Stats: 3,325,372 members, 8,421,600 topics. Date: Saturday, 06 June 2026 at 05:29 PM

DrDre1's Posts

Nairaland ForumDrDre1's ProfileDrDre1's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 64 pages)

TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 12:10pm On Aug 09, 2015
ken1982:
@DrDre...mk i PM u na...i wan come qatar

did u see my PM last week. I don dy suspect say my destiny dy Qatar (Nija scope)
Hahahahahahaha...This man wants to kill me with his funny lines. Laughing so hard right now grin . Yes I saw the PMs. I just had another look at the name there to see it was you now that you mentioned it. There's another one from Combatant. I don't usually respond to PMs. Feel free to ask any question and I'd be glad to reply with the little knowledge I have. Still laughing at what you are suspecting about your destiny and Qatar. Very funny man cheesy cheesy. Be warned though, Qatar visa isn't for the faint-hearted
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 11:47am On Aug 09, 2015
ken1982:
DrDre...wait o..are you implying there are jobs in UAE.

you SEE WHEN I SAID YOU SHOULD SPEARHEAD THE Qatar ASPECT OF THIS THREAD U CALLED ME NEWCOMER...BUT I AM SO SURE ALL U R SAYING NOW IS NEW INFO....

WE HV TO REALISE THAT INFO CHANGES DAILY AND TO GROW WE MUST KEEP ABREAST WITH CHANGES
ken1982:
Sorry @DrDre i mean't are you implying there are safety jobs in Qatar
Yes sir, that's what I'm implying. It's easier for companies to cut corners in UAE on safety issues than in Qatar. Any slight safety problem here in Qatar costs the companies alot plus affects their chances of getting contracts. Sometimes, they stop the contract completely and jail all 'jailables'. So in a way, it helps the prospects of safety jobs...and yes I still maintain you are a newbie here lol grin

monchouchou:
Wow, very interesting write up and thank you for the new information. I have been to Qatar once and disliked it immediately because I felt it was boring when compared to the hustle and bustle of Lagos and Dubai.
Lol...you are a true Lagosian. grin . What part of Qatar did you stay and for how long if you don't mind me asking? I agree it may not be easy to adjust at first but once you get a hang of things, trust me, you can create whatever fun you want. Qatar is kind of a 'it is what you seek, you shall find' place. grin

ken1982:
@DrDre please explain
are you saying there are safety jobs in qatar...abeg let us know make i pack my bags o
as for primavera p6 software can i go for the course directly or are there prerequisite courses i should take
am checking google already for that sha
You can do the training course with any training software just to have the foundation knowledge. Youtube videos will help in horning your skills. The course will help you to know what to look for online to study and develop yourself. There are no prerequisite courses to be taken. Just have a good level of dexterity in general computer navigation and the software. A good knowledge of Microsoft Excel will also really help. Honestly, if you have these...let me lipsrsealed grin
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 10:57am On Aug 09, 2015
monchouchou:
Yes I have noticed the pay is generally more in Qatar, but on the flip side its not as open and welcoming as UAE. You cannot just come on a visit visa and search for a job in Qatar, right? This reduces the pool of applicants available in Qatar unlike in the UAE where more and more job seekers troop in daily.
Yes and No...Yes because Qatar isn't as developed as UAE generally and No because you can actually come with a visit visa and search for job. The visit visa is extendable for a period of almost one year but the process is completely different from that of the UAE. The person would have to be sponsored by a relative with good work status. That's the law but people usually just look for another person with similar names. Don't say I told you so lipsrsealed
There's a delicate balance between the number of job seekers and the % of opportunities. The government also has its own ways of affecting the tilt in this balance. For example, sometimes, they'd just stop issuing visas for certain nationalities when they feel their grip is getting too strong. Indians, Philipinos and a few other countries are having a hard time getting work visas now. They also discourage companies from hiring certain nationals except they really need them with some policies. I learnt recently that for a company to employ a fresh Indian from outside now, they have to deposit some money (about 10k I think) with the government for each person. Currently, for any company interested in getting contracts especially government connected, they have to show in their employee list that they have people from many countries. Due to this, they have no choice to employ blacks, arabs, other asians apart from Indians and so on. It's quite a complex thing to understand within a short period of time. Overall, I think the level of the construction industry in the two places contributes to this wage difference. There are more contracts here than there cos of the level of development.
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 10:21am On Aug 09, 2015
monchouchou:
Very nice of you! We need more of this, being our brothers keepers. This is what makes the Indians and Filipinos better in the UAE. They are always on the lookout for each other and spread job opportunities like wild fire. Justi has been posting job infos here as well and its really nice!

