Stats: 3,153,381 members, 7,819,386 topics. Date: Monday, 06 May 2024 at 03:22 PM

"How Large Was Noah's Ark?" - Religion (14) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Religion / "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" (51283 Views)

Of What Use Was Noah's Flood If It Couldn't Stop Wickedness? / Real Reasons Titanic Sank And Noah's Ark Sailed / Are Large/Mega-churches Biblical? How Large Is A Church Supposed To Be? (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (Reply) (Go Down)

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by AjaoMT2: 1:57pm On Jan 09, 2014
Lending credence to the biblical account is the sudden appearance of civilizations after the flood.
They did not grow gradually but appeared to have been fully formed.
I am talking about the Egyptians, Indus, Mayans, Sumerian and the Megalith builders of North-West Europe who appeared around 3000BC.
Where did they get their knowledge?
Could it be that they got it from the survivors of the Ark who had this knowledge before the flood?
Here are some further excerpts from Dead Men's Secrets by Jonathan Gray:
About 3000 B.C., Egypt sprang into existence suddenly, fully developed—that is, without transition from a primitive state, with a fantastic ready-made high society.
“Great cities, enormous temples,” he continued. “Pyramids of overwhelming size. Colossal statues with tremendous expressive power. Luxurious tunnels and tombs. Splendid streets flanked by magnificent sculptures. Perfect drainage systems. A decimal system at the very start. A ready-made writing, already perfected. A well-established naming system (in which each Pharaoh had as many as five names). Society already divided into specialist classes. An army, civil service and hierarchy minutely organized. A court exhibiting all the indications of well-defined precedence and form.”
“Take a look at Sumeria. The appearance around 3000 B.C. of Sumerian civilization was likewise sudden, unexpected and out of nowhere.
“H. Frankfort (Tell Uqair) called it ‘astonishing.’ Pierre Amiet (Elam) termed it ‘extraordinary.’ A. Parrot (Sumer) described it as ‘a flame which blazed up so suddenly.’ Leo Oppenheim (Ancient Mesopotamia) stressed ‘the astonishingly short perio the civilization had arisen. Joseph Campbell (The Masks of God) summed it up this way: ‘With stunning abruptness...there appears in this little Sumerian mud garden...the whole cultural syndrome that has since constituted the germinal unit of all the high civilizations of the world.’”
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by AjaoMT2: 1:59pm On Jan 09, 2014
“Take a look at Sumeria. The appearance around 3000 B.C. of Sumerian civilization was likewise sudden, unexpected and out of nowhere.
“H. Frankfort (Tell Uqair) called it ‘astonishing.’ Pierre Amiet (Elam) termed it ‘extraordinary.’ A. Parrot (Sumer) described it as ‘a flame which blazed up so suddenly.’ Leo Oppenheim (Ancient Mesopotamia) stressed ‘the astonishingly short perio the civilization had arisen. Joseph Campbell (The Masks of God) summed it up this way: ‘With stunning abruptness...there appears in this little Sumerian mud garden...the whole cultural syndrome that has since constituted the germinal unit of all the high civilizations of the world.’”
“But I’ve also been examining the evidence unearthed in Harappa and Mohenjo-Daro,” Ed stated. “They were the key centers of the Indus Valley civilization. These also appear to have suddenly sprung up with no clearcut traces of having evolved from primitive beginnings. Your third coincidence.”
“You see, the Maya of Central America are in it, too. The Mayan calendar goes back to approximately the same time (c. 3000 B.C.). And sure enough, at the outset of Mayan culture, their script was already perfect.”
“Indeed there are. The megalith builders of northwest Europe appeared at precisely the same time. The achievements they demonstrated were identical, that is, the ‘simultaneous discovery of Pythagorean triangles, a precise calendar, a true compass-bearing for north, knowledge of the movement of celestial bodies (possibly including knowledge that the world was round) and a minutely accurate system of measurement.’
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Krayola(m): 2:02pm On Jan 09, 2014
mazaje:

According to the bible the flood happened about 6000 years ago, pretty most of the species available on earth existed at that time. . .

the earths landscape wasn't different 6000 years ago. . .Mount Everist alone is over 60 million years old according to scientific dating. . .The mythical flood did not create any ajor mountain any where. . .Most of the major mountains are millions of years old according to scientist. . .I told you in another thread that people were living and writing their own histories in places like china, india, egypt and south america uninterupted 6000 years ago. . .There is no evidence what so ever to show that the earth was once flooded, its just a jewish myth and fairy tale, many christians know this and are now saying that the flood was a local flood and not a global one. . .There is NO evidence for a global flood any where. ..

