Stats: 3,158,382 members, 7,836,545 topics. Date: Wednesday, 22 May 2024 at 09:42 AM

Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible - Sports (9) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Sports / Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible (41736 Views)

Osimhen & Boniface Beat Ronaldo As World Best Strikers By SPORTbible / China Bans Footballers From Getting Tattoos / Ranking Of Golden Boot Winners: Messi The 1st To Claim This Award For 6 Times (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) ... (15) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:13am On Oct 15, 2019
DanXplore:

Lol. But he has won 5 Bdrs even without world cups na.
He needs like 15 to win a world cup. That guy is only good in barca shirt.
Like even deserves the five, cant forget 2010, was not all , even forlan was better. Tournament the world takes so precious., not a single goal and he won ballon d'or,,,,

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:14am On Oct 15, 2019
DanXplore:

Brazil has won so many national leagues. Does that make Neymar better than Messi?
Messi can be better than never , bit he aint goat
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Jokerman(m): 9:16am On Oct 15, 2019
eni4real:
Not true
. The only controversial one is that of Chitalu of Zambia.. 120+...
It is not an official goal tho!!

People say Pele scored 1200+ goals, hope that know that Josef Bican scored more than 2500+ goals grin

Non-competitve era... 50's and 60's football!!!

Oga believe it or not, Pele had 127 calendar year goals in 1959
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:17am On Oct 15, 2019
Jokerman:

So he won the best player for this year's COPA??
has he ever won the best player in a copa America competition? If yes, don't mention me again
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Sirwallace(m): 9:17am On Oct 15, 2019
hopefulLandlord:
This is the most stupid nonsensical post I've read today

you think Messi would last a full match in those days when tackling from behind is legal? when something that's regarded to be red card worthy today would be seen as only a free kick at best in those days? when many top players barely earn enough to live a comfortable life to Messi that has personal staff for almost everything asides training, brushing and eating? are you comparing those days when opponents can simply break your leg and get away with it to now that Messi can jump over a Sergio Ramos tackle and still get Ramos sent off?

You're talking a lot of juvenile sheet bro

What was his greatest competition?
Dont tell me its the word cup where fewer teams were playing then.

The dude is great and he help promote the sport in those days when african countries are getting one spot chopping 14-0 in the world cup.
Just so you know, the game is now very difficult compare to those era.
France, Brazil, portugal and other football nations now struggle to play against african opponent they used to annihilate.
Can you imagine nigeria losing to madagascar,? Thats how the game is developed.

And uncle smart, are you saying game in those days are more difficult than we have today? Today when defenders have access to videos clips of their tormentor.

Pele did nothing different from what neymar did in brazil. The only difference why Neymar aint successful is because of the tougher competition and of course his own default.

Did he even play in europe?

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Jokerman(m): 9:18am On Oct 15, 2019
mystical109:
has he ever won the best player in a copa America competition? If yes, don't mention me again

Lol.... Isn't it what you messilonati fans use to judge C.Ronaldo in Laliga and by golden boot??

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:19am On Oct 15, 2019
DanXplore:

Now the arguement has evolved to "not winning anything for country" to "not winning anything for the country's senior team"?

Well, atleast he took the senior team to finals atleast 3 times. What else do you want him to do? He should take them to heaven?
Taking the team to finals three times makes him a goat bah, remember how many ucl finals they are called runner up na. I will and can never say messi is not a good player, he is even better than cr7 to me , but calling him a goat is nonsense. Not even close to R9. Messi and cr7 only goat in European football, not world wide, they haven't won the most prestigious trophy, messi didn't even conquer his home continent you saying the games GOAT. Nonsense, same with cr7 goat ke nibo.
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:20am On Oct 15, 2019
DanXplore:

Atleast he took them to finals atleast 3 times.
Runners up na winner, ask Juventus

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:20am On Oct 15, 2019
DanXplore:

Atleast he took them to finals atleast 3 times.
Runners up na winner, ask Juventus ...
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:21am On Oct 15, 2019
trappatoni:
don't waste your time replying that dude, they have no clue. Let their Goat win Copa America first. If Maradona had all the players Messi have at his disposal, Argentina would have won the world cup 3 times. Pele the player of the century is overrated, these guys are high on something.
check maradona's teammates and Messi's teammates, then check their contributions in each tournament. You will agree that maradona had better teammates. Argentina has not won any major tournament because Messi hasn't scored in each of the finals. Without Messi, they won't even reach the semis

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:21am On Oct 15, 2019
Debaiz:

Lol standing ovation is an achievement?

