Stats: 3,152,993 members, 7,817,929 topics. Date: Saturday, 04 May 2024 at 11:12 PM

Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers - Politics (2) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers (13994 Views)

FG To Unveil Beneficiaries Of Halliburton Bribe / CNN Investigates Why Buhari Dumped $182 Halliburton Bribe Scandal / Court Strikes Out $180m Halliburton Bribery Trial Over Efcc's Delay (2) (3) (4)

Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by akwaowoudo(m): 4:01pm On Apr 12, 2010
Is this the first time such is published? I'm patiently waiting to see what next.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by chidichris(m): 4:04pm On Apr 12, 2010
the list is incomplete and believe me, the case will die like every other sensitive case that happened under thsi pdp between 1999 till date.
the only case that will move the whole country is case against opositions.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Sagamite(m): 4:34pm On Apr 12, 2010
chidichris:

the list is incomplete and believe me, the case will die like every other sensitive case that happened under thsi pdp between 1999 till date.
the only case that will move the whole country is case against opositions.

You mean opposition like Bode George.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by afanda(m): 4:37pm On Apr 12, 2010
Everybody is guilty of corruption one way or the other,but like it is, there is d BIG and small! Suffice it is all known as corruption. grin grin grin
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by agabaI23(m): 6:18pm On Apr 12, 2010
Haha

I think these names are released to boost Jonathans profile while he is in the US. Let's see what will happen afterward. Some names had been named in the past and till today noone has been prosecuted.

Jonathan please prove me wrong.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by zakibi: 6:35pm On Apr 12, 2010
Pls we need news on constant power supply!
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Chefo(m): 7:38pm On Apr 12, 2010
This person got this amount of million dollar and the other person got so so amount of million dollar in a country that has no light, no hospital , no justice chai may God help NIGERIA.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by hackney(m): 8:17pm On Apr 12, 2010
Nigeria is such a nation that in the next 100yrs, the ENTIRE world will
be asking ; what is actually wrong with you people?
Cant you get any thing right?

And we will still be faffing about with nothing to show for oil we used
to have in abundance.
By then all the people that have money will just leave , leaving behind a wasteland.
Then , nobody (even a beggar) will even want to be president.
watch this space.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Omolulu(m): 8:30pm On Apr 12, 2010
hackney:

Nigeria is such a nation that in the next 100yrs, the ENTIRE world will
be asking ; what is actually wrong with you people?
Cant you get any thing right?

And we will still be faffing about with nothing to show for oil we used
to have in abundance.
By then all the people that have money will just leave , leaving behind a wasteland.
Then , nobody (even a beggar) will even want to be president.
watch this space.
you must be reading my mind
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by 006(m): 11:05pm On Apr 12, 2010
These are the people crying One Nigeria.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Rastamann: 12:03am On Apr 13, 2010
Where are the evidences? Provide the evidences and these people will be prosecuted or else let everyone shut the hell up.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by mamagee3(f): 1:14am On Apr 13, 2010
Now, EFCC should take them to court and let them be rot in jail!
Buncha Criminals!
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by edoyad(m): 1:59am On Apr 13, 2010
mama-gee:

Buncha Criminals!

lol grin You said EF what , take who to where ? Real funny. Let me tell you something, all those names you see on that list will be governors and senators elect in 12 months.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by spoilt(f): 3:25am On Apr 13, 2010
mama-gee:

Buncha Criminals!

That's not going to happen.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by nethacker(m): 3:56am On Apr 13, 2010
edoyad:

lol grin You said EF what , take who to where ? Real funny. Let me tell you something, all those names you see on that list will be governors and senators elect in 12 months.
dnt forget dat anything can ahppen in niger grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by jamace(m): 4:47am On Apr 13, 2010
Where are the evidences? Provide the evidences and these people will be prosecuted or else let everyone shut the hell up.
What a gwan rastamann? Are you an EFCC operative? cheesy
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by princekevo(m): 5:41am On Apr 13, 2010
Alhaji Abdukadir Abacha, brother of late head of state also alleged to have collected $7million using his foreign firm as front.
Only in Nigeria someone with Abacha surname will still be rotating around the political circle after so much the brother stole from the country. That is why i believed the son will be of no difference when he declared his intention for Niger state governor. We can now see that stealling runs in the blood.