Continents were formed very long ago and not 6000 years ago. . .

grin grin U still dey here dey fight this fight. WOW!! Endurance gbaaaa!!
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by AjaoMT2: 2:32pm On Jan 09, 2014
Sarassin:

I think you missed the boat...no pun intended. Most of the other traditions about the great flood precedes biblical accounts in most cases by a millennium.
Also, the mere fact that precede the Bible does not make the biblical account wrong.
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by phuckNL: 2:34pm On Jan 09, 2014
Swiftboy: yeah long before science's discovery,the Holy Bible did talked about our universe.am glad you said there're mysteries in life...yet you cant think of the flood story as mysterious! Then stop being rude just cos you want to prove a point! Few of the scriptures here...read-up man!
Isaiah 40:26
Lift up your eyes on high And see who has created these stars, The One who leads forth their host by number, He calls them all by name; Because of the greatness of His might and the strength of His power, Not one of them is missing.
Job 9:7-9
Who commands the sun not to shine, And sets a seal upon the stars; Who alone stretches out the heavens And tramples down the waves of the sea; Who makes the Bear, Orion and the Pleiades, And the chambers of the south
Job 38:31-33
"Can you bind the chains of the Pleiades, Or loose the cords of Orion? "Can you lead forth a constellation in its season, And guide the Bear with her satellites? "Do you know the ordinances of the heavens, Or fix their rule over the earth?

What is this one saying. You want me to think of the flood as a mystery? Number one, I haven't said that the flood didn't exist. My issue is with Noah's Ark, its size, and the feasibility of housing all animals for one year. Number 2, the mysteries that I mentioned have been witnessed. The NOAH's Ark flood (or as you call it, a mystery) is detailed accounts of what SOME MEN wrote. None of us witnessed it. Why should I just believe it?
You keep referring me to go and read. What use is that when I am TELLING YOU THAT I DONT BELIEVE WHAT MAN WROTE THERE. Is this difficult to comprehend? I am saying they LIED. It is for you to prove to me that they didn't. Telling me to READ something I BELIEVE is a LIE will simply not make it TRUE

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Nobody: 3:55pm On Jan 09, 2014
AjaoMT2:
Can you quote the sources that precede the bible by a millennium? Kindly substantiate.

The Mesopotamian "Epic of Gilgamesh" containing a flood story which the Genesis accounts closely follows is dated to around 2500BC. You can read up on that anywhere.

The most generous dates we have for the authorship of the Book of Genesis is around 1445BC. Actually many biblical scholars now consider Genesis to have been written no earlier than 5th century BC by "Yahwist" authors resident at the court of Solomon.
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by AjaoMT2: 5:54pm On Jan 09, 2014
Sarassin:

The Mesopotamian "Epic of Gilgamesh" containing a flood story which the Genesis accounts closely follows is dated to around 2500BC. You can read up on that anywhere.

The most generous dates we have for the authorship of the Book of Genesis is around 1445BC. Actually many biblical scholars now consider Genesis to have been written no earlier than 5th century BC by "Yahwist" authors resident at the court of Solomon.
Kindly also check up on this link and read the 5th paragraph. I believe it throws more light on the issue. Thanks.
http://www.truthingenesis.com/2013/01/03/who-wrote-the-book-of-genesis/
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Tinapa97(m): 6:31pm On Jan 09, 2014
I think u also forgot to ask HOW WATER GOT INTO COCONUT . God has said he's ways and thoughts are diff frm dat of man so stop worry ur brain Abt ''technicalities'' .
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by phuckNL: 7:07pm On Jan 09, 2014
Tinapa97: I think u also forgot to ask HOW WATER GOT INTO COCONUT . God has said he's ways and thoughts are diff frm dat of man so stop worry ur brain Abt ''technicalities'' .

See this one oo. Don't come and embarrass yourself here oo.
The water in the coconut is produced via the endosperm. You are aware that water and nutrients go through the roots of the tree right?

