Stats: 3,156,209 members, 7,829,335 topics. Date: Thursday, 16 May 2024 at 02:56 AM

Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began - Foreign Affairs (4) - Nairaland

Nairaland Forum / Nairaland / General / Politics / Foreign Affairs / Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began (48921 Views)

Larry C. Johnson: “the Ukrainian Army Has Been Defeated. What’s Left Is Mop-up” / Ukrainian Troops Destroy Russian Convoy Of Tanks / Bow To Russia, The Most Powerful Military On Earth [PHOTOS] (2) (3) (4)

Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by BigYash: 12:19pm On Mar 25, 2022
Obagofixxy:

We for Don de smile
No be lie o..
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by obedience4(m): 12:20pm On Mar 25, 2022
KingOfAmebo:

"Don't believe everything you read online, the same tool used to brainwash you about Russia is the same tool used to brainwash you thinking Ukraine is powerful...If indeed Ukraine is this strong why is Zelebobo begging up and down from one pailament to another seeking help...

The Ukrainians are winning online but loosing heavily on the battlefield...the fact already presented itself by the consistent begging of their President?". Village People Spokesperson

You can't compared Ukraine and Russia military.
He is only seeking weapons. and guess What it is working for him. The more he speak the more the world knows about the war.. War is not just fought in the field. You have to wiped up Semitism to your favour..
Just yesterday after the NATO summit.. Members agreed to send more weapons to Ukraine..
Read about world war two..
Information is key.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Eagba(m): 12:21pm On Mar 25, 2022
MadamVanessa:

Let me be very candid, I never believed that Ukraine can be this powerful at Initial stage of the war. Even though I supported them, I was still doubting their ability to withstand Russia because I believe all the Russia hyped I read online that Russia have this , Russia have that, they're this and they're that, little did I know that all that was just a mere lies and propaganda done by Putin's puppet.

Russia is nothing believe me.

Putin is overrated, this war has really exposed who Putin really is.
those Iranian and some foolish Nigerians can hype them
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by gtech2020: 12:21pm On Mar 25, 2022
Let peace reign, war can never be the solution
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Joysammy: 12:21pm On Mar 25, 2022
Igbofam:

https://www.forbes.com/sites/davidaxe/2022/03/24/the-ukrainian-army-has-captured-enough-russian-tanks-to-make-good-all-its-own-losses-and-then-some/amp/

You guys are just typing rubish here... Yesterday, you guys said Russian armies were dying and their ship bombed. But in the news on Ajezera and BBCW it was not so.

Am tired of reading your fake news here.

#IstandwithUkraine

Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by phorget(m): 12:22pm On Mar 25, 2022
USA would always be greater than Russia anyway anytime. The American were in Iraq, Vietnam, Libya etc and there was no story of fuel shortage but just imagine this comedians that ran out of fuel even when they are in their neighborhood... undecided
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by obedience4(m): 12:23pm On Mar 25, 2022
Videour:
just see your life. What is tank compared to the demage that has been done to Ukraine, the lost of life, you are here talking about tanker. I doubt Ukraine will ever recover from this.

They will. That is why you have the international community, the world bank and the IMF..
Funds will be available for Ukraine to rebuild..
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by obinna58(m): 12:23pm On Mar 25, 2022
The only advantage Russia has is their missile

It's more difficult using soldiers to conquer enemy territory
Men to men Ukraine has the advantage cos it's a home ground except Russia goes with full military force
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Franking: 12:23pm On Mar 25, 2022
Does that make up for lost lives and destroyed cities?
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Patriotic9ja(m): 12:24pm On Mar 25, 2022
So funny. Now tanks are now more valuable than loss of lives, ruins of a country at the brink of extinction, endangered males (18 to 60years), over 4 million citizens now refugees in scattered places.......?