We ran from millitary regime, a system of governement where one man steal or looth the country dry, now we happy embraced democrazy, a system of mass constitutional stealling and loothing the country dry.
I dont see any change coming the way of Nigeria soon, when all these well known criminals work freely on the street. Who are formal northern Millitary head of state? My instincts tells me of no other person but Baba.

The world criticize china on their death sentence for corruption. Tell me how a small group of people that share $180million in country where an average citizen live on less than a dollar per day are not supposed to be hanged in public? Until we start executing these guys for corruption, We will remain far away from the word progress.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by infortune(m): 6:11am On Apr 13, 2010
Sagamite:

And out of all the tribes in Nigeria, it is only the Ibos you see not on the list?

Are you quoting a section of Nigerian law?

Those guys metalwork & olubukokoro r just crazy. when 90% of the names are northeners, the rest 10% southerners r fightin themselves on y the other is not there. let me tel u all somthin which u may already know. Ghadaffi was right when he said we shld divide along the north/south lines. That is d only way there will be all-round development in the 2 regions. That is when the north itself will put its best foot forward and shoot out the really good ones among them to govern them and compete well with the south, that is when there will be peace and let's see if they will be killin themselves after that separation.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by otukpo(f): 8:43am On Apr 13, 2010
Well all of you calling me names, what is wrong in putting down an observertion i made from the publication. Does it mean Ibos are not corrupt? Its either the list of names are not complete of the publication is from one of their newspapers.

Does it surprise u that no ibo name is there? It shouldn't.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by nex(m): 9:26am On Apr 13, 2010
The list is obviously edited. All those who are currently in government or in positions of influence have had their names removed from that list.

The list is definitely incomplete. Where's Abdulsalam Abubakar? Why do they keep referring to him as former head of state and causing a belief that it was Abacha? Why is Dick Cheney not on the list the US government worked with?

I March 1999, when the "former head of state" approved the $1.2 billion contract, Abacha was long dead. Dick Cheney personally appointed the official who sealed that deal.

Abdulsalam is not on the Nigerian list, Dick Cheney was not on the USA's list. The people whose names are on those lists are those whose political influence has totally diminished.

All those whose names are on that list will be prosecuted. The sacred cows had their names edited off the list before it even came down.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by tessybrown(m): 10:08am On Apr 13, 2010
That iz 4 reaL AT TIMES it hapPENS THAT waY,A LADY IN http://ladieshood.waphall.com saYs the saMe toO.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by kemisuga(f): 11:06am On Apr 13, 2010
Chei, How come I couldn't get a penny out of the Lion Share!!!!!!! angry angry angry angry angry

grin grin grin grin grin
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Rmc1(m): 12:15pm On Apr 13, 2010
Oya over to you madam farida waziri, lets start seeing some action and prosecutions asap. Afterall you claim that you are better than ribadu.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by oge4real(f): 1:05pm On Apr 13, 2010
What do we do with these names? Please allow us to consentrate, we know nothing will be done to these people.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by fugocisse: 3:10pm On Apr 13, 2010
In political settings where public officials are held accountable for their actions, somebody with Mr. Babangida’s history of numerous manifest crimes against Nigeria and Nigerians would have long been sentenced to a stiff jail term and permanently barred from participation in his country’s public affairs. Babangida’s ambition to maneuver himself once more into power is arrogant, condescending and downright insensitive to the feelings of Nigerians whose affairs he ruined during his term as military dictator.

It is certain that the outcome of Babangida’s inordinate presidential run will depend on Nigerians’ collective resistance or acquiescence. Enlightened Nigerians cannot afford inaction or consent by default in the face of the avoidable train wreck that is a Babangida presidency.

There is no question that, in the coming weeks and months, unscrupulous Nigerian politicians, hired hagiographers and commentators, will come out in droves to champion Babangida and to try to rewrite his tragic history. Many of these would-be praise singers have a record for contributing to the ruination of Nigeria through their own corrupt practices.

We are confident, however, that Babangida will be stopped by the strong will of the vast majority of decent, conscientious Nigerians. These forward-looking citizens have every reason to stoutly defend the right of Nigeria to move away from her sordid past embodied and represented by the likes of Babangida. They have the energy, passion and vision to ensure the transformation of Nigeria into a 21st century nation that is able to serve the legitimate aspirations of her citizenry and to command the respect of other nations.