@Ken1982, has your friend been able to sort out his job issues?
Yes ma'am. Wish I could be of help beyond this. If he was in Qatar with that, it would have been a sealed deal. That's why I asked him to just try if they can consider him there. Something I've noticed over time is that wages are quite lower in U.A.E compared to Qatar. Some of the companies from U.A.E come here with that kind of plan but I don't miss the chance to tell them to their face that we play by different rules here in Qatar.

By the way, for anyone in these parts or planning to come down, you can start taking intensive trainings in Project Management. If you can have 25%-30% of how to use Primavera P6 software, you will be smiling to the bank soon grin grin
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m):
*modified*
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 8:28am On Aug 09, 2015
billyjunior:
Pls house I would appreciate ur assistance as to where I could go search for jobs. I worked as a safety advisor in a construction company in PH for nearly 4years,nebosh certified though. I need to buid on ma career. I had visited dat noor bank area on thursday just to comb d area a little. Yesterday, I saw on an advert for safety officer position on new telegram papers and I picked d number to call dem which I did earlier today. A lady picked d call and when I told why I called, she said I should come for a walk-in interview before 4pm deadlin today. She gave me d address and it's in sharjah. When I got there(king faisal rd, suzuki showroom,behind d showroom complex) the name of d place is one al awaiel employment and manpower supply services, I sat down facing d lady,she told me it's a safety and security officer position in a contracting company( 3500aed basic + 400aed feeding allowance, accommodation + transportation + free medical + two days off + free zone blablabla...). she asked if I was ok with d offer, if I was dat I shud fill a form with my personal details and sign, requested for a copy of my passport and visa with two passport photos. There was also a deposit of 300dirhams. pls house, what do u thin?
Good morning Mr. Billyjunior. Congrats on the smooth trip free of all the Nigerian airport hassles. Just 2 quick questions. Have you passed all the 3 NEBOSH papers? Do you have the 4 certificates with you? I hope to hear from you asap. All the best
Technology MarketRe: CHEAPEST PRICES ON PHONES/TABLETS/POWERBANK:GIONEE,XIAOMI,OPO,CUBETALK,JIAYU ETC by DrDre1(m): 4:42pm On Aug 08, 2015
@ Mr. Elijah
Hello sir. How have you been? About the Chuwi vi10, can you ask around about 64gb version for me pls? Dual OS with just 32gb isn't really a nice setup. Asides that, I need a quote for these items
1. Logitech K480 Bluetooth keyboard
2. ADO Mate 3 NFC speaker
3. Earson Mammoth ER-160 Speaker

