Stats: 3,328,850 members, 8,437,683 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 July 2026 at 09:58 AM

Biina's Posts

Nairaland ForumBiina's ProfileBiina's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 (of 125 pages)

European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Adebayor Celebration Courts Controversy by biina: 3:50pm On Sep 15, 2009
All these arsenal fans wey dey shout for ban, una just dey put una sef for rack, cos whether dem ban Ade or not, im go still play for the return leg and go show una fire again!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Adebayor Celebration Courts Controversy by biina: 10:52am On Sep 15, 2009
If you dont like the way Ade celebrated his goal, go and watch badminton!!!
Arsenal fans; a misnomer for hooligans.
SportsRe: Who Are You Going To Sopport In The World Cup by biina: 9:23am On Sep 15, 2009
Ricky, Robin, Mel, and the rest of the Samba Boiz grin
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Premier League Bring In Home-grown Quota: Which Big Club Go Suffer Pass? by biina(op): 8:32am On Sep 15, 2009
dayokanu:
Assanal of course. See the return of Justin Hoyte and co
I think arsenal are actually in a good position. Of their 29 first team players, about 16 should qualify as home grown, with Cesc, Walcott, Bedtner, Denilson, Clichy, and Song, all likely to qualify as homegrown.
Chelsea on the other hand might be in trouble if FIFA does not lift the lift the transfer ban.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Premier League Bring In Home-grown Quota: Which Big Club Go Suffer Pass? by biina(op): 8:13am On Sep 15, 2009
The Premier League will introduce a squad cap of 25 players and a quota on home-grown players from next season, chief executive Richard Scudamore has confirmed.
The 20 clubs met last Thursday to agree the introduction of a home-grown player rule, which will take effect at the start of next term, and the immediate implementation of financial reporting rules.
"As of next season clubs will be required to have a squad named of up to 25 players, of which no more than 17 can be over the age of 21 and not home grown," said Scudamore.
"The definition of home grown is trained for three years under the age of 21 by somebody in the English and Welsh professional system.
"Clubs will have to declare their 25 at the end of August when the window shuts and then again at the end of January."
Scudamore denies the move will encourage clubs to hoard young foreign players and claims the England team will ultimately reap the reward.
"It's not in the club's interests to stockpile players. It will make buying home-grown talent more attractive," he said.
"We're not going down the route of a nationality test but what this will mean is that you just can't buy a team from abroad.
"We think it will give clubs an extra incentive to invest in youth. We think that one of the benefits will be that it will help the England team."
All 20 Premier League members also agreed to adhere to a set of financial reporting rules designed to protect the viability and sustainability of the clubs.
"They will all have to annually submit accounts and future financial information," said Scudamore.
"At all times the board of the Premier League will be applying a test which basically says this: can the club fulfil its fixtures, pay off its creditors when they are due and also to meet obligations to the Premier League's contracts and partners?
"If the board believe a club is at risk of not meeting those obligations, it has to then step in and agree a budget for the running of that club. Any transfers can be embargoed.
"It's absolutely crucial that these clubs are run as ongoing viable concerns. These financial rules apply immediately.
"This is tied in, and we passed the rule during the summer, to a 'fit and proper person test'.
"At our club meeting last week, the clubs absolutely endorsed our position of not linking expenditure to income."

http://eurosport.yahoo.com/14092009/58/premier-league-premier-league-bring-home-grown-quota.html

