Stats: 3,325,002 members, 8,419,883 topics. Date: Thursday, 04 June 2026 at 06:16 AM

Fregkay's Posts

Nairaland ForumFregkay's ProfileFregkay's Posts

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)

TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:47pm On Jan 18, 2016
Congratulations to you....
SophiaLisa:
Good Day All,

On Tuesday morning, was at the Lagos Consulate for my F1 interview (Sorry for the late post).

Please view my transcript below;
VO: Please come forward.
SL: Good morning.
VO: (no response; He must have been cranky). *Flips through my passport*. So you have a running B1/B2 Visa
SL: Yes.
VO: So why do you want to study an MBA ....
SL: No, not an MBA. Its a Mastes degree.
VO: I'm sorry, why do you want to go for a Masters in Project Management?
SL: *Gave him my story, linking it with my being an Investment Banker*. When I was done, I said, and here's a letter of introduction from my company.
VO: Without looking up, he kept typing but said "Never mind".
VO: So, have you paid the SEVIS fee?.
SL: Yes I have. It's right there (pointed at the paper in front of him which he clearly missed out).
VO: (Keeps typing and typing and typing).
VO: Your visa has been approved, pick it up in three business days. Also, make sure you don't present the B1/B2 visa at the POE so it doesn't raise any issues.
SL: Thank you very much.
SL: So the B1/B2 visa is still valid?
VO: Yes it is.

I thanked him again and left!

Thanks to God, everyone that prayed with me as well as the Special tips from AKO1, KennyRonny, Meritdee.

Tuesday was just miraculous because before me, they had only approved a visa for 1 woman and her daughter (an Indian). Every other person had a blue paper (denial). In fact, the three F1 applicants ahead of me were rejected out-rightly. I remember praying as I walked before the VO. God is faithful and kind.

Next off, who lives in New York here oooooo. Looking to share an apartment. smiley
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:13pm On Jan 18, 2016
You are correct bro,let's keep the faith and pray that everyone that got DELAYED on this thread would come back here to share their approval testimony.SHALOM!
glossybayor:
even me I could predict u going to get the visa because you have a running B1/B2 visa which gave you a huge advantage. If dey were going to approve only one f1 dat day, it would have been you. Valid B1/B2? That's a huge advantage sugar. Getting a US f1 visa now it's not an easy task, the rejection rate is too fucking much. I would have gotten my visa too on Thursday but the CO was flipping through my passport page by page, he was looking for a travelling history. I was given a blue paper after 2 attempt, making my 3rd time. It's only God will safe us, many people have being denied visa but I believe it's gonn be alright soon. I hope we all gonn get this visa soon. The rate of approving f1 students visa is now very low, infact Immigrant visa are more approved this days than the F1. It's now the survival of the fittest.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 6:31am On Jan 09, 2016
Congrats bro
armo:
Alhamdulilah.. visa approved at lagos consulate.. here is my transcript

vo: goodmorning
me: Good morning

vo: why do you want to study environmental science?
me: The choice was influenced by my experience in nosdra where i worked on remediation projects of oil contaminated areas, i noticed there's plenty of opportunity for remediation experts in the oil and gas industry and i intend to key into these opps.

vo: where are your parents?
me: in Nigeria

vo: but u have an immigrant petition?
me: yes filed by my mom but she doesnt stay der , she only goes for vacation.

vo: ok, tell me about your research interest
me: its basically on remediation and hazardous waste minimization and management, the development of carbon nanotubes in oil spill mgt and water resources purification and treatment.

vo: when did you graduate and what have u been doin
me: i graduated in 2012 from the university of ilorin, did my nysc in 2013, did a one year language course and i have been teaching biology ever since.

vo: where will you be staying
me: I will be staying on campus

vo: who will be paying for this..
me: my father will be paying.

vo: your visa has been approved , pick it up at d circled location, here's ur i20, ull be needing it at poe.........

**every other thing i heard was just sound to me,..lol
**No document was asked for, not gre, tofl, bank statement etc..
** Know about your course and university, answers dont need to be excessively long, convey your points in a few sentences , and be concise; dont be too general in your response, and most importantly, dont just fill your ds160 like a sim registration form , fill it well and half of your problem is solved.
all the best to others going to the embassy.

please what should we be expecting at poehuh
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 5:37pm On Jan 08, 2016
Thanks bro.
wiseman2392:
Based on my little experience I got here; make a research on your course website, you may use that instead of usnews.com , princeton.com and all that. Everyone is using the websites and VOs are tired of hearing that everyday
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 5:35pm On Jan 08, 2016
Thanks bro.noted!
Graviton2:
@fregkay,

Sorry about your denial. I believe the problem with your interview was how rehearsed all your answers sounded (even the one you gave about how you learnt about MurraySU) and evidently the VO saw right through.