Should sort the issue of phones out around next week but we will discuss privately. My phone is broken so can't chat with you for now on Whatsapp.
Technology MarketRe: Pre-Order ur Goods via Aliexpress/1688/Taobao/Dhgate @Cheapest shipping Rates by DrDre1(m): 4:29pm On Aug 08, 2015
Lstar4real:
Mr droga
Chuwi Tab arrived and already pickup Thanks
Cute Tab
Hello sir. If you don't mind me asking, is the pictured Chuwi vi10 tab a 64gb model and what's the price?
FoodRe: Beans Dish Replicated In The Uk By Nairalander by DrDre1(m): 11:50am On Aug 06, 2015
See good beans...not like this 'ogbanje' one I cooked for almost 12 hours. Miss this so much angry angry angry
PoliticsRe: Senator Ighoyota Amori Marks 63rd Birthday Boat Cruising With Girls (Photos) by DrDre1(m): 10:39am On Aug 05, 2015
watts75:
Remember Jigawa state used 11.4 billion to build this airport in 9 months. Delta was using 7.5 billion to clear a hill around Asaba Airport.
This got me choking with laughter grin grin grin grin
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 10:14am On Aug 05, 2015
jollyrogers:
Please I need your advice and suggestions. My employment visa wish I applied for never worked out but the middle man refunded my deposit, and now I entend going to UAE to take the Nebosh IGC and any other important/ necessary certification so after the certification I can search for a job also. But Nebosh certificate takes about 2months to come out and don't know if it would be a waste of money. Anoda middle man suggested I take up a security job and the run the programs while on the job. So I don't know if it would be favorable cos I heard a 2yrs contract has to be signed. So would I have to wait till after the two years to now use my certificate to get a better job or is he lying so that he would get his cut from the job visa?.
@Ken and the oil n gas dudes: wat other certification can I do in less than 30days?
@all other : please I need urgent advice. Please please.
Hmmm... firstly, I feel you should've asked some of these questions before making the trip. Maybe you did and I missed that part of your story. That said, NEBOSH takes about 3 months and not 2. You also need to ask yourself some questions and be frank with yourself. Do you want to build a solid career or you just want survive on whatever jobs that come your way? If you are really looking to build a career, then I'd say you should go with the NEBOSH thing and other trainings related to quality, health, safety and project management. It's not going to be easy. We Nigerians usually think of the 'now' and what we can make of it. If you can develop yourself with some courses, then you are on your way to success. Don't be discouraged that the time of one certificate has gone and things like that. If you can maintain your own focus and ready to take some hard steps, many of those things won't matter to you. I'd keep checking here more frequently cos of you if you want to pursue some options. All the best wink
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 2:05pm On Aug 04, 2015
samhay:
Hustle neva start, am @ajman, my partner don go work, sent a message to me dat d boss said I will be working @dubai,so am just waiting to be picked up, so I guess work begins 2mao.

Just locked up inside my guy's room.
Congratulations sir. Wish you all the best in your sojourn. Your update made a good reading. Quite funny grin
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 7:06am On Aug 04, 2015
ken1982:
Bro you are at the forefront of the Qatar "thing" cos you are there and can clearly guide us on what applies there. Someone in UK or Nigeria or USA cannot know as much as someone IN UAE for the simple fact that those on ground in any country will have a better experience and "feel" of the happenings.

So you are most welcome to lead us on the Qatar aspect of this thread.

Abi wetin make i talk
I had a good laugh reading your post sir. You are obviously new here. Anyways, it's cool to be welcomed again in this thread cheesy grin
That said, if you have any new question about Qatar, feel free to ask. I said 'new' because answers to over 95% of questions are already available here for anyone really serious about taking the plunge. Thanks for the welcome once again grin

Teeboy22:
thats good
See... I got a 'welcome' cheesy
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 4:28pm On Aug 03, 2015
Teeboy22:
we bless GOD oo

y una con forget us for here now cheesy
Not really lol. I've been swamped with work and the drama here was becoming hard to keep with. Besides, it's more of a UAE thing than Qatar so I only peep once in a while to see if anything new comes up.
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m): 8:46pm On Jul 28, 2015
Teeboy22:
@drdre1 how have you been

longest time bro

how qatar now?
I've been fine sir. You? Things are fine here in Qatar except for the heat and humidity levels
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE GENERAL VISA ENQUIRIES PART 2 by DrDre1(m):
Hello all. Good to see the thread has moved on. Trust everyone is fine smiley

nattybanta:
Don't know if am d only one that remembered Dre, Henrimoto and Bigm101 hope u guys are safe. Make una dey try remember us sometimes even wen I was away no body noticed cos am always here
Good day Mr. Natty. It's been a while I came around these parts. Just stumbled on a link to the old thread and discovered there's a part 2 already. Kudos to u and everyone else making things work here...Justwise, Justi, Monchou, Goooci to mention a few