So of the top clubs, who is going be worse off?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Adebayor Celebration Courts Controversy by biina: 4:01am On Sep 15, 2009
See all these arsenal fans wey wan turn football to badminton undecided
Football is a contact sport! abi what was RVP doing on the ground with his face under Adebayor's foot? if not executing a rash challenge. He came off worse, and he should live with the consequences.
Adebayor and his citeh pals outplayed you and whooped you 4-2, una come dey whine after match.
Na people like una complain say make players like kaka no dey display Jesus under shirt!
So make opponent player no celebrate again? if Ade no score, una fans no go yab am? undecided
Yet the guy already got a yellow card for his celebrations undecided
They booed him and he responded in kind. Its simply a football game - everyone should get over it.
If anyone is to be sanctioned, it should be arsenal and their 'plastic stool throwing' hooligan fans.  angry
As long as their is no physical contact or racial abuse, everybody should be free to cheer, boo, or celebrate as they want.
Football should be won on the pitch and not by arsenal's drama queens seeking undue advantage via the boardroom.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by biina: 10:18am On Sep 14, 2009
So assuming he had scored in the first half, would he have been expected to run to the other end to celebrate, so as not to provoke arsenal fans?
Will the celebration area be restricted from now on? or should we just ban goal celebrations altogether?
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by biina: 10:05am On Sep 14, 2009
So if the fans react violently to a celebration it is deemed provocative? that would be a bad precedent that the FA would not be able to maintain.
As for Arsenal, if all the energy they are wasting in trying to get Adebayor banned was put into the game, maybe they would have come home woth a more respectable scoreline.
For me, anyone is free to celebrate as they deem please.
Banning Ade will not change the score line: Man City 4 - 2 Arsenal!!!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: The 2009/10 UEFA Champions League Thread by biina(op): 10:14pm On Sep 13, 2009
Matchday 1 - 15 September 2009
[table]
[tr][td]Group A:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Juventus
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]FC Girondins de Bordeaux[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Maccabi Haifa FC
[/td] [td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]FC Bayern München[/td][/tr]
[tr][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group B:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
VfL Wolfsburg
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]CSKA Moskva[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Beşiktaş JK
[/td] [td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]Manchester United FC[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group C:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
FC Zürich
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]Real Madrid CF[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Olympique de Marseille
[/td][td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]AC Milan[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group D:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Chelsea FC
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]FC Porto[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Club Atlético de Madrid
[/td][td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]APOEL FC[/td][/tr]
[/table]

Matchday 1 - 16 September 2009
[table]
[tr][td]Group E:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Liverpool FC
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]Debreceni VSC[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Olympique Lyonnais
[/td] [td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]ACF Fiorentina[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group F:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
FC Internazionale Milano
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]FC Barcelona[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
FC Dynamo Kyiv
[/td] [td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]FC Rubin Kazan[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group G:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
VfB Stuttgart
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]Rangers FC[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Sevilla FC
[/td][td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]FC Unirea Urziceni[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]Group H:[/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][td][/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
Olympiacos FC
[/td][td][/td][td][center]v[/center][/td][td][/td][td]AZ Alkmaar[/td][/tr]
[tr][td]
R. Standard de Liège
[/td][td][/td][td]v[/td][td][/td][td]Arsenal FC[/td][/tr]
[/table]
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by biina: 10:01am On Sep 13, 2009
somebody dey wait for unfortunate predictions? undecided una go wait tire
When una dey beat hapless Everton like say dem steal groundnut, una mouth dey sweet.
Now wey Citeh bilala una yansh 4-2, come dey six points ahead of you after only 4 matches, u come dey wait.
wait for wetin? the second coming of our Lord Jesus Christ? undecided
Till you overtake Citeh on the table, I beg respect ur elders!
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Arsenal Fan Thread: For Gunners Only. Yes We Can! by biina: 6:34am On Sep 13, 2009
Una see una sef?
We tell u say u go wound; see am now, una don wound!!! grin grin grin grin

Adebayor no good: 4 goals in 4 games
Van Persie is world class: 1 goal in 4 games (even gallas don score 2 shocked)

Sparky will be first EPL coach to be sacked: at 1-1 bring on Petrov and 2' later, Citeh score 2-1
Wenger knows best: at 2-1 takes off Song, 7' later and Arsenal are trailing 4-1