You might as well start asking how blood got into our system. My guy park well. Coconut water is no mystery. It actually contradicts your point because adults used to lie to young ones back in the dayz terming the water in the coconut a "mystery" when it is not.

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by mazaje(m): 8:39pm On Jan 09, 2014
Krayola:

grin grin U still dey here dey fight this fight. WOW!! Endurance gbaaaa!!

Baba, where you run go hide na?. . . .I miss you ohh. . .Nice to see you. . .Happy new year. . .Me sef dey go on and off. . .Not a regular like back in the days, but i do come around and chip in once in a while. . .Am now based in Naija. . How are you doing?. . .

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by mazaje(m): 8:41pm On Jan 09, 2014
AjaoMT2: Lending credence to the biblical account is the sudden appearance of civilizations after the flood.
They did not grow gradually but appeared to have been fully formed.
I am talking about the Egyptians, Indus, Mayans, Sumerian and the Megalith builders of North-West Europe who appeared around 3000BC.
Where did they get their knowledge?
Could it be that they got it from the survivors of the Ark who had this knowledge before the flood?
Here are some further excerpts from Dead Men's Secrets by Jonathan Gray:
About 3000 B.C., Egypt sprang into existence suddenly, fully developed—that is, without transition from a primitive state, with a fantastic ready-made high society.
“Great cities, enormous temples,” he continued. “Pyramids of overwhelming size. Colossal statues with tremendous expressive power. Luxurious tunnels and tombs. Splendid streets flanked by magnificent sculptures. Perfect drainage systems. A decimal system at the very start. A ready-made writing, already perfected. A well-established naming system (in which each Pharaoh had as many as five names). Society already divided into specialist classes. An army, civil service and hierarchy minutely organized. A court exhibiting all the indications of well-defined precedence and form.”

Stop spreading lies, chinese, indian , mayan and egyprian recorded history dates back to more than 3000BC, there were people living in china, india, and egypt for more than 10,000 years. . .What the hell are you saying?. . .Provide any historical document that show that there weren't people living in Egypt about 4300 years ago(time of the flood) or remain a liar. . .

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Horus(m): 8:48pm On Jan 09, 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=rCXTxS-5XEU

[size=15pt]The Truth About The Ark Of Noah In Africa[/size]
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by MoPearl(f): 9:05pm On Jan 09, 2014
My LORD, You are very patient......
Oluwa E kuu suru ooo.

# take chair, sits down, shakes head, looks up, puts fist under chin#
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by AjaoMT2: 9:32pm On Jan 09, 2014
mazaje:

Stop spreading lies, chinese, indian , mayan and egyprian recorded history dates back to more than 3000BC, there were people living in china, india, and egypt for more than 10,000 years. . .What the hell are you saying?. . .Provide any historical document that show that there weren't people living in Egypt about 4300 years ago(time of the flood) or remain a liar. . .
No need to get abusive or unnecessarily aggressive. This is supposed to be a discussion. Why take things so personally? I showed quotes from a book and I gave you the title and the author's name. It is up to you to disprove them. Why not provide your own historical documents to disprove them.
This is from Wikipedia: Ancient Egypt was an ancient civilization of Northeastern Africa, concentrated along the lower reaches of the Nile River in what is now the modern country of Egypt. Egyptian civilization coalesced around 3150 BC (according to conventional Egyptian chronology)[1] with the political unification of Upper and Lower Egypt under the first pharaoh.[2] The history of ancient Egypt occurred in a series of stable Kingdoms, separated by periods of relative instability known as Intermediate Periods: the Old Kingdom of the Early Bronze Age, the Middle Kingdom of the Middle Bronze Age and the New Kingdom of the Late Bronze Age.
You can read more from this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_Egypt
Thanks.
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Image123(m): 12:12am On Jan 10, 2014
mazaje:
Baba, where you run go hide na?. . . .I miss you ohh. . .Nice to see you. . .Happy new year. . .Me sef dey go on and off. . .Not a regular like back in the days, but i do come around and chip in once in a while. . .Am now based in Naija. . How are you doing?. . .

What is the problem here? Would you like to be sent to the chip in mode? lol
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Gilbertman(m): 7:18am On Jan 10, 2014
Mr Aboki:

All has been good, educating and entertaining so far... but this one here is really serious... Whoever conceived this pics is something else... I cant just stop laughing. Somebody on nairaland will win someone over with laughter someday...
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by khattab02: 8:57am On Jan 10, 2014
phuck_NL:

See this one oo. Don't come and embarrass yourself here oo.
The water in the coconut is produced via the endosperm. You are aware that water and nutrients go through the roots of the tree right?

