your question, please?
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by OMA4U(m): 8:54am On Nov 10, 2014
contestant 7. AD30LA & IGItee
Contestant 1. Royver and Krystalxxx
Contestant 3. Philtrum and JigsawKillah

You guys should please read the instructions very well and work in accordance with it.

AD30LA, it's a single poem, but it must be written with two or more forms. Sonnet will stand as a verse and any other form. This is a collab, so it should be easier.
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by midasbliss(f): 9:38am On Nov 10, 2014
Goodluck to those who made it to 2nd round... smiley
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by AD30LA: 11:03am On Nov 10, 2014
OMA4U:
contestant 7. AD30LA & IGItee
Contestant 1. Royver and Krystalxxx
Contestant 3. Philtrum and JigsawKillah

You guys should please read the instructions very well and work in accordance with it.

AD30LA, it's a single poem, but it must be written with two or more forms. Sonnet will stand as a verse and any other form. This is a collab, so it should be easier.
so we are to submit a poem with varying number of lines per stanza, varying rhyme scheme and meter? Am sorry if I sound too inquisitive sir, am just worried about the coherence of such poem.
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by AD30LA: 8:21am On Nov 11, 2014
What's with the silence on this thread, it's unusual... Well, let me try to break the silence with an unusual poem.

VOICE OF THE MOB
(Quatrain ABAB)

sometimes i wonder
Why dem talk sey we bad
But really e no even matta
So far no be sey we mad

People wey dey talk am
Na dem even bad pass
Still una think sey dem bam
Because of their so-called class

No be sey we no attend schools
But when work no come dey
e no fair to call us fools
For casting for a role in the play

We no see good jobs
As we no come get choice
Na then we join the mobs
And u dey call us bad boys

Every other day
Na condemn we be
But when election dey
Na we dem come dey see

So now who bad pass
We no get money
We dey smoke bass
But we get and u lack honesty.

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Royver(m): 7:10pm On Nov 13, 2014
Silence
. It pervades
. The thread suddenly
. Like the sudden seizure of power
. The kind of thing NEPA does
. On a hot humid night
. However it ends
. Soon.
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 7:22pm On Nov 13, 2014
Royver:
Silence
. It pervades
. The thread suddenly
. Like the sudden seizure of power
. The kind of thing NEPA does
. On a hot humid night
. However it ends
. Soon.

Royver. I like this your diamond poem o. NL won't show it as a diamond sha. Were waiting for your bomb come Saturday. Goodluck
Ayamlaykorn

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 11:53pm On Nov 13, 2014
Hello Mr Royver
The battle is not yet over
Our luck is like a four petal clover
As the crazed poem lover
I'll still shoot my ideas through a revolver
Though I may seem to take cover
I'm still a problem solver

Ne'er mind issues I'll be braver
Through the blood filled river
I still hold promise like the pearl in the oyster

*hope the message behind is clear royver...good night*

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 5:41am On Nov 14, 2014
Krystalxxx:

*hope the message behind is clear royver...good night*
Hian! You are now talking in codes. Hian! Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 6:05am On Nov 14, 2014
laykorn:

wink abi we shouldn't communicate again....it is not for ur ears mr laykorn grin cheesy

Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by sosiqdude(m): 7:47am On Nov 14, 2014
texanomaly:

tongue

Giyazz...make u not to participate in this poetry
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Royver(m): 8:28am On Nov 14, 2014
laykorn:

Royver. I like this your diamond poem o. NL won't show it as a diamond sha. Were waiting for your bomb come Saturday. Goodluck
Ayamlaykorn

Thanks laykorn. Tried centralising it but it didn't work.
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Royver(m): 8:33am On Nov 14, 2014
laykorn:

Poetic code for that matter smiley
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Jeanfortune(f): 5:09am On Nov 15, 2014
Royver:
hmn...
Alone,
Forlorn,
Feel Deboned.

Waiting
Anticipating
Krystalxxxing
Why are you missing

3days
To go
we have to
Collabo...

Reading
Perusing
These pages
Are enthusing

Guys
And Ladies
Hooking up
with word candies

Krystalxxx
Come on
Add me up
Abeg no vexxx

Let's teach
these kids
the meaning of
true verse!

seriously 'kids' like me ve got muuucchh to learn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Oahray: 8:14am On Nov 15, 2014
How could I have missed this? Just great sad
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 8:19am On Nov 15, 2014
Oahray:
How could I have missed this? Just great sad
We tried our bests for maximum publicity. You couldn't be a part of the competition. A poetry club will officially open after this competition. You can be a part of that.
Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Oahray: 8:25am On Nov 15, 2014
laykorn:

We tried our bests for maximum publicity. You couldn't be a part of the competition. A poetry club will officially open after this competition. You can be a part of that.
Ayamlaykorn
alright
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 1:35pm On Nov 15, 2014
AD30LA,IGItee, Royver, Krystalxxx,Philtrum,and JigsawKillah....

The thread has been declared open for submissions. Our hungry minds await your bombs. Goodluck poets.
Ayamlaykorn
Cc:Philtrum,timpaker,JigsawKillah,
gottoboy,harddon,krystalxxx,Chuksemi,Texanomaly,
giyazz,firestar,kagari,AmiableJay,iyabodeh,
Gladyys,midasbliss,ad3ola,IGItee,eke40seven,sosiqdude

:
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 7:53pm On Nov 15, 2014
AD30LA,IGItee, Royver, Krystalxxx,Philtrum,and
JigsawKillah
Where you bosses at??
Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by JigsawKillah(m): 9:31pm On Nov 15, 2014
laykorn:
AD30LA,IGItee, Royver, Krystalxxx,Philtrum,and
JigsawKillah
Where you bosses at??
Ayamlaykorn

Where are the others?
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Nobody: 9:48pm On Nov 15, 2014
JigsawKillah:

Where are the others?
I don't know brother. Do your thing. It closes tomorrow.
Ayamlaykorn
Re: Nairaland Collaborative Poetry Competition (season One) by Royver(m): 10:32pm On Nov 15, 2014
Done.
i sincerely hope we don't need to explain like before. i think its the judge's job to do that. It's somehow like explaining your own joke. but if you still want explanations please let us know. thanks.

(1) (2) (3) ... (9) (10) (11) (12) (13) (Reply)

NPC Collaboration Poetry Competition Season 2: The Renga Fiesta / Rhymes / The Last Monkey In Idanre

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 28