Stats: 3,153,042 members, 7,818,090 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 07:28 AM

The Sciences Discussion Thread. - Science/Technology (16) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Science/Technology / The Sciences Discussion Thread. (68843 Views)

Universe Or Multiverse. (A Discussion) / Who Has Seen Smartbird? Discussion Thread For Novel ways to fly. / Possibility Of Alien Life (discussion Thread) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) ... (34) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 1:20pm On Jun 26, 2015
Freemanan:

Very correct.... Applied mathematics concerns all facets of human discipline.... Theoretical mathematics is more streamline to science and social sciences....
It seems to be the other way round.
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 1:21pm On Jun 26, 2015
all4naija:
It seems to be the other way round.
Expatiate please
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 1:30pm On Jun 26, 2015
Freemanan:

Expatiate please
It becomes applied mathematics when it is applied to sciences(Physics, Chemistry, etc) and related fields(Engineering, Technology, etc). As for the all-facets-of-life statement in your previous post, it has something to do with the general mathematics. Pure mathematics is regarded as science when it is studied as a separate subject by people.
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 1:39pm On Jun 26, 2015
Plzzz, who can integrate x^x dx with respect to x?
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by johnydon22(m): 1:53pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
Ah, I have seen it. I do believe it is referred to as Hololens. From Microsoft. smiley

Hololens . . . might actually have a lot of potential. Especially for engineers. Not just mars scientists.

That innovation will change everything and our communication system will wear a different face………Really can't wait smiley
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by samwayne154(m): 2:29pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
Hmm!
I hope that isn't homework grin grin

Anyway, let's get on with it.

We are given, from your question,
Frequency =256
Length of tube =33.2

We are required to find v , velocity

However, there is a relationship between these values. Given as

f=v/4l. Where f is frequency, l is length, and of course, v is velocity which we are looking for.

At this point, we rearrange the equation to our satisfaction. In this case, we need v solitary on one side. We simply multiply both sides by 4l

Getting v = 4 x l xf

Substituting in given values,

v = 4 x 33.2 x 256

Allowing the calculator to work its magic, grin

v = 33996.8

It is then up to you to convert the above value, which is in cm/s to any unit you want.

I would go with 340m/s though lipsrsealed

Cheers!

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by samwayne154(m): 2:34pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
Hmm!
I hope that isn't homework grin grin

Anyway, let's get on with it.

We are given, from your question,
Frequency =256
Length of tube =33.2

We are required to find v , velocity

However, there is a relationship between these values. Given as

f=v/4l. Where f is frequency, l is length, and of course, v is velocity which we are looking for.

At this point, we rearrange the equation to our satisfaction. In this case, we need v solitary on one side. We simply multiply both sides by 4l

Getting v = 4 x l xf

Substituting in given values,

v = 4 x 33.2 x 256

Allowing the calculator to work its magic, grin

v = 33996.8

It is then up to you to convert the above value, which is in cm/s to any unit you want.

I would go with 340m/s though lipsrsealed

Cheers!

yeah ure ryt itz an assignment itz even 1 of the test questions the teacher gave us tz too late tho but thanks......nw back 2 it y multiplying d f nd l by 4 y not just v=fl
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 2:39pm On Jun 26, 2015
timonski:
Are you looking for the integral of dx? If not, there is error in the derivation. You can apply that to elementary functions to see if it will give you the right answer which will probably end in approximation.
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 5:14pm On Jun 26, 2015
Researchers train computer to create games by watching YouTube.

http://phys.org/news/2015-06-games-youtube.html
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:10pm On Jun 26, 2015
all4naija:
That is the velocity of wave. The wave formula.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qf5aESZ0Fzg

You are correct, if it is for an open tube with one end closed because it is the air that will be vibrating and there would be an odd integer(for the antinode). The wavelength is 1/4 the length of the tube. It would be F=nV/4L in that case with the way you addressed it before.

P.S. I didn't see what he wrote though. I used what you wrote to solve the problem.

yeah, no problem. smiley

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by DONOCHAS(m): 8:18pm On Jun 26, 2015
Chrisbenogor:

Exactly, actually you find that the world of finding out what happened can be very interesting. With data you try to deduce what happened, you avoid traps like “Correlation does not imply causation”

Anyways I will watch from the sidelines as you guys talk of esoteric stuff.

