Stats: 3,150,848 members, 7,810,267 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 03:55 AM

Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed - Politics - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed (18655 Views)

Atiku APC’s Greatest Nightmare For 2019 – FFK / Short & Deceitful Little Imps Osinbajo Is Sick, His Nightmare Just Started – FFK / Niger Delta Avengers Guerrilla Methods A Nightmare To The Military - Daily Trust (2) (3) (4)

Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by IsThisChange: 9:52pm On Nov 21, 2016
The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, has described social media as a nightmare to image makers because of its disinformation through fake and distorted news.

The minister who stated this on Monday in Lagos at the opening of the 4th Commonwealth Public Relations Congress, noted that image makers in both public and private sectors were victims of the trend.

He, therefore, charged PR practitioners to devise innovative ways to ensure a better, charged-way communication network between their employer and the people.

The event organised by the Management School, London and the Business Education Examinations Council, has the theme “Strategic Management of Reputation Risk in an Interdependent World.’’

“Today, anyone with access to a smart phone can put out any information, whether accurate or not, that could go viral in minutes.

“No fact-checking, no accuracy, no fairness, no rules. They just spread whatever information catches their fancy, and they have their own public that believes them.” he said.

The minister however said that the trend is global, affecting international and local affairs including the recent U.S. elections.

“To understand the seriousness of this, there is an on-going debate in the U.S. over the role that disinformation played in the recent presidential election.

“Some even accused the social networking site, Facebook, of helping to swing the election in favour of Mr. Donald Trump, through the fake and distorted news spread by websites belonging to those who call themselves Alt-Right, or Alternative Right.

“Of course Facebook has denied that. But then Facebook and Google have taken concrete action to check this by seeking to cut off the live wire to these fake news websites,” he said.

According to published reports, Google said it will prevent websites that misrepresent content from using its advertising network, while Facebook said its ban on deceptive and misleading content also applies to fake news.

The minister said, locally, the trend has also made the job of government image makers so daunting that it is denying them of sleep.

“Government image makers now sleep with one eye opened, that’s if we sleep at all, because while we are sleeping, the purveyors of distorted and fake news are busy cooking their stuff.

“I cannot count the number of times that I have been removed from the Information and Culture portfolio on the social media in the past year, or that ministers have swapped portfolios,’’ he said.

The minister seized the opportunity to refute the fake report that President Buhari gave $500 million to Hilary Clinton during the U.S. Electioneering Campaign.

“Even when the Presidency has denied this outrageous concoction, the so-called analysts and experts have continued to comment on it as if it is true,” he said.

In tackling the challenge, the minister said that in addition to radio, television, newspapers and the new media, his ministry revived an age-long practice of Town Hall Meeting to engage people directly and get their feedback on topical issues.

Mike Okereke, a public relations practitioners in a welcome address, said the summit afforded the them (PR practitioners from the Commonwealth) opportunity to exchange ideas on best practices.

He urged participants to adopt positive attitude in the

www.premiumtimesng.com/news/more-news/215912-social-media-nightmare-pr-managers-lai-mohammed.html

3 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Nutase: 9:53pm On Nov 21, 2016
The monster you created has comeback to haunt you.

Karma is indeed a bitccch grin

405 Likes 38 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Ragnnar: 9:53pm On Nov 21, 2016
Karma is a ....

135 Likes 12 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by NaijaMutant(f): 9:54pm On Nov 21, 2016
Always bursting your lies

APC Nigeria's worst nightmare undecided

200 Likes 17 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by odiyaka(m): 9:54pm On Nov 21, 2016
Night mare ni day mare ko

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by BeeBeeOoh(m): 9:54pm On Nov 21, 2016
Social media has come to stay, so deal with it..

132 Likes 10 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by deji68: 9:55pm On Nov 21, 2016
grin grin grin grin grin Karma is a b1tch.,...

