Stats: 3,325,147 members, 8,420,553 topics. Date: Friday, 05 June 2026 at 01:06 AM

Eyeview's Posts

Nairaland ForumEyeview's ProfileEyeview's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 (of 153 pages)

PoliticsRe: We Are Returning Nigeria’s Cotton Industry To The ‘Good Old Days’ – PMB by eyeview: 5:23pm On Nov 09, 2018
deomelo:

ipob, that ignorant rubbish is not working because PMB is reviving and completing everything your looting and stealing PDP uncles abandoned and destroyed.

Evil sentiments and wishes befalls evil wishers and anti Nigerian elements.
Exactly how one boy ranted when Buhari and his nephew, the minister of aviation promised to revive the Nigerian Airways at the launch of the logo and when i reminded him that Buhari who had a penchant for failing at promises will fail again, he openly challenged me to a bet. Till date am still looking for the guy's moniker. Do you mind placing a bet. If by may 29 2019 he he hasn't fulfilled this promise, how much
PoliticsRe: We Are Returning Nigeria’s Cotton Industry To The ‘Good Old Days’ – PMB by eyeview: 3:37pm On Nov 09, 2018
It simply means it won't happen cos nothing Buhari ever promises gets fulfilled. He should first go back and write waec to fulfil the promise his principal made on his behalf before promising new ones
PoliticsRe: Court Restrains IGP From Proscribing Benue Livestock Guards by eyeview: 8:39am On Nov 09, 2018
May God deal decisively with this Fulani govt. An agency that was set up by govt to protect their defenceless farmers from the Fulani herdsmen is what the useless IG is hustling to to proscribe as terrorist group while he has refused to proscribe Fulani herdsmen
PoliticsRe: Angry Nigerian Blast Lai Muhammad Over N3.5million E-lzakzakky Feeding (video) by eyeview: 4:00pm On Nov 08, 2018
Frankly, I hate listening to lai Mohammed, Ahmed Garbage and brother femi who has sold his soul. Anytime most of Buhari appointees speak, I see a group who thinks Nigerians are fools or silly. I marvel how a few incompetent men will gather and take the collective intelligence of the whole nation for a ride. Maybe they think we are all zombies
PoliticsRe: Reno Omokri Reacts To Lai Mohammed N3.5m Monthly Feeding Of El-Zakzaky by eyeview: 3:39pm On Nov 08, 2018
This govt is the most corrupt in the history of Nigeria.
And its shocking that many people still believe that Buhari is fighting corruption
PropertiesRe: LASBCA Seals The Biggest Building In Bariga (Photos) by eyeview: 8:01pm On Nov 06, 2018
That agency is fraught with bribery and corruption. They are just after the money. There is none in their midst that is a professional. Once they have fleeced you to the point you can't take it anymore, they will unseal it
PoliticsRe: List Of State Governors Not Willing To Pay N30,000 Minimum Wage & Their Excuse by eyeview: 6:45pm On Nov 06, 2018
Imo's stashed away wealth by Rochas and his family will pay IMO workers for a minimum of ten years.
CelebritiesRe: ‘I Might Spoil You Small’ - Billionaire Son Paddy Adenuga Says To A Girl by eyeview: 6:33pm On Nov 06, 2018

PoliticsRe: Peter Obi: An Unrepentant Ethnic Irredentist by eyeview: 2:44pm On Nov 06, 2018
Venom236:
PDP Presidential Candidate, Atiku Abubakar, has throughout his campaigns so far accused the President Muhammadu Buhari administration of dividing the country along its fault lines and claimed that he is the one with the magic wand to bring everybody together and unite the nation.

The lie in the claims was however exposed recently with the choice of Peter Obi - who is arguably Nigeria’s most divisive, bigoted and sectional politician alive – as running mate. How can someone who has never hidden his disbelief in One Nigeria unite Nigeria?

~In 2011, Peter Obi as Governor of Anambra State deported 29 Akwa-Ibom State indigenes without any justification other than the fact that he didn’t consider it the duty of his administration to accommodate and care for people who are not of the Igbo ethnic stock.

