Stats: 3,329,367 members, 8,440,269 topics. Date: Monday, 06 July 2026 at 05:23 PM

Aljharem's Posts

Nairaland ForumAljharem's ProfileAljharem's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 (of 460 pages)

PoliticsRe: Southeast Governors Forum NL-chapter... by aljharem(m): 1:25pm On Oct 06, 2013
count me out I rep Delta
PoliticsRe: National Confab: ACF Tackles Ohanaeze On Equal Representation by aljharem(m): 12:40am On Oct 06, 2013
[quote author=ndu_chucks]You people are being dishonest. Do you really expect a tribe which may number in the 100s of thousands to have the same representation as one which numbers in the millions? Equal representation ko, equal reparations ni. mumus[/quote]Haba, why are you stressing yourself. They are hypocrites, very big ones for that matter. Imagine a minority as small as Ogoni with probably just a 1000 people having the same voice and right in a democratic setting as a group like Igala with about 10,000 or more. Yet it is democracy where we said it is a game of numbers.

well as from today we in the SW have about 50 ethnic groups and outside SW we have extra 20 or more. Lets start the game grin
PoliticsRe: National Confab: ACF Tackles Ohanaeze On Equal Representation by aljharem(m): 11:53pm On Oct 05, 2013
grin grin grin grin grin Anyway in the south we have the Aworis, Itsekiri, Okun, Egun, Ijesha, Yoruba, Egba, Igbo, Kalabari, Ijaw, Edo etc
PoliticsRe: In Memory Of The ALUU 4 by aljharem(m): 11:22pm On Oct 04, 2013
A year already. Hope they are resting in PEACE.

Nigeria is a very scary and wicked country. cry
CrimeRe: Man Arrested With Human Head In Ibadan by aljharem(m): 9:50pm On Sep 30, 2013
smh igbo ppl
PoliticsRe: Which Region In Nigeria Is The Most Stable Region? by aljharem(m): 9:50pm On Sep 30, 2013
atlwireles: Yes, the same one that pays 90% of your country's bills.
you must be out of your mind grin grin grin 90% ko 100% ni
CelebritiesRe: Genevieve Nnaji Vs. Agbani Darego - Who Rocked The Traditional Outfit Best? by aljharem(m): 9:45pm On Sep 30, 2013
none both have too much make-up and are skinny. Why skinny ? WHY huh?
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 8:10pm On Sep 23, 2013
Radoillo: You must have guessed I'm Igbo. My interest is in Southern Nigerian history generally, especially the inter-relations between igbo-speaking peoples and their neighbours.

My profile picture doesn't really mean anything in particular. I just like how the 'artist' put sunshades on the sculpture. grin
Not at all. I actually thought you were yoruba. Anyway whichever the case, you can read this

http://www.academia.edu/1903103/Between_the_Ogiso_and_Oba_Dynasties_An_Interpretation_of_Interregnum_in_the_Benin_Kingdom
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 7:59pm On Sep 23, 2013
@ Radoillio I can confirm those names are of yoruba origin. I mean the ogiso names
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 7:58pm On Sep 23, 2013
Radoillo: Well, until you've heard the names pronounced, and heard what (if anything) they mean to Bini people, it may not be very wise to say they are of Yoruba or non-Edo origin.

For example, an igbo speaker may easily ascribe Igbo meanings to Igodo, Ere and Orire.
Very correct actually
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 6:25pm On Sep 23, 2013
igodo is a word among aworis and egun

Ere means a statues or success

Orire means seeing success

It is clear that the bini ogiso were yorubas until odia
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 6:20pm On Sep 23, 2013
Radoillo: @ Ijaw citizen,

The names of the first five Ogisos:

Igodo/Obagodo
Ere
Orire
Odia
Ighido

Do the names mean anything in Ijaw?
The last two sound Edo enough. Don't know about the first three.

(PS: My question isn't sarcastic. I understand neither Ijaw nor Edo)
You see, I didn't even know the names of ogiso people. It is a smack of hypocrisy on binis to claim these were men from the sky but oduduwa is from bini.
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 8:54am On Sep 23, 2013
I really really doubt if oba is actually a bini word. I mean in Yoruba we say Iba fun Oba. What does ba mean in yoruba ? Bow to someone

I mean binis still use Yoruba names such as Tunde, mayowa, omo, dele, Ojo, abeo etc so what's to say oba is not yoruba ?
PoliticsRe: Jonathan Plans Sovereign National Conference, Sends letter to NASS- Daily Trust by aljharem(m): 5:59pm On Sep 22, 2013
PortHarcourtBoy: [size=15pt]PEOPLES REPUBLIC OF NIGER DELTA

With Capital in PORT HARCOURT or CALABAR

Tell me why every youth for this new republic no go dey gainfully employed?