You might as well start asking how blood got into our system. My guy park well. Coconut water is no mystery. It actually contradicts your point because adults used to lie to young ones back in the dayz terming the water in the coconut a "mystery" when it is not.
u korrect!
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 10:22am On Jan 10, 2014
Solozzo:

Why so difficult to understand that this a myth geared towards encouraging the people of Israel to glorify the power of their god and they sprang from a pure ancestry.

A true myth, of course. cool

Solozzo:

If you examine the story objectively it makes little sense to believe that a man over a hundred years old could assisted by only 7 people could build such an ark.

The antidulivians (pre Flood people) were most likely to be smarter and more advanced than people today. The longer life spans, Adam's direct contact with God and the fact that they could glean from the wisdom of many generations that were still alive would have greatly expanded their knowledge base to build such an Ark.

Solozzo:

Why did god not just create a new set of animals after the flood instead of asking to preserve them? That would have been easier.

Have you heard about the first law of thermodynamics? God rested from His work of creation on the 7th day.

Solozzo:

It is said that: did god create man in his own image or did man create god in our own image?

What do you think? Are you returning the favours? undecided

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by mazaje(m): 4:14pm On Jan 10, 2014
AjaoMT2:
No need to get abusive or unnecessarily aggressive. This is supposed to be a discussion. Why take things so personally? I showed quotes from a book and I gave you the title and the author's name. It is up to you to disprove them. Why not provide your own historical documents to disprove them.
This is from Wikipedia: Ancient Egypt was an ancient civilization of Northeastern Africa, concentrated along the lower reaches of the Nile River in what is now the modern country of Egypt. Egyptian civilization coalesced around 3150 BC (according to conventional Egyptian chronology)[1] with the political unification of Upper and Lower Egypt under the first pharaoh.[2] The history of ancient Egypt occurred in a series of stable Kingdoms, separated by periods of relative instability known as Intermediate Periods: the Old Kingdom of the Early Bronze Age, the Middle Kingdom of the Middle Bronze Age and the New Kingdom of the Late Bronze Age.
You can read more from this http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ancient_Egypt
Thanks.

That proves my point. . .3150 BC is about 5200 years ago. . .Can you show me that there were no people living in Egypt about 4300 years ago(the period of the alleged flood)?. . .Show me from any historical evidence that the entire people living in Egypts were wiped out 4300 years ago and no one was living there. . I can show you historical evidence that people were VERY active in Egypt and living very normal lives about 4500 years ago in Egypt till date. . .

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Joshthefirst(m): 5:32pm On Jan 10, 2014
mazaje:

That proves my point. . .3150 BC is about 5200 years ago. . .Can you show me that there were no people living in Egypt about 4300 years ago(the period of the alleged flood)?. . .Show me from any historical evidence that the entire people living in Egypts were wiped out 4300 years ago and no one was living there. . I can show you historical evidence that people were VERY active in Egypt and living very normal lives about 4500 years ago in Egypt till date. . .
as I said, the dating problem can never be resolved. Its either we are making a mistake in our dating, or you're making a mistake in your dating. But the flood happened. This is a cheapshot way of debunking the great flood. We might as well be arguing when it happened, and not if it really happened. Think of something else without appeal to popular authority, or I'll appeal to the greatest and most legitimate authority there is, effectively shutting you up sir.
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 6:23pm On Jan 10, 2014
The Flood of Noah and the Flood of Gilgamesh
by Frank Lorey, M.A.

Background

The Epic of Gilgamesh has been of interest to Christians ever since its discovery in the mid-nineteenth century in the ruins of the great library at Nineveh, with its account of a universal flood with significant parallels to the Flood of Noah's day.1, 2 The rest of the Epic, which dates back to possibly third millennium B.C., contains little of value for Christians, since it concerns typical polytheistic myths associated with the pagan peoples of the time. However, some Christians have studied the ideas of creation and the afterlife presented in the Epic. Even secular scholars have recognized the parallels between the Babylonian, Phoenician, and Hebrew accounts, although not all are willing to label the connections as anything more than shared mythology.3

There have been numerous flood stories identified from ancient sources scattered around the world. 4 The stories that were discovered on cuneiform tablets, which comprise some of the earliest surviving writing, have obvious similarities. Cuneiform writing was invented by the Sumerians and carried on by the Akkadians. Babylonian and Assyrian are two dialects of the Akkadian, and both contain a flood account. While there are differences between the original Sumerian and later Babylonian and Assyrian flood accounts, many of the similarities are strikingly close to the Genesis flood account.5 The Babylonian account is the most intact, with only seven of 205 lines missing.6 It was also the first discovered, making it the most studied of the early flood accounts.

