Stats: 3,156,718 members, 7,831,279 topics. Date: Friday, 17 May 2024 at 04:30 PM

Man Wey Dey Reason - Literature (89) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / Literature / Man Wey Dey Reason (550209 Views)

As E Dey Happen (pidgin Tory Wey Sweet Wella) / AS E DEY Happen(a Pidgin Story) / Ibo Boy Wey Like Yoruba (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (86) (87) (88) (89) (90) (91) (92) ... (112) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by yemi2plus(m): 9:53am On Jun 12, 2013
4kizo: Stop quoting nd update
its not easy typing, esp with phone
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by nuwell(m): 10:37am On Jun 12, 2013
texanomaly:
I said: Where have you been all this time? Don't be angry. Come out and play. The rest is in English. Is it not right. Fix please. That is how I learn.

'Come out and play' could be (depending on circumstances) be:
*Show (for 'Come out'), make me relate
*Show, make we yarn (This is more a word for 'discuss')
Those are the ones that occur to me at the moment.
The other parts are alright.
And relax, you are doing splendidly, against the background you described earlier.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by flow1759: 12:16pm On Jun 12, 2013
4kizo: Stop quoting nd update

have i ever disappointed you with updates. Atleast, i try to update once a day despite my busy schedule.

If i am unable to finish the story before my birthday, i will continue.

I never expected you of all people to alter this 4kizo.

Well, human beings can't be satisfied no matter what, that i know.

BUT STILL I FLOW.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by Nobody: 12:40pm On Jun 12, 2013
Flowey from Tupaco, Have you had your Garri today?
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by 4kizo(m): 1:03pm On Jun 12, 2013
flow1759:

have i ever disappointed you with updates. Atleast, i try to update once a day despite my busy schedule.

If i am unable to finish the story before my birthday, i will continue.

I never expected you of all people to alter this 4kizo.

Well, human beings can't be satisfied no matter what, that i know.

BUT STILL I FLOW.
flow i neua mean lyk dat o, no b sey i dy vex kwa, d koko b sey i don wait tire, abeg no vex, chilax abeg nd kip d bomb, days longatua.
stil u flow
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by flow1759: 1:12pm On Jun 12, 2013
Garri_Activist: Flowey from Tupaco, Have you had your Garri today?

I have. I just had Garri and Beans for lunch grin
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 1:15pm On Jun 12, 2013
@ Flow. Sorry I upset u.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by Tgold1(m): 1:34pm On Jun 12, 2013
Oga flow u keep me waiting and glued to NL..... Abeg update kwa..... B4 i uex 4 u woh, * in Man's Voice holding d Talley*
stil Me...... Uku I Uku, da Adventurer
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 1:46pm On Jun 12, 2013
Flow leaves when I'm here. cry I will unfollow, so others can enjoy. L8rz
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by econity(m): 1:57pm On Jun 12, 2013
texanomaly: Flow leaves when I'm here. cry I will unfollow, so others can enjoy. L8trz
i dont think that's true. It might only be some sort of coincidence.
Na because of say him never update you come carry the blame put for your head. You don dey follow this tread for long which flow dey aware. So i no fit believe say flowee dey vex for you. But if e be say him dey vex den may be na biggy him dey vex for not you. No just reason to leave the tread.
Oya flow make you sharp sharp wit immediate alacrity come out from where you dey com tell Texanomaly say you no rub vesline for her.

Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 2:25pm On Jun 12, 2013
@ econity shocked Nice pic. Thanks for the comment. wink You made me laugh. I'm not sure what "rub Vaseline" means in Nigeria, but the translation in the US is something all together different. wink Or so I tot. btw: I go follow. Thanks again.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by craigj: 2:28pm On Jun 12, 2013
angry angry
Eze Promoe:
How would i have known. I mean we who were brilliant in our school days never did such. Though i hear am well well o. grin
Keep flowing but don't cut the story short again.