~Traders and residents of northern extraction had a torrid time living in the state under Obi as state government officials constantly demolished their homes and mosques and barred them from moving round peacefully.

~Peter Obi once directed all non citizens of Anambra residing in the state to apply for official identity cards as requirement for living or doing business in any part of the state.

~Obi has also been named as a major sponsor of the secessionist movement – Independent of People of Biafra (IPOB) and has never hidden his solidarity with their agitations and support for their violent rhetoric/campaign.

~Obi’s Igbo irredentism was confirmed in August 2012 when his company, SabMiller introduced a new alcoholic drink called ‘Hero’ into the market. The logo of IPOB was (and is still) conspicuously placed on the bottle and can of the product, which has now become the most popular drink of the southeast people.
Obi Never Demolished Mosques in Anambra, Northern Police Chiefs Carpet Obi’s Critics
By editor - 10 hours ago

• Call for Support for Obi’s Nomination

Three former Commissioners of Police (CPs) in Anambra State during the tenure of Mr. Peter Obi as governor of the state have exonerated him from the allegations that he demolished mosques and sacked non-indigenes, particularly northerners from the state.

These allegations are being propagated by the opposition against him on social media.

Speaking on at different occasions on the subject-matter, they were unanimous in rating Obi as a fair, humane and detribalised Nigerian, “whose passion as governor was for the good of all within his jurisdiction.”

Dismissing the news of demolition of mosques as a lie and propaganda obviously planted by the opposition to discredit the Atiku/Obi presidential ticket, they called on all well-meaning Nigerians, including Northern youths, to disregard the news as fake, urging them to always try as much as possible to verify report before believing them.

The former CPs in Anambra State, Gwary Usman, Alhaji Amusa Bello and Philemon Leha, who later retired in higher ranks, expressed concern over the spate of fake news, especially on social media, targeted at impugning the integrity of credible Nigerians, incidentally, the three ex-police officers are northerners who served during Obi’s eight years as governor.

Alhaji Amusa Bello, who was the CP in Anambra State from 2006 to 2010, described the allegation as laughable and a figment of the author’s imagination.

He also advised rumour mongers and purveyors of falsehood to desist from such acts, and support whoever God anointed to showcase what modern politics, leadership and management should represent.

Bello observed that it was unthinkable for anyone to associate Obi with violence or rascality as he never demolished any Mosque nor asked anyone, aside from criminals and kidnappers, to leave the state.

According to him, “I call on those behind this rumour to desist from that and look for fact. They should stop this ‘pull-him-down syndrome’ that will never take them anywhere good. Obi has a lot of credentials and several attributes that favour him in his aspiration. He dresses simple among others. Let them look for fact. He has emerged vice presidential candidate to Alhaji Atiku Abubakar; it’s God that ordained him. Let them support him.”

Similarly, retired Deputy Inspector General of Police, Mr. Philemon Leha, asserted that the Obi he worked with could not have and did not demolish Mosques nor asked non-indigenes to leave the state.

Visibly upset by the spurious allegation against Obi, he said: “I am from the North and I know what I am saying. Northerners are among the people building the economy of Anambra State and in what circumstances could a governor have sacked them? Numbering millions, they are practically everywhere in the state, including Awka, Amansea, Onitsha, Nnewi and many other towns and communities. Let Nigerians be assured that the allegation is a lie.”

Usman, who is a retired AIG, described the allegation as “false and wicked.” According to him, “It is not true. The allegation is false. I was in the state as CP and I was better placed to know the truth. Throughout the time I was in the state, nothing like that ever happened.”