Best of luck in your next interview, you'll make it.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 5:33pm On Jan 08, 2016
Yea,that's my course.thanks bro.
Mekurexx:
When i was reading ur transcript, It felt like a rehearsed script for a play. your reply of how did you learn about the sch> mentioning Usnews etc, like for real it will get boring in the VOs ears. their work is already monotonous enough to hear regular responses like that. Read thru transcripts here but give a very different unique response (even if the questions are alike) from your heart. about the research u talked (if truly there is), u cud have mentioned one specifically + the name of the professor. and I think its beta to tailor ur answers to problem solving application in Nigeria. that can circumvent the whole interview to your gain. Just work on your replies and let it be unique and BRIEF. Your program is occupational health & safety bah? @fregkay
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:06pm On Jan 08, 2016
Thanks brother.
worry359:
I think that like so many others when asked "why this school"
You gave a rehearsed, prepared speech, using complicated phrases.
Rather that your thoughts in your own words.
These visa officers are trained, and have heard the same prepared speeches hundreds of times!

Not condemning you, just stating facts.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:03pm On Jan 08, 2016
Thanks brother.
MrMann1:
I am not a guru tho. but I think the reason for choosing MSU you gave at the second time was what you should have said initially, also you did not mention the research topic. Pls dust yourself up and give it a trial again, pray and believe God for grace and favour. The Lord is your strength
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:00pm On Jan 08, 2016
Ye,God will see me through I believe.thanks bro and always remember me in your prayers too.
DeeTus:
Sorry, I guess you need special prayer to scale through. The kind of prayer when a VO is interviewing you, he or she would be happy to see you.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 1:45pm On Jan 08, 2016
Thanks bro,give up ke! me no know wetin them they call give up oo. Amen....God bless u brother.
meritdee:
Wow! Sorry bro. Pls don't give up. God is ur strength
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 1:39pm On Jan 08, 2016
Visa delayed yesterday.just one consular interviewed students yesterday.VO was just dashing out white paper to the guys,him no send the ladies at all.one small lady was every crying and begging the consular.I was second to the last on the line.got to my turn.
VO:Good morning sir
Me:Good morning to you sir
VO:pass your doc and place ur right hand fingers
VO: how did you learn about this school?

Me:I learnt about murray state university after carryying out an extensive online research using Internet tools and academic websites like usnews.com to know the school's ranking and also graduatereview.com amd Princeton review.com to streamline schools to my area of interest and also to ascertain if the school meets my academic profile; goals and ambitions.

VO:ok,so why murray state univesity?
Murray state university has a unique disigned course curriculum that is pratical oriented cuts...

Vo:that's what the school's website says about the school,I mean out of all the whole schools in US why did you pick murray state university?

Me:there's an on going research in the department of OSHT that aligns with my field of intrest and the school is quiet affordable by my sponsor.
VO: ok,and typed for some mins,and said sorry u are not qualified for this blabla blala
Abeg gurus,where did I go wrong again?
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 9:01am On Jan 08, 2016
Visa delayed on 30th dec and again yesterday on 3rd and 4th time.sigh......would post transcript later.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 12:33pm On Jan 06, 2016
Congrats bro.
jah101:
VISA APPROVED TODAY AT LAGOS EMBASSY….So my interview today was for 11:00AM appointment….Got to the embassy today at 10:00 did the necessary biometrics, fortunately for me i met my friend who we got a transfer together from st lucia at the embassy then we started talking, I told him I was denied the 29th of December 2015 nd explain the reason to him because we both doing the same course, I checked his documents for him nd I realized he doesn’t have his sevisfee confirmation receipt with him…I went back with him to the CAFÉ to print it nd he got it printed out…..upon getting inside…..they passed my friend nd told me they can’t find my name on the appointment list…I was just like nah waahhhhhh oooo….DEVIL WORK….Say well am sure u all keeping to meet the right VO nii walahii…Finally a guy attended to me nd found my name online nd put a note on my DS-160 saying some shit talks lol…After getting into the scared ROOM….I met my friend again on the que nd I told him to keep calm again that God will guide us through today….Funny enough, we were both on the same que he was in front of me nd I was standing behind him and funny enough it was the same VO who denied me the last time 29th December 2015 who I met again which I know for sure he won’t interview me…so after he interview my friend, he denied him due to his responses nd I was scared….Now my turn, Window 3 VO….He told me to put my left four fingers for biometrics I did nd he scan my DS-160 Barcode nd said so what r u going to do in the US….I told him nd he was like oh I took you the last time right? Nd I said YES,Then he said I will give you another chance so pls go to the next available VO…Then I was told to go back on the que again…Then I was jst like smh….Nah wa ooo Devil is a liar seyyy…Today today I must get this VISA…..Finally the security man called me nd told me to go to Window 12…Young White Sexy looking oyinbo lady….nd the Hustle begins down like ….

