Stats: 3,163,301 members, 7,853,402 topics. Date: Friday, 07 June 2024 at 03:54 PM

Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) - Satellite TV Technology (78) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Entertainment / TV/Movies / Satellite TV Technology / Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) (203912 Views)

Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 5 - The Final Part) / Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) / Official Thread of Free-To-Air Satellite TV (Part 1) (2) (3) (4)

(1) (2) (3) ... (75) (76) (77) (78) (79) (80) (81) ... (100) (Go Down)

Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by BUTONEDAY(m): 10:19am On Jan 29, 2009
@ Sayso,
The software for strong and Starsat receivers are different. That is why Starsat can accept Abracadabra card and open some of those channels mentioned earlier in previous threads. Strong on the other hand has the 6969 feature which could be used also to gain access to some encrypted channels like etv, sabc, etc.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by debolay: 10:26am On Jan 29, 2009
@Baba_egun

Long time. kindly send ur phone no to my email address bolaolofinyo@yahoo.co.uk
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by GeorgeD1(m): 10:27am On Jan 29, 2009
@pito,
which set up are you talking about? pls clarify.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by sayso: 10:42am On Jan 29, 2009
BUTONEDAY:

@ Sayso,
The software for strong and Starsat receivers are different. That is why Starsat can accept Abracadabra card and open some of those channels mentioned earlier in previous threads. Strong on the other hand has the 6969 feature which could be used also to gain access to some encrypted channels like etv, sabc, etc.

thanks man,still waiting for more information.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 10:51am On Jan 29, 2009
@ all, keep it up, u guys are fuckingly great and fun to be with.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 10:57am On Jan 29, 2009
@ bodejohn,tosin,pit. get across to me on issue of operamini mod 2.06
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 11:37am On Jan 29, 2009
@Salamander
Contry to suggestions the following TPs were active with Di-electric on 68.5 East
3776 3789 3744 4066(Aljazeera breaks intermittently) 4143 4127

Another thing i noticed was that al the TPs were working with the Di-electric as long as you had originally tracked without the Di-electric. Once you locate TPs and re-fit the dielectric all the active TPs remained green. Like i said above the TPs from 3776 to 4127 are active even with the Di-electric in. That Settles That. Please Check My Profile for my Setup.

Another thing i noticed was that as i had said before the LNB would not have had a prompt for skewing if skew did not matter. When i skewed it i got 89% to 90% signal quality. Signal strength was 92% for TP 3661!! I must say i was surprised given the fact that i am using a combined LNB! and 52X . I recommend using that TP to track 68.5 on C-Band. A very smart TP indeed. So in conclusion skew matters even for C-Band and did i mention that the skew 18:30 facing the Dish?
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 11:51am On Jan 29, 2009
@All
Further Feedback on my motorisation Experience
So i go to work 3 days ago after the weekend motorisation and painstaking feed positioning which involved 15 birds on clarkes belt. I come home on gbam! the positionner remote is not on the shelf, its on the sofa. Of course Neither mummy nor my little daughter could account for the E-2 display on my positionner. Bottom line is my dish doesn't give me the programmed positions anymore.
I call Salamander and Sathob and we discuss options. I fly last night to the dish and dismantle the jack.
After 8 Hours of working with a torchlight and allowing mosquitoes to feed fat on my excess fat i finally realise that the jack is working perfectly and that the mixup was coming from the positionner that had got its programming mixed up.
With the commitment of the folks in the Niger Delta i have to reassemble everything and take a look at the positionner.
The Positionner is reset and still nothing works. However it responds to the up and down movement, it just is unable to memorise.
I decide to set high and low limits, reset it again to factory settings, switch it off and then on again and voila it now memorises positions.
The morale of this story is :
1 - Always try to see your installation in operation before you go dismantling stuff to troubleshoot. If i had asked the wife to check if the jack was moving the dish while i was inside operating the postionner there would have been no need for the mosquito bites.
2 - If i hadn't spent time on that installation i would not have realised that the bracket holding on to the outer shaft of the jack must have a grip that is as firm as possible to prevent the jack from slipping in the future.