Surprised at the gullibility of the people, he submitted that “Peter Obi is a gentleman. I can vouch for him. He is a detribalised citizen. I can tell you authoritatively that even if I wake up from slumber, I will tell you that Obi did not and can never hate any Northerner. I am surprised that our people are being deceived.”
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi's Soiled Hands by eyeview: 1:47pm On Nov 06, 2018
Instead of listing what buhari has achieved, they are busy fabricating lies against another party's candidate
PoliticsRe: Peter Obi: An Unrepentant Ethnic Irredentist by eyeview: 1:45pm On Nov 06, 2018
And they continue to fabricate lies against Peter Obi instead of listing what buhari has achieved.
PoliticsRevealed: The List Of Governors That Opposed The Savings Proposed By Okonjo Iwea by eyeview(op): 1:54pm On Nov 05, 2018
Almost on a daily basis we are reminded by APC supporters of how the PDP and its leaders squandered the proceeds of excess crude sales as proposed by the then minister of finance, Dr Ngozi Okonjo Iweala.
However extracts from her book actually highlighted the governors who were vehemently against this savings and they are all APC members. Named as the chief antagonists to the savings were Govs Adams Oshiomole (the current APC national chairman), Babatunde Raji Fashola (the failed current APC minister of power, works and housing), Gov Rotimi Amaechi (the minister of transport and campaign DG of President Buhari) and Gov Godswill Akpabio (APC senator).
Extracts from the book also showed that a particular governor stood firmly for the savings and that man was none other than Gov Peter Obi who incidentally is the PDP vice presidential candidate today.
Please, if anyone tells you that PDP refused to save, let them know that APC was actually the party that squandered our savings.

CelebritiesRe: Mai Atafo Office Gutted By Fire (Photos) by eyeview: 1:15pm On Nov 05, 2018
Where is the office located
PoliticsRe: The Ethno Religious Foundations Laid By Peter Obi In Anambra State. by eyeview: 8:33pm On Nov 03, 2018
CilicMarin:
I still remember the day, he humiliated and chased Elrufai away from Anambra State for being an Hausa Fulani, during the governorship election in 2014...

He also destroyed mosques in Onitsha a deported Hausa people..
I neither demolished mosques nor sent Hausa out of Anambra - Obi
https://www.vanguardngr.com/2018/11/i-neither-demolished-mosques-nor-sent-hausa-out-of-anambra-obi/
The former Governor of Anambra State and Vice-Presidential candidate of the People’s Democratic Party, Mr. Peter Obi has described as sheer fabrication, wicked and inhuman, the allegation being circulated by the opposition that he demolished mosques as the Governor of Anambra State, snubbed the Sultan, Alhaji Muhammadu Sa'ad Abubakar III, drove Hausas away from Anambra State and shunned the then Minister of Finance, Dr. Shamsuddeen Usman’s attempt at mediation and did not visit schools in the North.

Responding to journalists’ questions at Southern Sun, Lagos yesterday, Obi regretted that rather than some political elite focusing on resolving the plight of several millions of Nigerians without livelihood, over 10 million of out-of-school children and many more of unemployed youths, they are busily engaged in emitting hate speeches and spreading concocted falsehoods in their desperation to be elected into public office so that they will continue with impoverishing the nation and the generality of the people.

Recalling the circumstances under which he became Governor in 2006, Obi revealed that he never had malicious relationship with any group resident in Anambra State nor demolished any mosque in the State as alleged. As a matter of fact, he went on, the mosque at Onitsha was destroyed before he became Governor. During that crisis, many groups, including Northerners, took shelter in the Army Barracks. Indeed, some of the first measures he took on assumption of office was to visit those displaced persons, restore normalcy and encouraged everybody to return to their normal, peaceful life in the State.