VO: pass your documents pls...

Me: I passed it with a smile…saying good morning, she smile nd replied saying morning, I guess she was tired anyway.
VO: So why did you want to study information Technology.
Me: I had a very deep sigh because I wasn’t expecting this question atall, but I was prepared for it because I heard her asked one girl why she choose business administration…so I quickly give myself sense…So I started like this by saying. I choose to study information technology because I have a very deep passion for Technology, I am very creative person and since I started this program I have achieved a lot as I was able to create my own website last semester. Also every IT professional find it easy to get a job anywhere, some of them can even get self-employed and technology develop on a daily basis, for example you might not study IT but you are making use of one of the technology which is the computer you are using…(VO Nods ND keep typing).
VO: So why did you choose this school?
Me: I choose this school because it is very affordable for my mother and it is located in a pretty safe town to study. The school also have 3 semester per session which enable students to graduate faster rather than other school that goes on 2 semester per session. In addition I am currently enrolled in that school right now.
VO: ohh really? What campus
Me: Yes, in the st lucia campus, I am just transferring now because I have completed my minor courses in the st lucia campus and the courses I have left to do for me to graduate are not offered in st lucia which is the reason why the school gave every student in the IT department a transfer letter along with their transcript to transfer.
VO: Do you have your transcript with you right now?
Me: Yes,sure would you like to see it?
VO: Yes pls…
Me: I passed both my transcript and School letter to her.
VO: She kept on typing for like 2mins….
Me: I just de follow my God talk nd I de look her face straight.
VO: so how many semester did you do in st lucia?
Me: I did 4 semesters in st lucia campus, These January semester (Winter) would make it my 5th semester.
Vo: Very good, then she returned back my Transcript nd said Thank you…..I will be issuing you a visa today, Kindly collect your passport with visa in the next 3days, then she gave me the White slip…..Meh nah God all the way,I wantuu Faint cos I was not expecting,Then I give myself brain again say if I faint who wan use my visa for me? Ontop all the wahala…Walahii nah lie,I no faint again lol.……ONLY GOD !!!! I REPEAT ONLY GOD !!!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 7:25am On Dec 25, 2015
Merry Christmas and Prosperous New Year to All out here. More testimonies shall abound as we end the Year in jesus name.AMEN!
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 7:19am On Dec 25, 2015
Congratulations sis and Merrry christmas to you.
ehcenihc:
I have been following this thread. For months and it is my turn to testify. I went for my visa interview on the 4th though it was denied I reapplied and it was approved on the 21 (Monday). My transcript:

VO: good morning and pass your documents.
ME: good morning and passed the document.
VO: how did you find out about the school
ME: I searched on the Internet for schools offering nursing BSc using professional websites like allnurses.com and mynursingdegree.com.
VO: do you know anyone there
ME: no one except for the school official i've been in contact with.
VO: what courses will you be taking.
ME: I mentioned the prerequisite courses and the major courses though could not remember most of them
VO: where do you work and as what.
ME: *** hospital and as a lab assistant.
VO: who pays for your studies and what does he do
ME: my uncle and he imports, sells and installs security systems.
VO: are you sure you don't know anyone because your school is located in a small town.
ME: yes I know it is located in a small town which will help me focus on my studies away from the distraction of the city, then I noticed she had an expression on her face, I quickly added that the tuition fee is quite affordable as well.
VO: how much
ME: told her
VO: she looked at my I20, then typed and said your visa has been approved ensure you travel with these documents and the rest I did not hear........