My Two Pesewas
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 12:03pm On Jan 29, 2009
@Enitan
Tell me about Eurostar! That receiver has been so bashed because of its poor performance i wonder if anybody sells it anymore. I can only agree with you in saying that people should watch were their decoders are, if the receiver is going to fight for space with a TV, A DVD player, a VHS system and a Ghetto blaster you can be sure that there's going to be over heating within the decoder. Especially receivers like eurostar that are slimline (i.e. not sufficient space for air within the box). WARNING: Do not leave your box open!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Two solutions:

1 - Buy a simple CPU fan from the market (100 Naira worth here in Accra) and clip it to the side or the back of your receiver & voila you have your own decoder air conditionning system!!! I have patented versions you can talk to me.

2 - Ensure the receiver has enough air around it, no clutter and perhaps your own house fan could help. Resetting to factory settings also helps with eurostar.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 12:15pm On Jan 29, 2009
@Fofo
I was a bit unsettled when you laughed your "arse off" at the comments on fxproff and broucher
You see you could simply clarify without sounding as condescending as you did. Quite like what CaptainUS did.
You see if people think their ignorance is going to be laughed at they probably would feel shy exposing findings which they do not understand here.
Please lets encourage novices to share their problems so we can all learn and break this stranglehold which certain parts of the world have over telecommunications in Africa.
Forgive me if i sounded too saucy!
Regards
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by captainus: 12:30pm On Jan 29, 2009
@Ecowas4all,

That was some xperience.Don't worry the mosquitos' dinner for that night was destined to come from u grin.
Yes some tps do appear green without dielectric like india tv hum tv ,royal and KBC but they r generally better without dielectric.
The signal quality for my cnn(nss7 cband) is poor  lately but tv africa goes up to 98%.Is it a general problem or u think i should tweak the lnb?I have 1.8m motorised dish and 4653x
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 12:37pm On Jan 29, 2009
@CaptainUS
Respect Captain!
Please tweak. CNN's fine i get 68%
Regards
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 1:25pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ ecowas,
eurostar to me is very ok, am just always tired of using a particular thing for a long time, when i have the money i will be changing decoders every 3 months.
The eurostar i have at home is still very ok, but it is the one i installed ofr someone in my jungle here that is really messing up, so that option of getting a PC fan attached to it is totally out, my plan is blowing the decoder panel at least once a week to remove dust that must have gathered on the circuit board.
I will post the picture later on.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 1:44pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ those-concerned. esp coolguys,
i will be in lagos again buy next 2 weeks to start preparation for my nilesat. The first i need to do is getting the welder to fashion out a mini stand for me. And this is achieved by mounting a pole of about 6ft from the ground level, and on top of the pole a metallic flat surface is welded to the pole. The oputcome will now be similar to the water tanks are mounted. Those in lagos metroplolis would have understood what am trying to say. But the flat surface dimension will be a little bit wider than the dimension of the circular base of the 2.4m so as to be able to fit fully well on the surface, which will be in a square shape. That is my mission in lagos in 2 weeks time.

So for the installation proper, am reaching out to my hommies cos i know they will be 100% available for me then, badaru (Technical Adviser), Olofofo (engineer on site) come with your Tiger 950W generating set, OLA (2nd engineer on site) come along also with your echolink. Well to others who will like to be around then, just let me know and you wont pay a dime for coming to the installation, but this offer is open to registered and frequent users ooooooo (i dont want any deities-damned installers to be around)

And the date of the installation has not been chosen yet, and this is due to some factors known personally.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by ifende(m): 1:51pm On Jan 29, 2009
Enitan,
where is this installation going to be?
Lagos
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 2:02pm On Jan 29, 2009
@Enitan
Respect Bros.
I Hear You.

@All
You've just gotta luv this site! this is the only forum were you get people to bring you their stuff, spend time to come to your place, get them to work for you for FREE and return home feeling happy about what they just did!
Amazing! Absolutely Mind Boggling!
Like someone said before: Slim Line between hobby and mental illness? I say no line. They are one and the same thing!
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Ecowas4All(m): 2:12pm On Jan 29, 2009
@All
Ok Fellas, I have been reading with envy as members refer to keys etc on Nilesat and other birds.
I think i should be part of the team that knows how to enter keys.
I would like to start with birds which we can all easily receive here
Any keys we can practice feeding into our receivers here? Anyone?