Describing the allegation that he snubbed the Sultan of Sokoto, who was in the State as ridiculous, Obi asserted that irresponsibility and disrespect for elders and leaders were not in his character. According to him, “The irony of this concoction is that I have been a friend of His Eminence, the Sultan right from my first year at the University of Nigeria, Nsukka, in 1980 through his tenure as Nigeria’s Defence Attaché in Pakistan till the present. The fact is that the visit of his Eminence, during which I was alleged to have snubbed him was purely a courtesy call after which I personally accompanied him to see the Obi of Onitsha, Obi Alfred Achebe with whom he had a meeting. I also requested His Eminence to visit the Hausa community in the State; and in their interaction, the Hausas complained about the destruction of their mosque before I became Governor, which I offered to rebuild and subsequently gave them the funds for that purpose. Thank God, the Sultan and the Obi of Onitsha are still alive and available to confirm my submission”.
Additionally, Obi revealed that shortly after the visit to the Hausa community, he accompanied the Sultan to the State-owned Chukwuemeka Odumegwu-Ojukwu University which conferred an honorary degree on him. In his words: “I did not have to be there, but I accompanied him to receive the award as a gesture of friendship. If we were not on good terms as my traducers alleged, he could have still be given the honour in the in the spirit of University autonomy, but I would not have accompanied him to the event”.

On the allegation of having driven away Hausas from the State, Obi asserted that the only group which could have run away from Anambra State during his tenure as Governor were kidnappers, armed robbers and predators on the State Treasury. He said that the Head-Bridge Dual Carriageway the wicked liars were referring to was merely cleared of several groups of squatters and illegal markets that occupied three of the 4-lane carriageway. He revealed that the clearance was done without any recourse to ethnicity or religion at a time his Government was collaborating with the Federal Government to expand the road to 6 lanes, which has solved the traffic gridlock in that area to the admiration of all commuters, vehicle owners and transporters.

As for not visiting schools in the North, Obi said it was unfortunate trying to politicise the visit to school he was just engaged in as a passion borne out of his love for education. “In any case”, Obi said, “I have visited schools in all the states of Nigeria. Last year, I visited two schools in Sokoto State, the seat of the Caliphate. “

Answering a question on how he had a disagreement with the then Minister of Finance, Dr. Shamsuddeen Usman, Obi said he had known the gentleman before he became Governor, when he was the CEO of one of the commercial banks and thereafter as the Deputy Governor of the Central Bank and since then, they had remained friends and had not had any reason to disagree on any issue.

Ending on an advisory note, Obi called on all hands to be on deck to save the country from collapse rather than engage in idle talk and fabrication of tales as a substitute for State Policy. “What we need now”, he said, “is building a society and a bright future for millions of poor Nigerians all over the country. That should occupy and agitate us unceasingly rather than how to run others down through lies and character assassination”.

See excerpts from the speech of the Sulatn who is supposed to be at loggerheads with Mr. Peter Obi

SOCIO-ECONOMIC TRANSFORMATION AND THE DEEPENING OF NIGERIA’S UNITY: PETER OBI’S EXAMPLE

Firstly, I wish to express my deep appreciation to the Council and Senate of Anambra State University, for the great honour done to me and for the generous invitation to join the University Community as bona fide member. I am highly gratified by this kind gesture. I would like to register my profound thanks to the University Visitor, the Executive Governor of Anambra State, His Excellency Mr. Peter Obi, whose visionary leadership and sustained commitment to the socio-economic transformation of the state remain a source of hope and strength to all of us. His energy and wisdom, his tolerance and accommodation and his people-centered developmental programmes are being appreciated even beyond the borders of Anambra State. It is my strong belief that under his leadership and with the active cooperation of its veritable stakeholders, better days await Anambra State University and indeed the entire education sector in Anambra State .