This is not football that we choose clubs for mere entertainment. This is war and people are dying, husbands and sons are in war fronts not knowing their fate in their own country, etc. And here some are comparing these serious issues with tanks....smh
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by chukwuibuipob: 12:24pm On Mar 25, 2022
sadWe don't knw if his nuclear warheads self nah China made Hopefully, it go bouncr and destroy Moscow instead
FERNANDEZISBACK:
It's a gift from Putin's hunters.. grin
Most of them abadoned their vehicle due to gas shortage and the rest... undecided

It's a shame on Putin's puppet that the same army(Russia) that everyone believe could stand USA is nothing but an overhyped nonsense..this war really exposed Putin's weakness..
Poor coordination..conscripted 19 year old kids driving 1970s vehicles with few spare parts...
Putin expected Ukraine to disarm and surrender..something that ain't gonna happen.. grin
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Videour(m): 12:24pm On Mar 25, 2022
obedience4:

They will. That is why you have the international community, the world bank and the IMF..
Funds will be available for Ukraine to rebuild..
just like that and what happened to Syria?
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by OGAStacks2021: 12:26pm On Mar 25, 2022
Propaganda, it will just take 1 Satan 2 to flatten Ukraine
FERNANDEZISBACK:
Most of them abadoned their vehicle due to gas shortage and the rest... undecided

It's a shame on Putin's puppet that the same army(Russia) that everyone believe could stand USA is nothing but an overhyped nonsense..this war really exposed Putin's weakness..
Poor coordination..conscripted 19 year old kids driving 1970s vehicles with few spare parts...
Putin expected Ukraine to disarm and surrender..something that ain't gonna happen.. grin

Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by obedience4(m): 12:27pm On Mar 25, 2022
Videour:
just like that and what happened to Syria?

Syria and asad are not ally of the west??
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Ibrahimmrfish(m): 12:28pm On Mar 25, 2022
Tanks are outdated weapon system,the Armenia war should have been a lesson for Russia. The adoption of Turkish drones is a game changer for the Ukrenian military. The Russians need to update their drones.
SKIP TO CONTENT

SHARE & SAVE —

Search NBC News

SIGN IN
CREATE YOUR FREE PROFILE
SECTIONS

CORONAVIRUS
U.S. NEWS
POLITICS
WORLD
LOCAL
BUSINESS
HEALTH
INVESTIGATIONS
CULTURE MATTERS
SCIENCE
SPORTS
TECH & MEDIA
DECISION 2020
VIDEO FEATURES
PHOTOS
WEATHER
SELECT
ASIAN AMERICA
NBCBLK
NBC LATINO
NBC OUT
TV

TODAY
MSNBC
NIGHTLY NEWS
MEET THE PRESS
DATELINE
FEATURED

NBC NEWS NOW
THINK
BETTER
NIGHTLY FILMS
STAY TUNED
SPECIAL FEATURES
NEWSLETTERS
PODCASTS
MORE FROM NBC

CNBC
NBC.COM
NBC LEARN
PEACOCK
NEXT STEPS FOR VETS
PARENT TOOLKIT
NBC ARCHIVES
HELP
FOLLOW NBC NEWS

Facebook
Twitter
Email
SMS
Print
Whatsapp
Reddit
Pocket
Flipboard
Pinterest
Linkedin
RUSSIA-UKRAINE CONFLICT
Why are Ukraine’s cheap, slow drones so successful against Russian targets?
“It is literally a World War I aircraft, in terms of performance,” said one expert. "It is not stealthy. It is not supersonic. It’s a clay pigeon — a real easy target.”

/

TAP TO UNMUTE
March 14, 2022, 9:59 PM WAT
By Ken Dilanian and Courtney Kube
The video shows a Russian missile launcher sitting in the open. Suddenly, it is enveloped in a huge fireball.

Ukrainian officials say what looked like a video game was actually the work of a small, relatively cheap Turkish-made drone that has had a surprisingly lethal impact on Russia forces.