Cheers
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 2:17pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ ecowas,
installations are only done for members here on the forum free of charge. And if anybody thinks he can just come in here and register today and by the following week he's calling on us for installation, that person is on his own oooooo

@ ifende,
the installation will be in Lagos, Iyana-Ipaja to be precise
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by ifende(m): 2:29pm On Jan 29, 2009
Enitan,
i'd like to be there too.
Will be be in lagos this weekend and will proabably be around for 2 or 3 weeks
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by badaru1(m): 3:46pm On Jan 29, 2009
@Those with echolink 3020 ir super

A new software has just been release that takes care of jsc sport + 1,2,3,4,on nilesat. check: www.sat-universe.com for the details
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by twinstaiye(m): 5:14pm On Jan 29, 2009
For those with strong 4650 upward, check crosat for new software, it was not however stated whether it can open the JSC +1-4, but i will give it a trial today when i get home. Those at home now can risk a trial and keep us posted.  grin grin
Those in the goggle arena groups can get the file there.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by fxproff(m): 5:31pm On Jan 29, 2009
@enitan,
werin dey , i would be interested to be at the installation ground ooo, at least to meet those great pple coming too, uhmmm i will give u a call sha, since its still 2 wks to this time,
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by ifende(m): 5:43pm On Jan 29, 2009
Twinstaiye,
can we have the new software and try it out?
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Nobody: 5:53pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ ifende/fzproff,
i didnt say the installation will commence in two weeks time, i only said the preparation will start by then, the installation day itself will be in March, I've not choosena date yet for it.

@ olofofo,
that issue of the C-band stuff, you made use of, can I forward my acc details am using in the jungle to you for online transaction, am in financial crisis oooo, and that is the only bailout plan i have now, i dont know what tox have in for me when he comes around by weekend
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by olofofo(m): 8:23pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ecowal4all

?? am lost totally. the pun was receiving hotbird on a 90cm dish. get it

@enitan

backyard talk not meant for the forum. mail me your account info.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by adewest(m): 8:57pm On Jan 29, 2009
@adewest thks 4 u help out--but u do something i could never imagine--i taught u are a soldier--but when war come u ran away--av finall suceeded with my guy puttg the nilesat in motion---so olofofo can u imagine that?adewest ran away when he only heard gun shut--un belieavable--pls 4 all try to call dis number in case u need another nilesat specialist--08053078664--just in case adewest go to barrack back just call i promise u.

@ Ekonibaje, please note,i don't need u to market my ability and my inability in term of sat experiences. Did i hear u say ran away, i think u r short of words in ur mouth may be.1.8m i no ran away,2.4m i no ran away,2.6m i no ran away,3m at abekekuta no ran away ,4m with olofofo i no ran away and even 6m at cotonou i no ran away. Did u ever think u can defeat a gorilla in term of jungle wafare. That guy u sold that 3m fiber to was much nice to me than u can imagine,after pointing it to u that the focal measurement was not correct and beyond what i can adjust.i did told the guy to meet one of the fibre maker to get another focal length constructed and keep me inform when that is done.The following day, the guy told me u brought a fiber maker who construct another focals and make a refurbish on the dish surface and he later proceed to go ahead with the installation without the the motorizing equipment. I wonder what nilesat channels he can watch when 3m fiber is scratching on MBC CHANNELS freq 11938 (poor signal) as at 0830PM for that matter inside Lagos. Ekonibaje abi wetin be dat ur name,Did say dat guy u sold that dish to was ur friend indeed ? Haaaba for such price u no dey fear God o, dat antiquity 3m fibre,I begin to fear u as from today ooo.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by adewest(m): 9:58pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ all the abracadabra update that support jsc sport +1 - +4 nilesat is only modified for an echolink model EL-3020 IR-SUPER only NOT PLUS.But let keep hand across as to see if strong company can still keep up with the contract support with the owner of JSC SPT +1 - +4, if they can't keep up, fine as well echolink might secure the contract.If so,software for EL-3020 IR- PLUS IS EXPECTED TO B OUT ABOUT 3-4 DAYS TIME.
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by salamander(m): 10:43pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ecowas4all