87 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by NaijaMutant(f): 9:58pm On Nov 21, 2016
Lie Mohammed our greatest liar

If not for social media

We would all be zombies grin

243 Likes 17 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by BeeBeeOoh(m): 10:05pm On Nov 21, 2016
NaijaMutant:
Lie Mohammed our greatest liar

If not for social media

We would all be zombies grin
And we won't have sense of our own.

121 Likes 9 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by payosehtor(m): 10:10pm On Nov 21, 2016
That Galadima no see well. we still dey ground til 2019.that's the year will sound SEI BABBA THE LOUDEST, anybody who is pained can go and rest in the east simple

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by payosehtor(m): 10:10pm On Nov 21, 2016
That Galadima no see well. we still dey ground til 2019.that's the year we will sound SEI BABBA THE LOUDEST, anybody who is pained can go and rest in the east simple

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Emekamex(m): 10:17pm On Nov 21, 2016
Lienus Mohammed, as you make your bed, so shall you lie on it. Stop complaining when you were the chief propagandaist of fake news during your time as APC spokesperson.

I can vividly remember you claiming on twitter that GEJ was planning to kidnap Jega to stop him from announcing results when nothing of such ever happened.

187 Likes 15 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Opharhe: 10:18pm On Nov 21, 2016
Baba Lai Lai so you know how it feels ehn? Social Media will continue hunting you and your gang of liars.

Yeye dey smell.

101 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Atiku2019: 10:21pm On Nov 21, 2016
cheesy grin
Good Morning cheesy

21 Likes 1 Share

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by dunkem21(m): 10:24pm On Nov 21, 2016
The same thing I have been telling NL Minister of information, Lai Lalasticlala.. cheesy

People called a sitting president.. clueless, drunkard, kindergarten, retardeddd, Jonadafft..(the last two words have been censored on NL;try it ) . . They cheered.

They accused him of going to Chad to plan terrorism.. They jeered.

They nicknamed his wife SHEPOPO.. they hailed.

They accused him of training one million snipers.. They sneered.

Check my posts, I have long predicted that #BBOG would haunt the Obamas.

A professional advice: All Nigeria's ministers should desist from body language comments that defame the POTUS. It has dire consequences and put doubts to the rumour' that that that.. that ..

67 Likes 8 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Paperwhite(m): 10:34pm On Nov 21, 2016
[/b]"Greatest night..."[b] what? grin grin grin grin So you now know after APC used same to propaganda their way into power? God go punish all of una there. angry BTW- what now becomes of the Aisha's Rice Eaters"Social Media Changers" or they are the only social media agents wanted on Nigeria's media space? APC is the most useless political party of all time.

26 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Paperwhite(m): 10:36pm On Nov 21, 2016
NaijaMutant:
Always bursting your lies

APC Nigeria's worst nightmare undecided
You mind this pathological liar.You must reap what you sow.

24 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by wowmenow: 10:38pm On Nov 21, 2016
If its nightmare

Why paying the likes of omenka
Modath
Sarki
And the confused tonyebarcanista
For posting rubbish on naira land

59 Likes 5 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Paperwhite(m): 10:50pm On Nov 21, 2016
wowmenow:
If its nightmare

Why paying the likes of omenka
Modath
Sarki
And the confused tonyebarcanista
For posting rubbish on naira land
While they made the lies & propaganda ministry's budget more than that of three ministries combined or appointing more social media aides than even economic technocrats to launder up their useless image.Fools.

57 Likes 6 Shares

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Nairadean(m): 10:51pm On Nov 21, 2016
I guess Mr Lai Muhammed is back

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by TonyeBarcanista(m): 7:10am On Nov 22, 2016
Social media has come to stay, deal with it

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by 99100(m): 7:27am On Nov 22, 2016
Nkita-ara , shut up there.
This is just the beginning.

25 Likes

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Towncrier007(m): 8:27am On Nov 22, 2016
ok
Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Dubby6(m): 8:29am On Nov 22, 2016
Na LAI

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by amuzie12: 8:29am On Nov 22, 2016
IsThisChange:
The Minister of Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, has described social media as a nightmare to image makers because of its disinformation through fake and distorted news.