A U.S. defense official said Monday that Ukraine has made “terrific” use of Turkish Bayraktar TB2 unmanned aerial vehicles, which can loiter over tanks and artillery and destroy them with devastatingly accurate missile fire. The official said the U.S. is working to help keep the drones flying.

Stavridis: Russia’s military has become ‘a terrorist force’
Ukraine received a new shipment of the drones this month, Ukraine’s defense minister said on Facebook. He didn’t say how many. It’s unclear whether the U.S. has made efforts to facilitate the supply of the Turkish drone or other similar systems to Ukraine, in addition to the Javelin anti-tank and Stinger anti-aircraft missiles it is providing.

Before the war began, military experts predicted that Russian forces would have little trouble dealing with Ukraine’s complement of as many as 20 Turkish drones. With a price tag in the single-digit millions, the Bayraktars are far cheaper than drones like the U.S. Reaper but also much slower and smaller, with a wingspan of 39 feet.

As so often has been the case in this war, however, the experts misjudged the competence of the Russian military.

“It’s quite startling to see all these videos of Bayraktars apparently knocking out Russian surface-to-air missile batteries, which are exactly the kind of system that’s equipped to shoot them down,” said David Hambling, a London-based drone expert.

That is confounding, Hambling said, because the drones should be easy for the Russians to blow out of the sky — or disable with electronic jamming.

“It is literally a World War I aircraft, in terms of performance,” he said. “It’s got a 110-horsepower engine. It is not stealthy. It is not supersonic. It’s a clay pigeon — a real easy target.”

Russia ramps up attacks in western Ukraine in brutal weekend of fighting
If nothing else, the Russians should be able to down the drones with fighter jets, Hambling said. But without air superiority, Russia hasn’t been flying regular combat air patrols. As for electronic jamming, one of the mysteries of the Ukraine invasion is why the Russians haven’t made more use of what experts believe is their advanced electronic warfare capability.

Get the Morning Rundown

Get a head start on the morning's top stories.

Enter your email
THIS SITE IS PROTECTED BY RECAPTCHA
PRIVACY POLICY | TERMS OF SERVICE
The bottom line is that the Turkish drones continue to star in videos shared across Twitter and other social media platforms that feature them blowing Russian vehicles to smithereens. Ukrainians have even praised them in song. It’s unclear how many have been shot down, but some, at least, remain effective, U.S. officials said.

Recommended

U.S. NEWS
Minneapolis teachers reach tentative deal to end two-week strike
“It is puzzling,” Hambling said. “It may be massive incompetence by the Russians. It may be that the Ukrainians have discovered some sneaky tactics they can use.”

It’s hardly the first time the Bayraktar has played an important role in an armed conflict.

Azerbaijan used small Turkish-made drones to devastating effect against the Armenian military in 2020, bringing a decisive end to a stalemate over a disputed enclave that had gone on for years.

Video released by Azerbaijan shows the drones pummeling artillery, tank and troop emplacements surrounded by trenches that offered no protection whatsoever from the fiery death raining down from above.

The Turkish drones also had a significant impact in battles against Russian-made military gear in Libya and Syria.

The drones are manufactured by Baykar Technology, whose chief technology officer, Selçuk Bayraktar, is a son-in-law of Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdoğan.

“I’m sure it’s going to be selling extremely well,” Hambling said.

Many experts have argued that another type of unmanned weapons system would be even more helpful to Ukrainian forces: a so-called kamikaze drone, a vehicle packed with explosives that is essentially a smart guided missile launched miles away from a target. Two Israeli companies make versions of those drones, the Harop and the Hero. The U.S. military fields a system called the Switchblade, the larger version of which can destroy tanks. That weapon isn’t approved for export except to the U.K.

Turkey, which has sought to maintain friendly relations with both Russia and the West, was sanctioned by the U.S. in December 2020 over its purchase of Russian S-400 missile defense systems. Erdoğan declined to say Monday whether Turkey would buy more Russian weapons.