The Epic of Gilgamesh is contained on twelve large tablets, and since the original discovery, it has been found on others, as well as having been translated into other early languages.7 The actual tablets date back to around 650 B.C. and are obviously not originals since fragments of the flood story have been found on tablets dated around 2,000 B.C.8 Linguistic experts believe that the story was composed well before 2,000 B.C. compiled from material that was much older than that date.9 The Sumerian cuneiform writing has been estimated to go as far back as 3,300 B.C.10

The Story

The Epic was composed in the form of a poem. The main figure is Gilgamesh, who actually may have been an historical person. The Sumerian King List shows Gilgamesh in the first dynasty of Uruk reigning for 126 years.11 This length of time is not a problem when compared with the age of the pre-flood patriarchs of the Bible. Indeed, after Gilgamesh, the kings lived a normal life span as compared with today.12 The King List is also of interest as it mentions the flood specifically—"the deluge overthrew the land."13

The story starts by introducing the deeds of the hero Gilgamesh. He was one who had great knowledge and wisdom, and preserved information of the days before the flood. Gilgamesh wrote on tablets of stone all that he had done, including building the city walls of Uruk and its temple for Eanna. He was an oppressive ruler, however, which caused his subjects to cry out to the "gods" to create a nemesis to cause Gilgamesh strife.14

After one fight, this nemesis—Enkidu—became best friends with Gilgamesh. The two set off to win fame by going on many dangerous adventures in which Enkidu is eventually killed. Gilgamesh then determines to find immortality since he now fears death. It is upon this search that he meets Utnapishtim, the character most like the Biblical Noah.15

In brief, Utnapishtim had become immortal after building a ship to weather the Great Deluge that destroyed mankind. He brought all of his relatives and all species of creatures aboard the vessel. Utnapishtim released birds to find land, and the ship landed upon a mountain after the flood. The story then ends with tales of Enkidu's visit to the underworld.16 Even though many similarities exist between the two accounts, there still are serious differences.

The table below presents a comparison of the main aspects of the two accounts of the flood as presented in the Book of Genesis and in the Epic of Gilgamesh.

For more . . . .
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 6:42pm On Jan 10, 2014

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Swiftboy(m): 7:07pm On Jan 10, 2014
And some people be talking of carbon dating! We need to understand that God had laid the foundation for creation before the Genesis account...so carbon dating has not proof the bible wrong,it has only endorsed! If otherwise...its the carbon dating thats not accurate cos of errors in measurements!lol With the Little experience of God I've had and still experiencing...since its God,there cant be a lie.to you atheist...your smartness is out-right stupidity!
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by mazaje(m): 7:13pm On Jan 10, 2014
Joshthefirst: as I said, the dating problem can never be resolved. Its either we are making a mistake in our dating, or you're making a mistake in your dating. But the flood happened. This is a cheapshot way of debunking the great flood. We might as well be arguing when it happened, and not if it really happened. Think of something else without appeal to popular authority, or I'll appeal to the greatest and most legitimate authority there is, effectively shutting you up sir.

Which dating problem?. . .The same dating method christians use to confirm stuffs that agree with the bible but throw away when it disagrees with the bible, eh?. . .Do you know that the same dating methods have been used to determine the ages of different manuscripts of the bible?. . .You keep trying to debunk science without even having a basic understanding of it. . . .Historical records show that there were people living in many parts of the world 4500 years ago. . .The bible is NOT the greatest authourity because it is a book of myths. . .Do you know that the book of genesis as a whole was written less than 3000 years ago?. . .

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by mazaje(m): 7:15pm On Jan 10, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

Not Just Another Legend

If you notice most of the people that live close to bodies of water have flood myths. . .The thing is that most of them are different and non of them says that a man named Noah and 8 people survived any flood anywhere. .
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by EvilBrain1(m): 7:41pm On Jan 10, 2014
Wow! 13 pages! This must have hit the front page while I was away.