The minister who stated this on Monday in Lagos at the opening of the 4th Commonwealth Public Relations Congress, noted that image makers in both public and private sectors were victims of the trend.

He, therefore, charged PR practitioners to devise innovative ways to ensure a better, charged-way communication network between their employer and the people.

The event organised by the Management School, London and the Business Education Examinations Council, has the theme “Strategic Management of Reputation Risk in an Interdependent World.’’

“Today, anyone with access to a smart phone can put out any information, whether accurate or not, that could go viral in minutes.

“No fact-checking, no accuracy, no fairness, no rules. They just spread whatever information catches their fancy, and they have their own public that believes them.” he said.

The minister however said that the trend is global, affecting international and local affairs including the recent U.S. elections.

“To understand the seriousness of this, there is an on-going debate in the U.S. over the role that disinformation played in the recent presidential election.

“Some even accused the social networking site, Facebook, of helping to swing the election in favour of Mr. Donald Trump, through the fake and distorted news spread by websites belonging to those who call themselves Alt-Right, or Alternative Right.

“Of course Facebook has denied that. But then Facebook and Google have taken concrete action to check this by seeking to cut off the live wire to these fake news websites,” he said.

According to published reports, Google said it will prevent websites that misrepresent content from using its advertising network, while Facebook said its ban on deceptive and misleading content also applies to fake news.

The minister said, locally, the trend has also made the job of government image makers so daunting that it is denying them of sleep.

“Government image makers now sleep with one eye opened, that’s if we sleep at all, because while we are sleeping, the purveyors of distorted and fake news are busy cooking their stuff.

“I cannot count the number of times that I have been removed from the Information and Culture portfolio on the social media in the past year, or that ministers have swapped portfolios,’’ he said.

The minister seized the opportunity to refute the fake report that President Buhari gave $500 million to Hilary Clinton during the U.S. Electioneering Campaign.

“Even when the Presidency has denied this outrageous concoction, the so-called analysts and experts have continued to comment on it as if it is true,” he said.

In tackling the challenge, the minister said that in addition to radio, television, newspapers and the new media, his ministry revived an age-long practice of Town Hall Meeting to engage people directly and get their feedback on topical issues.

Mike Okereke, a public relations practitioners in a welcome address, said the summit afforded the them (PR practitioners from the Commonwealth) opportunity to exchange ideas on best practices.

He urged participants to adopt positive attitude in the

www.premiumtimesng.com/news/more-news/215912-social-media-nightmare-pr-managers-lai-mohammed.html
the media house is compromised, and social media sometimes tell us wat we can neva see on the tv.

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by greatwhite(m): 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
Get use to the nightmare. Your government have fallen below expectation. Social media only illuminate the anger that reside in the heart of nigerians.

So if you want sweet dreams you have to fulfill all your promises. No amount of Public relation abrakadabra can help you.

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by igbsam(m): 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
But they rode to power through social media ?

what is he saying ?

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Thisis2raw(m): 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
Always talking nonsense

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by Thisis2raw(m): 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
Always talking nonsense. Them do am?

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by donigspain(m): 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
[size=14pt]You and your ilks opened our eyes to the many uses of Social Media aside communication. grin The average Nigerian now knows the basics of propaganda![/size]

24 Likes 1 Share

Re: Social Media Our Greatest Nightmare- Lai Mohammed by BrutalJab: 8:30am On Nov 22, 2016
Oga lai mumuhadu, Oh! The same social media you and your useless pay masters is now your nightmare.

You and your cohorts blackmailed and disgraced GEJ thinking you are doing him, not knowing that you are paving way for your own misfortune.

You guys manipulated and imposed an empty old skull on us to mismanage the economy.

God bless GEJ!

26 Likes 1 Share

Femi Adesina: President Buhari Has Shown Mercy To Fani-Kayode / Reps Summon Emefiele Over Dollar Deposits / I Am PDP Candidate, Nobody Can Stop Me – Jimoh Ibrahim

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 35