Stats: 3,153,194 members, 7,818,638 topics. Date: Sunday, 05 May 2024 at 08:27 PM

Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala - Business - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Business / Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala (21559 Views)

Emeka Offor Is Now Broke - SaharaReporters / (pic) See Why Nigeria Is Broke / Ngozi Okonjo-iweala Joins Lazard As Senior Advisor (2) (3) (4)

Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by lolaxavier(m): 6:55am On Apr 17, 2015
The Minister of Finance, Dr. Ngozi Okonjo-Iweala, has said the country is not broke despite the cash crunch currently being experienced.

She said that with the financial assets the President Goodluck Jonathan administration had been able to build over the years, the nation’s cash flow would improve over time.

In an interview with CNN’s Richard Quest, Okonjo-Iweala said, “Under this administration, we began the work of truly diversifying the economy and the proof of that is that much of the growth in this past few years that has come to the country has come not from the oil sector but actually from non-oil sectors like agriculture, telecommunications, manufacturing and the creative industries.

“The fact that oil prices fell by 50 per cent makes it very difficult in terms of cash flow, but Nigeria is asset rich and that is why when people say the country is broke, I say no. In economic terms, with the kind of assets we have, we should be able to realise some of them to improve our cash flow but it is true that this will be a very difficult year because of the cash crunch.

“However, we need to see this drop in oil prices as an opportunity. I gave a talk on Nigeria beyond oil. I really think with the growth of the country based on non-oil sectors, we ought to see the fall in oil prices as an opportunity to further the diversification that has started under this administration.”

http://www.punchng.com/business/business-economy/nigeria-is-not-broke-okonjo-iweala-2/

8 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by galadima77(m): 6:59am On Apr 17, 2015
up till now?

modified:
maybe someone with better knowledge of economics will come and explain to us what this minister means...for me who's always in the mkt, I sincerely don't feel the presence of money in d system and I also know crude oil value has been all time low for weeks now. so like I said, someone should help me and my likes.

...lest I forget, on a Friday morning, what else can be more exciting than making the front page and also hitting jackpot wit FTC..... well I know it's no big deal, after all many have and will continue to attain similar feat, but guys. .......I dey feel myself die!!!

27 Likes 3 Shares

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by lolaxavier(m): 7:09am On Apr 17, 2015
Very funny woman. People are complaining bitterly and dis one is busy saying in economic terms...
Let us see positive direct impacts of all these economics on people's lives not telling us textbook stories.

Buhari, please do the needful....

44 Likes

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by sigmundfreud(m): 7:10am On Apr 17, 2015
End game things...

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by makzeze: 7:16am On Apr 17, 2015
This technocrat turned bloody lying politician is not serious at all.She wants to be relevants at all cost. It is enough.

25 Likes

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by eleko1: 7:17am On Apr 17, 2015
sad. Just wait behind after MAY 29 to clarify thing beta undecided

28 Likes 2 Shares

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by lolaxavier(m): 7:35am On Apr 17, 2015
eleko1:
sad. Just wait behind after MAY 29 to clarify thing beta undecided

Hahahahahaha...she will disappear before you know...

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by ijustdey: 7:37am On Apr 17, 2015
this woman is just using English to confuse some gullible minds

we all knew how they have nearly ruin the economy of this nation

17 Likes 1 Share

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Young03(m): 7:48am On Apr 17, 2015
But is this woman serious?

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by kekakuz(m): 8:03am On Apr 17, 2015
yea
Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by ShowYourCertificate: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
It will soon be. The clueless Buhari will be busy fighting corruption to realise that there's a need to increase our revenue from non-oil sources.

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by adorablepepple(f): 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
Shoro niyen undecided

Pls vote for this cute little prince charming through this link.thanks for your love always .thank you. https://apps.agorapulse.com/contest/50092/entry/674203?fb_action_ids=10206424142504988&fb_action_types=og.shares&fb_source=other_multiline&action_object_map=%5B1098001666893768%5D&action_type_map=%5B%22og.shares%22%5D&action_ref_map=%5B%5D
Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by otemanuduno: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
Hmm...yes she is hiding the money in her big cheeks and tummy.

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by trayvon360: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
It will give me great joy and pleasure to see the two female paracites (ngozi and madueke) rot in jail under buhari's administration.

They joined. hands with the clueless one to destroy Nigeria and suck her dry.

All we want is a little retribution

Someone must pay for this economic mess we are in.

#retribution
#saibuhari
#killcorruption

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by lonelydora: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
Madam Economy we are already tired of your paper theories. I hope yiu have prepared your handover note?

Can't wait for May 29th.

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Nobody: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by holyboss: 8:04am On Apr 17, 2015
of cos we konw

My signature is NEXT
Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Nobody: 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
Is this not the same woman shouting Nigeria is broke?

With All this her abracadabra economics,there's God.

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Nobody: 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
Just get your azz back home and come release money make ministry pay me!

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by aristocrazzy: 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
I go vex if Buha no comot dis woman oooO
Overrated.

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by lorbah001(m): 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
Ofcourse she is not.......... You gat two portfolios under uncle jonah, I guez dats double pay too

Btw I'm missing da point ........ @topic!!

Al d same madam you are right - nigeria ain't broke , its we nigerians dats broke...#smh

We've sai baba now we wanna xperience BABA

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by brainpulse: 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
Better put, me Ngozi's pocket is not broke

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by tolustx(m): 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
Shey I neva c dis news b4 ni.

Next one abeg...

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by idsamoo(m): 8:05am On Apr 17, 2015
We are rich in all things!but I think this madam is only excellent theoretically,let her go and start a finance school please!

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by misterchris(m): 8:06am On Apr 17, 2015
This woman should stop feeding Nigerians with lies.... Like if u agree!

14 Likes

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Goldenheart(m): 8:06am On Apr 17, 2015
Ehn
Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Zaikon(m): 8:06am On Apr 17, 2015
EVEN ASSOCIATION OF BLACK ANT KNWS BUT DIARIS GOD

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by modath(f): 8:07am On Apr 17, 2015
2 Things.

1. This woman's textbook economics that doesn't have any bearing on reality has totally clouded her judgement.

2.How did she go from helping Nigeria shore up her foreign reserves under OBJ to also assiting Jona in plundering same reserve?

All I can see in her future is a commissioner position in one eastern state, she has dropped the ball somewhere. undecided

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by Kelklein(m): 8:07am On Apr 17, 2015
[size=18pt]OK madam! we Don hear[/size]

Re: Nigeria Is Not Broke - Ngozi Okonjo-iweala by folabayo1(f): 8:07am On Apr 17, 2015
After you've embezzled our money u still av the guts to spits nonsense..if we are not broke then explain to us in full details our financial status in this country?
Mshew
I just don't like dis woman undecided

Thread For Computer Business Centre/cybercafe Owners / DOMAK Group Chair Meets President Mnangagwa Over 1.2m Housing Units. / Dufil Prima Foods, Makers Of Indomie Noodles Takes Over Dangote Noodles.