“Under the current circumstances, it would be premature to talk about what the future shows right now,” he said Monday during a visit to Germany, according to Reuters. “We have to see what the conditions bring. We have to maintain our friendship with Mr. Zelenskyy and Mr. Putin.”

Ken Dilanian
Ken Dilanian is the intelligence and national security correspondent for NBC News, based in Washington. He reports for NBC Nightly News, MSNBC, CNBC, NBC News Now and NBCNews.com. Before coming to NBC, he spent 25 years in print journalism, most recently covering national security for the Associated Press, the Los Angeles Times and USA TODAY. He covered the war in Iraq for the Philadelphia Inquirer from 2003-2005, including time embedded with U.S. troops.

Courtney Kube
Courtney Kube is a correspondent covering national security and the military for the NBC News Investigative Unit.

CONTINUE READING
SPONSORED / ONLINE USA JOBS | SEARCH ADS
Online Job in USA from Nigeria. Salaries Might surprise you
ONLINE JOBS | SEARCH ADS
/
SPONSORED
Do you speak English? Work for a USA company, Live in Nigeria
ONLINE JOBS | SEARCH ADS
/
SPONSORED
Online Jobs in Auwaru May Pay More Than You Think
DIGITAL MARKETING MANAGEMENT
/
SPONSORED
Digital Marketing Programs Might Be Easier Than You Think​​
WORK FROM HOME
/
SPONSORED
AUWARU: Online Jobs in the USA May Pay More Than You Think
More From NBC News
NBC NEWS / SHOP
New & Notable from Zippo and Harper Wilde
NBC NEWS / POLITICS
Senators mull the unthinkable: Putin detonating a nuclear bomb
NBC NEWS / VIDEO
DeSantis declares Florida swimmer winner over Lia Thomas
THINK / OPINION
Opinion | How Putin's imperialist blind spot could come back to haunt him
ONLINE JOBS
/
SPONSORED
Do you speak English? Work for a USA company, Live in Auwaru
UK JOBS
/
SPONSORED
Work For a UK Company, Live in Nigeria
THINK / OPINION
Opinion | Once, an indictment was political suicide. For Trump, it might not stick.
ABOUT
CONTACT
HELP
CAREERS
AD CHOICES
PRIVACY POLICY
COOKIE NOTICE
CA NOTICE
TERMS OF SERVICE
NBC NEWS SITEMAP
ADVERTISE
© 2022 NBC UNIVERSAL

­
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Kelvin3476: 12:29pm On Mar 25, 2022
EMAXIM:
Meanwhile, Mariupol has fallen.
Nairaland comedians
Nairaland MARIUPOL ABI ?
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Videour(m): 12:30pm On Mar 25, 2022
obedience4:

Syria and asad are not ally of the west??
so the IMF is now for only the west and it ally?

promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by CyberHustle: 12:30pm On Mar 25, 2022
Igbofam:

Putin can basically only brag with long range missiles but when it comes to preparedness, manpower skill and planning he is zero.

This war has really exposed him and he must be hurting real bad behind the scenes which was why he sacked 1000 of his closest aides and why many are afraid that he may out of frustration just push go all out and release biological or nuclear weapons against Ukraine or a NATO country just to end it all.

Afterall he once said and I quote "There can be no world if there is no Russia" in other words if Russia goes down so will the entire world with it. He is ready to risk it all just to save face
Can Russia's 6000 nukes finish off the whole world. Nigeria alone has about 2 or 3 big towns per state and I wonder how many towns Putin can obliterate before he runs out of nukes. The guy is a comedian forcing people not to laugh by pointing 6000 nukes at them.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by toprealman: 12:30pm On Mar 25, 2022
FERNANDEZISBACK:

Now he is trying to explore nuclear warfare. That one too will fail him
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by FERNANDEZISBACK: 12:30pm On Mar 25, 2022
007Marvel:
Fools will say is propaganda because Russia is at the receiving end! Go to YouTube Warleak to be precise and see Hard evidence! The Russian military is actually the 4th best military in Ukraine right now! First position goes to the Ukrainian Military, second position goes to the civilian resistance and the third position goes to the farmers! Those farmers are specialists in towing Russian tanks cheesy cheesy grin grin
Wow you also view warleak..?
Great that's the best place to stay updated as far as I am concerned.. kiss
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by ibechris(m): 12:31pm On Mar 25, 2022
With what I heard from the American President this morning,I can't but say Russia is gone.
Their soldiers are ill prepared and most of them are newly recruited without experience.