I want to thank God for making this possible. Thanks to slimmy05 for paying my sevis fee and as many that has contributed to the success stories
On this thread.

MERRY CHRISTMAS
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 7:09am On Dec 25, 2015
Thank you my brother. Merry christmas!
Taymoss:
congratulations buddy
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 10:34pm On Dec 24, 2015
Amennnn
Bibikam:
I have been patiently n silently following this thread with the believe that one day too.....i will post my SUCCESS transcript......That day is Here.......Visa napproved 21st December at lagos consolate.....transcript coming soon......meanwhile if you are in maryland or planning on going to maryland this spring kindly give me some "gist"........in Maryland......wish all you going for ur interviews soon success too
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay:
Amen... in jesus name!Congrats bro.
creamclef:
Hello good day to the wonderful people out here.
My name is oluyemie joseph. I want to motivate you guys with my testimony.
On the 9th of December, I went for my f1 visa interview in Lagos. I'll give u a breakdown of how it went.

I left home around 4am in the morning, I got there for 6:00am. There were so many people at that time. I joined the que and went in to sign in. I had a red shirt and red background passport. So the person signing me in asked me to quickly go and take a new passport. So I did. After the long hours of waiting, I got into the room of power. Where white people tells you where u'd spend the next four years of your life. Lol that was how I saw it.

See, it is ok to be scared but then don't let if get to you. I was scared too when I saw so many people got denied.
I was shy that so all this people will hear what I am saying, and they will know when I get denied the visa.

Interview starts.
Tho I wasn't ready,

Vo: hello good morning
Me: good morning with a smile, trying to feel relaxed and confident. Tho at that point I felt like I was the only one in the room.

Vo: you are going to Murray state university
Me: yes

Vo: how did you find out about the school
Me: Peterson guard

Vo: what?
Me: peterson guard.

Vo: oh ok.

Vo: why this school?
Me: because the school gave me my proffered course of choice.

Vo: wait!! What course?
Me: electro mechanical technology/ electro mechanical engineering technology.

Vo: why this course?
Me: the curriculum would provide me with a solid technical base in engineering science fundamental, it would also provide me with competency in areas such as automation, motion mechanics, solid mechanics, fluid power, electrical systems, electronics and computer integrated systems.

Vo: keeps staring and says it's ok.

Vo: what are the courses you'll be doing
Me: engg 1000 meaning engineering design,
Elect 2351 meaning electrical circuits, elect blah blah blah, I even said elect 1234. I said at least 15 rubbish courses but I sounding confident and sincere. It was God. I dint even think twice about the rubbish.

Vo: so what have you been doing since you finished your waec.
Me: I enrolled for a 7months computer training program in auto cad, after I finished, I enrolled for a certificate program in auto mechnics at the institute of industrial technology.

Vo: ok.

Vo: who is sponsoring your trip?
Me: my father. Engineer Gabriel

Vo: what does he do?
Me: he is into the installing, design, servicing and repairs of industrial sets.

Vo: your visa has been approved.

She dint ask if I wrote Andy test or asked to see my document.

Note: be prayerful. Tho I dint fast but I prayed and seeked help from God.

This is my testimony
You shall give yours ijn.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 7:42am On Dec 24, 2015
Congrats bro.God is Good![quote author=meritdee post=41278226][/quote]
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 3:04am On Dec 23, 2015
Congrats bro.
Taymoss:
As I promised earlier, I woke up around 4am, left my badagry home around 5:03am. I got to obalende around 8:45am. A police officer accusted me and demanded to go through my docs. See gobe! He went through them and said my BS isn't genuine. We dragged the issue till around 9:20am. I was later released. I was thinking in my mind that satan 'don cum o'. I rebuked him. I got to the embassy, went through all the routines when it was time, 11am. The cgi led me to window 8, a separate room with a closed door. The guy b4 me was approved after so much discussions. With faith, I said my own will not be difficult for God. Now my turn, heart was beating fast bt I controlled it with deep long breaths. I opened the door, entered and closed it.

