Stats: 3,152,410 members, 7,815,913 topics. Date: Thursday, 02 May 2024 at 08:52 PM

Finelinks's Posts

Nairaland Forum / Finelinks's Profile / Finelinks's Posts

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 12 pages)

Computers / Re: Can I Charge My Phone With A Solar Panel And A Charge Controller Only? by Finelinks: 8:09pm On Jan 14, 2019
KlasysTech:
Only yes, if the solar panel is portable small one & the voltage of the controller never pass 5 voltage

I hate those small ones. I feel they are not efficient.
Technology Market / Re: Can I Charge My Phone With A Solar Panel And a Charge Controller Only by Finelinks: 7:05pm On Jan 14, 2019
Feranmhine:
No the charge controller can't work without connecting a battery to it

I thought some charge controllers come with usb output?
Computers / Can I Charge My Phone With A Solar Panel And A Charge Controller Only? by Finelinks: 5:28pm On Jan 14, 2019
Is it possible to use just the two to charge phones without a battery.
Phones / Can I Charge My Phones With A Solar Panel A And Charge Controller Only? by Finelinks: 4:44pm On Jan 14, 2019
Just a panel and a charge controller without battery?
Travel / Re: Is There No Business In Canada? What Can One Import From Canny? by Finelinks: 4:42pm On Jan 14, 2019
manitoba:
Cars, clothes for a start.

I thought cars are cheaper in the US
Technology Market / Can I Charge My Phone With A Solar Panel And a Charge Controller Only by Finelinks: 4:27pm On Jan 14, 2019
Is it possible to charge my phones with something like a 100w solar panel and a charge controller mppt or pwn without adding a battery?
Travel / Is There No Business In Canada? What Can One Import From Canny? by Finelinks: 11:46am On Dec 22, 2018
Unlike the USA where one can import gadgets, cars etc.

What can be imported from canny?
Investment / Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Finelinks: 8:05am On Dec 21, 2018
hotcake:

And from historic data we have the following:
Average TB rate over the past 10 years is 11% (2008 @ 6%, 2010 @4%, 2012 @ 16%, etc.), Bond average @ 5% (Nigeria 5yr eurobond can fetch up to 7% while Brazilian eurobond 10% because they are considered high risk), Dollar rate 2008 was N120 (2010 @ 155, ......2018 @ 360).

a) NTB: On N1000 investment made in 2008 at average of 11%, it will be worth N2800 today
b) BOND: On N1000 investment made in 2008 i.e. 1000/120 = $8.33 invested in bonds at 5% it will be worth $13.57 today i.e. N4900
c) DOLLAR "from under the pillow" will be worth 8.33 x 360 = 3000 today

So it appears there is little difference between NTB and dollar cash investment. The $ bond appears to be worth investing in but this assumes a future naira devaluation rate similar to the existing historical data. The reality may be better or worse. Only time can tell. In conclusion there could be a short term loss if one chooses the pure dollar path (path c) due to bank charges and black market rates. And one can only get good eurobond rates by investing in developing countries, which means only the devaluation risk is mitigated, the market/country risk remains essentially the same.

NOTE:
1. Eurobonds can be purchaed through the likes of FBN Capital. To get a rate of up to 7%, one has to invest in the minimum of 5-year bond. There is a one-time management fee of 1.5% - which means any investment that is less than 2 years is not worth it. There will also be costs for converting naira to dollar since the transaction will not be eligible for conversion at the official market, so parallel market rate will be used.
2. NTB investment may be worthwhile in the short term if the naira doesn't lose more than 7% of its value per year.

Any opinion on this?

@ ALL
Investment / Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Finelinks: 8:05am On Dec 21, 2018
hotcake:

And from historic data we have the following:
Average TB rate over the past 10 years is 11% (2008 @ 6%, 2010 @4%, 2012 @ 16%, etc.), Bond average @ 5% (Nigeria 5yr eurobond can fetch up to 7% while Brazilian eurobond 10% because they are considered high risk), Dollar rate 2008 was N120 (2010 @ 155, ......2018 @ 360).

a) NTB: On N1000 investment made in 2008 at average of 11%, it will be worth N2800 today
b) BOND: On N1000 investment made in 2008 i.e. 1000/120 = $8.33 invested in bonds at 5% it will be worth $13.57 today i.e. N4900
c) DOLLAR "from under the pillow" will be worth 8.33 x 360 = 3000 today

So it appears there is little difference between NTB and dollar cash investment. The $ bond appears to be worth investing in but this assumes a future naira devaluation rate similar to the existing historical data. The reality may be better or worse. Only time can tell. In conclusion there could be a short term loss if one chooses the pure dollar path (path c) due to bank charges and black market rates. And one can only get good eurobond rates by investing in developing countries, which means only the devaluation risk is mitigated, the market/country risk remains essentially the same.

