Welcome, Guest: Register On Nairaland / LOGIN! / Trending / Recent / New
Stats: 3,150,853 members, 7,810,281 topics. Date: Saturday, 27 April 2024 at 05:12 AM

Family Tales: Ode To My Mother - Family - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Family / Family Tales: Ode To My Mother (1201 Views)

Family Tales: Dear Love / Family Tales: A Quarter Of Hope! / My Mother, My Wife: Who Comes First? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (Reply) (Go Down)

Family Tales: Ode To My Mother by Nobody: 11:06am On Jun 07, 2012
Here is the second short story from my series, Family Tales. Please be nice with your comments. I'm still learning. wink

You can read the first story at the following link: https://www.nairaland.com/957303/family-tales-quarter-hope

If you like them enough, follow me for more stories: https://www.nairaland.com/michelin89 / http://inspiredyarnsofthemind..it/
Re: Family Tales: Ode To My Mother by Nobody: 11:09am On Jun 07, 2012
Dear Mother, wherever you are, listen to these words, I have written for you.

Mother, I know your story began the day you meet Aunty M. Please don't be upset with me because I choose to call her that way, but that is how she was introduced to me and that's how I grew up to know her.

Mother, you were a graceful girl, yet so minute and fragile. Your siblings picked on you for anything and despite all attempts by grandma to protect you, she couldn't stop the hands of mean strangers from touching you, pushing you and pointing at you in laughter while you fell so easily on the ground, like a dry leaf blown here and there in the air by a sudden autumn breeze. You were mocked, picked on and ridiculed because of your delicate frame and unhealthy appearance, but still you were beautiful mother. So much beauty that it couldn't go unnoticed. You had grace and you had heart, but you lacked the strength to fight back to protect this precious gift you were given.

Continues...
Re: Family Tales: Ode To My Mother by Nobody: 11:27am On Jun 07, 2012
Continues...