Arsenal FC of Ijebuland!!! grin grin grin
coached by Arsene 'tight fisted like tyson in his prime' Wenger!!! grin grin grin
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Tottenham (1) V Manchester United (3) On Saturday 12th September by biina: 5:35pm On Sep 12, 2009
Great early goal. Game should be wide open from here on.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Man City Vs Arsenal: 4-2. 12th September 2009 by biina: 5:30pm On Sep 12, 2009
I was really impressed with Bellamy today. At his age, his work rate and tracking back were really incredible. I though the guy want going to last the first 45'.
De Jong was an unsung hero, who did much to take cesc out of the game. He made a really good case to be in the starting lineup.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Man City Vs Arsenal: 4-2. 12th September 2009 by biina: 5:00pm On Sep 12, 2009
Nice build up for next week.
Good to see Rosicky back in action and with a goal.
Arsenal's upcoming fixture should help them recover from the 2 losses andbuild up some momentum.
Citeh have passed their first major test in flying color, and have duly announced their intentions for a CL spot.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Man City Vs Arsenal: 4-2. 12th September 2009 by biina: 4:46pm On Sep 12, 2009
Game Over!!!!
Wenger gambled with the Song substitution, and it back fired terribly.
Adebayor played like a man possessed.
Citeh were the better team, and deserved the win
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Man City Vs Arsenal: 4-2. 12th September 2009 by biina: 9:21am On Sep 12, 2009
sirwebs:
Arsenal can beat Citeh with its Carling cup team. Not losing sleep here.
like they did last season? undecided
Nairaland GeneralRe: World's Oldest Person Dies In Los Angeles At 115 by biina: 9:18am On Sep 12, 2009
If my grandma is not older, it will be quite close. She is 100+, but no accurate documentation.
CultureRe: If You Can Speak Yoruba, Talk It In Here! by biina: 9:13am On Sep 12, 2009
dayokanu:
E ku igbadun o

Sisi ologe

A dami loju pe Omoluabi ni iwo je. O ki gbogbo ara ile which is good.

Won ni e ku ile ni an ki ara ile, ati e ku abo ni a n ki ero ajo
Ogbeni Dayo! Yoruba re, bi egbe agba-boolu re, o ku die ka 'ito tongue grin
PoliticsRe: Honorable Slaps A Security Man (his Biodata And Picture) by biina: 9:49pm On Sep 11, 2009
Fhemmmy:
Court of public opinion doesnt matter in Nija.
IF the man is willing to sue, there are activist lawyer in Nija that will be willing to take up his case.
Please name one activist lawyer that you have confirmed has stated his willingness to take up the case or are you simply expecting them to do so? undecided

This will achieve nothing, cos the people in his constituency probably never voted for him, and they might not even read papers, else, they would have know about it, and not the face of nairaland will make them to be aware that a thug is representing them.
again with the narrow minded speculations. Since you dont know it for a fact, you should resist belittling others just to justify your position.
PoliticsRe: Honorable Slaps A Security Man (his Biodata And Picture) by biina: 8:14pm On Sep 11, 2009
Fhemmmy:
What will that achieve.
I think we all need to advice the security dude to sue him, and we will all be behind the guy till he win
Will you be paying the legal fees? undecided

Justice delayed is justice denied.
He should first be tried (and found guilty) in the court of public opinion.
PoliticsRe: 5 Banks Use Only N100bn Of Cbn’s N420bn: by biina: 4:25am On Sep 11, 2009
Beaf:
^
Biina, your opening line gives your game up.

Stop being funny and making it seem that every post is addressed to you (it wasn't).

You really don't need to deal with every post. Especially if abuse is your only "reasonable" argument.
If you are empty, simply say so and stop covering up with rudeness, you're only make yourself look foolish.

Why should I even engage with a fool who thinks that challenging sharia law in Nigeria is "festering ethnic sentiments"? Even a 2 year old knows that sharia is a system of laws not an ethnicity.

I'm here, laughing at you grin grin grin grin grin grin grin
Being that your post was immediately after mine, and started of with issue I raised, I felt it was a response to my post. Apologies if I was mistaken.
If you feltI had insulted you, (while I dont see in what way I have done so), again I apologize.
As to the rest of your post, feel free to believe, and think, whatever lets you sleep at night. undecided
PoliticsRe: 5 Banks Use Only N100bn Of Cbn’s N420bn: by biina: 1:02am On Sep 11, 2009
@Beaf
I purposely addressed my initial questions specificaly to mikeansy, as I would rather not entertain someone who has nothing else to contribute than festering ethnic sentiments. I expect that you will stay clear of such, and respond with sound arguments

Beaf:
No one is saying the banks[b] might not have had troubles.[/b]
Why the ambivalence? are you trying to cover your arse? The banks were either in distress or not. I dont see the 'might not have had troubles'. The figures presented by the CBN are either a  clear representation of the facts or conjured out of thin air. These fact needs to be established before the actions of the CBN can be fairly weighed, as that was the premise for the action.