EXCERPTS FROM THE SPEECH DELIVERED BY HIS EMINENCE ALHAJI MUHAMMAD SA’AD ABUBAKAR, CFR, mni SULTAN OF SOKOTO, AT THE AWARD CEREMONY OF AN HONORARY DOCTORATE DEGREE BY ANMABRA
PoliticsRe: The Ethno Religious Foundations Laid By Peter Obi In Anambra State. by eyeview: 8:29pm On Nov 03, 2018
Instead of looking for the achievement of Buhari which is non existent, they are busy looking for what they will see against Peter Obi. This is a clear indication that the emergence of Obi portrays a clear and present danger for them.
I like the way pdp is going about their campaign like big boys while apc is busy looking for wahala
BusinessRe: PDD Presidential Flagbearer Reacted As Two Global Banks Close Nigerian Offices by eyeview: 7:21pm On Nov 03, 2018
There's one thing I like about Atiku' s campaign tweets. Whenever he makes a promise, he outlines about one or two realizable actions that will be undertaken to achieve it unlike that lifeless man that will make empty promise of stabilizing the price of oil in the international market, make one naira equal to a dollar but will dodge from every debate where he may be asked how he will achieve it
PoliticsRe: Coma: Orji Uzor Kalu Lying On Hospital Bed In Germany (PHOTO) by eyeview: 5:34pm On Nov 03, 2018
But isn't he one of the men APC claims to have seized his passport and barred from travelling? So it was all a ruse for their members.
PoliticsRe: Dino Melaye Reacts To President Buhari Receiving Attestation From WAEC by eyeview: 12:39pm On Nov 03, 2018
My wife keep feeling sorry for Femi Adesina. She keep seeing how Buhari is making a brethren lie. See how for power and money, Bro Femi is now lying barefacedly. Femi is an example of bowing to the gods of this world
PoliticsRe: APC Kaduna Picks Hadiza Balarabe As El'Rufai's Running Mate by eyeview: 5:35pm On Nov 02, 2018
sarrki:
For ebonyi where you have minority Muslim is it not a Christian Christian Ticket?

In Ekiti it’s a Christian Christian Ticket

In the whole of southeast is it not Christian Christian Ticket

Do you want to say that there are know minority Muslims there?

Please carry your religious politics away
Would you believe if I tell you that there are more Christians from Kaduna than Muslims.
Its a hidden secret. IBB and his cronnies discovered this fact in the census held during his regime but subdued it
PoliticsPictures Of Atiku Abubakar And Peter Obi Working Out by eyeview(op): 10:40am On Nov 02, 2018
"Fit" for the job

PoliticsBuhari Has No Certificate Anywhere In The World. by eyeview(op): 9:34am On Nov 01, 2018
BUHARI CERTİFİCATE SAGA.

I want to re-state categorically that Buhari has NO VERIFIABLE CERTIFICATE anywhere in the world.

WAEC/CAMBRIDGE GCE: - Buhari did not sit for the Cambridge examination in 1961 as his names (Muhammadu, Mohammed or Mohamed Buhari) is not in the UK Examination body's List of candidates names from 1960-1962. His name(s) is also NOT in WAEC candidates names in both Ghana and Nigeria Offices from 1960-1962. Any attempt by Buhari or his agents to present any document to INEC representing WACE or GCE certificate may constitute an Offence.

CERTIFICATE/ARMY RECRUITMENT: - Buhari presented no certificate to the Nigerian Army in 1961 when he joined them, as he has none. The only paperwork came from his school principal, stating that, "I consider that he (Buhari) will pass west African school certificate, with credit in English, Maths and three other subjects". This letter is self-explanatory. You cannot pass an examination you never sit.

NIGERIA DEFENCE ACADEMY (NDA): - Buhari did not attend the NDA as claimed. He attended Royal Military Forces Training College (RMFTC) for months (End of 1961 to the beginning of 1962) for normal Army recruitment and physical fitness training. This is not a certification programme. RMFTC was renamed NDA (established on the 5th of February 1964), and regular courses were introduced thereon.

UK MILITARY TRAINING: Buhari attended the Aldershot based, Mons Officer Cadet School. No Certificate was issued to Buhari, as he passed no examination for the short period he was in the UK in 1963. Cadet School information collaborates this.

DEFENCE SERVICE STAFF COLLEGE, WILLINGTON, INDIA: - As usual, Buhari attended the staff college and did not sit for their examinations. The Defence Services Staff College, Willington does not issue a certificate of attendance to its attendee in 1974.