And see the way the Christians are twisting their brains like spaghetti trying to make this ark story make sense. Most of the questions I and others raised still haven't been satisfactorily answered though.

You guys should keep trying sha. I'm sure you'll eventually find logical answers to all of them. After all, the bible can't be wrong.

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 5:45pm On Jul 03, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

The Flood of Noah and the Flood of Gilgamesh
by Frank Lorey, M.A.

Background

The Epic of Gilgamesh has been of interest to Christians ever since its discovery in the mid-nineteenth century in the ruins of the great library at Nineveh, with its account of a universal flood with significant parallels to the Flood of Noah's day.1, 2 The rest of the Epic, which dates back to possibly third millennium B.C., contains little of value for Christians, since it concerns typical polytheistic myths associated with the pagan peoples of the time. However, some Christians have studied the ideas of creation and the afterlife presented in the Epic. Even secular scholars have recognized the parallels between the Babylonian, Phoenician, and Hebrew accounts, although not all are willing to label the connections as anything more than shared mythology.3

There have been numerous flood stories identified from ancient sources scattered around the world. 4 The stories that were discovered on cuneiform tablets, which comprise some of the earliest surviving writing, have obvious similarities. Cuneiform writing was invented by the Sumerians and carried on by the Akkadians. Babylonian and Assyrian are two dialects of the Akkadian, and both contain a flood account. While there are differences between the original Sumerian and later Babylonian and Assyrian flood accounts, many of the similarities are strikingly close to the Genesis flood account.5 The Babylonian account is the most intact, with only seven of 205 lines missing.6 It was also the first discovered, making it the most studied of the early flood accounts.

The Epic of Gilgamesh is contained on twelve large tablets, and since the original discovery, it has been found on others, as well as having been translated into other early languages.7 The actual tablets date back to around 650 B.C. and are obviously not originals since fragments of the flood story have been found on tablets dated around 2,000 B.C.8 Linguistic experts believe that the story was composed well before 2,000 B.C. compiled from material that was much older than that date.9 The Sumerian cuneiform writing has been estimated to go as far back as 3,300 B.C.10

The Story

The Epic was composed in the form of a poem. The main figure is Gilgamesh, who actually may have been an historical person. The Sumerian King List shows Gilgamesh in the first dynasty of Uruk reigning for 126 years.11 This length of time is not a problem when compared with the age of the pre-flood patriarchs of the Bible. Indeed, after Gilgamesh, the kings lived a normal life span as compared with today.12 The King List is also of interest as it mentions the flood specifically—"the deluge overthrew the land."13

The story starts by introducing the deeds of the hero Gilgamesh. He was one who had great knowledge and wisdom, and preserved information of the days before the flood. Gilgamesh wrote on tablets of stone all that he had done, including building the city walls of Uruk and its temple for Eanna. He was an oppressive ruler, however, which caused his subjects to cry out to the "gods" to create a nemesis to cause Gilgamesh strife.14

After one fight, this nemesis—Enkidu—became best friends with Gilgamesh. The two set off to win fame by going on many dangerous adventures in which Enkidu is eventually killed. Gilgamesh then determines to find immortality since he now fears death. It is upon this search that he meets Utnapishtim, the character most like the Biblical Noah.15

In brief, Utnapishtim had become immortal after building a ship to weather the Great Deluge that destroyed mankind. He brought all of his relatives and all species of creatures aboard the vessel. Utnapishtim released birds to find land, and the ship landed upon a mountain after the flood. The story then ends with tales of Enkidu's visit to the underworld.16 Even though many similarities exist between the two accounts, there still are serious differences.

The table below presents a comparison of the main aspects of the two accounts of the flood as presented in the Book of Genesis and in the Epic of Gilgamesh.

For more . . . .

Continued...

Some comments need to be made about the comparisons in the table. Some of the similarities are very striking, while others are very general. The command for Utnapishtim to build the boat is remarkable: "O man of Shuruppak, son of Ubar-Tutu, tear down thy house, build a ship; abandon wealth, seek after life; scorn possessions, save thy life. Bring up the seed of all kinds of living things into the ship which thou shalt build. Let its dimensions be well measured."17 The cause of the flood as sent in judgment on man's sins is striking also. The eleventh tablet, line 180 reads, "Lay upon the sinner his sin; lay upon the transgressor his transgression."18 A study of these parallels to Genesis 6-9, as well as the many others, demonstrate the non-coincidental nature of these similarities.