I don't care about the Vanguard and care even less for Dayo Coker (an obvious insider). The issue is Sanusi and his agenda (or highly improbable lack off).
so what is sanusi's agenda? and what is the evidence in support of it? bearing in mind that you 'don't care about the vanguard'.

Sanusi's agbero methods just cannot convince any rational mind, they only raise goose bumps and intense suspicion. There are too many unanswered questions.
and are you now the spokes person for all rational minds?  undecided
what are the many unanswered questions?

Heading the CBN is a delicate and sophisticated task suited to the most professional and calmest of heads.
Sanusi's methods have been nothing but an exercise in crudity that has only harmed our economy an further stressed an already tense polity.
This is the crux of the debate. It is too early to give a verdict before presenting the argument. The facts should be established  for the basis, reason and/or  effects of Sanusi's actions, before judging if it was detrimental. The mere fact that you 'feel' so, does not make it so. We need to establish which harm (if any) were caused by either of Sanusi actions and/or the wailing of the anti-sanusi camp.

There were countless errors in both names, designations and figures when the CBN released its list of criminals debtors. There can be nothing more embarrassing and unprofessional than an apex banking institution getting designations and figures wrong. Disgraceful.
The list is finite, so I will take your 'countless errors' as an hyperbole to try to emphasize your point. Yet, I would expect you to be able to point to at least 20 errors in the figures posted, before there can be any credibility to your assertion ( there are over 200 entities on the list, so a 10% requirement is quite low and more than fair IMO)

It speaks of shabby leadership; worse, it hints at darker and underhand tactics, like there is an agenda to work backwards and fit a situation on the banks.
Is this not taking things too far? Should the CBN governor have gone through the entire list in person to verify or are CBN staff no more human. Still the source of the debtor figures were the banks, CBN only (probably transcribed and) published the list. Errors in the list could, more or less, have  come from either CBN or the affected bank (with the latter being the more likely culprit).
All that being said, the gravity of the offense can only be ascertained after you have listed/pointed out sufficient errors as requested above.

As to the extent of the banks troubles (if there were any); it is impossible to believe a Central banks that gets figures on debtors so wrong that it has invoked a cloud of potential lawsuits.
potential lawsuits? so someone threatening to sue the CBN automatically means they are in the right?
How many of said potential lawsuits have since become actual? if any, has there been any judicial ruling(s) that point towards the CBN being in the wrong?
A ha! but then you clearly left open your exit door wide open, by your ambivalence in defining the banks troubles

Thing got to such an extreme that the Nigerian Bar and legal practitioners in their individual capacities felt uneasy enough to directly warn the CBN to keep within the law. The CBN is not the jungle.
The CBN was told to act within the law because some quarters raised objections to the CBN action. Yet the judiciary has not stated that the CBN acted illegally. Hence, the warning can be  deemed a false positive.

So much noise and fanfair was made over issues that would have been better dealt with by an application of wisdom. The question is why?
noise and fanfair? were the sacking not disclosed at a press conference? I dont recall the CBN throwing a party over the issue. Rather the noise has been coming from the camp of those who claim that sanusi has a 'hidden agenda'.

I expect an unravelling.
How soon would this happen?

