Stats: 3,153,043 members, 7,818,124 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 08:31 AM

Can You Describe Your Job? - Career (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Career / Can You Describe Your Job? (38964 Views)

9 Smart Ways To Say No To Your Boss Without Losing Your Job / 4 Better Ways To Answer "Why Are You Leaving Your Job?" / 11 Signs That You Should Leave Your Job. (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gamine(f): 1:26pm On Jul 10, 2008
LOL

My Job is Finding Work
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Sagamite(m): 6:55pm On Jul 10, 2008
I work as a Consulting advisor.

My work is challenging and interesting as I work with the executive team who I provide with reports and recommendations using all the consulting toolkits and methodology.

I do market analysis to find out where the business can grow, expand or invest to maximise profits, cut cost or improve revenue. It might involve analysing supply chain, customer service, acquisitions etc. Basically, every few months, I might be looking at a different area of the business and have to learn from scratch everything about that area and how it adds value to the business.

It involves data analysis, insight generation and structured thinking & writing.

It is also good as I work closely with the CEO and other senior heads of divisions who respect my opinion. And I get to see what challenges the business is facing in its markets and contribute to rallying or identifying resources to overcome it.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by demoly: 6:02pm On Jul 11, 2008
I am self employed man. My hobbies are writing stories and articles. Interested member of the house could contact me on 08060121301
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by bebure(m): 11:09pm On Jul 12, 2008
I currently work as a mechanical engineer on a one year internship programme in a pretty big company (fortune 500). I am mainly involved in the product development of new paper handling machines. I design test rigs which the company uses to conduct research on things like sensors, I conduct tests of my own on various other components, build prototype machines (which takes weeks at times) and occassionally I train other engineers on how to build the machines.

The job is certainly challenging, it has its ups and downs like most other jobs, ups being when you have a design solution to a problem and downs being when you don't . The pressure is crazy (especially when you have three managers in the room hustling you to finish an assignment so software can do their bit on the machine), the hours can be long and it takes a lot of innovation, imagination, hardwork and commonsense.

I am almost done with the internship however (it's been eleven months so far) and I'm looking forward to my final year of university. After that I might try my hands at investment banking (corporate finance) or go to work as an engineer for an oil service company.

Ultimately, my ideal job would be one where I successfully run my own business or businesses in Nigeria. I just think it would be best for me to try and gain a few years of experience here in the UK and maybe the US before going back to Nigeria to aquire the skills and swagger required to make it there.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by nehhymayya(m): 2:01pm On Jul 14, 2008
am an architect with a flair for architectural conceptualizing and illustration. Enjoy sitework but am having a difficult time after a road mishap left me nursing a broken ankle. Makes my job near impossible.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gabry(f): 8:15am On Jul 16, 2008
I'm running 5 different companies (all sister chains and its a family business). The first company is specializes at Construction for the Oil and Gas Industry, theres the Hardware Company, Construction at Buildings Company, Fashion Clothing Company and a Restaurant. What I do? I run them all making sure that all have profits and also to ensure that the labours are in good working condition and well. . . . anything concerning to the company is my business.  cool

I have side jobs (part time. . . . . whenever I'm free) as well (meaning I'm working for other people). I write drama scripts for malaysian Drama's, I teach people to play music instruments (Piano, Drums, Electric, bass, Folk and Clasical Guitar, keyboard and recorder), I work in a 4 star independant Hotel as a Sales & Marketing Manager and also I organize people's rooms.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by skyline(f): 1:37pm On Jul 17, 2008
my job is to attend to clients\marketing prospective clients in an outdoor advertising company. i use to enjoy this job before lasaa came up with the idea of removing billboards in lagos state in the name of beautifying lagos, thereby leaving many people jobless and hopeless.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by malikng: 3:11pm On Jul 17, 2008
I work in the music dept of a company. I dont particularly like the job although I do like music; I guess it'll be a lot of fun for someone who's actually interested in the music business. Its crazy, lol , cuz i have to go out everytime my phone rings cuz people hear loud music in the background and they're like "where are u" and I say the office! Idk it just seems silly
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by JeSoul(f): 3:54pm On Jul 17, 2008
I'm a scientist. In the field of drug discovery & development and process sciences, specifically protein analytics. I've performed analysis that has supported the work of a nobel prize winner. I joke frequently that that is probably the closest I'll ever get to a nobel prize  wink

And I am also a part-time musician/artist/poet, I get to travel to a lot of different places and perform in front of very diverse and intresting crowds. Everything from churches to colleges to festivals to clubs. . . the only thing I dislike is being away from my loved ones & friends so much  sad  Any other real musicians on nairaland, holla@ your girl!

But yes I do enjoy both careers smiley
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by leggyleggy(f): 4:12pm On Jul 17, 2008
what a question! for me im paid to talk and thats what i do. I enjoy it sha because i touch a lot of lives that way and it makes me happy in the end tongue
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Raimond(m): 4:20pm On Jul 17, 2008
I`m in the Telecoms Sector, with one of the big 4 or is it 3.I`m a service desk/change control supervisor.
I love my job, but my vision is to be on my own in the nearest future.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gamine(f): 4:22pm On Jul 17, 2008
@Raimond

Front desk operator?

u wan funkify your job ni
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Raimond(m): 4:27pm On Jul 17, 2008
Gamine:

@Raimond

Front desk operator?