You brilliant na him your brain no fit comprehend angry. If I hear
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by Tgold1(m): 3:06pm On Jun 12, 2013
craigj: angry angry

if him no fit comprehend, den it means e no geh brain be dat
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by obysolid(m): 3:36pm On Jun 12, 2013
still u flow....... Still i follow.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by dhrey: 6:05pm On Jun 12, 2013
Flowey,am bored naw com update us.sebi public holiday dey tuday.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by EzePromoe: 6:27pm On Jun 12, 2013
craigj: angry angry

Who be this wey dey quote my 1990 post grin
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by donem: 8:09pm On Jun 12, 2013
Hmmm! @ last iv'e gotten to this page, started following this thread 3days ago based on a pals recommendation, to be acatalectically veracious u rock,thumbs up to you Mr flow you're unarguably the best in your game, keep it up more ink to your pen, and more innovations to your memoir. I will love to cease this opportunity to Oliver twistly ask for more updates, keep flowing Mr Flow.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by flow1759: 8:59pm On Jun 12, 2013
Dear Nairalanders,
There wouldn't be updates today and tomorrow, i am currently not close to a medium/access to the internet. But hopeful by tomorrow night i will be back and i promise to make it up to you guys. Pls accept my sincere apology.

YOURS FLOWING,
FLOW.

Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by opeano(m): 9:11pm On Jun 12, 2013
tanx flow for d notice, dats just one tin i lov so much abt u, u r an epitome of humility and such a cairin fellow. I am nt sure if i spoke d mind of d majority, bt dats my candid opinion
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by econity(m): 11:38pm On Jun 12, 2013
texanomaly: @ econity shocked Holly sh.t! Nice pic. Thanks for the comment. wink You made me laugh. I'm not sure what "rub Vaseline" means in Nigeria, but the translation in the US is something all together different. wink Or so I tot. btw: I go follow. Thanks again.
thanks for d compliment.
I i say *why you dey rub vesline* den i mean why are you vexing. It is not really a pidgen English. It some sort of way of using words that have similar words in dem to communicate, while the person being communicated to has to decipher it.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by skoloppy31(m): 11:45pm On Jun 12, 2013
flow my flow,no mind me say i no comment all dis while....oboy nah examz ooo and i never even start self,and u knw that yoruba adage thats says Ati okere ni oloju jinjin ti ma un mu ekun Sun i.e som1 whose eyes dont wet easily while crying have to start early before his/her mates begins....*in SANYERIS VOICE bar man give flow 5 odeku and three udemu with 2 plates of nkobi and isi egwu to rob body for his next update...greet dem foxy,mazi,rapmeatro,taxo,damex33,and all dos i cant even remem..miss nl so much...gonna be back soon...OR SO I THOUGHT...peace out STIL I SKOLOPPY[color=#770077][/color]
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 2:03am On Jun 13, 2013
econity:
thanks for d compliment.
I i say *why you dey rub vesline* den i mean why are you vexing. It is not really a pidgen English. It some sort of way of using words that have similar words in dem to communicate, while the person being communicated to has to decipher it.

Sounds interesting. Although, it seems I do it on a regular basis here. wink

Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by donigspain(m): 3:17am On Jun 13, 2013
Good job! Keep it up.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by Horlardorjah(m): 7:55am On Jun 13, 2013
Maddest craziest man ever liveth. Always on point MR FLOWIE. Ur head is dearest
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by MRMICKMEN: 11:33am On Jun 13, 2013
econity:
thanks for d compliment.
call am metaphor
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by Tgold1(m): 12:46pm On Jun 13, 2013
Horlardorjah: Maddest craziest man ever liveth. Always on point MR FLOWIE. Ur head is dearest

Flowest Aro Nigga Ever Liveth=> F.A.N.E.L
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by econity(m): 1:44pm On Jun 13, 2013
MR MICKMEN:
call am metaphor
na you know o'
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by valboy20(m): 1:54pm On Jun 13, 2013
texanomaly:

Sounds interesting. Although, it seems I do it on a regular basis here. wink

is that you on your profile?
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 2:04pm On Jun 13, 2013
MR MICKMEN:
call am metaphor
Lol I know what a metaphor is.I understood what he was saying. I was simply making light of another form of the same metaphor. Thanks for the heads up though. smiley

Oops that was not for me...I think that is why he used the phrase. Look at what he said and check out his profile...Once I stopped ogling his abs and pecs I read it. He seems to be an intelligent guy.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by texanomaly(f): 2:05pm On Jun 13, 2013
valboy20:

is that you on your profile?
Yes. It was taken in April.
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by opeano(m): 9:12pm On Jun 13, 2013
oga Flowey, pls put d smile on our faces, no matter condition... Hopin u shall update tonyt. Bad netwk, I rebuke u in Jesus name
Re: Man Wey Dey Reason by flow1759: 9:55pm On Jun 13, 2013
Obele looked shorter to me as we arrived. I measured that my knee was a bit below his shoulder.