If that is what you care about, google Betis vs Barca game last season and read up. That was the latest standing ovation.

You people just come with nonsense and think you’re replying a kids who don’t watch ball.
Betis for messi, Manchester United for R9, madrid for R10.
When it comes to talent and skills R9 and R10 beats him hands down. You really young in the game
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by dayowunmi(m): 9:22am On Oct 15, 2019
SirKomA:

When it comes to soccer, Messi plays better than any footballer both Dead and Alive. Forget about Pele, maradona and the likes, we all watch football.

Even if I'm a cr7 fan, who's now cr700, I can't hide the truthful truth.

Messi is unarguably a soccer demigod!
Lol just Lol. You guys are really hilarious. Messi plays better than any footballer dead or alive. When did you sat down to analyse every footballer dead or alive to arrive at your conclusion? He dribbles better than Brazilian Ronaldo or late George Best? Scores better than Cristiano, late Ferenc Puskas or Pele? As you rightly said We all watch football, the difference is some of us are more objective with our opinions. Messi is a Demi god? Well maybe he is, although a demigod struggling to win copa America and the world cup. Funny enough the Maradona you claimed is less than Messi won the world Cup with Argentina, won titles with Barcelona, won under 20 World Cup for Argentina, won seria A with Napoli and even the Italian Cup, Italian supercup and the UEFA supercup with Napoli. He won a championship for Boca juniors too. You guys are just a poor student of history. Messi is not even the greatest Argentinian footballer in history and certainly he's no better than Cristiano Ronaldo. You can't hide the truthful truth you said. Well your truthful truth is relative to you and not universal.

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:24am On Oct 15, 2019
m140:

Ask zlatan if messi is better than he is , am sure he will say no , tell him R9 is better he will tell you he is his idol, that guy R9 bad ghan, i swear social media hyped players these days
you lie, when Zlatan named his best 11 of all time, he named Messi the genius, named Ronaldo the phenomenal, he named himself the god. Zlatan can't bring himself down for anybody
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by dayowunmi(m): 9:26am On Oct 15, 2019
mystical109:
Messi has won the best player in ever tournament he played but Ronaldo hasn't
How did he emerge best player in 2014 World Cup? Politics! He's never won copa America. I will like to know when was he voted best player in any of those tournaments? Gimme proof. Not saying u lying, I just want proof.

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:26am On Oct 15, 2019
Jokerman:

Lol.... Isn't it what you messilonati fans use to judge C.Ronaldo in Laliga and by golden boot??

I don't get
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:26am On Oct 15, 2019
dayowunmi:

Lol just Lol. You guys are really hilarious. Messi plays better than any footballer dead or alive. When did you sat down to analyse every footballer dead or alive to arrive at your conclusion? He dribbles better than Brazilian Ronaldo or late George Best? Scores better than Cristiano, late Ferenc Puskas or Pele? As you rightly said We all watch football, the difference is some of us are more objective with our opinions. Messi is a Demi god? Well maybe he is, although a demigod struggling to win copa America and the world cup. Funny enough the Maradona you claimed is less than Messi won the world Cup with Argentina, won titles with Barcelona, won under 20 World Cup for Argentina, won seria A with Napoli and even the Italian Cup, Italian supercup and the UEFA supercup with Napoli. He won a championship for Boca juniors too. You guys are just a poor student of history. Messi is not even the greatest Argentinian footballer in history and certainly he's no better than Cristiano Ronaldo. You can't hide the truthful truth you said. Well your truthful truth is relative to you and not universal.
If you conquer club football conquer national football, then win the most prestigious tournament Wc , then you qualified to be called a goat, if not make the player go sit down. Mess did not even conquer his continent not to talk world

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:28am On Oct 15, 2019
m140:

When it comes to talent and skills R9 and R10 beats him hands down. You really young in the game
messi has two standing ovations
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Slurity(m): 9:28am On Oct 15, 2019
Jokerman:
A barcelonian list grin

We are talking of the "greatest "... What has Messi done or acheived on won that this players haven't done

Pele
Maradona
Zidane
Ronaldo
CR7
They have never Fifa best player 6 good times
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by dayowunmi(m): 9:29am On Oct 15, 2019
chrisxxx:

That is a prove of Messi greatness. He is the yardstick you use in measuring Ronaldo's performance.
And Ronaldo is not used as yardstick in accessing Messi? Aren't greats in any field of endeavour measured against each other? Eg Wizkid vs David, Maradona vs Pele, Nadal vs Federer, LeBron vs Jordan, Soyinka vs Chinua Achebe? I don't know what else Ronaldos performance is to be measured with if not Messi. Maybe Ronaldo should have been compared with Kanye West or Usain Bolt then.