Nigeria should move forward, not backward. The country abounds with talent, at home and abroad, able to arrest her stagnation and turn her into an enviable, even model, polity. The Babangidas in our midst only know how to take Nigeria further away from the path of meaningful development and significant progress.

To reward Babangida with Nigeria’s highest political office despite his atrocities would indeed establish a terrible precedence and encourage political leaders in the continued destruction of Nigeria. Surely, this is not the kind of signal Nigerians want to send.

The Nigeria Democratic Liberty Forum (NDLF) is aware of the ill-advised encouragement that some foreign governments have provided Babangida. We condemn in the strongest terms this attempt by foreign powers to foist a certified disaster on the Nigerian people, a move bound to perpetuate and deepen Nigeria’s crisis of development and stultified democracy.

In order to register the outrage and resistance of Nigerians, NDLF will forward a petition letter; http://petition.ndlf-ng.org with signatures of Nigerians to the US government as well as other governments in Europe that may be goading Babangida to steal power.

This petition should serve as the cry of millions of Nigerians who say NO TO IBB and to the foreign governments around the world that may be sponsoring him. This signature petition drive is one of numerous activities NDLF intends to embark upon to STOP IBB and his likes from continuing to hold Nigeria hostage.

We also encourage individuals in their own ways to mount a campaign against Babangida in an effort to take our country back. We enjoin Nigeria’s labor unions, civil organizations, professional bodies, artisans, religious groups, and ethnic group associations to rise in rejection of a Babangida presidency. IBB poses such a serious threat to the interests of Nigerians that we should forge a mass movement to demand that Nigeria must move forward and say NO TO IBB.

If you believe that Nigeria should not be sacrificed to Babangida’s unpatriotic and nefarious whims and egotistical ambitions, please sign the petition; http://petition.ndlf-ng.org. We also urge you to forward it to ALL the Nigerian contacts in your email box – and persuade them to sign.

You can also print copies of the petition and hand it to Nigerians in the streets, churches, mosques, and homes. Explain to them that the stakes are high – and they need to make their voices heard. Signed copies of the petition should be emailed to petition@ndlf-ng.org. Please avoid apathy and indifference. Be involved in this struggle to free our beloved country.

Go to http://petition.ndlf-ng.org and make your voice heard. FREE NIGERIA: SAY NO TO IBB
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by splashbaby(m): 6:11pm On Apr 13, 2010
Hmmm why are they always exonerating Obansanjo in this scam as soon as concrete evidence[size=8pt][/size] is about to be established?,
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by bibiking1(m): 6:33pm On Apr 13, 2010
And the story resumes!!!
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Nigerd(m): 7:43pm On Apr 13, 2010
@ Topic
Wetin dem dey use the money do,

Build House,

Give PDP

or
Carry Ashewo?
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Rmc1(m): 8:33pm On Apr 13, 2010
^^^   Lol all of the above including, pepper-souping ,suyar-ing , big stouting nkwobe-ing, isi- ewuing, and point and killing  grin  grin
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by rasputinn(m): 10:13pm On Apr 13, 2010
Act 1 scene 2 please
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Anaegboka(m): 10:16pm On Apr 13, 2010
These thieves will just use the money to obstruct justice and rig themselves to higher political office, to steal higher amounts of money, to rig their children into political office, for the children to continue stealing from where the fathers stopped. Can we the masses whose children' future are being stolen for these thieves children' future going to keep quiet? Asari Dokubo could not. So can we.
Re: Vanguard Releases Names Of Nigerian $180m Halliburton Bribe-takers by Anaegboka(m): 10:16pm On Apr 13, 2010
These thieves will just use the money to obstruct justice and rig themselves to higher political office, to steal higher amounts of money, to rig their children into political office, for the children to continue stealing from where the fathers stopped. Can we the masses whose children' future are being stolen for these thieves children' future going to keep quiet? Asari Dokubo could not. So can we.

Anxiety As Buhari Swears In Cabinet Wednesday / Budget Office: NNPC Paying N53 Subsidy On Every Litre Of Petrol / Nigeria's Refineries Post ₦406.62 Billion Loss In Two Years

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 39