I am looking for a street way to explain to a kid why our DSTV satellites face the same direction even though the earth is spinning. He asked uncle is it that the DSTV stations are in heaven grin grin grin
pls can u explain it 4 me
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:18pm On Jun 26, 2015
timonski:
if we are to integrate using the formula method, we would arrive at

Xx+1
--------
X+1

Am I right? @ FrancisTony ?

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:35pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:

Xx+1
--------
X+1

Who said i'm good @Integration? grin
And i'm an aspirant like you. wink
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:35pm On Jun 26, 2015
johnydon22:

That innovation will change everything and our communication system will wear a different face………Really can't wait smiley
but still, like every other technology, it will come with it's own set of problems.

For instance, the device is shaped like a head band. This is bound to cause headaches and pain in the parietals.
Also, whatever that is seen through the glass, is virtual. This is bound to cause some awkward situations . . . grin grin

Not to mention the interface. To an external observer, the wearer will appear ridiculous. Also, arm aches. grin
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:36pm On Jun 26, 2015
FrancisTony:

It's all about collaboration. cheesy
Try and cross check it. wink
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:43pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:

It's all about collaboration. cheesy
Try and cross check it. wink
I'm not good at Applied/Further Mathematics e.g Integration & Differentiation. embarassed
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 8:46pm On Jun 26, 2015
FrancisTony:

I'm not good at Applied/Further Mathematics e.g Integration & Differentiation. embarassed
neither am I in probability and permutations. embarassed embarassed

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by sodson11(m): 10:09pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:

Xx+1
--------
X+1

You Would Take The Log To Base E Of Both Sides And Then Do Implicit Differebtiation
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Queed: 10:17pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
neither am I in probability and permutations. embarassed embarassed

lol, we could share ideas here
Am also an aspirant too smiley

FrancisTony post=351877 smiley 18:

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 10:44pm On Jun 26, 2015
sodson11:
You Would Take The Log To Base E Of Both Sides And Then Do Implicit Differebtiation
I don't think so . . . there is only one variable here. Also only one function.
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 10:45pm On Jun 26, 2015
Queed:

lol, we could share ideas here
Am also an aspirant too smiley

okay. grin no problem. As long as it is science based. smiley
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by sodson11(m): 11:10pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
I don't think so . . . there is only one variable here. Also only one function.
Thats The Way To Do It. You will get in y = x in x..... Then after differentiation 1/y times dy/dx = x/x + inx.... Dy/dx = x^x ( 1 + in x)
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Queed: 11:15pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
okay. grin no problem. As long as it is science based. smiley

sure wink
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 11:16pm On Jun 26, 2015
sodson11:
Thats The Way To Do It. You will get in y = x in x..... Then after differentiation 1/y times dy/dx = x/x + inx.... Dy/dx = x^x ( 1 + in x)
lol cheesy cheesy
Look again. He didn't ask us to differentiate. He asked us to integrate. grin
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by sodson11(m): 11:39pm On Jun 26, 2015
Teempakguy:
lol cheesy cheesy
Look again. He didn't ask us to differentiate. He asked us to integrate. grin
I thought it was differentiation. I will try and check on the integral
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 12:08pm On Jun 27, 2015
Hi there!

Teempakguy. wink

I just discovered an amazing thread. Really, it's one of those concepts that makes you want to think, why didn't I think of that? grin

Anyway, the thread simply wants you to use your imagination. Think wild! shocked shocked
What do you want science to do for you in your lifetime? Do you want flying cars? Time travel? Whatever you want!!
Just tell us there. cheesy

Here is the link. smiley. https://www.nairaland.com/2408461/fantasy-fiction-world-no-rules#35193894

Then, we can all come back and discuss just how we can make all that possible. wink wink

Cc

Anyi5
Fejikudz
Slimzjoe
Freemanan
Finniblinks
ELYMAXiimus
Mrbillz
Genes
Emperormero
Khattab02
Rockiedink
Laykorn
BigBen10
Intergral
Nurd
Soloxxng
Taharqa
Baggylips
Harmvirus
RobinHez
Oathman
Gorimakpa1
Dhsfbi
Cindino20
Xploraben
Horlufemi
1miccza
Hollarsmith
All4naija
Niyeal
Kingcity
Geofavour
Lushcream
Bhenehdikt

Patiently waiting. grin grin

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by ELYMAXiimus(m): 2:39pm On Jun 27, 2015
Teempakguy:
Hi there!