VO: good morning
Me: good morning sir
VO: are there many people outside?
Vo: ur passport and application forms?
Me: here they are (there was a chair in the room but I didn't sit cos he didn't offer it)
Vo: that's a seat, u may sit if u want to
Me: (sat with confidence and looked straight into his eyes) thank you sir
Vo: u r welcum, u have a scholarship from the school. Why?
Me: its because of my academic performance
Vo: ok, did you write SAT?
Me: no, I wrote GRE
Vo: ok, you r going for masters
Me: yes sir
Vo: let me see ur gre score sheet
Me: its here
Vo: alright, ur score is high
Me: yes its high with smiles
Vo: u did ur bachelors here in nigeria?
Vo: where is ur transcript
Me: this is it
Vo:ok, (checked it) what's ur final gpa?
Me: told him
Vo: that's second class upper. Ok. U graduated in 2011, dats 4 years, what av u been doing?
Me: I went for nysc which ended in 2013. My dad became seriously ill after nysc, as d only son of the family I was the only one looking after him so I couldn't search for job. Unfortunately for us, we lost him last year. ( I stopped while he was typing, I wanted to proceed but sometin in me said shut up, so I did)
Vo: he looked at me and said who is gonna pay
Me: my mum
Vo: wat does she do
Me: poultery business
Vo: ok, where is d farm
Me: xyz in ondo state
Vo: I'm jst getting to knw d nigerian states. I dnt knw whr ondo state is
Me: ok, after lagos is oyo, next is osun den ondo state
Vo: ok, thank u. Ow big is the farm?k
Me: very big! (He laughed and I laughed) then I said it covers about ten acres.
Vo: (nodded) wat do they do
Me: I explained d business
Vo: how did u hear about a&m?
Me: two of my seniors who graduated from this university and are back in nigeria working in reputable companies recommended it for me
Vo: (pointed to my i20) keep this document very well, u gonna need it. Congratulations ur visa has been approved. Pick up ur documents at this address. Make sure u make ur mum proud
Me: thank you sir
I'm so happy. I was relaxed throughout the interview. All glory to God. Despite the fact that police disturbed me, it only helped my confidence. I've been praying in my little way and also reading psalm 57, 70 and 123, also psalm 119 vs 132-135. These I believe really helped. U can read them also they will work for u
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 5:57pm On Dec 22, 2015
You are welcome sir.
MrMann1:
Ok. Thanks
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 3:29pm On Dec 22, 2015
MrMann1:
Visa was denied today @ window 5. I intend to re-apply ASAP

11am appointment

Vo: Good morning
Me: Good morning

After the biometrics

Vo: What is your study plan
Me: I will be doing a post baccalaureate program at Texas Southern University. Which will lead to a Msc degree in computer sc

Vo: Ok. Who is your sponsor?
Me: My uncle

Vo: What does he do?
Me: He is the CEO of ABC coy. I paused while she was typing and she signaled with her hand like I should continue.
ABC company is an investment coy into real estate, automotive bla bla bla

Vo: What will you do after your program?
Me: I will come back to Nigeria to work as a Network Engineer. I'm also considering to set up an IT firm

Vo: Sorry your visa can't be approved at this time... Gives me blue paper and my docs.

Please guys what should I do. Sch resumes Jan 11

Cc. Walspring, Slimmy05, DeeTus
sorry about the delay bro,but I think your study plan should have been that you intend to do your Post-bacca studies in Info tech at the texas southern university for a duration period of 12months.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 3:21pm On Dec 22, 2015
Congrats bro,pls we await your transcript.
Taymoss:
Hi guys, help me thank God my visa has just been approved. Hallelujah. Will post my transcript later in d day. Thanks for ur advise and information angry
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 11:58am On Dec 22, 2015
Boss,pls here is my number +2348085502372 pls just beep me I need your assistance for my brother,he's coming into chicago on 31th to depart naija on 30th. God bless you bro.
foohard:
I did not get your PM boss.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 9:53pm On Dec 21, 2015
You will get your VISA this time by God's grace.
notasowie:
I was denial on the 10th and I booked another appointment on the 30th ,my school resume on the 4th , I have ask them for an extention which they did to on the 8th via email addressed to the embassy , i know i m getting my visa dis time by the favour of God my question is after getting my visa is it possible for me to differ my admission till march ?secondly apart from us new and world report , education America , which I heard vo are tired of hearing it is there another way of telling the vo u knew abt the school:?I need respond plss gurus
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 8:01pm On Dec 20, 2015
Boss,I hail o...pls,did you get my PM I need your help pls.
foohard:
Hello Boss, I am in Chicago.
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 5:53pm On Dec 19, 2015
Pls house,anyone here in chicago who can help receive my brother plssssss for a few days cos his school resumes on january 8. He's booked to leave naija on 30th
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 2:08pm On Dec 18, 2015
5 Ways to Look Confident in an Interview (Even When You're Freaking Out) 'THINK THIS MIGHT HELP SOMEONE'

