Stats: 3,162,455 members, 7,850,587 topics. Date: Wednesday, 05 June 2024 at 05:01 AM

Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries - Crime (3) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Crime / Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries (43688 Views)

NDLEA Intercepts Illicit Drugs Concealed In African Salad, arrests suspects / Man Kills His Three In-Laws In Edo (Photos) / SARS Officer Killed In His In-laws Place 10 Days After Wedding In Rivers. Photos (2) (3) (4)

Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by defemidefemi(m): 5:36pm On Oct 03, 2017
soberdrunk:
............and we wonder why Africa is still behind...... angry
funny laws is not limited to African only, google world funny laws you gonna be surprised

Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Nobody: 5:37pm On Oct 03, 2017
My africa my africa
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by jobsat34(m): 5:37pm On Oct 03, 2017
In Nigeria, It is illegal to be Poor. Every Law of the land will work against you. Only the Rich is above the law

cry cry cry
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by tivta(m): 5:38pm On Oct 03, 2017
rawpadgin:
In Nigeria it is illegal to name ur dog 'buhari', u might be jailed without trail

On nairaland, it is illegal for non Muslim to comment on Christian thread, if I have to comment u must swear an oat first

Change that to Muslim thread.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by phoromighty(m): 5:40pm On Oct 03, 2017
These laws are totally whack. Damn,the joke is awkwardly lame.
#tueeeh! *spits on thread *
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by BornnAgainChild(f): 5:41pm On Oct 03, 2017
Airee:
Am a Kenyan and number 1 is not true.

So tell us what is true
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by nwadiuko1(m): 5:41pm On Oct 03, 2017
so how do we get the apples we eat?......i mean the green ones because i don't think they are grown here
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Habyz(m): 5:42pm On Oct 03, 2017
KendrickAyomide:
Afirka will remain backward
And it will remain backward as long as we still have people like you who would believe anything bad about it.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Nbote(m): 5:48pm On Oct 03, 2017
Most of these laws are either lies or no longer in use
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by claremont(m): 5:56pm On Oct 03, 2017
9jakohai:
In south africa it is illegal to purchase a TV without a licence from the govt.

I see nothing wrong with that. In the UK, the same rule applies.

In fact, a lot of the BBC's funding comes from licence fees paid by TV owners. Without those fees, BBC would be broke in weeks.

Nigeria should bring in a TV licence fee. Maybe a good source of income for nta.

Other countries with TV licence fees listed here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_licence

Wrong.

No one needs a licence to purchase a TV in the UK. A TV licence is needed to legally watch live progammes on TV.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by omoiyamayor(m): 6:09pm On Oct 03, 2017
Lol no9. So true as a foreigner u have to pay a south African with TV license to use theirs.but u can buy on olx and Indian shops without licence
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by rawpadgin(m): 6:11pm On Oct 03, 2017
fuckpro:
...read what you wrote does it make sense -'muslim thread'
just edited it. Thanks
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by rawpadgin(m): 6:12pm On Oct 03, 2017
mgbadike81:
you should Read and edit your post. I gave you a like never the less.
I have edited it. Thanks
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by rawpadgin(m): 6:12pm On Oct 03, 2017
tivta:

Change that to Muslim thread.
just did that. Thanks
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Nobody: 6:25pm On Oct 03, 2017
9jakohai:

In fact, a lot of the BBC's funding comes from licence fees paid by TV owners. Without those fees, BBC would be broke in weeks.

Nigeria should bring in a TV licence fee. Maybe a good source of income for nta.

Other countries with TV licence fees listed here: https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Television_licence
Actually you can purchase a tv without a license in the UK if you're gonna use it to watch dvds or connect to a console. However you need a TV license to watch television channels

Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Nobody: 6:27pm On Oct 03, 2017
rawpadgin:
In Nigeria it is illegal to name ur dog 'buhari', u might be jailed without trail

On nairaland, it is illegal for non Muslim to comment on Muslim thread, if I have to comment u must swear an oat first
Absolutely ridiculous. Why this rule doesn't apply the other way round is baffling .

Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by MTKbudapest(m): 6:28pm On Oct 03, 2017
ladyF:
Hmm... No comment.

