Stats: 3,150,608 members, 7,809,224 topics. Date: Friday, 26 April 2024 at 05:57 AM

FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries (22234 Views)

Court Sacks Stella Ngwu And Dennis Nnmachi Agbo As Federal Lawmakers / Niger APC Suspends Its Federal Lawmakers / Senate Inaugurates Committee To Review Lawmakers’ Salaries (2) (3) (4)

FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Laredojohn(m): 6:14am On Aug 26, 2015
ABUJA—Chairman of the Revenue Mobilisation, Allocation and Fiscal Commission, RMAFC, Mr. Elias Mbam, disclosed yesterday that the Commission had started the process of trimming down the pay packages of the President, Senators, members of the House of Representatives, governors and all the elected public officials to reflect current economic realities.

Speaking with journalists after meeting President Muhammadu Buhari,  the RMAFC Chairman said that no federal lawmaker received N1 million monthly as salary, adding that their salaries would be pruned down to reflect the current economy status.

Asked whether the parliamentarians would give a nod to the idea, the Chairman said it was a constitutional mandate, which no one should argue about.

He said: “We are here to brief the President on the activities of the commission, the challenges and the way forward.

“The President advised us to ensure that we use all legitimate means to ensure all public office holders take home remuneration as determined by the commission and also block all leakages.

“We have done a lot in informing the public on the true position of the remuneration packages. It is on our website; it is clearly written there and we have published these remuneration packages in many national dailies several times.

“We have also had interactions with the press at different fora.

“What we read on the pages of newspapers is not known to the commission because there is no member of the National Assembly, based on what we determined, who earns up to N1 million per month.

“Presently, we are reviewing the subsisting remuneration packages and it is going to reflect the socio-economic realities of today. We expect that before the end of next month, it will be ready.

“When I talk of packages, the responsibility of the commission is to determine the remuneration for political office holders, both elected and appointed, from the national level to the local government level.

“Of course, National Assembly members are elected. It will include them, it will include the judiciary, it will include the state legislature, executive and of course, the local government will be included.

“Recently, the oil price dropped. Many government agencies, the states and local governments have not been able to pay their salaries. These are some of the issues that made it necessarily to review it. It did not start with this administration; we started the review as far back as last year. It is not because of the present administration that we commenced it.
“They do not have a choice. We are guided by the constitution and we are going to be guided by such laws that are provided for in the constitution and the oath they swore to obey the laws of the country.”

Mbam, who recounted the challenges of the Commission to include insufficient funding, urged the authorities to amend the Act setting it up to grant its financial independence.

Asked when the new revenue sharing formula would be ready, the chairman said it was beyond his power to comment on.

He said: “One of the challenges is that the commission is not properly funded and we are saying that we expect that the commission should be one of the agencies of government that should have financial autonomy.

“The best way to do that is to include it as one of the agencies that will benefit from first line charge.
“The second is to give the commission the power of enforcement. They should review the Act establishing the commission so that it can have power of enforcement and sanctions on any of the defaulting MDAs.

Source :”http://www.vanguardngr.com/2015/08/fg-to-slash-federal-lawmakers-salaries/

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by larushib: 6:15am On Aug 26, 2015
.good

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Nobody: 6:16am On Aug 26, 2015
Nyz1

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by eleko1: 6:16am On Aug 26, 2015
wink Hope those FAT thieves go gree undecided

14 Likes

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Johnpaul2k2(m): 6:17am On Aug 26, 2015
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Ofunaofu: 6:18am On Aug 26, 2015
ok
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by boman2014: 6:19am On Aug 26, 2015
they should better slash their salary to N500k per month and stop enjoyin fat bonuses

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Nobody: 6:24am On Aug 26, 2015
Start it ASAP.

No country survives when over 70% of its budget goes to recurrent expenditures while 30% goes for capital projects.

The moment we start thinking of how to put the country first, everything shall fall in place

43 Likes 1 Share

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Obrigardo: 6:26am On Aug 26, 2015
Still wailers will wail and SeverusSnape will still be silly nonetheless.

Jobless Lady F, Introvert and other teens will still remain jobless jostling for front page when their age mates are already making money building business and starting families.