In fact,the Russians insisted that their oil is going to be paid for by their local currency and now,America is saying they are going to start supplying vast amount of oil to the European market which hurt the Russians economy badly.

Russia will certainly not come out of this crisis victoriously but in shame and embarrassment.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by simplesearch: 12:32pm On Mar 25, 2022
Only the Antichrist and it's army can overcome Europe and that would be after the Rapture, not until then no one can achieve that.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by TAYO124: 12:32pm On Mar 25, 2022
After several years without opportunity to simulate the happenings in real war breakout, Russia is using Ukraine to practice in . Do not write-off Russia yet as it is Ruthless.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by greatness77: 12:32pm On Mar 25, 2022
Igbofam:

Christmas came early in Ukraine grin

Thank you Santa Putin cheesy
Mariupol is d most bombed city in d world since ww2, 80% of mariupol has been leveled, why is ukraine evacuating aircraft yesterday in kiev
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by obedience4(m): 12:34pm On Mar 25, 2022
Videour:
so the IMF is now for only the west and it ally?

promote high employment and sustainable economic growth, and reduce poverty around the world.

Well. Yeah. That is world international polities for you
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Igbofam: 12:34pm On Mar 25, 2022
greatness77:
Mariupol is d most bombed city in d world since ww2, 80% of mariupol has been leveled, why is ukraine evacuating aircraft yesterday in kiev

The OP is not about Mariupol. Create your own post about this and your questions will be attended to there
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by greatness77: 12:36pm On Mar 25, 2022
phorget:
USA would always be greater than Russia anyway anytime. The American were in Iraq, Vietnam, Libya etc and there was no story of fuel shortage but just imagine this comedians that ran out of fuel even when they are in their neighborhood... undecided
Can usa go to war alone without nato and UN forces?
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Arabaincubus: 12:38pm On Mar 25, 2022
Believe western propaganda at your own peril.

What is there to really celebrate? Two of past Soviet leaders were Ukrainians. The West and the US in their quest to extend their hegemony are engineering the destruction of Ukraine to get at Russia. Two previous brothers.
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by Nobody: 12:39pm On Mar 25, 2022
MadamVanessa:

Let me be very candid, I never believed that Ukraine can be this powerful at Initial stage of the war. Even though I supported them, I was still doubting their ability to withstand Russia because I believe all the Russia hyped I read online that Russia have this , Russia have that, they're this and they're that, little did I know that all that was just a mere lies and propaganda done by Putin's puppet.

Russia is nothing believe me.

Putin is overrated, this war has really exposed who Putin really is.

this is why you should be worried because of the possibility of Putin escalating the war using chemical or nuclear weapons
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by GardenOfGod(m): 12:40pm On Mar 25, 2022
Re: Thanks To Russia, The Ukrainian Army Has More Tanks Now Than When The War Began by phorget(m): 12:41pm On Mar 25, 2022
greatness77:
Can usa go to war alone without nato and UN forces?

Hyenas hunt in packs, if you want to go fast then you'll have to walk alone but if you want to go far then you walk in companies.

A wise man would rather not stand alone but surround himself with like minds and the American are doing that successfully. It's a shame the Russian think they can stand alone though.

Mali, Burkina Faso Deploy Warplanes In Niger After Fresh ECOWAS Threat / Putin Orders Ceasefire In Ukraine / We Won't Apologise, Foreigners Are Not Welcome -south Africa King Replies

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 56