It's LadyF again. grin grin grin

Lady F for fucck
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by mosesjida(m): 6:31pm On Oct 03, 2017
the thunder that will fire the pple dat made dis laws is still on holoday
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by xreal: 6:33pm On Oct 03, 2017
9jakohai:

Ko le werk mehn.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Sixaxis: 6:48pm On Oct 03, 2017
Nd all those are so legal in Nigera, same Africa oh...
Wat a world..
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by CornelWealth(m): 6:51pm On Oct 03, 2017
In North korean, 1. Government decide where u live 2. Only 28 approved haircut 3. No religion or worship

and so on.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by fuckpro: 6:59pm On Oct 03, 2017
BornnAgainChild:

Yes it makes sense...cos before you comment on a muslim thread they would ask you question if you are a muslim so why cant that also be on christian threads
...let me just ignore you for now ...i repeat do not ever step on the tigers tail again
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by nnokwa042(m): 7:01pm On Oct 03, 2017
9jakohai:

1. Check the list I linked to now.

2. Many South Africans are just as poor as Nigerians, yet SA has TV licence fees.

3. If you want govt to pay for everything, expect them to keep on taking loans....that your grandkids will still be paying back.

4. Even in the UK, there are people that dodge paying licence fees.
uk residents don't buy fuel to power their fridges nor to pump their water ,UK resident don't contribute money to repair roads neither they contribute money to repair electric poles they enjoy good roads,so tell me amongst all this things I mentioned which one do enjoy in Nigeria and u want them to add tv
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by rawpadgin(m): 7:12pm On Oct 03, 2017
trustyshoess:

Absolutely ridiculous. Why this rule doesn't apply the other way round is baffling .
u want those extremist to go & bomb seun? grin grin
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by BornnAgainChild(f): 7:15pm On Oct 03, 2017
fuckpro:
...let me just ignore you for now ...i repeat do not ever step on the tigers tail again

I havent forgotten you...bring it on anytime/anyday
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by nextstep(m): 7:24pm On Oct 03, 2017
In Nigeria, it's illegal to have consistent power or to attempt to provide it. grin
In Nigeria, it's illegal for police to investigate your matter without motivation funds. angry
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by jaymichael(m): 7:43pm On Oct 03, 2017
shikshark:
remove that No 8 abeg, infact anything illegal in nigeria is indirectly legal, i have seen watermelon in shoprite, and "product of south africa" is written in the sticker, ordinary water melon
Importation of fruits isn't illegal but importation of FRUIT JUICE is, except it is coming from any West African country and you must have ECOWAS TRADE LIBERATION SCHEME (ETLS) permit.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by cooltola(m): 7:46pm On Oct 03, 2017
Please love where you are from. Stop bashing Naija or Africa, things go improve
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Kayceewyte(m): 7:54pm On Oct 03, 2017
TECHN9e:
Arrant nonsense! The twitter user just added some memes to unfounded claims and called it laws.

All of them are facts. if you are a twitter user, search #AFRICA FACTS . They tweet things concerning Africa daily. That's where he copied it from.

Next time, don't be in a haste to bash someone. Thank you
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by benzems(m): 8:02pm On Oct 03, 2017
11. In Nigeria: It is illegal not to pay for NEPA bills weather there is light or not.
Re: Top 10 Strange Laws In African Countries by Nobody: 8:26pm On Oct 03, 2017
Chad......Very wise. It helps eliminate the number of stupid post like, a dead man's face will be posted on nairaland, people not minding that the dead has sore relatives, kids and spouses. Human trafficking, memes etc

South africa...... Its not payed to the government but to the broadcastors SABC. It helps ensures that those very important programs viewed on dstv can easily reach the public with no dstv. So SABC buys the programs to share. There's many other reasons I am sure

Equitorial Guinea. I support even though not entirely. We come across people who cant tell you the economic status of their country yet, they know America like they are natives. It is best you learn your own before anyrhi g else. How many people can read in thier native languages.........

Countries Where Castration Is A Punishment For Rapists / Little Boy Electrocuted After Walking Into An Open Transformer. Graphic Photos / Solomon Oboh Commits Suicide, Wills Mobile Phone To Girlfriend