44 Likes

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Smooyis(m): 6:39am On Aug 26, 2015
Great move. Can't wait to see it done.
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by OAMMB(f): 7:22am On Aug 26, 2015
thank God for this development... i cant understand why they earn so much for doing nothing....
they are always going for breaks for no reason at all....imagine they were getting 46k everyday for news papers allowance...kia....God will deinately punish those guys....nigerians have never benefited from these clowns. Now the political office will no longer be attractive....at least they will stop killing themselves on who to be senators presidents or house of reps leaders.

God bless you PMB

29 Likes

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by WailingWailer00(m): 7:33am On Aug 26, 2015
Slash that Mai gworo and his house boy's own again, they don't deserve salary but stipends

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by kingstylo01(m): 7:52am On Aug 26, 2015
Am tired of this "FG to" "FG will"

want to start hearing "FG has"

e.g
FG has made N1 = $1 as promised.

FG has distrubuted N5,000 to Nigerians as promised.

*SMH

16 Likes 3 Shares

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Dottore: 7:52am On Aug 26, 2015
[size=15pt]We are more concerned about slash in their ambigous, unjustified and irrational allowances

This country would progress when take home package of political offices are made less attractive; its only then that thieving and jobless politicians would either start looking for employment opportunities or how to be self employed.
It sounds so absurd when you ask for someone's occupation and he replies "I am a politician". This country sef. Na wao [/size]

24 Likes 3 Shares

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by gokay11(m): 7:53am On Aug 26, 2015
Welcome development
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by PRINCENWAEZE(m): 7:53am On Aug 26, 2015
That's the way forward
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by laurel03(m): 7:53am On Aug 26, 2015
That was why I Voted change.... I know change will change so many wrong things in Nigeria.... God bless #teamchange

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by loomer: 7:53am On Aug 26, 2015
Na salaries we dey talk?

Stop those silly allowances

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by laurel03(m): 7:54am On Aug 26, 2015
boman2014:
they should better slash their salary to N500k per month and stop enjoyin fat bonuses
500k ke dose bastard will not agree on dt. And d issue self not salary be d problem dose allowances na d koko...

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by MVLOX(m): 7:54am On Aug 26, 2015
SLASH IT

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Nuhusky: 7:55am On Aug 26, 2015
PDP lawmakers would be like what this president want let impeach him

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by adebrave1(m): 7:55am On Aug 26, 2015
Long over Due.... is there someone here that like it??

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by reverendfather: 7:55am On Aug 26, 2015
FG to do this FG to do that ... When are we going to see actions not mouth action haba
This is not what I bargained for.

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by ucheo3: 7:55am On Aug 26, 2015
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Nobody: 7:57am On Aug 26, 2015
Is it really their salaries that should be axed?

haha...you think they would care about that?

We are more concerned about those allowances and of course, the Farouk Lawanic kind of salaries. Common, you know what I mean.

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by sdindan: 7:57am On Aug 26, 2015
We are tired of hearing
FG will
FG to

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Ybnm4life(m): 7:57am On Aug 26, 2015
Action speak louder than promises... Untill this government make good of their numerous promises by taking actions then can express how much I believe how much I care...

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by HIGHESTPOPORI(m): 7:58am On Aug 26, 2015
APC and mastubation,we want all their allowances to be slashed,not just d so called salary,that's how an Apc Governor was on Channels tv yesterday saying he slashed his salary by half from 2million to 1million naira.When asked how much money he uses to run his office,he refused to talk about it,when we all knw they don't make their money from their salary!

Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by Ijaya123: 7:58am On Aug 26, 2015
This is long overdue.
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by DAVEZONIGLTD: 7:58am On Aug 26, 2015
God bless Nigeria
Re: FG To Slash Federal Lawmakers’ Salaries by jimfend: 7:59am On Aug 26, 2015
I don't know about you, but I think things are beginning to take shape in motherland.

See How To Download Apps from PlayStore on a computer http://viewslog.com/discussion/97/how-to-download-apps-from-playstore-on-a-computer

Galadima: Don't Be Surprise To See President Buhari Contest In 2023 / NDLEA: Why Cannabis Can’t Be Legalised In Nigeria / INEC Postpones Election In Parts Of Edo

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 24