Sorry to disappoint you my dear, service desk and change control administration are IT service management functions.Visit our office at Olakunle Bakare off Sanusi Fafunwa and see if you`ll find any man at the front desk
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gamine(f): 4:30pm On Jul 17, 2008
hahahah Mr Celtel
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by showbobo(m): 4:31pm On Jul 17, 2008
Dont mind her jare Raimond.We should be hoping and praying she gets a job real soon undecided her joblessness is becoming something else on nairaland
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gamine(f): 4:32pm On Jul 17, 2008
Sharrap dia jo.

if i describe my job, u go just slump.

u think i go dey blow trumpet
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Raimond(m): 4:40pm On Jul 17, 2008
Gamine:

Sharrap dia jo.

if i describe my job, u go just slump.

u think i go dey blow trumpet

I don slump---bhf magazine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! undecided
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by steaming(f): 4:46pm On Jul 17, 2008
Gamine:

@Raimond

Front desk operator?

Well sha na una sabi. I am A front Desk Officer with style. A Sista just has to start somewia. Not complaining though, been learning quite alot and the environ is one of the best working environs you could get in Naija.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by JeSoul(f): 4:48pm On Jul 17, 2008
steaming:

Well sha na una sabi. I am A front Desk Officer with style. A Sista just has to start somewia. Not complaining though, been learning quite alot and the environ is one of the best working environs you could get in Naija.
Amen! the key is to make the most out of every opportunity one gets and always realize that we're blessed to even have a job and brains to do a job in the first place.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Gamine(f): 4:48pm On Jul 17, 2008
i never said theres anything wrong about being a Front Desk person o!!

@Raimond, good for you!
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Raimond(m): 5:10pm On Jul 17, 2008
Gamine:

i never said theres anything wrong about being a Front Desk person o!!

@Raimond, good for you!

Neither did I so i don`t know what you are talking about!

steaming:

Being a front desk officer is not an anathema, moreover i love them cute front desk sistas.Gamine is high on expired weed.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by ubest1(m): 5:25pm On Jul 17, 2008
I am a system administrator in one of the biggest auto-mobil company in the country, well I love my job despite the cash is not much ok because is stressless, it only need your brain to control the systems.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by savanaha: 5:29pm On Jul 17, 2008
Answer phone, setup appointments, pretest patients, file insurance information.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by zikabrown(f): 6:01pm On Jul 17, 2008
I work for an advertising agency and this is what my job entails

Duties:
• Initiating, organizing and coordinating of new businesses
• Receiving Business Lead and Developing them into Remunerative Businesses
• Identifying and Converting New Business Opportunity
• Writing Briefs
• Delivering a High Standard Service to Clients
• Preparation of Status Report.
Establishing and Maintaining Ongoing Business Relationships

But for now,i think am tired,and need a bank job.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by nedra: 6:14pm On Jul 17, 2008
i enjoy my job becos i am a blue film star actor,
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by husu(m): 6:58pm On Jul 17, 2008
nedra:

i enjoy my job because i am a blue film star actor,
U mean porn actor? ooopppss!!!!!!! too bad.are you a male or female.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by husu(m): 7:05pm On Jul 17, 2008
Well, iam an Enginneer, Telecoms to be precise.Still working and cracking brains with some set of AGED MEN,Trying to set up a world class telecoms company.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by sherrylo: 7:09pm On Jul 17, 2008
Hun,my job is very sressfull.It involves travelling around,buying and selling, but the gain is worth it!.
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by felixdodo: 7:23pm On Jul 17, 2008
I am a fresh graduate for now I like browsing
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by jimmie(m): 7:45pm On Jul 17, 2008
I like my Job, cos it gives me room to display d stuff i have upstairs, it also give me room to think and be positive, i am a creative artist, i get my inspiration from people and things around me.
God bless my Job/
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by FELORE(f): 7:52pm On Jul 17, 2008
most people work i banks, damn boring!! undecided
Re: Can You Describe Your Job? by Busybody2(f): 10:14pm On Jul 17, 2008
I am an artist, a dancer, a singer, a photographer, a writer, a nurse, a chef, a football coach, an actress, a fashion designer, a director, a driver, a pop star, a playmate, a friendly giant, a fairy princess, a team-player, a safe haven, a comforter, a place to seek nourishment, a gardener, a carer, a teacher, a guide, a fortress, a sanctuary, a tower of strength, a beacon, a counsellor, a mentor, a psychologist, a companion, a linguist, a cleaner, a security guard, the good sherpherd, a shelter in stormy weather, a refreshment in a drought and barren dessert, a shade in the scorching sun and in a heatwave, a warm hearth in cold winter, . . .

I am A MOTHER of seven

chei see what 2 years maternity leave does to one

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (Reply)

5 Reason You Should Learn ICT Skills While Doing Other Jobs / Tony Elumelu: The Sales Boy Turned Billionaire / Please Advise Me, I Am At Cross Roads On What To Do

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 40