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:30am On Oct 15, 2019
mystical109:
you lie, when Zlatan named his best 11 of all time, he named Messi the genius, named Ronaldo the phenomenal, he named himself the god. Zlatan can't bring himself down for anybody
Messi matter go just kill you, cr7 is more qualified being called a goat, he won Europe, messi no copa

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:32am On Oct 15, 2019
mystical109:
Messi matter go just kill you, cr7 is more qualified being called a goat, he won Europe, messi no copa...
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by dayowunmi(m): 9:32am On Oct 15, 2019
OtemAtum:

Olympic Gold Medal
Its an age grade tournament, the level of competition is not high enough. The participants at Olympic men football are upcoming players not experienced professionals. The same applies to under 20 championship. Why is Nigeria so good in age grade tournaments such as under 20 and even Olympic men football and rubbish in normal football tournaments? Cos the competition is lower!

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by mystical109(m): 9:33am On Oct 15, 2019
dayowunmi:

How did he emerge best player in 2014 World Cup? Politics! He's never won copa America. I will like to know when was he voted best player in any of those tournaments? Gimme proof. Not saying u lying, I just want proof.
I believe u have access to Google
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:33am On Oct 15, 2019
mystical109:
messi has two standing ovations
Lolzzzz , lets hear
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Debaiz: 9:37am On Oct 15, 2019
m140:

Did you intentionally skipped the bold part or you don’t know how to comprehend it?

Lol standing ovation is an achievement?

If that is what you care about, google Betis vs Barca game last season and read up. That was the latest standing ovation.

You people just come with nonsense and think you’re replying a kids who don’t watch ball.

Cure your ignorance with this ��The only player to ever appear twice.

Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by OtemAtum: 9:37am On Oct 15, 2019
dayowunmi:

Its an age grade tournament, the level of competition is not high enough. The participants at Olympic men football are upcoming players not experienced professionals. The same applies to under 20 championship. Why is Nigeria so good in age grade tournaments such as under 20 and even Olympic men football and rubbish in normal football tournaments? Cos the competition is lower!
But he won it. So why are you explaining this long? I have answered your question. Olympic gold medal is not low. Pls get your facts right. It's a global thing.
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by boninho: 9:40am On Oct 15, 2019
Greatest club football player, I agree Lionel Messi

Greatest of all time? Certainly not

Ronaldo De Lima
Pele
Maradona

At their very very best, Messi is not better than El Phenomeno

My opinion though
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:44am On Oct 15, 2019
Debaiz:

Did you intentionally skipped the bold part or you don’t know how to comprehend it?

How old are you?
What's the second team messi had the standing
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Chingykay77(m): 9:46am On Oct 15, 2019
Jokerman:
A barcelonian list grin

We are talking of the "greatest "... What has Messi done or acheived on won that this players haven't done

Pele
Maradona
Zidane
Ronaldo
CR7

God bless you oh my brother ...that of pele alone is enough
The Europeans referred him as the king of Football
you think it's easy playing three World Cups and won the three for his Country name any other player who has done this
Pele won 1958,1962 and 1970 bro you think say na joke before you come and say there was no offiside then i'm pleased to inform you that offside in football started in1863 and he still scored over 1000 goals and that FP says he's overrated
Guy check am
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by Nobody: 9:46am On Oct 15, 2019
Iretii0511:

1959 Pele had 127 goals
Not official!! Just like his sham 1200+ career goals..

His official career goal is 767 goals!!!
His official goal for Santos is 643 goals...
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by m140(m): 9:48am On Oct 15, 2019
Debaiz:

How old are you?
What's the second team messi had the standing .....
Re: Ranking Of Footballers: From Goat To Overrated By Sportbible by dayowunmi(m): 9:51am On Oct 15, 2019
OtemAtum:
But he won it. So why are you explaining this long? I have answered your question. Olympic gold medal is not low. Pls get your facts right. It's a global thing.
Messi probably won't win the Fifa World Cup or Copa America. How's he better than Diego Amando Maradona his compatriot?

(1) (2) (3) ... (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) ... (15) (Reply)

Referee Beaten Up In Kano After Football Match (Video) / Obiano Commissions UltraModern Awka City Stadium, Awka (Pictures). / PHOTOS: Alex Iwobi Becomes LG Electronics' Brand Ambassador

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 55