US WAR COLLEGE: - Buhari left this College in 1980. He has in his Wikipedia page that he was offered a Master Degree in the same college in 1980.
THE US War college have confirmed that they started their Master program in 2000 and there is no way Buhari should have gotten a Masters degree in that college in 1980. Again, no certificate was issued to him.

Veritable facts
CelebritiesRe: Roman Abramovich's Luxurious Private Yacht (Photos) by eyeview: 6:04pm On Oct 31, 2018
This one is more than a yatch.
This one can relocate an entire village to a new settlement
PoliticsRe: President Buhari Hosts APC Aspirants (Photos) by eyeview: 8:23am On Oct 31, 2018
Frankly, if you are a foreigner looking at Buhari's govt from abroad, you will think Nigeria is a purely Hausa Muslim nation.
Thanks to the nepotic dullard that doesn't hide his disdain for other tribes and religions other than his.
PoliticsRe: President Muhamadu Buhari Is More Educated Than Atiku by eyeview: 8:54pm On Oct 30, 2018
This whole writeup is thrash.
If the age requirement to run for the office of the president is 40 years and I step forward and you think am not up to 40 and you go to court. The onus is on me to produce my birth certificate.
Likewise, if the academic qualification stipulates ssce, the evidence is the certificate and if there is any contention to this, the solution is to produce the certificate and not long grammar. QED.
CelebritiesRe: Sola Kosoko-Abina Meets Yemi Osinbajo (Photo) by eyeview: 11:32am On Oct 30, 2018
Kenneth Okonkwo should go and rest and stop harassing the VP. It's not by photo crashing into every pix the VP snapped.
You don't have money for form. Its that simple.
CelebritiesRe: Alexx Ekubo & Kenneth Okonkwo Meet With Yemi Osinbajo by eyeview: 1:37pm On Oct 29, 2018
Its obvious Ekubbo held the VPs hand with two fists to buy extra seconds to make an impression.
And its obvious the VP didn't like that.
As for Kenneth Okonkwo, am just ashamed on his behalf.
CrimeRe: Customs Seizes 2,430 Bags Of Rice In Owerri by eyeview: 1:29pm On Oct 29, 2018
Go to our borders with Niger republic and Chad and see where rice is freely moved into Nigeria on bikes and other means without obstruction.
Customs and Immigration laws are only applicable in the south.
Politics"Why Is The Nigerian Army University In Biu?" (a Must Read) by eyeview(op): 12:26pm On Oct 29, 2018
*Why is the Nigerian army University in Biu?*
Emmanuel Ojeifo

Today the Nigerian Army posted a message on its official Twitter handle notifying the public about the postponement of the “Ground Breaking Ceremony of the Nigerian Army University Biu earlier scheduled for Tuesday 30 October 2018.” It was my first time to learn that the army even had a plan of establishing a university. When I tried to Google it up, I read from the webpage of NAN that the army secured approval for the establishment of its own university in March this year. The approval was given at a meeting of the Federal Executive Council chaired by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo following the recommendation of the Ministry of Education. In a briefing after the approval, Mallam Adamu Adamu the education minister stated that the newly approved university “will be the hub for developing a Nigerian Military Industrial Complex.”

In the NAN report, it was also stated that the Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen Tukur Buratai had approached NUC in June 2017 to apply for the university’s approval. “Buratai…explained that the university was being designed as a unique and specialised institution that would serve as solutions centre, especially to specific challenges facing the military and North East region.” Recall that the Nigerian Navy only recently established its own university – Admiralty University of Nigeria (ADUN), which is set to welcome its first intakes this year. Also, the Air Force got approval for its own university, Air Force Institute of Technology (AFIT) last year and is already running courses. Good idea but it seems like a competition amongst the armed forces.