Gooci:
bad news every1..... i heard meemconnect is dead. he left for Abudhabi sometimes agooo
This is really sad. May GOD console and comfort his family and friends sad sad sad
PhonesRe: The Much Awaited Elephone P7000 Pioneer Presales Begin. by DrDre1(m): 9:07am On Apr 22, 2015
Ahmadjr:
Yeah, he's my favourite reviewer on any gadget/device- Chinese
He's really good and honest with his reviews. Good to see another Nigerian Gizchina 'family'. Only Nigerian I've noticed there is Michael
PhonesRe: The Much Awaited Elephone P7000 Pioneer Presales Begin. by DrDre1(m): 5:31am On Apr 22, 2015
This is quite interesting. Good to see Andi's popularity has gotten to Nairaland smiley .
PoliticsRe: Ohanaeze gives Oba of Lagos 48 hours to withdraw threat to Igbos by DrDre1(m): 9:34pm On Apr 06, 2015
The person whose head is used to break a coconut won't eat out of it grin
The igbos should be wake up and stop allowing people push them around. They should be smart enough to see they will be the losers no matter the outcome of the elections. If Agbaje wins (which is not likely), he's a blood relation of the king. If APC wins, he's the candidate of the king. Whoever made the recording also already suspected such words would be spoken...but don't wait for an apology from him. It will be complete waste of time.
As for the people that call Lagos a no-man's land, don't give what you can't take wink
PoliticsRe: Is This The Audio Of Oba Akiolu's 'Die In The Lagoon' Speech? by DrDre1(m): 7:00pm On Apr 06, 2015
Well, I doubt the king will deny he's the one speaking in this audio recording. The 'damage control' statement will do little to convince people otherwise either. It's obvious tribal sentiments will always play a part in Nigeria no matter how loud we sing the song of unity. I don't support threats to anyone from anyone no matter how highly placed. That said, the igbos should stop allowing themselves to be used for mischief in any form by any set of people.
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 8:20pm On Apr 03, 2015
Olympus...looks promisingsmiley
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m):
cao:
As in, I kept chatting with my sis on BBM, poor girl had no clue about this show, but I didn't care, someone had to understand my dilemma. I know I yelled during the Barlow scene*, see the way I was covering my mouth, I thought my housemates were going to kill me. Baptism by fire. Chei! Omo, James McGraw is no more, there is only Captain James Flint.

*even though I'd spoiled it for myself, when I made the mistake of reading the first paragraph of a review for the finale, but still that scene shocked the hell out of me. Lord Ashe you frakked up real bad...like really really bad...like Michael Jackson bad.
LOL!!! So sorry for your sister. Poor girl must be wondering what hit her sister. That said, it's good you found a way to let the whole thing out. I wasn't that lucky...no one to yell at sad The producers really brought Flint's line 'I'd rain hell...' to life in the finale. It's made that of Nassau look like some sort of weapons check grin . I screamed throughout the whole thing. Another thing I really loved the script for was how the writer(s) were able to weave Flint and Vane's partnership, rescue of Flint by Vane, dealing with Lord Ashe (and his gain for ruining McGraw and Mrs. Barlow's lives-the town) and the reclaiming of the ship by Flint's men all in one adrenaline-pumping episode. No dull moment at all. I however can't stop thinking about Lord Ashe's daughter. It's obvious she has a thing for Billy and they'd make a good match in an ironic way lol.Would be nice to see that character developed in season 3. The way Mrs. Barlow's corpse was treated is also something that lingers on in my thoughts. It's shocking enough the way she was killed...I didn't expect her corpse to be be treated that way. Throwing stuffs and yelling at the corpse like that was too unfair for her to suffer even in death. Sadly, Flint couldn't give her a better burial than the rain of fire with the rest of the savages. Lord Ashe really deserved what he got...I even wish he got more than he did infact. Have you seen/read any spoiler for season 3? January 2016 is such a long wait for a show that leaves someone on such a high cliff of suspense as this. Black Sails...keep flying the black.
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 4:35am On Apr 02, 2015
cao:
Black Sails. Yes DrDre1, I'm finally catching up, I'm ready for the [almost] four hours of epic pirate-y goodness.