NOTE:
1. Eurobonds can be purchaed through the likes of FBN Capital. To get a rate of up to 7%, one has to invest in the minimum of 5-year bond. There is a one-time management fee of 1.5% - which means any investment that is less than 2 years is not worth it. There will also be costs for converting naira to dollar since the transaction will not be eligible for conversion at the official market, so parallel market rate will be used.
2. NTB investment may be worthwhile in the short term if the naira doesn't lose more than 7% of its value per year.

Any opinion on this?
Crime / Re: Female FRSC Official Beaten By Lawyer by Finelinks: 10:55pm On Dec 16, 2018
NOC1:
My worst relationship was with a lawyer, she will lie with authority and intimidation, deceitful and manipulative , arrogant and intolerant. I vowed never to date them again.

Lawyers are not cool headed.

So because of one instance, you now tarred all with same brush?

Wisdom won't kill you.
Investment / Re: Treasury Bills In Nigeria by Finelinks: 9:50pm On Dec 05, 2018
rafindo:
Having followed this thread for some month now. I kind of need some sound financial advice. I have 100k to invest in Ntb by using the I invest of sterling for the next tenor rate of 85 days and maturity date on Feb 28 2019.the problem I have now is am new to the financial market. So I will need advice on which bank has the best rate, if I assume June as pull out date.
Or what are best way to Increase my capital to at least 130k.

secarto7@gmail.com
Highly in need of the directions

You are a bad student if you have followed this thread for some months yet you don't have an answer to your question.

16 Likes

Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 11:03am On Dec 05, 2018
oglalasioux:

A highly intelligent man should take a primitive and stupid woman. Imagine if I have a woman who interfered in my work, in my leisure time I won't have peace. I COULD NEVER MARRY. It's the same with a movie actor. When he marries he loses something for the women who adore him. Then he is no longer their idol.

Adolf Hitler.

Prove to me that Hitler didn't say the words above in Mein Kampf. Next time argue with your junior brothers. I'm not your mate.

He that asserts proves.

What you wrote there was just someone's opinion.

It's not in his autobiography you are referring to.

Mere looking at the statement will even tell you.

You said you have a copy of mein kampf.

Show me where it is.

As per arguing with juniors, I won't comment on that.

Just show me where Hitler made the statement.

ASSUMING without conceding he made it, primitive and submissive are not synonyms.

Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 8:24am On Dec 05, 2018
oglalasioux:

Can you be specific on what I should cite?

If you mean books about Hitler, then the most and most available, free, on the internet is no other than the one by Hitler himself; Mein Kampf (My Struggles).

Oga there was no where it was stated that Hitler was looking for submissive women.

Stop saying what you don't know!
Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 9:47pm On Dec 04, 2018
cherriex:

Yes I do to a great extent.

interesting.

the whole horoscope ish has never interested me.

Maybe because it has no credence in any serious literature.

I have never seen anyone whose prowess or success was attributed to his month of birth.
Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 9:45pm On Dec 04, 2018
oglalasioux:

What do you know about Hitler? Have you read any book written about him or his own Mein Kampf? Go to YouTube and watch 'Hitler In Colour'.

Please cite one.

I am not arguing.

I am learning.
Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 11:47pm On Dec 03, 2018
cherriex:

Oga well done but don't be too proud, I know almost everything about everything too, I am a typical Virgo, I have a bookshelf full of books from religion (Christianity, Islam, Bhudaisim, Hinduism, Kabbalah, etc) authors, plants, animals, world history and almost everything u mentioned, but sorry to burst your bubbles, you still don't know it all, you haven't figured it out all and the foolishest (no word as such, by the way) of all things will still damn you, do not boast of your wisdom, it's not a wise thing to do, a lot of us are born with wisdom, insight and high intuitions,some of us can predicts things and it occurs with exact precision, just try and be humble.Anyways your future wife go hear am.