At the launch of ADUN earlier this year, the navy chief said that the university was “conceived to…meet the training needs of the Nigerian Navy along with those of their sister services with reduced travel abroad for training….” On its webpage, AFIT states that, “it is a tertiary institution with a blend of military and civilian staff and students… The Institute conducts undergraduate and postgraduate programmes in Aerospace Engineering and allied disciplines.” Let us return to the proposed Nigerian Army University Biu (NAUB). When I read the Twitter post about the postponement of its groundbreaking ceremony, my first question was, “Why Biu?” Why is the army proposing to build a university in Biu when virtually all our military and defence institutions are located in the North? Why not elsewhere? Just look at the roll call:

1. Nigeria Defence Academy Kaduna (North-West)
2. Armed Forces Command and Staff College Jaji, Kaduna (North-West)
3. Armed Forces School of Infantry Jaji, Kaduna (North-West)
4. Defence Industries Corporation of Nigeria Kaduna (North-West)
5. 401 Air Force Flying Training School Kaduna (North-West)
6. Air Force Institute of Technology Kaduna (North-West)
7. National Defence College Abuja (North-Central)
8. Army War College Abuja (North-Central)
9. Nigeria Army University Biu, Borno (North-East)
10. Police Academy Wudil, Kano (North-West)

Is it fair that virtually all but one of our military training and educational institutions are concentrated in just one part of the country? When I tried to find out why Biu has to be the location of the proposed army university, I couldn’t get any plausible reason other than the fact that the current Chief of Army Staff Lt Gen Tukur Buratai comes from Biu LGA of Borno State. In itself, it is not a crime for the CAS to want the army university in his hometown, but where is the sense of altruism considering the fact that there is no single military institution in the whole of the South East and South West regions? Could it not have made much sense if this new university was sited in either of these two regions?

At a time when virtually all of the heads of our security, military and para-military services are all from one section of the country and one religion, the siting of the army university in the North does not do well to promote national integration or accord with our Federal Character principle. In their scholarly essay, ‘Federal Character and Management of the Federal Civil Service and the Military’ (1991) published in Publius: The Journal of Federalism, Ladipo Adamolekun, John Erero and Basil Oshionebo noted that “The makers of the 1979 Constitution who introduced the ‘federal character’ principle specifically linked it to the objective of achieving national unity. Some of them also believed that the principle would help to ‘secure and maintain stability in the country.’”

The Federal Character principle is not just about providing some degree of balancing, fair, and equitable representation of states and ethnic groups in the composition of civil service personnel, but also about the geographical spread of institutions of government. The aim, according to the Constitution, is “to promote a sense of belonging and loyalty among all the people of the Federation.” On its webpage, the Federal Character Commission, the institution of government charged with the implementation of the federal character principle, states that its mandate is to ensure “fairness and equity in the distribution of public posts and socio-economic infrastructures among the various federating units of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.” Take note of the socio-economic infrastructure mandate.

It is clear therefore that the concentration of all our nation’s military institutions in one section of the country and the appointment of all our nation’s security chiefs from one section of the country does not represent the spirit of federal character and does not serve to promote national cohesion. Imagine what difference it would have made if this new army university were sited in a place like Asaba as a way of appeasing the Asaba people on the fiftieth anniversary of the Asaba massacre by the Nigerian army during the civil war (1967-70) or even to calm frayed nerves in the Biafra heartland.

Moreover, there is virtually nothing new that the army university is going to offer in terms of courses that other conventional universities are not already providing. At the approval of the university by the Federal Executive Council, the education minister said that the new institution “will be a hub for developing a Nigerian Military Industrial Complex.” If that is indeed what it is, how is it different from the mandate of DICON, even though DICON is not an academic institution? On DICON webpage, its DG stated that the goal of the institution is the “establishment of a Military Industrial Complex to produce weapons and other equipment for the country’s Armed Forces and reduce reliance on reluctant foreign suppliers.”

My take is that many of these institutions are just endless proliferations with overlapping aims and mandates. Perhaps it would have made much sense and even cost-effective if any of the current armed forces training institutions were expanded to meet the army’s infrastructure and technology needs?

