Stats: 3,152,651 members, 7,816,670 topics. Date: Friday, 03 May 2024 at 02:52 PM

Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! - Culture (7) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Culture / Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! (19536 Views)

Are Ceiling Fans Going Extinct? / 10 Extinct Nigerian Languages And What You Think Can Be Done To Save The Rest / Common Beautiful Names From The Igbo Tribe (2) (3) (4)

Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by itstpia8: 6:06pm On Apr 21, 2016
Seun:
I shouldn't have said that! Not that it's all that wrong, but saying it out loud wasn't beneficial.

Bro, na you get the yam, na you get the utensils wey you dey take eat the yam.

Abajo has covered all responses I believe.
Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by Akshow: 11:42am On Apr 22, 2016
Seun:
I shouldn't have said that! Not that it's all that wrong, but saying it out loud wasn't beneficial.
seen pls I mistakenly clicked yes on the Muslim thread and now an Islamic quote is on my thread. It's misleading because a free thinker. Pls how do I clear it.
Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by gozzlin: 2:06pm On Apr 23, 2016
Akshow:
seen pls I mistakenly clicked yes on the Muslim thread and now an Islamic quote is on my thread. It's misleading because a free thinker. Pls how do I clear it.

Sorry, nothing can be done about it. You now belong to Muhammad and Allah.
Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by Akshow: 3:21pm On Apr 23, 2016
gozzlin:

Sorry, nothing can be done about it. You now belong to Muhammad and Allah.
grin grin grin grin But I don't believe in them.
Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by AutomaticMotors: 1:50pm On Feb 08, 2023
Gamine:
There are 24 major Edoid dialects in Nigeria

1. ADUGE [ADU]. Kwara State, Oyi LGA.

2. DEGEMA. Rivers State, Degema LGA. Dialects: ATALA, USOKUN (KALA DEGEMA).

3. EDO (BINI, BENIN, ADDO, OVIEDO, OVIOBA) Bendel State, Ovia, Oredo, and Orhionmwon LGA's.

4. EMAI-IULEHA-ORA (KUNIBUM, IVBIOSAKON) [EMA] Dialects: IVHIMION, EMAI, IULEHA, ORA. Dialect cluster.

5. ENGENNI (NGENE, EGENE) [ENN]. Rivers State, Ahoada and YenagoaLGA's. Dialects: EDIRO, INEDUA, OGUA.

6. EPIE (EPIE-ATISSA) [EPI]. Rivers State, Yenagoa LGA. Dialect: ATISA (ATISSA). Most speakers are bilingual in Ijo.

7. ERUWA (EROHWA, ERAKWA, AROKWA) [ERH] Bendel State, Isoko LGA. Related to Urhobo. Most speakers are bilingual in Central Isoko, which is replacing Eruwa. Not intelligible with any Isoko dialect.

8. ESAN (ISHAN, ISA, ESA, ANWAIN) [ISH] Bendel State, Agbazilo, Okpebho LGA's. Dialects: EKPON, IGUEBEN. Many dialects, apparently inherently intelligible.

9. GHOTUO (OTWA, OTUO) [AAA]. Edo State, Owan and Akoko-Edo LGA's.

10. IKPESHI (IKPESHE, EKPESHE) [IKP] Bendel State, Etsako LGA.

11. ISOKO Delta State, Isoko and Ndokwa LGA's.
12. IVBIE NORTH-OKPELA-ARHE [ATG]. Edo State, Etsako and Akoko-Edo LGA's. Dialects: IVBIE NORTH (IBIE NORTH), OKPELA (OKPELLA, UKPELLA, UPELLA), ARHE (ATTE, ATE).

13. IYAYU (IDOANI) [IYA]. Ondo State, one-quarter of Idoani town. The people are sometimes called 'Idoani'.

14. OKPAMHERI (OPAMERI) [OPA]. Edo State, Akoko-Edo LGA. Dialects:OKULOSHO (OKUROSHO), WESTERN OKPAMHERI, EMHALHE (EMARLE, SOMORIKA,SEMOLIKA). Subdialects of Okulosho: Ojirami (Eekunu),Dagbala (Dangbala), Oja (Oza), Makeke (Uuma), Oma. Subdialects of WesternOkpamheri: Ekpe, Bekuma, Lankpese (Lampese, Lankpeshi), Ibillo (Ibilo), Imoga (Imorga, Uma), Eko (Ekon, Ekor), Ikaran-Oke(Ikeram-Oke), Ebunn-Oke, Ikaran-Ele (Ikeran-Ile, Ebunn-Ugbo, Ikpesa,Igbo-Ola-Sale (Ugboshi-Sale), Aiyegunle (Oshi), Igbo-Ola-Oke(Ugboshi-Oke), Onumo (Onumu), Ogugu, Ogbe-Sale, Ogbe-Oke. Emhalhe may be a separate language.

15. OKPE [OKE]. Delta State, Okpe LGA. Distinct from Okpe-Idesa-Oloma-Akuku, which is Northwestern Edoid.

16. OKPE-IDESA-OLOMA-AKUKU [OKP] Edo State, Akoko-Edo LGA. Dialects:OKPE, IDESA, OLOMA, AKUKU. Oloma may be a separate language. Differentfrom Okpe which is Southwestern Edoid.

17. OSOSO [OSS]. Edo State, Akoko-Edo LGA.

18. SASARU-ENWAN IGWE (SASARU) [SSC]. Edo State, Akoko-Edo LGA.

19. UHAMI (ISHUA) [UHA]. Ondo State, Akoko South and Owo LGA's.

20. UKUE-EHUEN (EKPENMI, EKPENMEN, EPINMI) [UKU] including Ehuen, Ukue. Ondo State, Akoko South LGA. Dialects: UKUE, EHUEN. Crozier andBlench 1992 treat Ukue and Ehuen as separate languages.

21. UNEME (ULEME, ILEME, INEME) [UNE]. Edo State, Etsako, Agbazilo, and Akoko-Edo LGA's. Ghotuo-Uneme-Yekhee.

22. URHOBO. Delta State, Ethiope and Ughelli LGA's. Dialects: AGBARHO, ISOKO

23. UVBIE ("EVHRO", UVHRIA, UVWIE, EVRIE, EFFURUN). Delta State, Ethiope LGA. Related to Urhobo.

24. YEKHEE (ETSAKO, ETSAKOR, AFENMAI, IYEKHEE, "KUKURUKU"wink. Edo State,Etsako, Agbako, and Okpebho LGA's. Ghotuo-Uneme-Yekhee. Dialects: AUCHI, UZAIRUE, SOUTH IBIE, UWEPA-UWANO (WEPPA WANO), AVIANWU (FUGAR),AVIELE, IVHIADAOBI.

⭐⭐⭐⭐
Re: Uneme: My Tribe, IS NOT Going Extinct ANYMORE! by alezzy13: 2:14pm On Feb 08, 2023
Y ah. Here she is

Iru Kingdom: The End Of A Dominating Dynasty / Oluwo Of Iwo Starts The Rehabilitation Of Iwo-osogbo Road (see Photos) / Pako Biscuit Generation Vs Indomie Generation

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 18