You believe in horoscope?
Romance / Re: I desire to Marry A girl from a well-to-do family But... by Finelinks: 6:16pm On Dec 03, 2018
oglalasioux:
Have it at the back of your heart that nature has never gifted any human being with two things at the same time. It gifts you one and takes another thing dear to you.

You may find girls from well to do, strong backgrounds but don't ever expect to enjoy that marriage. The worst condition a man can find himself is to be branded a gold digger by his in laws. Even if you provide everything in your family people will still see you as the parasite. Girls from well to do homes don't have anything to whip them into line unlike the poor girl who will be submissive knowing you are her lifeline.

You can marry a rich girl if you don't mind the shame that comes with it (your respect as the husband is almost zero). Or marry an average girl and savour the love and respect.

One of the reasons Adolf Hitler didn't marry was because he was surrounded by women from rich and influential homes. He was looking for a girl from low humble beginnings because he wanted the joys of companionship.

Hitler looking for women from humble beginning?

Not true
Career / Re: "Nigeria Has Failed You If You Are A Graduate Earning Less Than 200K Monthly" by Finelinks: 12:57pm On Oct 01, 2018
phineas:

Let me see.. I know someone who earned 15k a month for like 2 years,his first offer after that was about 350k A month,he took the one that paid 650k. Today he earns 2.5 million a month and is looking for a better job. All in the space of 7 years

I know another who started with 80k for 2 years while his mates were earning 350k at the bank. He rose faster than them starting with 650k after the 80k job today dude also earns in millions.

Point is grow a career pays, it takes time,wise choices and the grace of God

Which sector is that?
Romance / Re: I May Have Contracted Hiv!!! by Finelinks: 7:09pm On Sep 30, 2018
Ecoplexus:
Your result shows a high lymphocyte, it normally means your body is fighting a viral infection.
Go for further test to determine what is causing your high lymphocyte levels.

rubbish nigerian tests.

lymphocytes ni cococites ko.

iranu

Ogbeni chill, nothing wrong with you.
Career / Re: Meg Reuben Dancing 'Shaku Shaku' During Her Call To Bar In Ontario by Finelinks: 9:41am On Sep 30, 2018
xcelentattitude:
I hope you guys no that she's going to become a back bencher lawyer over there. Anyways what's my business.

Come to think of it, can't she help Davido's uncle dance-make a case against AllPromisesCancelled over what happened in osun state

How?
Health / Re: How Beneficial And Effective Is NHIS? by Finelinks: 6:08am On Mar 14, 2018
more input please.
Politics / Re: Which Law Prohibits A Lagos State Citizen From Contesting Guber In Bayelsa? by Finelinks: 9:37am On Mar 13, 2018
Still waiting...
Health / Re: How Beneficial And Effective Is NHIS? by Finelinks: 9:37am On Mar 13, 2018
DaudaAbu:
As beneficial as the health provider (hospital ) want it to be

And as effective as you want it to be

Please share your experience if any...
Jobs/Vacancies / Re: Why You Should Not Laminate Certificates And Other Vital Documents by Finelinks: 7:30am On Mar 13, 2018
I read on Nairaland that embassies reject laminated certs..
Health / How Beneficial And Effective Is NHIS? by Finelinks: 7:03am On Mar 13, 2018
NHIS stands for Nigeria Health Insurance Scheme.

A woman told me she had a CS and it was covered by the scheme. For her, it's a wonderful scheme.

However, my experience with HMOs in varsity wasn't palatable.

So what are your experiences with them?
Politics / Re: Which Law Prohibits A Lagos State Citizen From Contesting Guber In Bayelsa? by Finelinks: 6:59am On Mar 13, 2018
baralatie:
the same ambode law that prohibits a student from sagbama boys secondary school,sagbama being admitted in lasu Lagos state

Politics / Which Law Prohibits A Lagos State Citizen From Contesting Guber In Bayelsa? by Finelinks: 5:34pm On Mar 12, 2018
Please any law?
Again, when a woman marries, does she become a citizen of the husband's state?

(1) (2) (3) (4) (5) (6) (7) (8) (9) (10) (11) (12) (of 12 pages)

Nairaland - Copyright © 2005 - 2024 Oluwaseun Osewa. All rights reserved. See How To Advertise. 48