If we must have an army university, it would make much sense to have a specialised university that will focus exclusively on training and developing skilled manpower to serve the army’s technology needs. But this doesn’t seem to be the case. The website of the proposed university (naub.edu.ng) states that the institution is designed “to serve as a solutions centre for the technological and other operational problems of the Nigerian Army, the military and the nation” as well as “create the critical mass required for research, innovation, testing and development of military equipment in a 21st century setting.”

Now, see the irony. Of its seven faculties (Science, Technology, Military Technology, Environmental Studies, Administration & Management, Social Sciences, Military Policy, Logistics & Strategy), only two deal with core military technological needs. The rest offer courses that any other conventional university is offering. So what is the difference? There is even a BSc course in Recreation and Leisure Studies in the army university. How does this help in developing a military technology in the 21st century? Only God knows where the lecturers for such a course will come from!

This, for me, is one of the fundamental problems with our nation’s tertiary education management system. For instance, we have three federal universities of Agriculture in Abeokuta, Makurdi and Umudike and three federal universities of Technology in Minna, Owerri and Akure, but these universities are offering the same courses other universities are offering. Imagine holding a BA in Philosophy from a University of Agriculture or a BA in English from a University of Technology. Odd!

If we had a sensible educational policy, these universities should have been fully specialist schools for developing manpower to drive Nigeria’s agricultural and technological revolution. But that is not what they are; they are only universities of agriculture and technology on paper. That is why in 2018 Nigeria, which claims to be Africa’s largest economy, is not able to produce school pencils.

On a final note, while it may be late to reverse the decision to site the army university in Biu, it should be noted that this is one more step backward on the path to national integration.
PoliticsRe: Governor Wike Compensates Port-Harcourt Fruit Garden Market Fire Victims by eyeview: 5:33pm On Oct 28, 2018
The traders are lucky the incident didn't happen under an APC govt.
Fashola: He will ban the sale of fruits in that market, after which he will convert it to an ultra modern shopping complex owned by tinubu.

El Rufai: Citing safety concerns, he will also ban the use of the market, bulldoze whatever is left of the market and convert the location to a green area.

Rochas: He will relocate the whole market to a plot of land faraway remote village afterwards he will allocate the entire market space to one of his relations who will redevelop the market and allocate the new shops to women who are to act like the original dwellers. Some of them will even come out to thank 'owelle' for wiping their tears after the loss. But in actual sense, they are women coordinators of the soninlaw campaign group.

APC is a mistake
PoliticsWe Will Work Against APC In IMO, South East If... ~ Rochas Okorocha by eyeview(op): 1:35pm On Oct 28, 2018
The Governorovernor of Imo state has vowed to work against his party if they don't give his son-in-law the ticket to run for office.

The governor made this known to his close confidants when they visited him in Owerri. According to sources, the governor is furious that the leadership of the APC decided to deny him tickets and also decided to deny his son-in-law governorship ticket and his close allies despite working for the progress of the party in the region.

"The governor is furious, you know the governor has contributed a lot for the growth of the party in the South East. when you look at the list released by the apc for the national Assembly, you will see that men of the governor lost out, that is not good for our party, not good for our state and not good for the candidates who contributed immensely financially for the growth of the party in the states. we are not happy we are not happy tell tell anyone who cares that we are not happy" the sources said.

"What is the crime of the governor that the party will want to frustrate him like this? let me make this point clear, even if the governor decide not to work against the party we his supporters will work against the party in the states if the right thing is not done..."

"I am happy we were called to this meeting and we have taken the matching order and we will do as commanded by our leader thank you".

The source who craved anonymity in order not to be punished by the party say that they are geared towards ensuring that the apc loses in the south east if the right thing is not done.

"the party should not joke with us, the party must not joke with us, the party must give the ticket to Uche Nwosu for peace to reign in imo state and for us to actually work for the progress of the party in the state thats only way..."

http://www.theeasterntelegraph.com/2018/10/we-will-work-against-apc-in-imo-south.html?m=1&fbclid=IwAR30IvPvU-BoTATqKaDFAP7ZItaGGPDAFk0wPZNQ-obgGacw0EjYRID7HDk

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 (of 153 pages)