As we sat, i was wondering the amount of food that would fill our tanks, maybe a pyramid of Noodles would do.

"Obele give us Indomie and fried Egg, and Bread and Custard" Guess who ordered for that? Man!! Man wey dey reason out food.

"abi una no go like chop Hamburger and S'.perm?" He added.

"which one be Hamburger and S'.perm again?" asked Bigie.

"Hamburger na when you open your Agege Bread, com put Indomie and Fried Egg inside, com close am" Man explained.

"S'.perm na Custard wey them put plenty powder Milk inside" He further explained.

"na wetin me and my friends dey call am that time wey i dey Sok town" He added.

Man was a man of so many code names, nicknames, and guynames. He could give Kulikuli and Garri a palatable name that would make it sound like a continental dish.

Don't try checking up "guyname", you wouldn't find a word like that in the English dictionary. Unless of course you check it up in an Oxford Advanced learner's Pidgin dictionary. "Guyname" is a pidgin word that is said to refer to a funny name given to a Noun.

A Noun is the name of a person, animal, place or thing. Abi you no go primary school?

That means "Obj" is the guyname of Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, "GEJ" is the guyname of Goodluck Ebele Jonathan, and "High Tension" was the former guyname of Eke Ugochukwu Peter.

"Obele na powder Milk you go put for the Custard oh, and you no go let the Egg over fry oh" Man ordered.

"Flow i go need that memory card wey i give you that day, i don buy another phone" Tupac said.

"guy make i tell you true oh, i no see the memory card again, e don lost" I said expecting him to yell or bark at me, or both.

"you don jonz oh, memory card wey that B'.itches over B'.itches video dey nahim you go lost" He said.

Jonz is not the name of a French Footballer, it sometimes means someone has messed up, and it sometimes means someone is being s'.tupid, it depends on the statement it is used.

"and we for use that video chop more money from Mama Ejima oh" Man said.

"no worry, you know wetin dem dey write for the end of film wey be part one na" I said.

"wetin?" Brainbox asked.

"them go write WATCH OUT FOR PART TWO" I said and they all laughed.

I was sure there would be a part two to the movie B'.itches over B'.itches. Or so i tot.

Hamburger and S'.perm was served after i had Salivated so much. The Custard really looked like S'.perm, but the Noodles, fried Egg and Bread was not yet Hamburger, unless they go through the "combination" process Man explained.

We all watched keenly as Man divided his Bread into two almost equal halves, took almost half of his Egg and several spoons of his Noodles, placed them carefully on one half of the Bread, and said; "as e don dey like this, the next thing na to clap your hand".

"which one be clap your hand again na?" Tupac asked.

"see wetin be clap your hand here" He replied, as he placed the other half of the Bread on the half with the Noodles and Fried Egg, he did that with so much dexterity.

That was really a "clap" that gave life to a Hamburger. Man's Hamburger.

"Man how you take sabi to do Hamburger? e make sense oh" Brainbox said after we had all clapped out our Hamburgers.

"you no know say i don do Mai shai that time wey i dey Sok Town" He answered.

Mai shai is not a Korean name, neither is it the name of a place in China, it is what Hausas call someone that prepares Tea(not Tramadol oh!) for commercial consumption. Noodles, Fried Egg and S'.perm or rather Custard is always in the Menu of most Mai shai(Hausa people, i spell am well abi?).

Hamburger and S'.perm was really an unending meal, i couldn't finish it, the more i ate the more it multiplied, i was practically pleading with the food to finish. That day was the first day in a long while that i left a delicious meal unfinished.

"Remnant" was a word that could not be found in my dictionary, and would never be.

I was a perfect description of the Ibo saying; "kàmá ó gà dó n'ité, ká ó dóró nà àfò".

I no go interpret that one oh!! Ask the next Ibo person you see.

Instead of the food to be saved in the Pot, let it be saved in the Stomach. Na wetin e mean.

(1) (2) (3) ... (86) (87) (88) (89) (90) (91) (92) ... (112) (Reply)

BROKEN HEDGE By Toyin Taiwo / My Life On Campus (A True Life Story). / Red Ashes

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 46