The meanings of the names of the heroes, however, have absolutely no common root or connection. Noah means "rest," while Utnapishtim means "finder of life."19 Neither was perfect, but both were considered righteous and relatively faultless compared to those around them.

Utnapishtim also took a pilot for the boat, and some craftsmen, not just his family in the ark. It is also interesting that both accounts trace the landing spot to the same general region of the Middle East; however, Mt. Ararat and Mt. Nisir are about 300 miles apart. The blessing that each hero received after the flood was also quite different. Utnapishtim was granted eternal life while Noah was to multiply and fill the earth and have dominion over the animals.
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 3:16pm On Jul 21, 2014
OLAADEGBU:

Continued...

Some comments need to be made about the comparisons in the table. Some of the similarities are very striking, while others are very general. The command for Utnapishtim to build the boat is remarkable: "O man of Shuruppak, son of Ubar-Tutu, tear down thy house, build a ship; abandon wealth, seek after life; scorn possessions, save thy life. Bring up the seed of all kinds of living things into the ship which thou shalt build. Let its dimensions be well measured."17 The cause of the flood as sent in judgment on man's sins is striking also. The eleventh tablet, line 180 reads, "Lay upon the sinner his sin; lay upon the transgressor his transgression."18 A study of these parallels to Genesis 6-9, as well as the many others, demonstrate the non-coincidental nature of these similarities.

The meanings of the names of the heroes, however, have absolutely no common root or connection. Noah means "rest," while Utnapishtim means "finder of life."19 Neither was perfect, but both were considered righteous and relatively faultless compared to those around them.

Utnapishtim also took a pilot for the boat, and some craftsmen, not just his family in the ark. It is also interesting that both accounts trace the landing spot to the same general region of the Middle East; however, Mt. Ararat and Mt. Nisir are about 300 miles apart. The blessing that each hero received after the flood was also quite different. Utnapishtim was granted eternal life while Noah was to multiply and fill the earth and have dominion over the animals.

Conclusions

From the early days of the comparative study of these two flood accounts, it has been generally agreed that there is an obvious relationship. The widespread nature of flood traditions throughout the entire human race is excellent evidence for the existence of a great flood from a legal/historical point of view.20 Dating of the oldest fragments of the Gilgamesh account originally indicated that it was older than the assumed dating of Genesis.21 However, the probability exists that the Biblical account had been preserved either as an oral tradition, or in written form handed down from Noah, through the patriarchs and eventually to Moses, thereby making it actually older than the Sumerian accounts which were restatements (with alterations) to the original.

A popular theory, proposed by liberal "scholars," said that the Hebrews "borrowed" from the Babylonians, but no conclusive proof has ever been offered.22 The differences, including religious, ethical, and sheer quantity of details, make it unlikely that the Biblical account was dependent on any extant source from the Sumerian traditions. This still does not stop these liberal and secular scholars from advocating such a theory. The most accepted theory among evangelicals is that both have one common source, predating all the Sumerian forms.23 The divine inspiration of the Bible would demand that the Genesis account is the correct version. Indeed the Hebrews were known for handing down their records and tradition.24 The Book of Genesis is viewed for the most part as an historical work, even by many liberal scholars, while the Epic of Gilgamesh is viewed as mythological. The One-source Theory must, therefore, lead back to the historical event of the Flood and Noah's Ark.25 To those who believe in the inspiration and infallibility of the Bible, it should not be a surprise that God would preserve the true account of the Flood in the traditions of His people. The Genesis account was kept pure and accurate throughout the centuries by the providence of God until it was finally compiled, edited, and written down by Moses.26 The Epic of Gilgamesh, then, contains the corrupted account as preserved and embellished by peoples who did not follow the God of the Hebrews.

For more . . . .
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 9:06am On Jul 23, 2014
Moved with Fear
July 21, 2014

"By faith Noah, being warned of God of things not seen as yet, moved with fear, prepared an ark to the saving of his house; by the which he condemned the world, and became heir of the righteousness which is by faith" (Hebrews 11:7).