Imagine the number of European investors wey go flock if only we fit do away with our weakest link - the North

And allow bilateral relationship with our strongest link - the East[/size]
[size=16pt]No it is SS/SE[/size]
PoliticsRe: ‘supporters Of SNC Asking For Civil War’ by aljharem(m): 5:55pm On Sep 22, 2013
pandriod: Alj Harem is that you? huh
[quote author=IGBO-SON]Anyone notice a common theme/style in the line of thought and writing style of all these 'one Nigeria come hell or high water'.....these 'Igbos are trying to grab our oyel'.......these 'i'd rather die in Nigeria as-is than forge a common front with Igbos to force the hand of the born-to-rule jihadists'......anyone notice a common theme with all of them? wink

I'm on my phone or else i would have indulged one or two of these despicable scum! smiley[/quote]I can't help but laugh at you 2. Again self deceit is the worst things one can do himself
PoliticsRe: ‘supporters Of SNC Asking For Civil War’ by aljharem(m): 5:30pm On Sep 22, 2013
wirnet and Idoma Likita. A big thank you, I have followed your line of argument from the inception of this thread and all I can say is that you 2 are wise. My Igbo brothers can be quite naive and myopic at times as they cannot view the future, this might be attributed to their lack of centralised government thus they lack political vision and how to relate with people.

To them life in Nigeria is all about MAJORITY AND MINORITY aka winner takes it all mentality forgetting that one needs to be diplomatic in one's dealing.
PoliticsRe: Archbishop Okogie To Jonathan - "Do Not Run For Presidency In 2015" by aljharem(m): 3:06pm On Sep 22, 2013
Gej worse mistake was to allow tribalistic igbos into his politics leaving the more diplomatic groups to their fate
CultureRe: Are We Loosing Our Culture To The Yorubas? by aljharem(m): 5:49pm On Sep 20, 2013
Btw it does not mean the culture you borrowed from is better than yours. Fulanis are not better than Yoruba, nupe and Hausa but we learnt a lot from them and vise versa
CultureRe: Are We Loosing Our Culture To The Yorubas? by aljharem(m): 5:45pm On Sep 20, 2013
Again self deceit is the worst thing one can do to himself. Do you know why ? People lie to their kids ? It is pride, low self esteem

Now to the topic. As Andre said, cultures are dynamic. Todays China is different from that 100 years ago. Todays Hausa has a lot of fulani, yoruba culture in them. Todays yorubas have a lot of Hausa and fulani even edo and fons in them. These groups are not in denial but have realised the truth and as all cultures, they have embraced other aspect of other cultures..

These has lead me to the question why likes of odumchi are in denial ? Low self esteem ? Lack of knowledge maybe ? Or even ignorance.passed down from generations.( no insults just facts)

Even the yorubas know that abgada is from fulani babban riga. Fact just modified

Now aspect that WERE NEVER IN IGBO CULTURES are now added such as the red winter hat, akara food, moi moi food, ewedu, egusi food, etc

I have heard a lot of people saying egusi, all forms of beans are igbo food and I just laugh . It's funny really. I think rather than argue on the internet go to your village and ask your old people for the truth. I hope they don't lie
CultureRe: Are We Loosing Our Culture To The Yorubas? by aljharem(m): 10:57am On Sep 20, 2013
Self denial is very bad

First of all as ngodigha or Andre uweh said, cultures and languages are very dynamic thus it evolves all the time.

That said akamu is an Igbo word for ogi

Moi moi is a pure Yoruba word. There was nothing like bean in Igbo land thus no bean cake or moi moi. Stop the denial and lies
Akara is not and can never be an Igbo word again too much lies

Nupe people accounted moi moi and akara to Yoruba so how come igbos a lesser civilization claim to cook advance foods ?

The cultural influence is not just one way but both ways.
Yorubas have learn a lot from igbos as well such as nna etc
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 8:52am On Sep 20, 2013
PhysicsQED: ^

Iyoba is "Iye-Oba." Iye is the Edo word for mother - there isn't some other word for mother in the Edo ('Bini') language. 'Omo' is used by most - if not all - of the groups that speak 'Edoid' languages - Etsako, Urhobo, Isoko, Engenni, Degema, etc. Not sure why you thought it was exclusively Yoruba.

What does 'osa' mean in Yoruba? Just wondering.
Osa and okun means the ocean or sea and can be used interchangeably.

Iye or iya are not only used by eastern yorubas but likes of ijesha, and even as far as kwara and ogun ijebu.

Omo is used as far as Ghana ga tribe and even they know it's from the yorubas. Years ago before the word Yoruba came to existence, Yoruba as far as Togo used omo oduduwa.
CultureRe: Who Are The Akoko Of Northern Ondo State? by aljharem(m): 9:41pm On Sep 19, 2013
Too much ignorant people on this forum, it is very annoying at times and most times funny grin.
Firstly, oba, omo, akoko, apoti, osa, okun etc are all of Yoruba origin.

Secondly there is no claiming here, akokos, ilajes, mahin, aworis are all Yorubas. Just cos we are costal does not mean we are ijaw for crying out loud ! Just cos our first oba was a bini man does not mean we are bini,

Just cos bini just oba does not mean we borrowed it from them. I mean any truthful person will analysis the bini royal names well eg omo N oba which means a son of a king in Yoruba, iyoba mask the popular bini cultural sign is a yoruba word which means the king's mother. The meaning of bini is what in bini ?

As for the ijaws, as SR said about apoi, I an awori eko clan man will confirm the same. Kirikiri, apapa etc are not ijaw words but of awori origin which I have explained to killayut already.

We are yorubas and very very very proud to be one, no propaganda can change that ! Not all yorubas have the same origin just as.not all ijaws or edo groups have the same origin.
PoliticsRe: Gej's Impeachment: The Hypocrites, The Sincere And The Blind. by aljharem(m): 9:48pm On Sep 17, 2013
That's the truth. Very honest opinion

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 (of 460 pages)