If you are going to respond, I hope you would provide sound arguments, with supporting evidence, and not just conjectures which serve nothing but to alarm and misinform the innocent, and misrepresent the facts.
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Barcelona Fans Thread by biina: 9:39pm On Sep 10, 2009
Nice 'abridged' version you have there, excluding the comment about perez and madrid. source?
A more detailed version in spanish is here (from Barca's own Sport),  http://www.sport.es/default.asp?idpublicacio_PK=44&idioma=CAS&idnoticia_PK=643260&idseccio_PK=803

Relevant section in spanish:
LA LLEGADA DE FLORENTINO PÉREZ II
“Es cierto que la llegada de Florentino ‘apagó’ el triplete, pero también es cierto que el triplete estará ahí por siempre, es histórico y será inolvidable”, evaluó el Premio Planeta al Deporte, y concluyó “Florentino no nos sacará el triplete ni la experiencia vivida”.

Google translation:
The arrival of Florentino Perez II
"It is true that the arrival of Florentino 'switched off' the hat trick, but it is also true that the triplet will be there forever, is historic and unforgettable", evaluated the Premio Planeta Sport, and concluded "Florentino not get us out the triplet or lived experience. "

I had checked other sources before quoting tribalfootball. I just didnt want to post Google translations
European Football (EPL, UEFA, La Liga)Re: Barcelona Fans Thread by biina: 9:07pm On Sep 10, 2009
Krayola2:
The team that didn't have to spend over 200mil to keep up with the competition that won 5 trophies, something that the entire Madrid population masturbates over, while breaking pretty much almost every attacking record in Spain.

Nigeria has won more globally than any African country . . . . Tell that to the Tunisians.

History is for bored geeks. Whats poppin right now . . . . ? (not in your imagination, i mean in the real world - the ones that's colored BLAUGRANA!! cool cool
Barcelona chief admits Real Madrid signings took away Treble glory
Barcelona public relations chief Manel Estiarte admits the summer signings made by Real Madrid president Florentino Perez took some of the attention they deserved for winning the Treble last season.
"It is true that we could have enjoyed the Treble more, but it will be with us forever," he said. "Florentino stole the Treble feeling for us, this experience.
"We are not concerned about the arrival of Florentino, we have extra motivation."
http://www.tribalfootball.com/barcelona-chief-admits-real-madrid-signings-took-away-treble-glory-306591
PoliticsRe: 5 Banks Use Only N100bn Of Cbn’s N420bn: by biina: 6:41pm On Sep 10, 2009
mikeansy:
Nobody knows the answer to that question because right now I have no reason to believe that some of the figures coming out of the CBN were not made up.

Most Nigerians have lost confidence in the CBN as an independent regulator.
You 'have no reason to believe that some of the figures coming out of the CBN[b] were not made up[/b]'.? undecided
Do you have cogent reasons to believe that the CBN figures are made up?
Do you have a credible source (e.g. the banks themselves) that says the figures are false and provided counter evidence?

When I say figures, I am not referring to a list of debtors, but rather indices like:
1. Percentage of non performing loans
2. Percentage of margin loans and exposure to Oil & Gas
3. Capital Adequacy Ratios (CARs) and Liquidity Ratios (LRs)
3. EDW debts of the banks etc
that the CBN gave as basis for the action they took.
PoliticsRe: 5 Banks Use Only N100bn Of Cbn’s N420bn: by biina: 6:02pm On Sep 10, 2009
@mikeansy
Simple question: were the 5 banks in distress before the intervention of the CBN?
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 4:42pm On Sep 08, 2009
I guess the question boils down to the effect of the phrase 'in addition to such other jurisdiction as may be conferred upon it by the law of the State' on the rest of the definition.
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 3:36pm On Sep 08, 2009
Bialegend:
And you actually feel that i think you will post your ethnicity here? Naive at best. It is on record that only Igbos are always proud to state or mention their ethnicity anywhere, forum or not. Next are the Yorubas, while others like you are ashamed to do same for reasons best know to you.
I do not go about brandishing my ethnicity as I do not see the relevance of it to an intellectual exchange.
You (along with your likes), on the other hand, cannot see beyond ethnic bigotry, and always strife to interpret arguments based on ethnicity and not facts or logic. Your handle makes it easy to spot you from a mile off.
It is mindset like yours that have led to such sad events like the holocaust and the Rwandan genocide. More saddening is the fact that you are proud of it.
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 3:30pm On Sep 08, 2009
@mikeansy
childish? undecided

Section 277(1) says the state can confer additional jurisdiction on the Sharia court, while section 4(1) grants the state a degree of autonomy in adopting such laws.
I do not see where it is stated that 277 (2) supersedes or limits 277(1), when it is supposed to be an expounding of 'competent' as used in the latter

277. (1) The sharia Court of Appeal of a State shall, in addition to such other jurisdiction as may be conferred upon it by the law of the State, exercise such appellate and supervisory jurisdiction in civil proceedings, involving questions of Islamic personal Law which the court is competent to, decide in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section.