Noah was indeed a man of mighty faith, believing God’s word even about “things not seen as yet,” preparing for a worldwide flood in a day when God had never yet even “caused it to rain upon the earth” (Genesis 2:5). Noah was “a preacher of righteousness” (2 Peter 2:5) to an unbelieving world for at least 120 years (Genesis 6:3), “while the ark was a preparing” (1 Peter 3:20), without gaining any converts except his own family.

But why would he have been “moved with fear"? Noah was surely not afraid to die! He had “walked with God” (Genesis 6:9) for 600 years (Genesis 5:32; 7:11) before the Flood, and he was certainly not afraid to die and go to meet the Lord now.

Evidently it was for “the saving of his house” that he was afraid, realizing that his own children would soon be engulfed by the awful spirit of unbelief and wickedness that pervaded the antediluvian world if they could not somehow be delivered from it. So he “prepared an ark,” and his house was saved. “Come thou and all thy house into the ark,” said the Lord, “for thee have I seen righteous before me in this generation” (Genesis 7:1). Although they could easily have refused, they all chose to follow Noah.

In a like manner today, God speaks to the head of each house: “Believe on the Lord Jesus Christ, and thou shalt be saved, and thy house” (Acts 16:31). A consistent example of obedient faith set by a godly father (or mother, if necessary) almost inevitably results in his (or her) children also trusting in the Lord for salvation. Every caring parent should resolve that, “as for me and my house, we will serve the LORD” (Joshua 24:15). HMM

For more . . . .
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by OLAADEGBU(m): 1:25pm On Mar 22, 2016
OLAADEGBU:

Conclusions

From the early days of the comparative study of these two flood accounts, it has been generally agreed that there is an obvious relationship. The widespread nature of flood traditions throughout the entire human race is excellent evidence for the existence of a great flood from a legal/historical point of view.20 Dating of the oldest fragments of the Gilgamesh account originally indicated that it was older than the assumed dating of Genesis.21 However, the probability exists that the Biblical account had been preserved either as an oral tradition, or in written form handed down from Noah, through the patriarchs and eventually to Moses, thereby making it actually older than the Sumerian accounts which were restatements (with alterations) to the original.

A popular theory, proposed by liberal "scholars," said that the Hebrews "borrowed" from the Babylonians, but no conclusive proof has ever been offered.22 The differences, including religious, ethical, and sheer quantity of details, make it unlikely that the Biblical account was dependent on any extant source from the Sumerian traditions. This still does not stop these liberal and secular scholars from advocating such a theory. The most accepted theory among evangelicals is that both have one common source, predating all the Sumerian forms.23 The divine inspiration of the Bible would demand that the Genesis account is the correct version. Indeed the Hebrews were known for handing down their records and tradition.24 The Book of Genesis is viewed for the most part as an historical work, even by many liberal scholars, while the Epic of Gilgamesh is viewed as mythological. The One-source Theory must, therefore, lead back to the historical event of the Flood and Noah's Ark.25 To those who believe in the inspiration and infallibility of the Bible, it should not be a surprise that God would preserve the true account of the Flood in the traditions of His people. The Genesis account was kept pure and accurate throughout the centuries by the providence of God until it was finally compiled, edited, and written down by Moses.26 The Epic of Gilgamesh, then, contains the corrupted account as preserved and embellished by peoples who did not follow the God of the Hebrews.

For more . . . .

Let us hear the conclusion again. wink
Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by wiegraf: 8:12pm On Mar 22, 2016
i see your point op. i don't see why people doubt the arc when superman can leap over buildings and run faster than moving trains

Re: "How Large Was Noah's Ark?" by Image123(m): 9:12pm On Mar 22, 2016
wiegraf:
i see your point op. i don't see why people doubt the arc when superman can leap over buildings and run faster than moving trains

Do you also doubt the flood? Do you realize only kids believe in superman, while the oldest and most educated men believe in the Bible? The difference is so clear it's a miracle that you cannot see it.

(1) (2) (3) ... (11) (12) (13) (14) (15) (16) (17) (Reply)

Prophet Has Sex With His Church Member's Wife And Threatens To Kill Him (photos) / Church Of Satan Reacts As Daddy Freeze Says Marriage Vows Are Satanic / Deeper Life Lady Lists '20 Facts' About Godly Female Members Of Her Church

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 123