UPDATE (over 4 hours later): Bloody hell that was epic! Black Sails don kill me-o...And I thought Empire was epic, this one don pass another level.
Cao, I see you have received your heavy dose of cinematic shock grin grin grin They should have displayed a warning before the start of that particular episode. I never imagined in my wildest imagination how the whole thing is turning out. Ordinarily, I play 'catch-up' most times figuring out the next twist, but after that episode, I felt a flush of different emotions that just left me numb for days. This show is really not for the faint-hearted wink
TravelRe: QATAR And UAE General Visa Enquiries by DrDre1(m): 12:49pm On Mar 26, 2015
nattybanta:
I gave u a website dat answers all ur questions but u still came here to ask irrelevant questions, I would marry a wife and impregnate her for u toohuhhuh I responded cos I wanted to assist u if not I would have told u to read d thread from start to finish and get all u wanted. telling u d price doesn't help u in anyway cos I don't do visas.
LMAO grin grin
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 6:25am On Mar 23, 2015
cao:
Being Human is about a werewolf, vampire & a ghost living in a flat, all trying to live normally. Series 1 is kinda straight forward, although it does go deeper into its mythos in the later series. The original cast (technically only one of them - the guy who plays the werewolf - is from the original pilot, the Beeb took to long to resurrect it, so most of the original actors had moved on) only last for the first 3 series, Aidan had to leave due to being cast in The Hobbit. Then the original werewolf leaves in the first episode of Series 4, and Series 4 had a rather crazy story arc, then the ghost leaves at the end of that series. The last series has a new trio, the devil & an interesting ending.
Hmm...a werewolf, vamp and ghost living together pretending to be humans? Sounds like a perfect recipe for disaster. Good thing he left for The Hobbit as he played Kili well although I don't like when casts have to be replaced especially when they are already well established in the production. Thanks for the synopsis. wink
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 7:16pm On Mar 22, 2015
cao:
I've been following him (Aidan Turner) since Being Human when he replaced the original actor that played his character - another good show (there are 2 versions of BH, the UK one is the original one). The original BH pilot was so good that BBC were forced to make into a series, even though they had only planned it as a one-off pilot, after the public signed a petition to get it back on air. Although, it is quite odd not hearing his Irish lilt in Poldark, but I can live with that.

I'm actually behind on Black Sails (last episode I watched was the sixth), look at it this way, I'll have almost 3 epic hours to catch up on. It looks like I'm in for a doozy, I'm looking forward to that.

As for The Musketeers, the King just needs to die real quick, I'm tired of his childish stupidity...useless cretin. **hisses**
Cao, u have given me another show to get hooked on. Very soon I'd hold u responsible for my addiction grin .
As for being behind on Black Sails, honestly I envy u. The saying "ignorance is bliss" really applies to me here. I wish I didn't watch this last episode. Slept immediately after watching it. Even in my sleep, couldn't stop thinking about it. Woke up and still can't stop thinking about it. Unfortunately, I'm hooked I can't stay away sad .
As for the king in The Musketeers, I constantly have to remind myself that a king like that didn't actually rule over France...but I'd be tempted to ask any frenchman I run into if he knows about this show grin Too bad they can't kill him off. Seems he was designed to just set stupidity records
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 1:13pm On Mar 22, 2015
cao:
Yup, I'm actually watching The Musketeers right now. The only reason I watched Poldark is I noticed it on BBC iPlayer & I saw Aiden Turner's face, I was like yup I'm watching it.
I don't even know what to say about the king anymore. Just when I thought his level of stupidity is at its highest, he breaks new grounds. Aiden Turner's face is surely working wonders for the followership of the production grin
Just finished watching the latest episode of Black Sails and I honestly can't say how shocked and angry I am. Lady Hamilton (especially) and Guthrey just like that? angry This is just too much for me to swallow once. Really liked that woman's character embarassed cry
TV/MoviesRe: The 100 TV Serie...anyone? by DrDre1(m): 1:07pm On Mar 22, 2015
candygosh:
I tell you the producers need thumbs up for the show. They always make the finale epic cheesy
They really do make it an epic one. You just can't wait for the new season

jorhney:
when will d next season begin??
Towards the end of the year.
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 3:04pm On Mar 21, 2015
cao:
Poldark.
Nice pick. It gets better with each episode. U watch The Musketeers too, right? I'm fuming seriously after seeing the latest episode. angry angry angry angry
TV/MoviesRe: ARROW and THE FLASH fan page....... by DrDre1(m): 11:43am On Mar 18, 2015
Seems thw floor is open for spoilers already grin
Oh Cisco!!! sad
Iris...happy now? tongue
TV/MoviesRe: What Series Are You Watching Now? Part 2 by DrDre1(m): 11:40am On Mar 18, 2015
The Royals
Poldark

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 (of 64 pages)