I have seen that you have been busy. I'll try the frequencies on the 68.5 u suggested and will let you know how it goes. The good thing is that, it works!
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by pitodenz(m): 10:45pm On Jan 29, 2009
@ George D
                   what i mean is the 2.4m dish and some other necessary things from him.
@ enitan
              will get to u ,thanks man
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by Dclique(m): 11:19pm On Jan 29, 2009
I swear am LOST

Do u have to get a STRONG DECODER in other to
receive FTA CHANNELS OR WHAT

Y'ALL SHOULD HELP A BROTHER OUT.

i have a HITV decoder and the only

FTA I GET IS TCM. sad
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by c1r2o3s4s5(m): 4:47am On Jan 30, 2009
Happy new year all. Being at the background could be fun. Just felt i should make a little contribution. I have been a member for quite a while, but when i was really getting to love the site the most i was actually ignored. Well, no hard feelings, i got rescue or encouragement from Dre.

I reside in Ikeja Lagos and was stuck wit my fstv decoder and dish, after the scams decided they had made profit from the sales of their equipments, without apologies. Then, I started looking for a way to make good use of what i had lying around. This was how i stumbled across this site and group. I read all posts from inception even till date. The thing is that i am like wilson oruma in the sense that wen he was asked wat formation did the team use to achieve a particular victory, he said " ah, i no know o, what i know na say i tell, bonfrere, bonfrere play me and bonfrere play me nigeria score". No we mean like 4-2-4 or 4-4-2. His answer was ' we just go there and we play ball'. I said that story because im not too much of a technical guy, i go straight out for the practicals.

My experience: wen i was told by Dre, that I could get mytv channels with my fstv equipments in lagos it actually was a serious motivation. I had know basically wat i needed to know to begin an operation. The key was that the decoder was not totally useless wink.  That same nite, i was able to pick NSS7 fta witout moving my dish. I had about 6 channels. My thirst had increased cos wow, i could see. But there was a problem, those channels were french speaking and i dont understand french. To meake things even worse, about 2 or 3 of the channels were removed.

I decided to rotate my dish ( about 80cm or 85cm non-motorized) to the east to stand a chance at intelsat 7/10 fta channels. Dat was wen i got a headache after several hours of failed attempts. I couldnt give up. I was able to track Eutelsat W4/ SESAT @ 36 degrees east. I had to download a software called satellite antenna alignment. Dis software gave me an idea of angles i should use given my geographical area, which i got from google earth. I tracked for 5 days (day and nite) without any luck. Its not as easy as im saying it but the juice is that i succeeded.  I had even given up and decided to call a professional whom was billing me N5,000. Dat got me mad, like for wat? I had to walk around to watch dishes and still kept trying with a saying in my mind, no pain no gain.

Alas i got intelsat 7/10 @ 68.5 degrees east. Thanks to you all. Now, i have 34 free channels. My greed or should i say appetite has grown too. I can c dat pple r having etv decrypted, hmmm. So now on my agenda is how to decrypt channels with dis fstv decoder, then i may buy a 3m dish and start aiming for Hotbird 6/7b/8 and Nilesat . I hope one would payoff. after that i may increase my quest to decrypt channels on those birds.

My friend wit Hitv, yes u will only get tcm, its the free gift from mtn. U need to venture out, like try Intelsat 7/10. U just have to rotate ur dis a bit. Just be prepared most of the channels r gosple, just about 4or 5 none gospel channels. Peace,
Re: Official Thread of Free To Air Satellite TV (Part 2) by salamander(m): 6:08am On Jan 30, 2009
@c1r2

Congrats! That is the spirit

(1) (2) (3) ... (75) (76) (77) (78) (79) (80) (81) ... (100)

Solutions To The Problem Of All IKS Dongle Receivers QSAT, AONE ,TLINK ETC / Official Thread Of Free To Air Satellite Tv (part 4) / All About Nilesat Installations

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 77