Teempakguy. wink

I just discovered an amazing thread. Really, it's one of those concepts that makes you want to think, why didn't I think of that? grin

Anyway, the thread simply wants you to use your imagination. Think wild! shocked shocked
What do you want science to do for you in your lifetime? Do you want flying cars? Time travel? Whatever you want!!
Just tell us there. cheesy

Here is the link. smiley. https://www.nairaland.com/2408461/fantasy-fiction-world-no-rules#35193894

Then, we can all come back and discuss just how we can make all that possible. wink wink

Cc

Anyi5
Fejikudz
Slimzjoe
Freemanan
Finniblinks
ELYMAXiimus
Mrbillz
Genes
Emperormero
Khattab02
Rockiedink
Laykorn
BigBen10
Intergral
Nurd
Soloxxng
Taharqa
Baggylips
Harmvirus
RobinHez
Oathman
Gorimakpa1
Dhsfbi
Cindino20
Xploraben
Horlufemi
1miccza
Hollarsmith
All4naija
Niyeal
Kingcity
Geofavour
Lushcream
Bhenehdikt

Patiently waiting. grin grin

"takes a seat, waiting for others"
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Taolyn4lif(m): 3:39pm On Jun 27, 2015
Good day lovers of science. It's so cool to be here.

I'm presently working on remediation studies of heavy metals contaminated soils using the method of immobilization of the heavy metals with some materials that are going to be used as additives in the soil.

I need the precious ideas of people who have previously done the same or similar work or those that are currently involved in similar research.

Please quote me whenever you want to respond to my message.

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 5:05pm On Jun 27, 2015
Taolyn4lif:
Good day lovers of science. It's so cool to be here.

I'm presently working on remediation studies of heavy metals contaminated soils using the method of immobilization of the heavy metals with some materials that are going to be used as additives in the soil.

I need the precious ideas of people who have previously done the same or similar work or those that are currently involved in similar research.

Please quote me whenever you want to respond to my message.

shocked shocked
Brilliant idea!
There are quite a few chemists here.
However, this might be a bit difficult and it is way beyond my level.
Perhaps baggylips can add something?

Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Nobody: 5:43pm On Jun 27, 2015
Hi there!

Teempakguy here smiley

Sorry for disturbing you guys again.

I have a few questions for you. shocked shocked
No need to recoil in horror. cheesy they are just eight in number and there is no dead line. Besides, I think you will enjoy answering them. smiley

1. What is your favourite textbook? (Please add the author if you can)

2. Who are your top five Real scientists?

3. Who are your top five fictional scientists?

4. what objects do you consider as your top five best inventions?

5. What is your best moment in science?

6. What is your worst moment?

7. What award(s) do you crave most in science?

8. What thing(s) have you thought of inventing . . . but couldn't, only for you to find out that an oyinbo has invented it? grin

Cheers! smiley

lemme get the ball rolling. smiley

1. My favourite textbook is undoubtedly Engineering mathematics. K.A Stroud.

1. Nikola Tesla
2. Edward Written
3. Max Planck
4. Euclid
5. Terence tao

1. Jemma Simmons. grin
2. Leopold fritz grin
3. Victor Frankenstein. shocked
4. Abraham Erskine.
5. Sherlock Holmes. cool

1. The wheel
2. The transistor
3. Books
4. The electric generator
5. TV grin grin

5. Er . . . that would be when I independently developed a formula to calculate the area of any regular polygon. Was so excited. smiley

6. Chai . . . embarassed I spent over three hours and countless higher education sheets t solve a math problem. Without success. And then when I finally googled the answer, it was solved in just six lines. I felt like a total E-diot. embarassed

1. Nobel prize shocked
2. Turing prize
3. Dirac prize
4. Field's medal shocked

1. The quadratic equation angry angry
2. The triangular sequence formula. angry angry
3. Beta voltaic technology. angry angry
4. Home delivery drones. embarassed embarassed
5. Dilatant fluid armor technology. angry angry
6. Maglevs. cry cry
7. Ex cetera.

So, there you have it. cry cry still hurting over my stolen ideas. . . come and share yours so we can all get to know each other better.

Cheers! cry cry
Re: The Sciences Discussion Thread. by Slimzjoe(m): 5:49pm On Jun 27, 2015
Ma Jeje they Observe angry

(1) (2) (3) ... (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (18) (19) ... (34) (Reply)

Scientists Successfully Reverse Human Ageing Process (Pics) / Escaped Lion Found In Kano Zoo After Devouring Goats In Their Cage / Rare Orange-Eyed Owl Not Seen For Almost 125 Years Is Spotted In Malaysia (Pics)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 43