1. Just Breathe

While waiting to be greeted by your interviewer, take a few moments to do some breathing. (Yes, like a pregnant woman in labor!) By doing this, you can redirect the troublesome emotion you’re experiencing (e.g., nervousness or fear) and be able to focus on something else (in this case, the amazing job that you’re hoping to land). Holistic health expert Andrew Weil, MD praises breathing exercises, saying, “Since breathing is something we can control and regulate, it is a useful tool for achieving a relaxed and clear state of mind.”

To do this most effectively, take a deep breath through your nose (really feel your stomach expand) and then slowly blow it out through your mouth. Repeat this three times, while concentrating on centering your thoughts. The best thing about this technique is that you can do it anywhere (and quite unnoticeably), so if you feel your nerves start to swell during the interview, simply take another breath.

2. Don’t Fidget

Nervous fidgeting is one of the most telltale signs that you’re nervous, so this is an incredibly important skill to master. My go-to trick is to keep my hands clasped together on the table or in my lap to avoid any subconscious table tapping, hair twirling, or otherwise noticeable squirming. I’m also a leg-shaker—but keeping my hands in my lap and applying a bit of pressure to my legs helps remind me to keep the shaking to a minimum.

If you think you don’t have any fidgety habits, you might want to think again—most people aren’t aware of their own nervous tendencies because they’re such an ingrained part of their natural behavior. To double check, try doing a few mock interviews with a friend who can call you out on any fidgeting. Once you know exactly what to avoid, you can practice controlling it.

3. Make Eye Contact

One of the best ways to fool a hiring manager into thinking you’re more confident than you feel is to keep steady, natural eye contact throughout the interview. Mary Griffin, a Human Resources Director for a national healthcare company says, “A key giveaway of a nervous Nellie is a lack of direct eye contact—looking down, looking away, and not looking the interviewer directly in the eyes. A more confident interviewee appears to be engaged with the interviewer.”

One way to remind yourself to make regular eye contact is to focus on a spot between the interviewer’s eyes. You can even imagine a colorful bulls-eye there—whatever it takes to keep your eyes from wandering too much.

On the flip side, you don’t want to stay so intensely focused on making eye contact that you end up sending out a creepy vibe! So remember to take natural breaks, like looking down at your resume every once in a while. It’s a balancing act, so just keep practicing until it feels comfortable.

4. Press Pause

Some of us (myself included!) tend to ramble when we’re nervous. This can be dangerous because once we start talking, it’s incredibly easy to veer off topic and say more than what’s needed—or worse, more than what’s appropriate.

To preempt any rambling, I try to answer each question with only one thought or idea at a time. For example, if you’re asked to describe a trait you disliked about a previous supervisor, you could say, “I found that her tendency to micromanage conflicted with my productivity.” Then stop. This will save you from unnecessary add-ons like “She was a total control freak whose inability to let me make my own decisions made me want to run down the hall screaming obscenities”—even if that may be the most honest answer.

The key to mastering this technique is to keep your tone sincere, so that even if your responses are brief, they don’t come off as curt or dismissive. It’s more about sticking to one main topic per question instead of going off a nervous tangent. And don’t worry—if the interviewer wants you to elaborate on a certain topic, she’ll ask.

5. Think Positively

Finally, calm your nerves by reminding yourself that you deserve to be there. Hey, you wouldn’t have been invited to interview if you weren’t being seriously considered as a candidate! Use this knowledge to your advantage to mentally pump yourself up before the interview. It can take the edge off enough to allow you to approach the situation with a burst of self-assurance and poise.

Most importantly, remember that while you certainly need to be calm, collected, and confident in order to score the job, an interview is not a life-or-death situation. Hiring managers are humans, too—and they’ll understand and forgive a few minor nervous blips.

So with that in mind, relax, gather your strength, and walk into that interview with a newfound confidence (at least on the outside!).
TravelRe: General U.s.a (student) Visa Enquiries-part 8 by fregkay: 10:38pm On Dec 16, 2015
Greatful sir,would give you a call tomorrow.God bless!
kingpowerunited:

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 (of 9 pages)