The bold part is the default jurisdiction of the sharia courts and 277(2) only details what is meant by 'competent to' as clearly stated above. The definitions in 277(2) does not affect the 'other jurisdiction' that can be conferred by the state.

If your interpretation was correct,  wouldn't the adoption of the sharia been defeated in court?

Where the question has always been with Sharia was not in its adoption, but rather if certain laws under it infringe on fundamental human rights.
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 3:04pm On Sep 08, 2009
Bialegend:
Yes, here he come again. The apostle of "my best friends are Igbos" If you are not a muslim and also not a northerner, can you boldly tell us your religion and the most important, your ethnic group in nigeria? I am Igbo, but i know you will be too much ashamed of your self to answer my questions.
At no point have I said my best friends are Igbos. If you are so curious to know what my ethnicity is, feel free to go and investigate.
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 3:14am On Sep 08, 2009
naijaking1:
Your saddness and surprise maybe from the fact that you have never interacted with some of these people in person, and on Nigerian soil(because they seem to cool down to reality overseas).

If Jarus accepts facts over his religion, then he wouldn't seem himself as a devout muslim anymore, so is biina, etc
Unfortunately for you, I am neither a muslim nor a northerner. That you are quick to assume otherwise, only proves that you cannot comprehend an argument or position that is not borne of religious or ethnic bias. But then that raises the question of if all your positions are borne of such.

You talk of facts, and yet all you (along with PapaBrowne & co) have done is presuppose the intentions behind the actions of Sanusi predominantly on the basis of his ethnicity and religion. It is because of people like you that Nigeria is in the state it is.
PoliticsRe: The Mind Of Sanusi On Nigeria by biina: 2:34am On Sep 08, 2009
@mikeansy
I think your argument on the sharia and your interpretation of the constitution is uneven.

4. (7) The House of Assembly of a State shall have power to make laws for the peace, order and good government of the State or any part thereof with respect to the following matters, that is to say:-
        (a) any matter not included in the Exclusive Legislative List set out in Part I of the Second Schedule to this Constitution.
        (b) any matter included in the Concurrent Legislative List set out in the first column of Part II of the Second Schedule to this Constitution to the extent prescribed in the second column opposite thereto; and
        (c) any other matter with respect to which it is empowered to make laws in accordance with the provisions of this Constitution.

277. (1) The sharia Court of Appeal of a State shall, in addition to such other jurisdiction as may be conferred upon it by the law of the State, exercise such appellate and supervisory jurisdiction in civil proceedings involving questions of Islamic personal Law which the court is competent to decide in accordance with the provisions of subsection (2) of this section.

The above sections of the constitution makes it legal to expand the jurisdiction of the sharia courts beyond the defaults (stated in 277.(2) ) to cover any such areas as conferred by the state. So your argument of sharia courts being 'a law of choice' is not true in all cases, and having different laws in different states is not unconstitutional, as it is provided for by the constitution. That does not bar one from arguing against its practicality, though some supporters would point out that it is needed for true federalism and it has been successful in countries like the US.

While I would rather we have one legal code for the whole country, obtaining such is a long and arduous task, and would require us starting slipstreaming the constitution. Till then, states adopting sharia is legal as far as I can tell from the constitution.

As to the secularism of the state, Nigeria is far from a secular state, but more a multi-religious one. A secular state is theoretically devoid of religious affiliations, but several facts,  like the religious swearing in the judicial system, the adoption of religious public holidays, hint otherwise.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 (of 125 pages)